X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Check Inn HK Reviews

3/F, Kwong Wah Mansion, 269-273 Hennessy Road,Wan Chai, Hong Kong, Hong Kong

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
1057 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 94%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Kindly and helpful staff. Good situation.

  • 13th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Great hostel. No complaints.


89%

Very clean and nice hostel. Very friendly it permits to meet and hang out with others backpackers. The staff is great and very helpfull. Always here to help, friendly and available to talk with. I really enjoyed my stay there. Very well located, it permits to walk to the good places easily. The only negative point was about the wifi that i couln'd get with my laptop, but i was the only one in that case.

  • 9th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

The staff was exceptionally helpful and friendly but frankly the bathroom was was too small for comfort. Wi Fi connection was excellent One setback we encountered was two of our boys came back with bed bugs

  • 6th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Good Hostel, easy to find. Very standard facilities but everything we needed. Was nice to have water and bananas provided every time we got back and the room cleaned.


100%

great place, second time i've stayed there, highly recommend


94%

Pretty decent - very clean, friendly staff, close to interesting stuff.


100%

The staff are very helpful. The overall atmosphere is cozy and the rooms are clean. The location is unbeatable with a tram station and bus stop nearby, though the mtr is minutes'walk away. Highly suggest to single travelor as you will never feel alone.

  • 1st Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Macau
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Fantastic experience. I was here for a quick trip and experienced lovely and helpful staff, clean accommodation and a great atmosphere. Would definitely stay here again and recommend to anyone!

  • 1st Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Excellent stay, highly recommended. Right in the centre of Hong Kong island. The owner is Wincent, he works the desk some days/night and running an excellent hostel is his passion. He took us hiking one morning to the Dragon's Back Trail near Shek O. Only comment is softer pillows please :)


80%

Showers literally in the toilets is a bit ikky but understand this has to do with space generally in Hong Kong. Lovely staff and very accommodating. Will definitely recommend if know people wanting to stay in that area. The private suite is also a little bit expensive for what you get.


86%

everything was pretty good in my opinion, the location, the staff, the accommodation itself, the value of the booking, i would just give some improvement to the lack of control on the 14th floor, guests were loud and noisy, there was nobody from the staff there so it was a free for all, i really liked this hostel and it is just one little thing to improve, i hope they look at this any time soon :)


89%

It is a really nice hostel. For a hostel in a big city the price is really good and it is really clean. Some little things I didnt like was the cleaning lady, cleaning when People were still asleep or she already changed the bedsheets on my last day even hours before check out. That is something what makes a guest unwelcomed. She should just wait until it is check out time or the guest has left.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comment. Sometimes we change the bed sheet early because some guests check in early after a long flight. That's why we want to make the beds ready for them and make them take a rest. We will avoid this in the future :)

100%

This is a great place to stay at! I had to do a quick visa run, so the location was perfect, The staff were also very helpful and friendly and they even stayed till late to help me check in after a late night flight. The rooms might be a bit small but they are clean and everything's very neat. Great price for Hong Kong!! Love this hostel.

  • 24th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Staff was friendly and helpful and everything was really clean, great spot if you're getting your visa or want to check out HK island

  • 24th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Toilet wasn't running properly. For 100hkd more than a private here, you can get a decent hotel room, so for couples it's not recommendable. Staff were nice. Free bananas. :)


97%

Stayed here for 5 nights in late November - really enjoyed my stay! Rooms were really well equipped with little things that make a big difference like multiple power boards that were all international adapters. Bathrooms though small (standard in HK) were cleaned by the staff continually throughout the day. I recommend the dim sum tour run by the owner- great way to see the authentic HK! Close to transport and heaps of food options with well stocked supermarket across the road. Would recommend!!

  • 21st Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

The staff were superb at the Check Inn hostel. Greeting us by our names and always being incredibly kind and helpful was wonderful. The accommodation is quite cosy (space is obviously at a premium in HK!) but it's kept incredibly clean and there is a great atmosphere in the first floor common room. The free bananas are a tasty feature too which was great.


83%

Good location and very nice staff. But the hostel has no curfew rule, so many guests come back very very late, which definitely disturb others in the hostel.


91%

Central accommodation, good wifi, really friendly staff. Definitely recommend and easy to find.


(102 results)


View all Hong Kong Hostels

Please give us your feedback