X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Chelsea International Hostel Reviews

251 West 20th Street, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
3866 Total Reviews
  • 73%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 75%Staff
  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

57%

The only thing that is worthy the money you pay for is the location. That's it.


89%

Access to common areas shouldn't be limited to a 07.00-23.00 time frame (or conversely, wi-fi in the whole property would be a great investment). Public phones inside the hostel didn't work too well.


51%

It is one of the cheapest hostels in Manhattan. Nevertheless, the price is very too high. The staff is not really friendly. WiFi is just available in the common area. Worst thing: Breakfast is rationed: One bagel, one small pack of butter and one of jelly. The next morning, a friendly cockroach gave me company during brushing my teeth.

  • 1st Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

It's a good cheap hostel, rooms are clean but basic and could do with a lick of paint. Shower room again was basic but it gave out hot water so that's all I need. Great outside area with plenty of space with benches/tables to meet people and chill, you can bring your own food and drinks in or use the communal kitchen. Its not far to the subway station. Added bonus was the free pizza on Wednesday night and having a free bagel every morning!


91%

good location for going to both downtown and pier


94%

Very clean. Very polite and helpful staff.

  • 28th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


37%

The old man in front desk is completely uneducated


83%

Had a single room and it was clean and convenient on first floor. V good value for money.

  • 27th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

The door to my room was really noisy and hard to open/close. Other than that I didn't have any issues staying here. The location is perfect.

  • 27th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Stayed for pride and had a great time!!!!


71%

Well, The place is not so bad but expensive (maybe not much for new york or manhattan). However the atmosphere and the staff friendlyness are not exceptional


69%

Staff could have been friendlier on check in, did not tell us about the wifi or breakfast that were in fact available at the hostel

  • 26th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

Cleanliness could definitely be improved.

  • 25th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Would be great if wifi worked in rooms. Coffee at breakfast is terrible. Staff were helpful


77%

Very good location. Very reasonable. I can't complain about anything as long as I can stay in Manhattan under $100 per night !

  • 24th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Very good/excellent; I intend to come back and recommend the hostel.


83%

could not figure out how to change channels with remote chained to the wall in the lounge. Only had three channels. Also a washcloth with the towel would be nice.

  • 22nd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


71%

The location is the best quality of the hostel, really close to Metro Stations/restautants/bars/markets/etc. The breakfast is a little poor, but OK. The commom areas are friendly. The bedrooms are OK, enough for who wants only sleep. The problem is that the wyfy doesn't work outside the commom areas,

  • 21st Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Absolutely excellent location (walking distance to SoHo, Greenwich Village, Chelsea Market, etc) and wonderful value for the money. Staff were friendly and offered good advice about where to find things and everything was scoured-down clean. Some advice: bring your own soap in a little container. You'll also have a sink in your room even if there's no private bath.


83%

location is very good, breakfast is good as well. some shared bathroom is very small. I would stay there again.


(174 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback