X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Chelsea International Hostel Reviews

251 West 20th Street, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

75%

Rating
3101 Total Reviews
  • 72%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 73%Staff
  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 66%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

57%

I stayed here in 2004 and came back in 2014 and it Really needs remodeling and a facelift. Boring institutional feeling to the place ,great location.


86%

Booked a single room, it was clean; shower room and toilet were always clean too. Couldn't have most of the breakfast food because I'm on a gluten/yeast/dairy free diet but can't complain, the staff was very helpful and friendly. Location is excellent, you are close to several subway stations. If your room is in the front of the building, bring some ear plugs with you: remember you are in the city that never sleeps and local streets can be very noisy at nights. I would definitely go back again.


71%

The location is fine and so does the single bed room. restroom and shower are located in small rooms so it's a bit tricky to have a recovering shower. If the price was 30% or more cheaper, I would rate all excelent

  • 11th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

-No wi-fi at the rooms -Bad quality of bed -Doors like paper, without even basic locking at all-Non responsibility in case of burglaring. -15 o clock check in or you pay a locker which if it is going to be burglarized, hostels still do not have any responsibility.(they assure sth silly like 30 dollars maximum) ,meaning that if you have a laptop,you just should not have it. -poor breakfast but ok -I feel that I f I had paid 35-40 dollars per day I would be happy, but know I am not.

  • 11th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Rooms and bathrooms very clean . Too expensive for a hostel ( no similarities to European hostels!) but it's because the great location . Easy to find . New york is overestimated and prices are so high !

  • 11th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

The room was a good size for a double room, after the reviews i was expecting a shoes box. It could have some hangers for towels or something like that. Staff wasn't friendly, most of them colombian/mexican, spanish speakers.. would not say anything when you walk past them. which is not really a problem. wi-fi, you should really get that sorted.. its really annoying having to walk into common areas...


71%

Definitely a good place to stay in the center of NYC, nice to recognize the organised events like comedy evening or free-pizza-dinner


60%

I wish they had pad locks for guests; no wi fi service in rooms, only outside! breakfast could get better with some cheese and vegtables.


100%

It was so cool . Stuff are so friendly . Price and location are excellent .

  • 8th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Russia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Came across several cockroaches in the bedroom and bathroom. Otherwise a decent place to stay, bit overpriced for what you get.

  • 7th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

The rooms are old and could be spruced up a bit. I've been traveling throughout Europe and the US with in nicer hostels. They could at least put a framed pictured on our dorm wall.

  • 6th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


60%

Be careful the Wi-Fi is just available for a small part of this hostel. So bad news...


60%

Lockers didn't lock properly, not social at all


100%

It is very good experience there!


83%

Feel a bit unsafe when bathing, cause saw a guy not in well dress in the corridor(think he was after bath). Staffs should consider more about gender when arranging rooms.

  • 3rd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Had a good time. Been there for the 2nd time, good staff, very helpfull. I'll be coming back ;)

  • 2nd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

The mattress on my bed was very lopsided, and could benefit from being spun around its centre so that people sit on its other side when sitting on the bed.


57%

Only good thing about this place is location, other than that not good at all. Guy at the front desk seems to be always in a bad mood when you ask any question plus I saw small cockroaches in my room the first night I stayed there.

  • 30th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

Two blocks to the train can walk to Times Square at your leisure six blocks to the village Nice rest bars in area. Free pizza Wednesdays bagel cereal every morning Great place to stay


43%

This hostel was a prison. The atmosphere was awful - I didn't hear any conversations between guests whatsoever, and everyone I smiled at or said hello to completely ignored me. The bathroom situation was vile - a sink in the room with no soap, a toilet (with no sink) across the hall and a shower (with no room to change) next door to the toilet. It was really dirty and there wasn't even any wifi in the rooms - you had to go & sit in a common room in the basement, where no-one spoke.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(224 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback