X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Che Lagarto hostel Ipanema Reviews

Rua Paul Redfern N�48, Ipanema, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
694 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 94%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Great staff. Good location. Not super clean in the 10 person mix dorm. Sooo many people there during the World Cup claustrophobic.

  • 8th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Excellent location right near the beach, comfy beds and decent shower. Breakfast was pretty tasty too. My only problem was I booked a taxi with the hostel to the airport which never turned up and had to share with another couple from the hostel. Problem was we had all pre paid the for the taxi so effectively the hostel made money out of it. This slightly soured my experience of the hostel


83%

El personal de limpieza hace mucho ruido, grita y canta. No deja dormir. Lo demas muy bueno

  • 6th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Wow! Some of the friendliest and most helpful people in the world work at this hostel. Atmosphere, staff and good dorms make this place a great place to stay. Ipanema beach is one block away and you can actually see it from outside the hostel. They have a party every night so if that might bother you, maybe look elsewhere but when you're upstairs you're not really affected by it.


89%

Good place to stay. Staff very knowlegeable about the city and transportation.


83%

Hostel was in an amazing location close to the beach, shopping, restaurants and buses. I didn't have to walk more than 5 minutes to get to anything.


86%

Very good atmosphere staff are really nice! Met a lot of good people and was a good stay. Free capridinha voucher on arrival and a great breakfast in the morning.


89%

Me encanto! Desde el primer momento me hicieron sentir muy cómoda... Excelente lugar para viajar solo o acompañado, se da el espacio perfecto para conocer mucha gente y todos son muy buena onda! Siempre todo limpio, la ubicación es perfecta, a sólo una cuadra de la playa de Ipanema, desde donde se puede ir caminando a conocer Copacabana... Totalmente recomendable quedarse ahí, espero regresar pronto!!!

  • 23rd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

great place. friendly and easy in and out. facilities could be improved upon.


97%

I stayed at Che Legarto Ipanema for 10 days in late May. After travelling through South America for five weeks, this was the only Backpackers that I felt compelled to write a review for. The location is excellent, just one minute walk to the beach, the staff are super friendly and helpful, and the vibe of the hostel is great – everyone is friendly and social and ready to have a great time. Johnathan, one of the receptionists is super helpful and made our stay so easy. Thanks for a great time,

  • 20th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

I had a great time at Che Lagarto. Ricardo and the other staff members were very friendly, knowledgable and fun to meet. I recommend this place.

  • 8th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Perto de tudo, com uma estrutura muito boa, roupas de cama limpas e quartos sempre bem cuidados. O maior diferencial é o profissionalismo da equipe, trabalham como uma empresa e isso ajuda muito, os funcionários são felizes em estar ali, excelente! O café da manhã é demais! A única coisa que precisa melhorar é a cozinha e o espaço para lanchar, jantar, etc...que são pequenos. No checkin tive problemas com a cotação do dólar deles que é fixa e atrapalha nosso planejamento, mas podem mudar.


94%

Ótimo hostel, bem localizado, equipe super atenciosa, boa estrutura, só tenho elogios a fazer.


83%

Funcionários muito atenciosos, inclusive tive um problema de acomodação que foi rapidamente resolvido, aptos e banheiros limpos e organizados, e a localização muito boa e de fácil acesso à taxis e ônibus.

  • 26th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

SALUDOS LA ATENCIÓN EN EL COUNTER AL LLEGAR FUE MUY BUENA Y LOS CHICOS TE HACEN SENTIR EN CASA, LES PEDÍ AYUDA DE COMO LLEGAR A CIERTOS LUGARES Y SUPIERON DARME LA INFORMACIÓN ACERTADA, CONFIABLE Y RÁPIDA, ME GUSTO QUE TODOS HABLARAN ESPAÑOL, YA QUE EN BRASIL AL PARECER MUY POCA GENTE SABE HABLAR ESPAÑOL. PODRÍAN VARIAR EL MENÚ DEL DESAYUNO, AL 3 DÍA TE CANSA.

  • 22nd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ecuador
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Very good place! Near to Ipanema beach and all that you need.... Clean bedroom and bathrooms and an admirable security! Staffs are also very nice! Unfortunately, they do not accept credit card


94%

I stayed at this hostel recently and I was very impressed with the level of costumer service provided by the staff. The atmosphere was inviting, the staff were hospitable and social. It was obvious that they wanted to accommodate any request I had. They were able to answer any questions I had and helped me navigate my way around the city. The location of the hostel is perfect, considering its waking distance to the beach and close to other shops and restaurants. I felt safe at all times.

  • 17th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Un grand merci à cette fantastique équipe et spécialement à WENDELL FERRARI pour leur grand professionalisme tout était juste parfait


54%

I didnt enjoy staying here. I had some great expectations given this is well known chain, yet the rooms and shared spaces were really crowded. Rooms were not.clean at all nor were the bathrooms. And they dont even offer towel rent service... all they did was just send me somewhere 5blocks away to go and try look for a towel. I was so disappointed I left to a hotel after my first night.


97%

The staff is friendly and the rooms and bathrooms are clean. Very good price for the service.

  • 9th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


(46 results)


View all Rio de Janeiro Hostels

Please give us your feedback