Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Chelsea International Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 5,189 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 6.7
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 5,189 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 6.7
Chelsea International Hostel Located at 251 West 20th Street, , New York.
Chelsea International Hostel
USA
New York NY 10011 251 West 20th Street
77% 5189
40.7431765 -73.9990353
Chelsea International Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • chloe_hunt7591
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
16th Jan 2017
6.9

The location was great but there was no atmosphere and the room was so incredibly hot with no way to turn the heating down. The bed was very hard, and no personal bedside tables or lamps so the main light was always on and off. The bathroom was clean but the shower took a long time to heat up. It was in no way terrible, just could be better for the price.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
10th Jan 2017
8.6

Nice place to stay, helpful staff and right in the centre of the city. Only negative is no WiFi in the private rooms, although apparently there is WiFi in the dorms.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th Jan 2017
8.3

This hostel is well worth a stay. Pizza party on Wednesdays is a great way to get everyone together, and we even got to enjoy a stand-up comedy show by three local performers after the pizza!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jan 2017
7.4

Great location. My friend and I enjoyed the two-person "dorm" that elsewhere would have been much more expensive. However, it was impossible to regulate the temperature in the room, which was generally much too high. It was also impossible to block out any sound coming from either the street or elsewhere in the building. The staff weren't exactly friendly, instead providing just the amount of information required, nothing more. Still, the location and the prices made it a decent place to stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
8th Jan 2017
7.1

It's in a good location, you can arrive to Time's Square in 20min by walk. The room wasn't very nice but it was clean. Was very cold outside but inside the room was warm. The only bad thing was that internet didn't work in the rooms. For have internet you should go to the reception or to another common area (for go there you should go outside end go inside to another building). That is bad for 80 dollar! For have hot shower I went to the upper level because the shower in my level had cold water.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
2nd Jan 2017
7.7

Location is fantastic! We stayed in a private double and the room was big and the bed was comfy. This hostel is let down by not having wifi in all of the areas - wifi just isn't that expensive these days, and it is frustrating and a waste of time when you have to walk down the street to a different building to get wifi.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
2nd Jan 2017
8.9

THE hostel in lower manhatten. Not spectacular, but simply unbeatable on price / location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Dec 2016
8.6

This hostel has the perfect location, nice staffs, clean facilities. It's on a bit pricey side but, it's understandable since it is in mid-town Manhattan. I paid half the price of a 3 star hotel in Manhattan. 3 blocks away from 23rd street subway and is surrounded by restaurants and stores. Across is the 10th precinct police station.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
29th Dec 2016
4.9

I give some understanding for New Years time of year being hectic. I booked this place for its location and value. Location-wise, the place is in a perfect spot. Blocks away from subway entrances, and short rides to the most popular tourist sites. Besides that the place is mediocre. Welcome was average; at check-in there was talk of roaches in rooms; Wifi is only in the lounge, and at checkout the guy barked at me for forgetting something in my room. Not staying here again.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Dec 2016
10.0

Great location... within a 15 min walk to Time Square. Rooms and restrooms are clean. Staff was very friendly and helpful since we got there. This is the second time I stay here, and it will continue to be my preferred place to stay while I visit NYC.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.