Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Chern Hostel

  • 17 Soi Ratchasak Bamrung Muang Road, Samran Rat, Phra Nakhon, Bangkok, Thailand

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 92 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.8
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 92 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.8
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th May 2017
9.4

Felt like an oasis in the boiling hot Bangkok. Clean, the aircon is a blessing and they have nice breakfast.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Apr 2017
8.3

Chern is almost unbeatable for the price and cleanliness in Bangkok. It's a close walk to all the temples and piers, and also only a 15 minute walk from Khao San Road. The common areas weren't air conditioned so most guests didn't hang out there. The atmosphere was actually nice and relaxing compared to the craziness of Bangkok. Breakfast was quite good (banana pancakes!) and the staff was very helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 26 reviews
12th Apr 2017
8.3

Room very clean, excellent bathroom and good showers. Big lockers. Staff were OK. Looks more like a hotel than a hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
7th Apr 2017
8.0

It was ok. Had a feeling of something between hotel and a hospital Great value for the money No kitcken to play around in. Or meet other travelers. But i guess you dont need the first one in Thailand

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • michaelamay
  • Australia, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
20th Mar 2017
7.1

Comfy beds, good location, secure lockers! The bathrooms could do with a proper clean but overall it was an enjoyable stay.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Mar 2017
8.6

Everything was great with our stay. Solid location, good staff, and clean rooms. They provide waters each day which was nice. Overall it was a great stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • hannahc81
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Feb 2017
8.3

We stayed here as it had great reviews on lonely planet and was one of their 'top choices' we originally only booked one night and ended up staying 2 nights as it was so nice!! It is more of a hotel than a hostel and so there's no night life on site. The dorm was way quieter than what we're used to, but they were spacious and bright and clean. Really good bathrooms, big showers And really clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Feb 2017
8.3

Great location if you want to site see in Bangkok. If you want to party, not the place for you. It is more like a boutique hotel than hostel. Clean, friendly, and very comfortable.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
31st Dec 2016
8.3

Room was spacious and clean, good beds and nice bathroom. Location is awesome, close to all the main temples and palace. Khao San Rd is 20-min walk. Staff is nice but not knowledgeable at all about what to do in Bangkok - they do not provide any tour booking or advice. Breakfast is not included. Self-service laundry, very useful when you're travelling long. We would stay here again for sure.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Dec 2016
5.7

Immediately walked out as soon as I arrived. The bathroom was atrocious and obviously hadn't been cleaned in days. It's one of those rooms where the electricity, and also the AC, only work when someone has their key card in the slot by the door. In Bangkok heat, that means the room is unbearably hot if you're gone from the room for more than an hour. I was sweating gallons the whole 20 minutes I was in the room trying to find another hostel. This is not a hostel. Just a hotel with one dorm

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.