X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Chelsea International Hostel Reviews

251 West 20th Street, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
4278 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 76%Staff
  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 68%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Needless to say, I would stay here again! I love it.


94%

Everything was fine!

  • 30th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Montenegro
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

Positives Excellent Location vis a vis the cost Negatives: Pvt Rooms size should be increased.

  • 30th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Pakistan
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


26%

worst hostel i have experienced in almost every aspect. stay away.


80%

Pros: 1) Location: Twenty blocks both from Time square and World trade center, right in the middle of them. Two major subway lines three blocks away. 2) Heating: You wont suffer winter. Heating is perfect everywhere 3)Shower: Hot water and strong shower. Temperature changes work perfectly. Cons: 1) Breakfast: getting only one bagel and one fruit per person is like being at school camp. However, you can get as much coffee and cereals as you want. 2) Bathrooms may not be enough on high season.


83%

Very Clean place located in a beautiful area near a couple of subways lines within the block. Had a nice time and workers very polite all the time explaining how to get everywhere Lots of fun with people all around the world Thanks for having me Paula


86%

Great location, clean, nice breakfast and quite!! Enjoy people

  • 28th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

The worst hostel I ever stayed at! It was incredibly noisy, whenever someone opened/closed the main door all the house seemed to be shaking. It was almost impossible to sleep there! The stuff was pretty unfriendly - both at the reception and at the breakfast room. The only good thing was the location close to several subway stations.


66%

It is 2015...almost 2016 and this hostel in NEW YORK CITY still does not have WIFI in dorms/room!!! In my travels across places like Europe, all of the hostels I stayed in had free, fast, reliable in-room WiFi so it is surprising that a hostel in the Big Apple is lagging behind the developed cities.


83%

Right in front of Police Office, so safe location.

  • 25th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

It's one of the cheapest places in New York to spend the night. Yout get what you expect. But Hostels in other parts of the world hav much higher standards of everything.

  • 24th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

The office staff were very accommodating the cleaning staff worked constantly around the clock. The price was the cheapest I could find in New York by a long way. Proximity to a tube station is good and a shop open 24 hours a day is close by. The included breakfast helps safe money as well. That being said, the rooms are very basic. Just a bed and a locker. No bedside light, no soap in bathroom etc. it's good for what you pay

  • 20th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

A little dated but clean. Cheap for the location. I reccomend.

  • 20th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

poor wifi in the room


80%

Staff was very friendly. I was there only about seven hours but the bed was comfy.

  • 20th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


69%

It was a great place to stay if you are looking for a bed and bathroom and no extra frills, hoewever be prepared to experience some issues with their wifi, I struggled many times to log in or even connect.


57%

This hostel is in a pretty good location but still feels like a hotel converted to a hostel without the feel of a traveler's base.


100%

Thanks 😃 See you again soon


80%

Great staff. Good coffee and bagels for breakfast.


100%

I love staying here when I am in NYC....friendly, helpful staff, super location, and a clean room for a great price! Could not ask for more!!!! Thanks to John and all the staff for being so wonderful.....always love coming here!!


(219 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback