Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Chester Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 409 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 409 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Aug 2017
9.7

Extremely warm friendly welcome received on arrival, full on information, enthusiasm and conversation. Chris made our stay a very pleasant one. The hostel is well located near the canal and centre of town with all the facilities we required. Would definitely stay there again if I was in Chester.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Aug 2017
10.0

Loved it. Cosy and convenient. Thanks.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
2nd Aug 2017
10.0

I enjoyed myself here, even though small and the outside looks a little run down, but the inside is like home 😊

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jul 2017
10.0

Couldn't be happier, fantastic little hostel and Chris who runs it is awesome. Definitely recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jul 2017
8.0

Outside looks might deceive - despite looking pretty run down from the street, this hostel was everything it needed to be - comfortable bed, clean and friendly space, good location.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • ChristianCDJohnson
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jul 2017
9.7

fantastic owner! Very enthusiastic ascot the building and people.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Vicky93
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
1st Apr 2017
9.1

Felt incredibly welcome, lovely building, well equipped kitchen although we didn't get to use it due to the great Indian restaurant just round the corner, very close proximity to the canal which is an easy and beautiful walk into town, would highly recommend, Phoebe is the cutest ;)

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Mar 2017
10.0

The hostel is a short walk from the centre of Chester. The room was clean and warm and the beds were comfy. The owner was very welcoming and helpful when I got there. Overall this was a good place to stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Mar 2017
6.3

The host is very but the double room is very cold, heater is not working even though we set to the highest, lot of things need to repair, for example there's a hole in the toilet door, no hot water for the shower room, and the decor of the hostel is poor.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the kind and honest review you left. I'm upset to hear your stay was not as good as it should have been here at the Backpackers. On my part the hostel is undergoing a huge revamp in terms of decor, however this project will take me time and money which I hope you appreciate is difficult due to the relatively small prices we charge throughout the year. Repairs are a constant so a keen eye will spot the changes needed and I do ask our guests to leave comments in our suggestion box for this reason (often we can-not see the wood for the trees). The heating is on a timer set to the hours in the day which suit the need's of the hostel. If the heating is off, no amount of setting the radiator will effect this timer. Small electric heaters are on hand and available to guests should they feel the temperature is a little low for them personally during there stay here. As for the shower not having hot water, I can only think that as it currently does work, you may have not turned the red switch on that is clearly marked on the bathroom walls to indicate the "hot water" switch foe the shower. I do hope that one day you will return to our small and humble hostel to see for yourselves the huge improvement we have made. Many thanks again for you comments and for choosing the stay at the Chester Backpackers, myself and the rest of the family wish you all safe travels. Kind regards, Chris

  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
25th Feb 2017
8.9

Only stayed the one night but the staff was very friendly and helpful. Short walk from train station and close to the city centre. The building's a bit of a maze and our room was right at the top of the house - made it a little difficult to actually find the room again after a few drinks! The room itself was clean and warm. The shower was very good.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.