Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Chelsea International Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 5,068 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 6.7
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 5,068 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 6.7
Chelsea International Hostel Located at 251 West 20th Street, , New York.
Chelsea International Hostel
USA
New York NY 10011 251 West 20th Street
78% 5068
40.7431765 -73.9990353
Chelsea International Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Dec 2016
9.7

The stay itself was easy and absolutely fine! Yes,there is noise around,however this is NewYork! The only thing which bothered me a bit was a noise from the heater or heating pipes,which came occasionally during the night within the room and also hallway, and sounded like someone was smashing a hammer against the heater! However besides that it is still a great location and place to stay! I would absolutely recommend it for a weekend getaway!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • weisenbergda
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Dec 2016
9.7

As a single female traveler I felt very safe. The location is great.....close to the metro, a drug store and attractions. The room and bathroom were clean, common areas and kitchen was adequate. I would stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Nov 2016
6.0

There was a fire so we had to leave the building for around 3 hours until midnight and then for a while there was still no water on the next day so we could not take a shower and we were not reimbursed

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Nov 2016
6.3

Would not stay here again or recommend. Fire here last week when sleeping, however NO fire alarms. Only woken (luckily) by the 8 fire engines and 2 police cars outside our window. Allowed to return to rooms that were full of smoke, having no water and doors smashed with glass in rooms. No organisation or help to find new accommodation. Luckily we found a room as we had monies available. Had money returned but feel for those who were on a limited budget and who's possessions ruined. Unsafe.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Nov 2016
8.6

Perfect location, rooms were clean and well kept. The staff friendly and helpful. I would stay there again in a heart beat. Fair price for Manhattan accommodations

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ukraine, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Nov 2016
8.3

Pretty nice place. The hostel located close to subway (just a few minutes walk). There are common friendly atmosphere and helpful staff. Free Wi-Fi is accessible in common area only. Luggage storage has different lockers by size.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Nov 2016
6.9

my rating of 6.9 would probably be higher if this was relative to other similar places but I have limited Hostel experience. I am mostly considering cost as a big factor and considering the unconsionable, exploitative and inexcusable price gouging (by EVERYONE) these days, especially in NYC, it's difficult not to expect more when getting raped by these charges. Staff here is very nice, and location is awesome!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Nov 2016
5.4

I truly felt cheated by the price, was advertised as USD$40/- but with taxes, I ended up paying almost USD$56/-. I could have booked a room with airbnb if that was the case. The standard daily breakfast was not something to look forward to. Especially with the non smiling staff who serve the bagel and fruit. Cleanliness, my bed was never made or sheets changed on a daily basis. I even spotted a thin coakroach on my first night there. I could go on.....

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Iran, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Nov 2016
4.0

It was so dirty,hair all over the bath,so noisy.we have twin bedroom with insuit bathroom,and both the room and bathroom was so tight.breakfast was awful,its location was the only positive point.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Nov 2016
9.1

This hostel is nearby Times Square and the morning breakfast is good. The staff also friendly and work hard to make the stay enjoyable. The room is very clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.