Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Che Lagarto Hostel Paraty

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 1143 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 1143 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
18th Mar 2017
9.1

Good hostel, cleanliness isn't there just yet, staff helpful overall good place to stay for travelling alone

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
14th Mar 2017
7.4

We found the hostel to be well located with a good bar and atmosphere. The room we stayed in was a little small and we found it funny that the bathroom wasn't cleaned until quite late in the day as this allowed it to get very dirty. The kitchen is very small so we didn't feel we could cook but the meals they offer are very good value for money and you get a lot of food! A good place to stay for a couple of nights.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Mar 2017
10.0

Amazing Hostel for the money you paid. The rooms are very big with lockers on the bottoms of the beds. The atmosphere is amazing and you can always make new friends. They serve amazing drinks at the bar and they have sometimes live music or dj on the wend. The staff was super friendly and amazing. Jack and Juliane were the best djs ever at the reception lol. Thx guys for the amazing stay :-) only one thing that lacks: the kitchen is very small and there re not so many pots to cook. Overall amzng

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • michelledinn901827
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
9th Mar 2017
9.7

We found this gem while booking with Easy Transfer - what a find! The atmosphere was fantastic, daily meal specials & happy hour, with live entertainment in the bar. The team were so helpfull and attentive, truely made booking tours so easy! Massive shout out to the humble Juan Dias, we extended our stay to see more of this beautiful location due to his local knowledge! This is truelly the best place to stay in Paraty, when we return to Brazil, this will be at the top of our list!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Mar 2017
8.0

Easy to locate. Party atmosphere. Great for socializing. Not an ideal place if you prefer a quiet night's rest. Good security with cards required to enter rooms. Only bad thing is the toilet. It is very small and the door opens INWARDS towards the sink and I had to squeeze my body in a awkward position to get in. Also, not sure if it was only my room's toilet but the cold water was not working. The shower was scalding hot.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th Mar 2017
9.4

Good facilities and nice staff

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • shaneomacf
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th Mar 2017
9.7

Best hostel ive visited so far. Staff very friendly + helpful. 5mins away from town centre. Great atmosphere and easy meet people. The bar plays music day and night, also organise nights in with cheap meals which were tasty. Can arrange boat and jeep trips to see the sights of Paraty. Rooms were clean and lockers were so spacious. Only negatives were that the WiFi rarely worked in the bedroom and breakfast couldve been a little better but would definitely visit again + highly recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
4th Mar 2017
8.6

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Che Lagarto. The hostel is no more than a 5 minute walk from both the heart of the old town and the bus station. There are good communal areas helping to create a lively atmosphere with events held in the hostel every evening (live music, BBQ's etc). Plenty of day tours are on offer as well. Staff were extremely helpful when it came to booking bus transfers and alternative accommodation when we couldn't stay an extra night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Mar 2017
8.3

The hostel is in a really nice location, between important places like the bus station and the old town. There's a nice lounge with hammocks, a pool and tables where people eat and can hangout, also they do small events like live music and dinners. The downside was the cleanliness, when we got there our bathroom was really dirty and without toilet paper (that happened twice in 3 days). The breakfast was ok. About the staff, the one's that worked at daytime were really nice and supportive.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
1st Mar 2017
10.0

This place is a must. They have a great atmosphere and extremely helpful/friendly staff. The place was close to everything, clean, and not too pricy.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.