X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Chelsea Highline Youth Hotel Reviews

184 11th Eleventh Avenue, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

62%

Rating
458 Total Reviews
  • 63%Value For Money
  • 64%Security
  • 78%Location
  • 68%Staff
  • 55%Atmosphere
  • 55%Cleanliness
  • 52%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

I enjoyed my stay. Air conditioning in the room is good and lockers as well. The bathrooms were not always clean. Room was quaint and had a sink. Staff was always friendly and helpful. Breakfast is a plus.

  • 15th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

The staff at the hostel was so great and helpful. Very good price for value. I definitely recommend this place.

  • 13th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

Cheap hostel in Manhattan. Don't expect too much from what you're paying. If you treat hostel as just a place to catch some snooze and shower, this this the first have to be in Manhattan


80%

Very friendly and helpful staff member, and good location on manhatten island close to the action. Wifi only in reception. Breakfast and coffee could rather be taken away for a decrease in price.


46%

There was a 'rat' in my room. Overall is quite bad, I advice you not to believe what you see in their pictures. The only thing that impress me is location.

  • 3rd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


29%

Some reviews say you get what you pay... Well we didn't get any of the things we saw in the pictures. The staff at the reception isn't there at all, you usually wait long time until you are attended. Time to go to the bathroom should be after they clean it as nobody will take care of the restrooms until the following day, they get dirty, filthy and other adjectives. The rooms were hot and smelly and the linen and towels didn't feel clean at all. I would never recommend it. Worst Hostel and staff

  • 1st Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


54%

Location is pretty good and some of the staff members were nice and helpful. Bathroom was pretty bad and so was my room. Also I could hear absolutely everything that was happening in the hallway so i couldn't sleep well. Free breakfast was not very good but since it's free i should not complain that much. Free wifi is onl available in the lobby


34%

The bed had wires popping out, EXTREMELY uncomfortable, staff not helpful at all, very dirty, blankets VERY dirty

  • 18th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

A good place for the money

  • 17th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


29%

I wouldn't go here again even if you paid me. It's absolutely filthy and disgusting. The staff is horrible, especially the girls. There was one guy who was friendly though. Wifi doesn't work, tv doesn't work, sockets in rooms doesn't work. Stay clear of this place.


54%

This hostel was just gross and sort of unpleasant. It was the cheapest in the area though so that was the one good point. When I first arrived there was a line to check in mostly because they have an archaic credit card system that doesn't accept debit/credit cards with a chip.... The ones you can use in other countries. What?!? Wacky. Blankets on bed were made out of something similar to a nerd ball. Also lots of stray hairs in bathrooms and flooring coming up.


69%

They have a mess with their reservation system. We reserved two beds in one two-bed room and they twice(!) put somebody else in the second bed, because the system showed that only one bed is reserved.

  • 12th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Russia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


46%

There was peeling paint on the walls and the toilets looked worn out. Just needs an update so it doesn't feel like a prison.

  • 1st Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Free breakfasts and condoms and a great prise covers all minuses. Perrlfect location for travelers

  • 30th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Russia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

The location was good and private room for the price was okay. Not really same atmosphere that you get in some other hostels. Showers were often dirty and only cold water. Also the plankets looked like they haven't been washed in months.


51%

Had very unpleasant situations with a miss of the staff. She didn't know anything about, the administration, the Internet in just one salon is awful and not comfortable place to sit and or eat. Badrooms where a mess after 11oclock

  • 19th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


29%

We checked in on Tue afternoon and had to wait 30 minutes for a desk clerk to appear. Several other people were waiting, too, including one person who needed access to his luggage so that he could get to the airport for an international flight. One of the toilets on the 4th floor was filthy and was not cleaned or labeled "out of order" throughout our two-day stay. Some in our group were given keys to rooms that were already occupied. There is not enough room here to list all complaints...

  • 12th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

wouldn't go back. This hostel needs more bathrooms and cleaner bathrooms too. I'm not that fussy but compared with most other hostels the standard is pretty poor. Rooms themselves are ok and I was impressed at how quiet it was.

  • 12th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30


37%

NO WIFI IN ROOMS HEATER DOES NOT WORK, IT IS VERY COLD IN THE NIGHT (April) BLANKETS ARE VERY DIRTY

  • 20th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


20%

It was the worst hostel I have ever been to and the word disgusting can´t even describe what we found there. I would never go again!

  • 17th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(26 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback