Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Chelsea International Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 4,912 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 6.8
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 4,912 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 6.8
Chelsea International Hostel Located at 251 West 20th Street, , New York.
Chelsea International Hostel
USA
New York NY 10011 251 West 20th Street
79% 4912
40.7431765 -73.9990353
Chelsea International Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
22nd Sep 2016
8.9

This place is in a great location, and right next to the police department so it's super safe. The rooms I stayed in (private double twin with shared and private bathrooms) were small but functional. I would stay there again because of the price and location, but it's down to the bare necessities. There's no hand soap in the bathrooms for example, but there is toilet paper, a place to shower, towels, breakfast provided, and AC in the rooms.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Sep 2016
9.7

great location some of the facilities a little old/worn - but clean wi-fi not fabulous out of respect for neighbours, common areas shut at 11pm

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Sep 2016
7.1

Don't expect much. If you need somewhere to sleep for a night close to the city sure, but if you want anything else out of the accomodation then there are way better options out there for the same money if not cheaper.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Sep 2016
9.4

The front desk staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. We would appreciate few hooks for towels/cloths in our room. Thank you.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th Sep 2016
8.6

We had a private double room with shared bath. The room itself was spacious with plenty of room, two lockers without locks, four or five shelves, two chairs, a sink and mirror. The bathroom was small but adequate. We didn't have to wait to use it at all. The location was walking distance to public transit, restaurants and in a good neighborhood. It was perfect for our overnight layover in New York.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Sep 2016
10.0

First timer. Impressed for the money. Excellent value.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Sep 2016
8.9

Clean basic accommodation with helpful staff in a good location, would be happy to stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
12th Sep 2016
9.7

I had a good time, the place is clean, the staff is nice

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Sep 2016
8.9

You can't beat the location and all that you get for the room fee (beware they only take cash!!!!). What I loved about the 4 bed woman's room was that everyone was super quiet and considerate. The air conditioning was spot on, blasting cold air which was badly needed as it was 90 degrees outside. The outside court was really well laid out and encouraged mingling with the others of all age groups. Breakfast fantastic fruit cereal bagels juice coffee. Bathroom run down - can't have everything!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • teeteeping
  • Thailand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Sep 2016
10.0

This hostel is amazing and good location all the rooms are clean and staff very helpful. I m sure I will come back again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.