X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Chengdu Flipflop Backpacker Lounge Hostel Reviews

No.96, Dongsheng Street, Chengdu, China

Reviews & Ratings Explained

92%

Rating
627 Total Reviews
  • 93%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 94%Staff
  • 92%Atmosphere
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 90%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

What to say?! Best hostel out of one month travelling in China! Amazing location, atmosphere and staff! Rooms get cleaned every single day and even more often if you ask them! Nice tours and nice food as well! Definitely super-recommended!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your great support.It was great to know that you had a good time here! Have a nice trip!

91%

Really nice place. The amount of warnings about theft made me weary about leaving anything in the locked locker... But I felt safe the whole time! Best location in Chengdu


100%

The staff at front desk are really friendly,especially the travel adviser Sally.

  • 10th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

It was a good place to stay. Comfortable and a nice lounge. If you want to go on tours the staff is pretty helpful

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much!Hope you have a nice trip!

94%

Great Hostel! Good location and facilities but great staff and opportunities. My friend and I took the Half-day Panda Tour-- totally worth it!! I would definitely stay here again!

  • 28th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Hostel was great. Trendy and comfortable. Rooftop patio was fantastic, seemed very underused. There was a washing machine, you could do you own washing for 20 RMB. Staff was super helpful with booking tickets. The Panda tour was very worth while. They also did freewalking/bike tours once a week which was great to see things you wouldn't necessarily make it to on your own and gave you something to do in the evening. Super close to a busy shopping square (Chinxi Rd) chinese stalls and modern mall.

  • 25th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your great support! All of our staff are really appreciated for that! Hope we have opportunity to have you stay with us again! Have a nice trip!

94%

The Fliflop hostel is easy to find, has an interesting neighborhood to explore, friendly staff and they seem to organize a lot of tours and activities for their guests. All in all a great place to stay in Chengdu.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your great support! It was great to know you had a good time here! See you next time!

86%

Nice and extremely conveniently located hostel, practically in the main shopping area and right next to a metro stop, with tons of nice restaurants and Xinnanmen bus station within a few minutes walk.

  • 24th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your support! Have a nice trip!

86%

I had a great time at the hostel, the staff were very friendly, the decor was nice and current. if i had any improvements I would suggest that sometimes the staff looked a bit lost when talking to me, and could have been a little more polite when asking me to wait as it was a busy check in time. Also, a scheduled movie night or more group orientated atmosphere would have been good. I was a solo traveller so wanted to meet people.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your great support and suggestion.It was great to know you had a good time here.Hope we will have opportunity to have you stay with us again!

94%

I enjoyed my stay very much, you meet great people, wifi is fine, good working atmosphere for the people who travel for a long time because the lobby is perfect. Only thing is the cleanliness, the bathroom and floor of the room were shameful, in the future please wipe the floors and desinfect the house shoes as well!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much! Thanks a lot for your suggestion,and we will try our best to solve the problem as soon as possible.Have a nice trip!

97%

We stayed in a four-person family room and it was an excellent value for the money. The atmosphere in the hostel was really fun. The real standout in the hostel was Sally at the front desk, who was incredibly helpful in arranging drivers for us. She even helped us find an alternative hotel by phone in another town, when we were stuck in Kangding with nowhere to stay after our first night and couldn't speak the language.

  • 14th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for you great support! See you next time!

100%

Great hostel, really nice and helpful staff!! Stayed there two times. The first room was a little bit smelly, but apart from that really nice and clean. The second room didn't have so good mattresses. But no other complaints, it's really great there, breakfast is tasty, and the location is really great. Free drinking water, free maps. We definitely recommend staying there!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your great support.It was great to know you had a good time here. Hope to see you again next time! Have a nice trip!

94%

We liked flipflop because of it's easy to reach location via the airport bus and underground. It had tours that were excellent value, especially the pandas. I have to mention a bit more about the panda tour. We were the first group to see the pandas that day. Pretty much had the place to ourselves. Its the best and only way to see them. The lounge area had a relaxed feel, social but not party crazy or seedy. The water was hot, beds were hard, rooms were clean, rooms had heaters, staff awesome.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your great support! Have a nice trip!

60%

Hostel was hard to find, and the staff was unable to provide directions when I was lost in the city, very close to the hostel. They were very kind though, and really did try! The tours booked through the hostel were extremely expensive, but provided great transportation and worked with their sister hostels. The security in the hostel itself was not great, and the bathroom and sink drain was constantly leaking. However, the heated blanket in the bed was very nice for the cold rainy nights!

  • 27th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Absolutely brilliant hostel all round. Only slight negative would be that I was originally given a room which had a funny smell but when I mentioned it to the staff they immediately swapped it for me!


80%

The hostel was fine, and good value, but the mattresses were incredibly hard, even by Chinese standards, and the rooms were quite noisy.

  • 24th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Sewer problems caused very bad smell in the room. No good internet. Nice roof top terrace and good atmosphere in common room (with many cosy places to sit, pool table, football table and good music) Offer lot of tours


83%

We had a very good visit and would return. We thought the food selection for breakfast was very good and reasonable and the staff was very helpful. Also, we were able to switch beds but the first one was so hard that we were unable to sleep the first night. There was a bad small in the bathroom from the sewer lines. We understood that there would be a shower that made the bathroom wet each time but it would be nice if there was a way to shower without making the room soaking wet.

  • 21st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your great support! Very sorry about the problem with bathroom. We have already fixed the problem with bathroom. Hope you will stay with us again.Have a nice trip!

86%

Friendly stuff, very cozy bar area! Went to the lantern festival activities with hostel, a big big plus! Only drawback is the bathroom in double bed pravite smells a little after a shower! Food needed a little more work, but the a-yi who works in kitchen are sweet! Over all a very nice hostel! Would recommend everyone else to give a try!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a lot for your great support.Thank you for your great suggestion! Have a nice trip!

86%

Very helpful staff, great location. Highly recommended and will go there again

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much.Have a nice trip!

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(51 results)


View all Chengdu Hostels

Please give us your feedback