X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Chelsea International Hostel Reviews

251 West 20th Street, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

75%

Rating
2905 Total Reviews
  • 74%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 73%Staff
  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 67%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Great location and friendly staff and it was nice to meet Hobbs the cute chubby cat, Calvin was nowhere to be seen. 0Loved the NY bagels (part of free breakfast) in the morning too! Will stay here again when visiting NYC. One small thing, perhaps you can remind the tenants when they check in to be very quiet when returning late in the evenings, or leaving very early in mornings, especially doors and stairs. Thanks for great stay overall!

  • 26th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

Excellent value for money and great location (very near a metro, quiet ). 24 hour reception helped. It would have been a great help to have wifi either in other areas than the common area or have the common area open later. Excellent bus service to the airport (amazingly cheap)


77%

This hostel is very well situated in Manhattan, between Union Sq. and Greenwich. Though the rooms are small, they're cleaned everyday. The personnel is greeting and helpful and the breakfast large enough! This is a very good address and bargain to me!

  • 22nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Very social, I met quite a few cool people. Wifi only available in common areas, which sounds fine until you realise the common area is either 1. the stuffy dining room or 2. outdoors! Both areas also close at 11 so once I got back late and had to sit on the ground outside to check my emails, that was ridiculous! Can't beat the location (lovely area, + close to subway) but the rooms were bare (no desk, small bed) and the shower was dirty. Overall fine for New York but don't expect comfort.

  • 22nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Exclellent! thanks for all.

  • 16th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Venezuela
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


63%

Clean and very basic accommodation

  • 14th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

Very average stay, there were some nice people staying there but the facilities aren't very social.


69%

Best thing about staying here is that you can securely leave your belonging in the luggage room lockers, even after you have checked out. The guy who dealt with us was nice and friendly. For the price paid the bathroom could have been nicer but it was very usable. Plus really your out and about loads so your only in the room to sleep.

  • 12th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

The main pro of this hostel is the location. Quite like Chelsea as an area and it was fairly easy to walk to a lot of places. The hostel itself is really average - definitely one of the least favourites I've stayed in. Just 'meh'. No atmosphere, not very social (I blame that in part to wifi only being in common areas) and facilities were okay. A definite pro is that both rooms I stayed in had aircon's, which can be rare in hostels.


69%

Not the best hostel I have ever stayed in, but for the location and price it was good value for money.


89%

they have wifi in the breakfast room, but not in your room. and breakfast is a plus. it's really close to subway event that station don't have elevator though. i did enjoy my stay.


83%

I liked staying in that hostel, good for location, room, bathroom, facilities, cost and staff.


100%

Im come alone and stay in 2 bedroom for 4 nights. Ppl who come and stay are so nice and motivative. I love it here so much . The neigborhood are very good and alot of nice place to eat.

  • 9th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Good place, awesome location, grumpy staff.


80%

This hostel is in a fantastic location and is very social due to the courtyard which lots of people hang out in making it easy to meet people. I would definitely stay there again.


60%

Some staff were not helpful when asked questions. Anyone on the street can walk into the hostel any time. Room door locks were not sufficient.


80%

Great location but still a quiet street. Breakfast is very basic so u might wanna visit the neighborhood delis. The toilets and showers are not shiny but worked well enough. Air con in the room was working well. A lot a variance what it comes to friendliness of the staff. Most of then great, one older man very rude and seemed to hate his job.


94%

This was my first stay at a hostel. I had to travel alone for a change, so a hotel room in downtown Manhattan seemed kind of pricey for one person. I got a single room in the Chelsea instead and I'm quite happy with that decision. I would call it military barracks standard: basic necessities including sink in the room, but clean and well kept. The included breakfast (coffee, OJ, bagel, cereal, fruit) was enough to get you started for the day. Nice guests, and the staff was helpful when needed.

  • 7th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


49%

Certainly no value for money. Further, I am accustomed to having all taxes and other hidden costs included in the advertised price, not added after you book.


100%

Best place to make friends (at least when you leave your electronic devices at home) and best staff, larry luciano and tim and the rest. Best beds, only hostel i know of that provides fresh fruits w/ breakfast, pizza nights (too many to finish) and comedy nights w/ free beer. All shops around the corner and the 2 most convenient subway lines as well! LOVE IT!


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(177 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback