X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Check In Hostel Reviews

Markgrafenstrasse 68, Berlin, Germany

Reviews & Ratings Explained

75%

Rating
1501 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 75%Staff
  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

Great location and very secure. Atmosphere is good. Bathrooms and kitchen were pretty dirty though.


71%

Staff was not very helpful, bathrooms were cleaned in the mornings, but for a big hostel like this one it was not enough, kitchen was a mess because someone forgot the fridge open. I know that this is not the hostel's fault, but it took them several hours to realize that there was something wrong with the fridge. Also, school groups were ruining the atmosphere, and wifi needs to log in with facebook, and it was not working in my phone.


77%

There werent enough keys for the room so had to keep letting people in... floors in the bathroom had standing water. Super convenient for visiting checkpoint charlie.


100%

having just come from the Lourve hostel in France, this hostel was an oasis. everything was great!awesome location!awesome facilities. my only problem is that the shower curtains were far to small for the shower stall, but I suppose that's only a problems for the cleaners.... would absolutely come back!


83%

The hostel had great WI-FI, nice beds and spacious rooms. The location of this hostel is its best quality and is only literally less than a two minute walk from checkpoint Charlie and the topography of terror. Showers were a bit disgusting and dirty but you get over it after a while. Not a bad stay.


60%

the showerroom is terrible! rhere is no light at night! but wifi is good...


74%

Good to stay i had no bad experience


29%

The only good thing about this hostel is location. The staff (especially manager) unkind and unhelpful. The hostel is also dirty and security is very low. Very bad experience.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Mrs. XY: Thank you very much for your stay by us. Unfortunately sometimes we have also guests like you and your friends. If you come at 5 30 at the morning totaly drunk and we need call the police because of you and other people can´t sleep because you are so noisy so you mean that we are unkind and unhelpful? I wish you all the best to Poland and again thank you for your stay by us. Check In Hostel Manager

94%

It was pretty great, the personnel was very nice and helpful, especially the guy with the beard.


57%

Kitchen, WC and showers were very dirty. The floor in the showers definitely needed to be mopped much more regularly. We asked for our washing and drying to be done and were told it would be finished by check out (over 12hrs later) but it was only just finishing in the washer when we had to leave (and we didn't get a refund).


37%

Horrible restrooms

  • 12th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ecuador
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

Staff were strange. Naturally unfriendly and when they were friendly and helpful it was very forced. Location was alright, only for Berlin's excellent public transport system. Would not recommend to a friend or family.

  • 11th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Really cool staff. I left my phone at the hostel and they were super nice to mail it back to the US for me. Thanks guys


66%

It should be cleanner


63%

One guy of the staff was particularly rude. The other people were ok.


54%

It's a cheap budget hostel so you get exactly what you pay for. It wasn't very clean. The fridges were disgusting. The staff weren't helpful either. Every answer was either "I don't know" or "sorry I can't help you".


60%

well, you get what you pay with this hostel. not the very best hostel in town, but the location pays it off a little bit. the room was quite ample, the toilets and showers were quite clean as well, but the ambiance of this hostel is a bit unpleasant. finding a snuggling-couple as a room-mate is not so convenient for me. if you have some extra money and value more convenience, i would suggest to find another hostel.


31%

This place is located right next to Berlin's most despised tourist attraction: Checkpoint Charlie on a markedly characterless street and in an even uglier building. The atmosphere and cleanliness are nil: dank carpets. The facilities ok except the cleaning staff yell at you if you go into the only bathroom while they're cleaning. It would be good value if you weren't charged extortionate penalties for breaching minor regulations and then lectured. No integrity. Stay in Kreuzberg.


83%

Good Hostel with a cool atmosphere thanks to the big common room. Easy to make friends, and good location for day-time sightseeing.


71%

Wifi was slow during the evening, kitchen was really small and got crowded fast when there was a lot of people cooking. One staff member was always grumpy and rude. Other then that was a good stay. Beds were comfy and the bathrooms were clean. It was annoying that the lights were on motion sensors in the bathrooms and they went out really fast so had to move around a lot when in there.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
(120 results)


View all Berlin Hostels

Please give us your feedback