X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Chelsea International Hostel Reviews

251 West 20th Street, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

75%

Rating
3116 Total Reviews
  • 72%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 73%Staff
  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 66%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

Overall, facilities are OK. Rooms are old and a little dirty. Beds are nothing fancy, almost like cots with blankets. Breakfast (free) is an apple and a bagel that comes with one little jelly packet. (But it's NYC, what do you expect?) Reason to stay here: LOCATION. Easy walk to several subway stations that go to all the major sites. Area around the hostel is nice--restaurants, delis, etc. Despite the average facilities, I would recommend staying here.


94%

Great place, convenient location.

  • 29th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


60%

Well located, but you can´t use the wifi in the bedroom and in common areas is just permited until 11pm.


54%

My concern with this hostel was I felt unsafe, this was worsened by the girl from Ghana in my room sharing the sentiment. I would say it is better to stay here with a friend because the doors on the room can not be unlocked if the person from the inside has already locked it -- which can be very inconvenient. The showers were old, but clean, but did not have hot water. The promised breakfast should not be a decision maker!!

  • 28th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

no bar in the hostel, but chelsea is an awesome place to stay. and the hostel is very nice and hotel-like quality

  • 28th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

I love hot water in shower and this hostel have :)

  • 26th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Great location and friendly staff and it was nice to meet Hobbs the cute chubby cat, Calvin was nowhere to be seen. 0Loved the NY bagels (part of free breakfast) in the morning too! Will stay here again when visiting NYC. One small thing, perhaps you can remind the tenants when they check in to be very quiet when returning late in the evenings, or leaving very early in mornings, especially doors and stairs. Thanks for great stay overall!

  • 26th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Really awesome location! One of the best locations for a trip to NYC. I would definitely stay here again. Close to two Citi Bike terminals (bike share program). Free breakfast and Wednesday pizza night are a nice touch. Helpful and friendly staff. Having a kitchen is nice and rare in hostels in NYC. Close to train/bus terminals and subway. The rooms/facilities are very small, but this is NYC, where all the buildings are a few hundred years old, so this is normal and expected


74%

Excellent value for money and great location (very near a metro, quiet ). 24 hour reception helped. It would have been a great help to have wifi either in other areas than the common area or have the common area open later. Excellent bus service to the airport (amazingly cheap)


80%

The location and value for money are great. Free breakfast is nice although do not expect anything to delicious. The facilities are well kept but very basic. This is not an issue however unless you want to spend your time inside a room on the greatest city on the planet. AC in room was super nice especially during the hot NY summer. I would definitively stay there again for a low budget trip or if going there by myself.

  • 22nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


46%

Horrible atmosphere. It seemed nobody wanted to chat and relax. The staff were incredibly rude and unhelpful. It felt like I was wasting their time just checking in. It is in a good location though.


77%

This hostel is very well situated in Manhattan, between Union Sq. and Greenwich. Though the rooms are small, they're cleaned everyday. The personnel is greeting and helpful and the breakfast large enough! This is a very good address and bargain to me!

  • 22nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Very social, I met quite a few cool people. Wifi only available in common areas, which sounds fine until you realise the common area is either 1. the stuffy dining room or 2. outdoors! Both areas also close at 11 so once I got back late and had to sit on the ground outside to check my emails, that was ridiculous! Can't beat the location (lovely area, + close to subway) but the rooms were bare (no desk, small bed) and the shower was dirty. Overall fine for New York but don't expect comfort.

  • 22nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Could do with better bathrooms and clean towels.


69%

Great location. It would be nice if there was cream cheese for the bagels. I did also find the staff to be rather rude and abrupt at times - this was the reception desk staff. Housekeeping were lovely and friendly.


100%

Exclellent! thanks for all.

  • 16th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Venezuela
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


63%

Clean and very basic accommodation

  • 14th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

Very average stay, there were some nice people staying there but the facilities aren't very social.


69%

Best thing about staying here is that you can securely leave your belonging in the luggage room lockers, even after you have checked out. The guy who dealt with us was nice and friendly. For the price paid the bathroom could have been nicer but it was very usable. Plus really your out and about loads so your only in the room to sleep.

  • 12th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

The main pro of this hostel is the location. Quite like Chelsea as an area and it was fairly easy to walk to a lot of places. The hostel itself is really average - definitely one of the least favourites I've stayed in. Just 'meh'. No atmosphere, not very social (I blame that in part to wifi only being in common areas) and facilities were okay. A definite pro is that both rooms I stayed in had aircon's, which can be rare in hostels.


(229 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback