Hostelworld.com

Chern Hostel

  • 17 Soi Ratchasak Bamrung Muang Road, Samran Rat, Phra Nakhon, Bangkok, Thailand
Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 77 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 9.9
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 77 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 9.9
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
2nd Feb 2017
8.3

Great location if you want to site see in Bangkok. If you want to party, not the place for you. It is more like a boutique hotel than hostel. Clean, friendly, and very comfortable.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
31st Dec 2016
8.3

Room was spacious and clean, good beds and nice bathroom. Location is awesome, close to all the main temples and palace. Khao San Rd is 20-min walk. Staff is nice but not knowledgeable at all about what to do in Bangkok - they do not provide any tour booking or advice. Breakfast is not included. Self-service laundry, very useful when you're travelling long. We would stay here again for sure.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Dec 2016
5.7

Immediately walked out as soon as I arrived. The bathroom was atrocious and obviously hadn't been cleaned in days. It's one of those rooms where the electricity, and also the AC, only work when someone has their key card in the slot by the door. In Bangkok heat, that means the room is unbearably hot if you're gone from the room for more than an hour. I was sweating gallons the whole 20 minutes I was in the room trying to find another hostel. This is not a hostel. Just a hotel with one dorm

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Dec 2016
10.0

Chern has great facilities and rooms and is in an excellent location. The staff is very helpful as well. They have several different room options, including private room and bath options that are very affordable. Will definitely stay here again the next time I'm in Bangkok!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Dec 2016
9.7

Exceptionally clean and very comfortable bed with new sheets. Staff is friendly and helpful. Security is very good. Very feng shui hostel. Would stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
1st Dec 2016
7.7

The hostel was very clean and quiet. The staff members were helpful when we had any questions, they even called different companies for us. Although we just happened to go to Bangkok during a bank holiday, which meant that the palace was closed. Also nothing was mentioned about wearing black or white to go into some of the temples, just a little note would have been helpful. The rooms though were really nice and cleaned every day. I would recommend staying here in Bangkok.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Nov 2016
9.1

Beautiful and clean hostel. Felt more like a hotel. It is located right down town in walking distance of khaosan road. The staff were disorganized but friendly and helpful. The breakfast was inexpensive. Would definitely stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Nov 2016
7.1

Underwhelming. This place was by far the most expensive place we have stayed is Asia and for the money - not what we had hoped. Staff have an overall impression of not caring (when we asked about a bus out, we were grumpily given the name of the bus terminal and told to book online ourselves) . Tv had no English channels and hardly any that worked. Shower was warm at best. No real atmosphere. alsp a cockerel next door crowed every day from before 5am...

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
2nd Nov 2016
8.6

Super clean, big rooms, western style showers with included soap/shampoo, good AC and very quiet. Great location, 3 min from the Giant Swing. Down a little alley, so noise is not an issue. Staff are nice, but weren't proactive in checking in to assist. Breakfast and lunches are good, however not the cheapest or biggest. We stayed our first week in Asia and it was a great place to get over jet lag. A bit expensive and not the best place to meet other travellers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Sep 2016
9.1

Great location - around 20 minutes walk to Chinatown, Khaosan Rd, Wat Pho. Only a couple of minutes walk from some good Pad Thai. Our twin room with en suite was clean, decent shower, safe, fridge, free drinking water replenished each day and good air con. Had breakfast downstairs once but you can get nicer and cheaper food at the many vendors nearby so didn't eat there again. There didn't seem to be a lot going on in the communal areas but we stayed out of season and didn't stay in much. 9/10

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.