Hostelworld.com

Chelsea International Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 4,604 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 6.9
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 4,604 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 6.9
Chelsea International Hostel Located at 251 West 20th Street, , New York.
Chelsea International Hostel
USA
New York NY 10011 251 West 20th Street
79% 4604
40.7431765 -73.9990353
Chelsea International Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jun 2016
6.6

The few things that disappointed me were things I had already anticipated. Buildings are older and narrow making it difficult to move about within the hostel. The room only had one outlet, and wi-fi is only available in the common areas (courtyard and kitchen/dining room). Everything was about as clean as I expected--well-kept, but I found a dead cockroach in the middle of the floor in my room. But the atmosphere is friendly, and overall I'd say it's a decent place to stay in Manhattan.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jun 2016
7.4

Overall pretty nice, but also would have been nice to have clean towels (had hair in them when they opened)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
17th Jun 2016
9.1

Incredible stay, staff were always friendly and breakfast was good (choice of bagel, a piece of fruit, cereal and coffee/juice). Great location as well, close to subway stops, or if youre up to it- walk! Outside patio area was great for hanging out. The only thing is the wifi - you can only connect in the patio area. Also really close to the Chelsea Market - I highly recommend you go!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th Jun 2016
6.3

Ok for one night.... Wouldn't want to stay there much longer though.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • talch8
  • Israel, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jun 2016
4.6

Not like this. Very dirty. Good location but not worth the price.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • WanderinDerWelt
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
13th Jun 2016
8.0

This was my first time staying at a hostel in the United States, so I did not know what to expect. It was nothing special; the atmosphere was not to the likes of other hostels I've stayed in. It was very bland and our 2 bed room was very small (not an issue, just something to keep in mind about New York). Other than that, the price is unbeatable in NYC and the location was fantastic. I will definitely stay there again for my next visit to the city.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jun 2016
7.7

LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION. WALKING DISTANCE TO EVERYTHING. SAVE MONEY ON TRANSPORTATION. VERY LIVELY AREA, ONCE YOU START WALKING YOU CANNOT STOP. ROOM WAS SOMEWHAT CLEAN, BATHROOM IS CLEANED EVERYDAY. VERY FRIENDLY GUESTS CHEERFUL NO ONE BOTHERS YOU. SLEPT WELL EVERY NIGHT GOOD BED. CLEAN TOWEL EVERY DAY. BREAKFAST SUCK. THE APPEARANCE IS UNPLEASANT. VERY OLD. A LITTLE BIT OF MAKE UP WOULD HAVE HELP A GREAT DEAL. THE ROOM SIZE IS FAIR.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jun 2016
8.3

The rooms behind the courtyard are great because you're set back from the street (not noisy) and you're right by the breakfast and common areas. The wifi is pretty non-existent, it took my phone forever to connect and it doesn't even really work. No wifi in the rooms either, it's only available in the common area. I stayed in a 4-bed ensuite room, and my roommates were all great and having the bathroom right there was very convenient.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Jun 2016
9.1

Best for its location and price. Heart of the city. Easy to reach from Port Authority Bus station. All airports have buses to Port authority at 17$. Breakfast,wifi is good. Buildings are separate so you dont feel its a happening youth place. But its cool if you focus more on sightseeing and less on staying at hostel. Rooms are good. Facilities too. People with heavy luggage, check that therz no lift. Overall its a good experience. I recommend it for ppl who wanna focus on sightseeing.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jun 2016
4.9

I was happy with location however there was no wifi in the bedrooms and you had to exit the building before you could get any. This made it difficult to make plans with friends. There was also no vanity in the toilet or soap. Overall I found it unclean and dirty.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.