Hostelworld.com

Chelsea International Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 5237 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 6.7
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 5237 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 6.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • alexbenpollard9198
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 21 reviews
11th Feb 2017
9.4

My stay at this hostel went well. The staff are helpful and Chelsea is a good spot. Breakfast is generic but the bagels are nice. Well worth it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Trinidad And Tobago, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Feb 2017
9.4

great location, not too expensive for NYC, good wifi in common room, freedom to come and go as one wishes, only thing was that there wasntt a very interactive assortment of people there . . .

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Feb 2017
9.1

Easy to find, friendly staff. No real social room. They use the breakfast room and the kitchen for that, but these are not really made for chilling. No couch or something like that. Location is quite good. If possible, choose room to the inside, the windows are bad, and there's always something going on on the streets, so not good for sleeping. Toilet and shower are ok.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • max551350
  • South Korea, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
29th Jan 2017
7.4

부엌이 없고 사람들과 소통할수있는공간이 없음 그냥 잠만자기 좋은 호스텔

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Jan 2017
9.1

It is well worth the price because you can get a private room for under $50 with breakfast! Shared bath but to be honest I stayed there 6 days and never had to wait for the bathroom! Subway is 3 blocks away. Small room for the private but adequate. Lockers in the room and a sink in the room helps. There are kitchen facilities, it is clean and the staff is wonderful!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mongolia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
26th Jan 2017
4.6

Luggage keeping service is not good. They have 2 big rooms for luggage storage, but they use it as money making room. After 4 days coming back in evening, I paid for 5 days lockers payment 25USD. They pushed travelers to use lockers for keeping their luggages even after checking out until departure in the late evening hours. Then in the room for lockers we should use our own lock. If we don't have a lock, our luggage and staff is not secured in the room. Bathroom was terrible.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
26th Jan 2017
10.0

Very nice staff and excellent location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Jan 2017
9.1

I've stayed 4 times. I stay in a private room w/ a bathroom. Heating is extremely effective. I love Calvin (black cat) & his buddy Hobbes (orange male tabby) who roam the property & always appear open to head rubs. My only real issue is the common area. The TV wasn't working 2 times I was there (late Dec. 2016 & late Jan. 2017). Important things were happening in the city/world & I felt disconnected. Staff is wonderful - especially Larry. Carrying luggage up & down stairs in bldg. 249 - SCARY!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jan 2017
5.4

The hostel was clean and the staff was friendly. The cost per night for small rooms and small bathrooms was not worth it. The Chelsea location was nice but the whole operation was under remodeling and seemed very unorganized. Stingy with the breakfast options as well.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
19th Jan 2017
6.3

The staff who greeted me was friendly. The room was boiling hot, with no way to control the heat. Breakfast was meager and the common area uncomfortable. I imagine this is a better place to stay when the weather is nice and the outdoor courtyard is a more pleasant place to be? As it is, it's not very comfortable or social.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.