X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Chelsea International Hostel Reviews

251 West 20th Street, New York, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
2662 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 75%Staff
  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 69%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

66%

I spent two days in Chelsea International, my room is on the street, and in the night around 2-3 pm, it is really noisy, I only slept 3-4 hours every nights, but it is really the cheapest one I found, so I can't complain too much about it .

  • 18th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


60%

everything looks and is really old, bed, shower, mattress! breakfast only from 8-10am even on the weekend, and only one bagel with jelly and a fruit! heat makes loud noises!


80%

They add taxes in the hotel you should mention that or includ it please

  • 15th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
It says on the site. Just read through the description and conditions.

69%

Definitely not a party hostel, just a place to sleep. The main reason I stay in hostels instead of hotels when I travel is for the social aspect. It was impossible to meet anyone when they shutdown all the common areas at 10pm. Facilities were great, and the only interaction I had with the staff was when checked in/out.


60%

it was awful... I couldnt sleep during the last two days because of very weird annoying noises, from heating tubes, or how they are called. also heating didnt work o the last day.

  • 12th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Vietnam
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

I was in the hostel in December for only a couple of days so it work for me, it is really close to the subway and the area is safe. But the room was tinny and the room was not cleaned (not that was needed) during the stay. The only disadvantage was that it was separte buildings and you need to claim a lot of stair.. if you have big laggage as we did..jsut ask the front desk and someone will help you..otherwise it's very dificult to manage big bags.


80%

they don´t have the best atmosphere, the staff was even rude sometimes. but, it´s super clean, the breakfast is good, and its very close to the subway station.


86%

This hostel is a great base in New York as it is only a 20 minute walk to Times Square and a couple of blocks away from the high line and subway. The free wifi at the hostel was handy as well as the free breakfast in the morning. The rooms were basic, but served their purpose. A locker service is handy if you turn up before check in at 3 or if you have a late night flight. It costs around $5 for 24 hour rental, the lockers in the room are free, but you need your own padlock. Good hostel in NY.


83%

Great location, great price. Close to main sights but still within a quiet area of New York so you can get out of the rat race when you've had enough. Place was clean. WIFI worked well. Great place to stay.


71%

I personally think they charge too much for what they offer, but the thing is, you cannot find good prices in New York. So, if you are looking for affordable accommodation and just that (a place to sleep only) this is definitely a choice.

  • 30th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

Is the 2nd time I stay there!!!!

  • 30th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


71%

The old American guy .. I am sooo bad with remembering names, but there was an old american guy 57 of age he told me the story of how he had cancer .. i ADORED HIM .. HE was coo land nice and helped me alot .. I feel sad not remembering his name but if i had the chance i would come back to chelsea and stay there just to see him and benifit from his great services .. Thanks and good luck for the whole team

  • 28th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Nice location, Room was warm in the coldest weather, on the flip side internet only available in common room which shut at 11 pm, staff were a bit rude at times, not very helpful.

  • 28th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Great location, safe area. Staff were friendly and helpful. Not the best atmosphere but great value for money and good size rooms.


60%

The common room is an asset, as is the WiFi, but it doesn't work well near the front side of the house.


89%

A bit noisy if your room faces the street as ours did. Ear plugs would be useful.

  • 26th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

Hot water was not always available in the shower. 1 toilet and shower in each floor. Breakfast could be more varied. No tv in common areas. Wifi only available in common areas. Hostel 2 blocks from subway station.


94%

I had a really good time in the hostel! The location is excellent really close to subway! I stayed in three different rooms and all of them were good! I just had a problem with shower one night but it was fixed early in the morning in the other day! I highly recommend this place to stay in NY!


100%

Great Hostel been staying there for the last 10 years


31%

Hostel is dirty, noisy with extremely unhelpful desk staff. Keys do not fit easily and there is NO bolt or chain on door. Since the key is given out to all, anyone who stayed there before can enter the room. Common room full of drunk australians with no control from desk. Breakfast voucher (which was not given to me at check in-only found out about them from another traveller) only good 8-10 and cannot be used on a different day so if you go out early you don't get it although you paid for it.

  • 20th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


(147 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback