Hostelworld.com

Che Lagarto Hostel Montevideo

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 174 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 174 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.3
Che Lagarto Hostel Montevideo Located at Colonia 2063, , Montevideo.
Che Lagarto Hostel Montevideo
Uruguay
Montevideo 11200 Colonia 2063
83% 174
-34.8989550 -56.1714863
Che Lagarto Hostel Montevideo
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
29th Mar 2016
8.3

Stopped here for a night when passing through Montevideo as it's close to the bus terminal. Got a free upgrade to a private room so no complaints! Not sure what the atmosphere is like but it's some distance from the centre of town.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Mar 2016
9.1

Very fun atmosphere when we stayed at the Che Lagarto, the rooftop was a great place to have a few drinks and meet people, and the kitchen area ended up being a pretty social place too. The staff was excellent as well. As a chain hostel, Che Lagarto did seem to have a bit of a less homey feel than other hostels. But overall, very good experience.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Gracias por habernos evaluado! Nos da muchísima alegría que te hayas sentido agradable con nosotros! Esperamos volver a verte muy pronto y que podamos ser más hogareños. Luis Daniel Martínez

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
23rd Feb 2016
8.0

I chose this hostel because it was close to the bus terminal; it was the perfect place to stopover for a night. A little far from the city centre if you actually want to do some exploring, but excellent WiFi, very clean, rooftop patio and comfortable beds. No real common areas so I wouldn't recommend it if you're looking for a social environment and staff are not very engaged with guests. Good security - lockable drawers under each bunk for storage.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • harrietelton
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
22nd Feb 2016
6.0

No atmosphere. But did the job for a one night stay, nice rooms and good breakfast.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
22nd Feb 2016
7.7

Classic Che Lagarto; more like a hotel with shared rooms. Was a good stay but I missed the common rooms and hanging out. Good heplful staff though and its a plus that its near to the bus station.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Antes que nada queremos agradecerte por haberte hospedado con nosotros y por haberte tomado un minuto de tu tiempo para evaluarnos y para comentarnos como estuvo tu estadía !!!! Tus comentarios son muy importante para nosotros ya que es la mejor manera de seguir mejorando !!! Gracias por todo y esperamos volver a verte muy pronto

5th Feb 2016
8.3

Good place to stay, good breakfast, clean, nice staff, location near the bus terminal

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Gracias por haberte tomado un minuto de tu tiempo para evaluarnos y para comentarnos como estuvo tu estadía !!!! Gracias por todo y esperamos volver a verte muy pronto

  • tamaraps821061
  • Brazil, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jan 2016
8.9

I really recommed this hostel. I would come back for sure.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • tahianasaude2833
  • Brazil, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
18th Jan 2016
7.1

Good place. Close to the bus station and only a bus ride away from the city center and some beaches. The only problem was that my matress was one of those old ones and wasnt so confortable. I tried to swtich beds to an empty one, but the lady in the reception wouldn't let me, even before the other guest arrived to the hostel and made check in. Other than that, all good. Good breakfast.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th Jan 2016
8.6

The place is super clean and tidy. Rooms aren't crampy, terrace is nice and simple. Kitchen is clean and well equiped, but tiny - place for only two pots/pans which can creat a line during dinner time. The main space is air conditioned and the fans in the rooms are fine, i wasn't hot at night (mid Jan). Breakfast is good. Not a lot of shared areas to seat and hang - only the kitchen/dining room and terrace. Staff was very knowledeable, friendly and nice.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
12th Jan 2016
9.1

I was there for a stopover to get my bus connection to Colonia. For this reason it is great. Clean, professional staff. The enviroment is not so interesting, because it s not downtown. But a really functional plase!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.