X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Check Inn HK Reviews

3/F, Kwong Wah Mansion, 269-273 Hennessy Road,Wan Chai, Hong Kong, Hong Kong

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
1270 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 94%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Excellent hostel in an excellent location. Friendly staff, clean rooms, clean bathrooms. Highly recommended.

  • 9th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

The staff was incredibly helpful. They helped us find good places to eat, fun activities to do, and the best way to get to the airport. Great hostel.

  • 7th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Very convenient location for what I needed. The hostel was quiet and the staff took care to make sure that you can actually sleep (unlike other hostels)! Everything was clean, the check in/out process was smooth. Highly recommended.

  • 6th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

Great location and the staff was really friendly. The private room was really small and didn't include a fridge or water boiler. We've stayed at other hostels and had private rooms that were twice the size and included a lot of extras for half the price....that being said, the location can make up for it (if your only staying a few days).


83%

I love their staff. They are friendly and approachable. They try their best to answer my questions regarding places of interest and transportation. It's a nice budget hostel.

  • 5th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Highly recommend this place. Friendly staff and great location! Made our stay in HK very enjoyable.

  • 4th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Great hostel in a great location, located on one of the main roads in HK and a 5-10 min walk from Wan Chai MTR station. Staff are friendly and helpful, and the hostel runs group events most days (trip to Happy Valley race course, wind surfing etc) which makes getting to know people easy. Join the events and the Thursday night bar crawl! Really enjoyed my stay here.


100%

People were so nice ! Thanx for your welcome !

  • 30th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Great place, keep up the good work


77%

The entrance looked a bit creepy at the beginning, but dormitories are alright and the whole hostel is actually pretty good !


80%

In a world that increasingly frowns on any sort of discrimination, I find it offensive that Hostelworld and thus Check Inn officially discriminates against.children under 8 and adults over 55. I am not sure why this policy exists but on principal I don't like it. In actuality I was not hindered from staying at the Check Inn and found the bed comfortable, facilities adequate, clean and the location excellent for my need to secure a re-entry visa into China.

  • 29th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
It is not about discrimination. Our bunk beds are a bit taller than normal beds. We do have kids and elderly guests have problems with that.

74%

Friendly, helpful staff made staying here a pleasant experience. Air conditioning works well, showers are clean, and despite being on a busy street you can get some quality sleep. The only downsides are that the mattresses are thin and smell like mothballs. Overall good value for money.

  • 29th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Considering Hong Kong's expensive lifestyle, this is one of the best hostels you will find. Staff is friendly albeit a bit quiet, things warm up after a few days stay.


86%

INice Staff and clean facility is really good. It need to walk from Wan Chai station but it could be also good journey at HK~!!! It is my 2nd visit to Check Inn HK~ always satisfied their service.


91%

Great hostel small intimate easy to meet people great location. A little more expensive but you get higher quality interactions from staff and other travelers.


94%

Great hostel located conveniently between Wan Chai and Causeway Bay MTR stations. The staff was very knowledgeable and friendly. Beds, washrooms and common areas were all very clean. Would stay again.

  • 28th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Perfect location, it is very easy to navigate HK from this hostel. The rooms and washrooms are good, everything was clean. Lack of some kind of common area, but provided what city we're talking about they make the most of the space they have, and there's still some space to have a chat with others. Really nice and friendly staff.


83%

Not a bad place with everything you need. However at the price that it comes at, it seems to be overhyped. My only complaint is that there's only two bathroom/shower combos. Other than that, not a bad place, but the high price doesn't seem justified unless all lodging in Hong Kong is just very expensive or low in quality.


83%

A clean, efficient and well located hostel. Can't say I'm ever crazy about graffiti wall entrances to hostels where backpackers compete to list all the places they've visited or make naff observations about life. But that's just a personal thing.


100%

Great hostel, sort of apartment structure so it's easy to meet other people in the common area. Everything is very clean and the location is very handy. Just 10 minutes to the star ferry or less than 5 minutes to the MTR station. Around the hostel enough places to eat, from local to expat places. Staff is very nice and helpful. I'll stay here next time I come to Hong Kong for sure!


(120 results)


View all Hong Kong Hostels

Please give us your feedback