Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Check In Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.3
Very Good 2082 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 6.6
BOOK NOW
7.3
Very Good 2082 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 6.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Mar 2017
9.7

I was not expecting the hostel to be as welcoming/clean/etc as it was and was genuinely surprised! For the price I paid for 3 nights, I would recommend Check In Hostel to each of my friends if they are staying in Berlin. For sightseeing, this hostel is centrally located and within walking distance of most major locations. My friend and I only took the metro once or twice a day and the front desk staff was very helpful in helping us locate for food, night life, etc. 2 thumbs up :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Mar 2017
6.6

I had emailed the hostel explaining that my friend was joining me and if would be possible if we could be put in the same room. They replied that it was fine. When we got there the gent at the reception was extremely rude, unhelpful and frankly put a dampen on our stay. He said we weren't in the same room, he didn't smile at all, and everything seemed to be an issue for him. He sorted it thankfully but still not impressed. Great location, room clean, but front door always open!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
19th Mar 2017
6.0

overall kind of dirty and dingy. beds/ linens kind of gross. shared bathrooms for the whole floor. smells like cigarettes right when you walk in. if you're looking for someplace cheap i'm sure there's another place with better facilities.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
15th Mar 2017
9.1

A big, well-located hostel: 2 blocks from the UBahn and Checkpoint Charlie and 10 min ride/20 min walk to city center. The staff were nice. The showers were annoying in that there weren't fixed shower heads and the temperature was hard to get right. The attached restaurant had a pretty weird feel. It was ridiculously loud while we were there (St Patrick's weekend) but nothing a pair of ear plugs couldn't fix. Overall, reasonable prices for a great location, comfortable beds, free lockers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Mar 2017
6.3

Check In Hostel is in a great area - everything is close, but our room was located next to the common kitchen which has no doors, and right next to it ( !!! ) there is a door to a dancing club that was super loud till midnight. At the first night some russian guys opened the door to our room with a card (there are cards and no keys to the rooms), although they werent supposed to stay in this room. So thats why I rated security as very weak.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Mar 2017
6.3

Pretty good location. Although the staff was friendly, the room smelled like a gym bag and half the outlets in the room didn't work. Bring flip-flops for the shower.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
23rd Feb 2017
4.3

The whole building stinks, facilities in general dirty, the bathrooms not cleaned properly and the light goes automatically off after a while, making sure you will have to shower in the dark, unless you need less than 60 seconds for that. Stayed in a 6 bed room. Dirty socks were everywhere, litter was on the carpet and my roommates were smoking weed at 2 AM inside the room. The internet connection is slow. Location is great though and the price is low, but I guess you get what you pay for.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Poland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Feb 2017
7.7

What I Liked: -very close to the centre of the city. We made 80% of our trip just on feet -Clean rooms and common facilities -quite big kitchen with enough space in fridges and on stoves -helpful staff -grocery store just downstairs What could be better: -troubles with wifi -cleaning ladies were tidying kitchen about 8 in the morning just as everyone came to cook breakfast -almost all pots and pans had broken handles -lack of proper cuttlery (but there is plastic one at the reception)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
2nd Feb 2017
5.1

Polite staff but not really helpful. No tourist info given. You can enter the hostel and access the rooms without the reception even see you. Small and noisy lockers, so you'd probably leave sth outside. No individual sockets or lights close to bed, what is really upsetting. The toilet usually dirty, no hot water to wash your hands, on the last day the floor was soaked. Just one of the bathrooms had support to hang the shower. Breakfast outside the hostel. The location is good tho.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
16th Jan 2017
4.9

toilets is very bad, not clean and water not too much hot for cold so you will have problems if go there during the winter. Kitchen is not clean too and people around the hostel is very strange. Anyway, hostel is located in a very good place, very close to checkpoint charlie.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.