X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Che Lagarto hostel Ipanema Reviews

Rua Paul Redfern N�48, Ipanema, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
736 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 94%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Great! The staff is really good.


100%

Me trataron super bien!! y todo fue como excelente como esperaba!


100%

El hostel esta buenísimo!! La próxima vuelvo y me quedo mas dias!

  • 26th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Excelente Hostel!!! Fomos muito bem atendidos, ótimas instalações e excelente público!!!

  • 22nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Very close to ipanema beach, however the a bit of a walk to the metro and was quite expensive getting to and from nights out in lapa.


100%

Localização muito boa! Equipe muito atenciosos. Muita diversão. Altamente recomendado!


46%

Che Lagarto tried with its location in Ipanema. After being in Brazil for 3 weeks prior to arriving in Rio I expected Rio to be the highlight, instead it was my lowlight. The Ipanema location seemed to focus a little to much on being 'the cool' hostel and the people in my room seemed unfriendly compared to my stays at other hostel.


94%

I had a great time staying at Che Lagarto in Ipanema. The location is literally one block from some of the beaches in Rio and the neighborhood is a lot more upscale and enjoyable than Copacabana. The hotel staff were super fun, helpful and very accomodating. It was obvious they wanted everyone staying there to have a great time, whether it be suggesting great tours of the favelas or parties in the lobby or whatever. I would highly recommend staying here and can´t wait to come back myself.

  • 17th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Iceland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Well located hostel, good facilities, but convenient only for party people, music was out loud till 1am....imposible to get early to bed..


91%

Achei um local ótimo para quem assim como eu estava a passeio e queria um local com preço acessível e bem localizado.

  • 10th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Overall very satisfied. Just call a cab yourself. Its much cheaper! Staff very friendly and helpful =) Great location!


94%

Un lugar excelente, con excelente ubicación y de los mejores Hostel que he visitado en todo el mundo. La seguridad, el personal todo es de maravilla. Lo único malo que se puede decir, es que como es tan cerca de la avenida principal de Ipanema, Rio de Janeiro el ruido de los autos es muy fuerte y por las mañanas ya no deja dormir. Pero está bien, para levantarse temprano y disfrutar del día..

  • 9th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

A good hostel in a safe area of Rio. This is a bit of a party hostel; super if that is what you are looking for. Good clean facilities, though WiFi is not strong in rooms.

  • 8th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Bonne auberge, SdB dans les dortoirs, propre, tres bien placé a une rue de la plage d'ipanema, personnel parlant anglais et essayant de comprendre le francais, pas de souci avec lagarto.


69%

The hostel has a good position and nice people staying there, but common spaces are extremely small. The only common area is the bar. So although it has a kitchen, there's not really a space where to eat or chill out... Also, services are pretty basic, they do not have an hairdryer or towels so you must bring everything with you (I fell ill while I was staying there so this may have influence my opinion in a bad way...) Apart from this, my staying there was ok!


89%

Hostel bem localizado, staff bem amistoso e sorridente! Fiquei no 6o andar e o elevador só vai até o 4o. Isso é um problema às vezes. No mais, adorei a estadia. Sugiro!


89%

Great place to stay, near the beach, in a safe location. Staff is sympathic and always try to help!


83%

Richard, the manager, was very attentive and informative. The favela tour that was booked through the hostel was one of the highlights of the trip. The rooms were small but clean. Wonderful location.


94%

El lugar es recomendable, está muy bien ubicado a unas cuadras del lago Rodrigo de Freitas y la playa Ipanema. Limpieza y seguridad bien. Nos hosperdaron en la otra torre, le falta elevador pero bueno se pasa. Muchas actividades algo que me gustó y buen ambiente. El staff divertido, atento, pero a veces unos me decían una información y luego otra, creo que fue porque fui en el mundial, había mucha gente y al principio la atención la sentí un poco débil. La gerencia bien. Volveria sin duda ahí.

  • 20th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Panama
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

The hostel is well located near ipanema beach only a few blocks walk away. The staff are brilliant in this hostel, they make you feel welcome as soon as you step foot in the hostel and they make an effort to remember your name. The dorms are clean and comfortable and the lockers are big enough for all your gear. I would defiantly stay here again.

  • 19th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


(58 results)


View all Rio de Janeiro Hostels

Please give us your feedback