X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Che Lagarto hostel Ipanema Reviews

Rua Paul Redfern N�48, Ipanema, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
685 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 95%Staff
  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Achei um local ótimo para quem assim como eu estava a passeio e queria um local com preço acessível e bem localizado.

  • 10th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Overall very satisfied. Just call a cab yourself. Its much cheaper! Staff very friendly and helpful =) Great location!


94%

Un lugar excelente, con excelente ubicación y de los mejores Hostel que he visitado en todo el mundo. La seguridad, el personal todo es de maravilla. Lo único malo que se puede decir, es que como es tan cerca de la avenida principal de Ipanema, Rio de Janeiro el ruido de los autos es muy fuerte y por las mañanas ya no deja dormir. Pero está bien, para levantarse temprano y disfrutar del día..

  • 9th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Bonne auberge, SdB dans les dortoirs, propre, tres bien placé a une rue de la plage d'ipanema, personnel parlant anglais et essayant de comprendre le francais, pas de souci avec lagarto.


89%

Hostel bem localizado, staff bem amistoso e sorridente! Fiquei no 6o andar e o elevador só vai até o 4o. Isso é um problema às vezes. No mais, adorei a estadia. Sugiro!


89%

Great place to stay, near the beach, in a safe location. Staff is sympathic and always try to help!


83%

Richard, the manager, was very attentive and informative. The favela tour that was booked through the hostel was one of the highlights of the trip. The rooms were small but clean. Wonderful location.


94%

El lugar es recomendable, está muy bien ubicado a unas cuadras del lago Rodrigo de Freitas y la playa Ipanema. Limpieza y seguridad bien. Nos hosperdaron en la otra torre, le falta elevador pero bueno se pasa. Muchas actividades algo que me gustó y buen ambiente. El staff divertido, atento, pero a veces unos me decían una información y luego otra, creo que fue porque fui en el mundial, había mucha gente y al principio la atención la sentí un poco débil. La gerencia bien. Volveria sin duda ahí.

  • 20th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Panama
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

The hostel is well located near ipanema beach only a few blocks walk away. The staff are brilliant in this hostel, they make you feel welcome as soon as you step foot in the hostel and they make an effort to remember your name. The dorms are clean and comfortable and the lockers are big enough for all your gear. I would defiantly stay here again.

  • 19th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

One of the best hostels I have been to in South America hands down

  • 16th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Best staff ever! I love this place and the location! I would love to stay here again!

  • 14th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Staff is great, fun hostel for sure! A block from ipanema beach, it's perfect. Definitely check out this hostel.


100%

Great staff! really realy friendly and always happy and wanting to help! GO THERE!!!

  • 14th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Great staff. Good location. Not super clean in the 10 person mix dorm. Sooo many people there during the World Cup claustrophobic.

  • 8th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Excellent location right near the beach, comfy beds and decent shower. Breakfast was pretty tasty too. My only problem was I booked a taxi with the hostel to the airport which never turned up and had to share with another couple from the hostel. Problem was we had all pre paid the for the taxi so effectively the hostel made money out of it. This slightly soured my experience of the hostel


83%

El personal de limpieza hace mucho ruido, grita y canta. No deja dormir. Lo demas muy bueno

  • 6th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Wow! Some of the friendliest and most helpful people in the world work at this hostel. Atmosphere, staff and good dorms make this place a great place to stay. Ipanema beach is one block away and you can actually see it from outside the hostel. They have a party every night so if that might bother you, maybe look elsewhere but when you're upstairs you're not really affected by it.


89%

Good place to stay. Staff very knowlegeable about the city and transportation.


83%

Hostel was in an amazing location close to the beach, shopping, restaurants and buses. I didn't have to walk more than 5 minutes to get to anything.


86%

Very good atmosphere staff are really nice! Met a lot of good people and was a good stay. Free capridinha voucher on arrival and a great breakfast in the morning.


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(41 results)


View all Rio de Janeiro Hostels

Please give us your feedback