Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Che Lagarto Hostel Paraty

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 1196 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 1196 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
10th Jul 2017
7.1

The hostel is in a great location and the staff were very friendly. However, it was probably the worst room we've had in Brazil in terms of cleanliness. Our room was filthy on arrival, no soap or toilet roll in the en suite and when I mentioned it to reception they said they cleaned the rooms daily which was arguable. There was also a Middle Aged man and a child in our room which was uncomfortable being young female travellers, especially when hostels are supposed to be age restricted.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
30th Jun 2017
9.4

Loved this hostel! Would definitely stay again. Beautiful building, clean and great staff who always made an effort to make you feel welcomed. Also the free boat trip was so much fun! I originally booked only two nights and ended up staying 6. It even offers massages, shame I didn't end up having one ;) Couldn't recommend this hostel more! The Colombian Girl xxxx

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Jun 2017
10.0

One of the nicest hostels I have stayed in. Great spacious rooms and comfortable beds. Breakfast was really good too. It was off season when I stayed but the staff did everything they could to make sure I enjoyed my time there. Can't praise the staff enough, especially Edem and Fernando 😉

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
19th Jun 2017
8.0

Friendly staff!! Great breakfast and pool/lounge/bar, however very small dorms - had to keep my big rucksack on my bed which wasn't ideal. Could do with taking a bunk out. Shower was lukewarm and our bathroom was flooded with water. Party hostel so music till 2am

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
5th Jun 2017
7.7

Stay was overall good. There were some drunk kids staying there, one ended up puking in their bed. The staff were really great about letting us move in the middle of the night, but they also served these boys alcohol, when they should have cut them off. Likely just bad luck we ran into these boys, and would stay again at Che Lagarto. Atmosphere was so-so, but we also stayed in off season.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
29th May 2017
8.9

Had a great stay here, it's the excellent staff that make all the difference. Really friendly with excellent English. Loads for breakfast. It was low season but still had a great stay. Great location, really close to bus station and the beach. Free boat trip was added bonus. Would definitely recommend!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
18th May 2017
6.6

For a massive chain of hostels you would think they would at least give you a fitted sheet for the bed, instead of 2 flat sheets that barely cover the old dirty mattress that comes off during the night when you sleep

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
17th May 2017
9.4

The hostel was easy enough to find and pretty much in the very pretty 'old town'. The staff had up graded is to a suite which was across the road and had room for 4 people. The staff were also very friendly and helpful. The room was very clean although a bit damp but that may not be the hostels fault as it was raining a fair bit. We meet some great people too. Only real problem was the kitchen was small and seriously poorly equipped. Breakfast was above average but not great. Would stay again :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th May 2017
9.4

This is a great hostel. The staff is very helpful and kind, rooms are tidy and the old city is just some steps away. The atmosphere was very lively and the free boat tour just great!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th May 2017
10.0

Great hostel with good vibe and nice people. Recommended! Edem did a great job to show me around and make me feel comfortable.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.