Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Chelsea International Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 5944 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.1
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 5944 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
17th Sep 2017
8.9

I've stayed at this hostel three times on visits to New York. It's in a great location (Chelsea), and it's in a series of old buildings with tiny bedrooms and shared bathrooms. It's not a very social hostel - there's no bar, and the common areas are quite limited. It's the kind of hostel you stay in when you just need a place to sleep, and are going to spend most of your time out and about. But overall, very clean and simple.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Sep 2017
5.7

Compared to other hostels I have stayed in for similar prices in New York, this one leaves a lot to be desired. It could do with a serious refreshing. Second day I did not get breakfast as no one was around. Bathroom not cleaned once. The staff I did encounter were mostly nice and helpful including helping me print something). Wifi didn't work (even after asking) and because the hostel is spread through different buildings there is a lack of community like other hostels. Would not stay again.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Sep 2017
7.7

I'm not experienced with hostels, and I'm over 40 so...The positives; staff were lovely, location was good, it was cheap. Air conditioning! The negatives. The room was stark - metal locker, metal framed bed, nothing else. Was kept awake by people talking loudly in stairwell and in external area. Bed was as hard as a prison bunk which was in keeping with the decor. Fine as a place to lay your head for a few hours, but not somewhere I'd want to have stayed longer.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Sep 2017
8.6

This is the second time we have stayed at CIH, and the experience was decent. We were in an ensuite twin room - the beds are a bit small, and the shower in the bathroom could have been a bit stronger, but on the whole, a no-frills place that's good value for money!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Sep 2017
10.0

My stay in this hostel was just perfect. Location could not be better. Staff was very helpful. It is a huge plus that they offer breakfast which is bagel, a fruit ,coffee, cereal, juice and milk that will keep you alive for hours until you need to eat again :) . I definitely will stay here again and I do plenty recommend this hostel for your NYC visit :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jwithford
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Sep 2017
8.0

Great hostel in a prime location. Very close to Times Square and the subway is only a few blocks away. Staff were mostly nice, atmosphere could be better but the free breakfast makes up for it. Found that there were mostly middle to older aged people staying there. Would recommend due to its location and free breakfast!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • amymarx6939
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Sep 2017
8.6

Great place , awesome location. Some oddities: all sinks have the hot and cold knobs switched. The hot plate in the kitchen, the only thing to cook on in the whole place, is broken . So there's one only one single burner that works somewhat , for everybody staying there! How much do a few new hot plates cost? Rude people working in the kitchen area, indignant about knowing no English, and watch out if you try to choose your own orange! Otherwise very nice.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • leomonikgupta7772
  • India, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Sep 2017
10.0

I must say my hostel experience was amazing 10 on 10.I Booked the privet room.the floor had 4 rooms but the toilet and bathing was common.But that was perfectly fine.The stay was amazing the place is clean,they serve you breakfast included.It didn't felt like a hostel.Highlight was the location 10 min walk from 34th street and madison square garden and 20 min walk to Times Square.thank you so much Chelsea international for an amazing stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • samsonuckerman9496
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
10th Sep 2017
7.7

Good hostel. The location is absolutely perfect. It's in a busy part of Manhattan but tucked away in a safe, quiet, residential area. Cons: the beds are uncomfortable, there's no soap in the bathrooms and the wifi is weak but other than that I enjoyed my stay. It feels like an apartment which I liked. Also the air conditioner in the dorm was heavenly. I look forward to returning!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Sep 2017
7.7

great location, could put in some more effort, like handwashing soap

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×