Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Che Lagarto Hostel Paraty

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 1230 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 1230 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
5th Sep 2017
8.6

Good location. Great communal area with plenty of seating and a good bar/cheap chips. Tours were arranged by the hostel. The reception staff were very helpful and kind, but we found Edem was quite overbearing with encouraging/insisting on participation of the tours and socialising/eating/drinking only at the hostel rather than in the centre. Otherwise we enjoyed our stay - rooms were basic but very secure and quiet at night. We had a good time and met many other fun travellers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
2nd Sep 2017
8.9

Great private dorms and structure. Very Well located, close to downtown.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th Aug 2017
9.4

Che Lagarto is very well located, 5 min away from everything (historic center, bus station, etc). The staff is amazing and very friendly. The common areas (and mainly the outside one) are optimal. I don't know about the other hostels around, but don't waste your time searching, this one is the one you need ! ps : get some caïpirinhas from the hostel bar, totally worth it ;-)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
12th Aug 2017
8.0

Had a great time in Che Lagarto! All of the staff were amazing, particularly the head of activities Edem who went above and beyond to make sure we felt welcome, well informed, that we were never bored and that we were always doing everything we possibly could be doing to make sure we had the best time in Paraty and indeed, Che Lagarto Hostel. The other staff member i want to personally name is Mario who also made sure that we felt welcome at all times. I would definitely return...thank you!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
9th Aug 2017
8.6

Very well located, few mins walk from bus station and to historic centre. Staff were lovely and went above and beyond to help you out. The bar/communal area is huge, really well furnished, and great for meeting people. Also the best free hostel breakfast I had in South America - loads of options, including eggs. The hostel organises lots of activities/excursions which are good fun. Rooms were small and bathrooms weren't the cleanest. Also the lockers under the beds often didn't work.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
6th Aug 2017
8.0

Dirty bathrooms but good pool/breakfast/bar area.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
5th Aug 2017
7.4

Staff were mainly friendly and helpful in the hostel. However we did have an issue with our reservation and felt that the hostel did not deal with the situation very well. Seems as if they have a major lack of organisation. Rooms were also very cramped and were filthy. On a positive note the hostel was really lively and had a good atmosphere. Also the breakfast was lovely,

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
17th Jul 2017
9.4

Great hostel, great atmosphere and friendly, helpful staff. Excursions organised through the guy in the cap were great and he helped make them fun. Don't be fooled by the pool though, didn't see a single person go in. Other than that no complaints!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
10th Jul 2017
7.1

The hostel is in a great location and the staff were very friendly. However, it was probably the worst room we've had in Brazil in terms of cleanliness. Our room was filthy on arrival, no soap or toilet roll in the en suite and when I mentioned it to reception they said they cleaned the rooms daily which was arguable. There was also a Middle Aged man and a child in our room which was uncomfortable being young female travellers, especially when hostels are supposed to be age restricted.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
30th Jun 2017
9.4

Loved this hostel! Would definitely stay again. Beautiful building, clean and great staff who always made an effort to make you feel welcomed. Also the free boat trip was so much fun! I originally booked only two nights and ended up staying 6. It even offers massages, shame I didn't end up having one ;) Couldn't recommend this hostel more! The Colombian Girl xxxx

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×