X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Cheers Hostel Reviews

Alemdar Mahallesi, Zeynep Sultan Camii Sokak No 21, Istanbul, Turkey

Reviews & Ratings Explained

94%

Rating
2389 Total Reviews
  • 94%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 98%Location
  • 97%Staff
  • 95%Atmosphere
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 91%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Myself and 4 friends chose Cheers as our base for our annual St Patrick's day venture, and we couldn't have chosen better. The hostel itself is in perfect condition and the location couldn't be better for taking in the sights of Istanbul. Where it really distinguishes itself though is through its staff. From the moment we arrived Tarik and the team couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful, sorted us with tickets to a Fenerbache match and kept the hostel bar open till the early hours ; )

  • 15th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Cheers is one of the most lovely hostels I stayed in my trip. The location is perfect that five minutes walking to the main viewpoints of Istanbul. They have their own bar and the scenery from the window is exactly what you expected for the place. They have wonderful service, includes breakfast, inquiry and so on. I book here twice and the next time, if I visit Turkey again, it'll be my home for sure. PS: there is a cute puppy in the Hostel too.


100%

After nearly 40 countries, only a handful of hostels compare to Cheers. Clean, cozy, beautifully decorated, with bright, warm rooms and hot showers. Free tea or coffee and jazz/blues music in the lobby. Delicious breakfast and intimate rooftop bar with amazing views. Owner and staff were like old friends and always helpful making plans in the city or creating a fun and relaxed environment. One of my best hostel experience! I look forward to coming back soon to my new Turkish home and family.


100%

Cheers was an excellent choice! The owner and staff were very helpful, funny, and friendly - including the resident dog, "Zaman". The location is perfect, though it was a little hard to find given the instructions from the Gurlhane light rail stop. The lounge/bar can be a little loud and smoky at night, so come here to meet people and stay up a little late, not for perfect tranquility :)

  • 12th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

This Hostel was perfect! The location is super! My favourite thing is the rooftop bar with a view over the Hagia Sophia and the staff are very cool and lots of fun! A friendly dog lives in the hostel as well :)


94%

The stuff is so kind and the hostel very nice. To recommend: the bar on the top of the hostel building with its beautiful view.

  • 7th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

I greatly enjoyed my stay here - the hostel staff were very friendly and always willing to help, which added to the open and inviting atmosphere. If I were to visit Istanbul again I would definitely choose to stay at Cheers again. The room was excellent, and I felt that it more than exceeded my expectations and I would recommend staying here without hesitation.

  • 7th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

I really recommend it!!


100%

Best hostel ever!

  • 3rd Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Romania
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Really friendly and helpful staff. Great location for The obvious sights. Only minus wad the Hard and sunken matress.

  • 2nd Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Great breakfast!!!


100%

Cheers ıs the hostel you are lookıng for. Great locatıon, excellent breakfast and the frıendlıest staff ready to help you plan your day ın Istanbul and tours outward bound. Lots of fun and the vıew from the rooftop bar ıs fantastıc!

  • 1st Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Having traveled to Istanbul previously this hostel ranks as one of the best in the city. The location is perfect only a 2 minute walk from the Aya Sofya and the Blue Mosque. The breakfast was included with the booking which I thought was a nice touch. The view from the bar is awesome with a great view of the Aya Sofya. The rooms were cleaned frequently and the facilities were of a high standard. I would highly recommend!

  • 28th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Great staff, great breakfast!


94%

The hostel is right in the old part of Istanbul. The Blue Mosque etc. are in walking distance. Though next time I would prefer staying in Beyoglu, since it's more interesting there at night. Please also read all security advice especially for lone travellers, so you don't get scammed (as me).


94%

great location and the nicest staff. breakfast is fantastic and the rooftop bar is great for a nightcap- would definitely recommend this hostel and will stay again next time.


86%

unbelieavable location cutest dog best view of sultanamet from the bar upstairs

  • 26th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Soo iv traveled heaps an been to loads of hostels but cheers hostel has been yet the greatest experience iv Ever had, great services friendly people would defiantly recommend cheers hostel over any other Hostels in istanbul. Ps. Great location/ great breakfast and of course ZAMAN the hostel dog is the funniest/ cutest dog :).

  • 25th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Simply the BEST Hostels I had the chance to visit. A special thanks to the AMAZING staff !!!

  • 23rd Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Nice place to stay The Staff are so friendly

  • 23rd Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(161 results)


View all Istanbul Hostels

Please give us your feedback