X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Chelsea International Hostel Reviews

251 West 20th Street, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

75%

Rating
3321 Total Reviews
  • 72%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 73%Staff
  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 66%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Perfect location and also very good price even though my trip was booked one day in advance. It's worth it!

  • 8th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

I've been there only for one night, but it was great. Staff was cool, helpful and polite. Atmosphere was great, I'm traveling alone and everybody was kind and willing to share. And Hostel location is amazing. Definitely recommend.

  • 8th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

2 bed room. clean, small, adequate. Bathrooms down the hall, very small, but both worked OK. No elevator, room on 3rd floor, very narrow stairway. Generally, a good place for a short stay. Very weak or no WiFi to the room area!


69%

Lots off stairs, small lockers and wifi only in common area. Bathroom doesn't have a sink, so you have to go to your room to clean your hands, it makes you think about how filthy all the door knobs must be. Otherwise its clean and beds are fine.


66%

It was hard for me to rate this hostel because my european hostel standards get in the way. This is no euro hostel, this is NYC and the facilities are obviously run down and amenities lacking but location is excellent, there werent any bugs i could see or feel and the price was competitive


77%

It's all good except the wifi is only in common area, which close after 11pm.

  • 4th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

we should have accsess a Wi-fi at the front rooms.

  • 4th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

We had a nice stay, good location, good staff and breakfast is always a plus. Be prepared because taxes are 14% but as we were told, this goes for every hotel service.

  • 2nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

The staff could have been more friendly. Breakfast was not really good: One bagel, butter, jam, either apple or orange, tea and coffee, cornflakes, milk. Moreover it was served from 8 till10 which is quite late when you want to go sightseeing, so 7 would be better! You couldn´t use the locker with a steel caple lock. The bathroom had no shelves for your things to put on. The common areas are closed at 11 pm which means that you must either go to bed or go out.


91%

We met some great people on the hostel, the staff was kind to us and we loved the location. I would definitely recommend this place!

  • 31st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ecuador
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Great Clean the only thing that did soil my stay was a foul odor of one of the male in my room. I have never come across anyone's clothes that did smell so so bad. Please all respect the person or person's in your room buy washing your own clothes and keep personal hygiene a priority when traveling. It is a lack of respect for yourself and others.


83%

just a very good place to stay, great location near a subway station that makes access to much of New York very easy. good palce, quiet, small room but plenty of hot water

  • 29th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


69%

Good for small parties. Bathroom and showe shared, pretty run down. Rooms are small, but thats standard new york. Common area closes at 11 pm which really sucks, because just as you get to know people and start planning a night out with other guests (after a day of wandering in New York) you get interrupted and asked to leave the area. The neighborhood is good tho, cool bars in Chelsea.


71%

Overall, facilities are OK. Rooms are old and a little dirty. Beds are nothing fancy, almost like cots with blankets. Breakfast (free) is an apple and a bagel that comes with one little jelly packet. (But it's NYC, what do you expect?) Reason to stay here: LOCATION. Easy walk to several subway stations that go to all the major sites. Area around the hostel is nice--restaurants, delis, etc. Despite the average facilities, I would recommend staying here.


94%

Great place, convenient location.

  • 29th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


60%

Well located, but you can´t use the wifi in the bedroom and in common areas is just permited until 11pm.


54%

My concern with this hostel was I felt unsafe, this was worsened by the girl from Ghana in my room sharing the sentiment. I would say it is better to stay here with a friend because the doors on the room can not be unlocked if the person from the inside has already locked it -- which can be very inconvenient. The showers were old, but clean, but did not have hot water. The promised breakfast should not be a decision maker!!

  • 28th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

no bar in the hostel, but chelsea is an awesome place to stay. and the hostel is very nice and hotel-like quality


91%

I love hot water in shower and this hostel have :)

  • 26th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Great location and friendly staff and it was nice to meet Hobbs the cute chubby cat, Calvin was nowhere to be seen. 0Loved the NY bagels (part of free breakfast) in the morning too! Will stay here again when visiting NYC. One small thing, perhaps you can remind the tenants when they check in to be very quiet when returning late in the evenings, or leaving very early in mornings, especially doors and stairs. Thanks for great stay overall!


(198 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback