Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Chelsea International Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 4,696 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 6.9
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 4,696 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 6.9
Chelsea International Hostel Located at 251 West 20th Street, , New York.
Chelsea International Hostel
USA
New York NY 10011 251 West 20th Street
79% 4696
40.7431765 -73.9990353
Chelsea International Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
20th Jul 2016
7.7

We really enjoyed our time at the hostel. It was very basic, but had everything we needed for New York. One thing to be aware of is that there isn't wifi in the bedrooms - it worked in the room my friend and I were in, because we slept just above the kitchen, but apparently didn't work in the other bedrooms. Overall, a very pleasant hostel stay in a fantastic location that is very close to two subway stations.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jul 2016
8.6

Great location, great access to public transport. Staff were helpful with printing boarding passes. Would have been nice to have fresh towels after a while, as we were staying for 5 nights. I really didn't like that people smoked at the breakfast tables. If at all allowed smoking should be restricted to an area away from food consumption.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jul 2016
10.0

I had a great time there with my godmother, there are metro stations close by, restaurants, and everything we need!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jul 2016
10.0

Perfect location, clean and comfortable bed!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jul 2016
10.0

Only problem was we were next to the road and it was a bit noisy at night. Great value and really helpful staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • andrewsauls
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
14th Jul 2016
9.1

Unfortunately wifi was not in the rooms.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jul 2016
10.0

Overall was an excellent place to stay!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Jul 2016
10.0

I loved my stay and will definitely will come back again. 5 stars!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jul 2016
7.4

The bed is surprisingly convenient, the breakfast isn't bad either (though it was also really crowded). The woman at the front desk let me check in earlier which was pretty nice. Single rooms look similar to a prison cell and it was really cold, although I turned off the air conditioning. The Hostel's located in a nice area and several restaurants and bars are near by. If you only need a room for one night it's not a bad choice. I wouldn't recommend showering there, though...

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Romania, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
9th Jul 2016
6.9

Having wifi only in the common areas would've been barely acceptable 10 years ago. Today, for the price charged, it's a joke. Credit card machine wasn't working either and it didn't seem like a new issue. Great location and fairly clean. If only looking for a bed to sleep, it's a good spot. Otherwise you can probably do better.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.