Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Che Lagarto Suites Copacabana Santa Clara

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 343 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.9
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 343 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.9
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 8.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Aug 2017
10.0

We spent four nights at Che Lagarto Suites Copacabana SC and really enjoyed the time! The hostel is more like an hotel and is well located in Copacabana, close to the lovely beach and a metro station. The very best thing about this hostel is the staff though. Magalí, Gabi and Mariana are doing a great job! :) They organized great tours for us (football match, favela tour, etc.), recommended awesome places and just made our stay in Rio de Janeiro unforgettable. Obrigado!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • trips-for-pips
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 30 reviews
1st Aug 2017
9.4

Extremely friendly and helpful staff, especially Mariana and the other very nice young woman we spoke to several times (so sorry we forgot your name!). Decent breakfast. Comfy bed and spacious room with a hammock for relaxing. The shower was the only let down - warm but not hot and didn't spray properly. Also there was reasonably loud music playing until 11pm in the reception even though no-one was there but the staff. This could be heard in the bedroom. Some great songs but strange nonetheless!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Pips! Thank you so much for your review! It means the world to us. We're very happy to hear you had a nice stay with us, enjoying our breakfast, rooms and all the help from the front desk! We've already fixed the shower, so now it sprays properly and checked about the music so this not happen again to our future guests. Hope you and Ross have a wonderful trip and hope to see you very soon! Cheers!

24th Jul 2017
9.1

The Hostal only consists of private dorms and doesn't really have a common area or balcony to hang out. It's just a small area in front of the hostel. Breakfast is very rich and good. Restaurants around the corner. 10 minute walk to copacabana. Very clean rooms and comfortable beds. Staff is super friendly and helpful and can give tips for trips and day tours.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Tobias, thank you for your review! Your opinion is very important! We're happy to hear you had a nice stay with us enjoying our breakfast, location and rooms! We're sorry we didn't fulfill your expectations about our commom area. It was really nice to meet you and hope to see soon! Kind regards from Rio, Che Lagarto Copacabana Suites Santa Clara Staff

  • rohan001899
  • USA, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Jul 2017
9.4

This is an overall great hostel. The only potential drawback is if you are looking for a party hostel, because this is not quite that; it has a much more chill and relaxed vibe. My friend and I were staying for the weekend and we didn't want a crazy party atmosphere; we just wanted a nice place to stay where we could get an affordable private room, and Che Lagarto provided exactly that. The staff is very friendly and the service is great. The location is also amazing. Would stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Rohan and Ryan! Thank you so much for your review! We're really happy you had such an amazing stay and we could provide exactly what you were looking for! There's nothing better than reading a review like yours! Hope to see you soon Kind regards from Rio, Che Lagarto Copacabana Suites Santa Clara Staff

  • co-captains
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
17th Jul 2017
8.0

Staff were incredibly helpful and knowegable! Only suggestion would be laundry service. Brekky simple but delish.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jul 2017
10.0

Awesome hostel, great staff, Mariana was amazing!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Elly and Oscar! Thank you so much for your review. It means a lot to us! We're really happy you had such an amazing stay with us. There's absolutely nothing better than reading a review like this one. It was really nice to meet you and we hope to see you again soon! Kind regards from Rio, Mariana and Che Lagarto Copacabana Suites Santa Clara Staff

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
9th Jul 2017
10.0

If we could give the staff and this place a better rating than 10 we would! We have done a lot of traveling and been to many hostels before but this place is the best we've ever stayed at. Staff was unbelievably helpful! Amazing and really kind people. Made us feel welcome and at home. They even translated all kinds of things for us, helped with some doctor stuff we had to sort out, tried to give advice and help wherever they could. Can only recommend this place. We'll definitely come back!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Anna, Thank you so much for your review. It means the world to us! We're really happy you and James had such an amazing stay here at the hostel. We love making our guests feel just like at home, and this is our main goal. It was really nice to meet you and we hope to see you again soon. Kind regards from Rio, Che Lagarto Copacabana Suites Santa Clara Staff

  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Jul 2017
7.7

Good place, 15-20 minutes walk from the beach. Lovely staff, and super helpful. The room was fine, anything fancy but with good shower and bed, there was a television too. The common areas wasn't cozy, there wasn't atmosphere to meet other people. The breakfast was good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, thank you very much for sharing your experience with us and other travellers here at hostelworld.com. Your opinion is very important. We are pleased to hear you had a nice stay with us at the hostel and you liked our service at the front desk. On the other hand we are sorry to hear we did not fullfil some of your expectations. About the common areas, they are the TV room next to the reception and the entrance garden where there are some tables and benches in which you can rest, or just grab a beer at the end of the day, and the shared kitchen! Cheers from Rio. Che Lagarto Copacabana Suites Santa Clara

  • ronanmason5557
  • New Zealand, Couple, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 21 reviews
15th Jun 2017
9.4

Amazing hostel. Friendly and knowledgeable staff. Big comfy beds. Great wifi. Delicious breakfast. Perfect for couples!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Ronan! How are you? Thank you so much for sharing your experience at the hostel, your opinion is very important to us. We are very glad you had an amazing stay with us, enjoying our location, breakfast, and facilities from the staff! Here at Che Lagarto Hostels we work hard to make sure every single one of our guests feel like home. We hope we can see you soon, it was a pleasure to host you. Kind regards from Rio, Che Lagarto Copacabana Suites Santa Clara Staff.

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th May 2017
10.0

I had a lovely stay at Che Lagarto Suites. I never ever post any review, but this one is a well deserved one! The staff makes the difference: They went above and beyond. The property is very clean, my room was huge and modern and had an amazing balcony. The breakfast is very good as well. Thank you so much Magalí and Luis for such a great stay and all your help during my trips. I had a great time in Rio and I will definitely recommend you!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Melanie! Thank you so much for your review! It means the world to us. We're really happy you had such an amazing stay here at the hostel and that we were part of an unforgettable experience in Rio. It was lovely to meet you and we hope to see you again soon! Cheers, Magali, Luiz & Che Lagarto Santa Clara Staff

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.