Hostelworld.com

Chester Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 362 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 362 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.7
Chester Backpackers Located at 67 Boughton, , Chester.
Chester Backpackers
England
Chester CH3 5AF 67 Boughton
82% 362
53.1925102 -2.8786754
Chester Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
30th Apr 2016
6.6

This is the sort of place you stay when you book accommodation late and are pressed for cash. It was a little dodgy, there are holes in the walls, a piece of boarded nailed over a hole in the bathroom door, bunk beds that are barely holding together and no lockers. Also the code to our room was only one digit different to the code for the front door. All that aside the two people working there were lovely, the showers were hot, the WiFi reliable and the bedding clean.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Apr 2016
9.4

Great hostel especially for the price, my only real issue was the amount of plug in the dorm (8 bed). It was okay when there was just 2 of us but I can imagine if all 8 people were in there, there'd be a queue for plugs!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Apr 2016
8.6

Stayed at Chester Backpackers for one night while I was visiting Chester. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, giving me easy to follow directions and good suggestions. The entire hostel was spotless in terms of cleanliness. The location is good, only a 5-10 minute walk from the city centre, coach and rail stations with numerous bars and restaurants a short walk away. There is free tea and coffee which is good also. I would stay again if I was in Chester!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Mar 2016
9.7

Very good hostel and definite value for money

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • roxane_schmidt5658
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 25 reviews
27th Feb 2016
8.6

Chris and his employee Lindsay are the most amazingly awesome people! If you want to go somewhere where you'll truly be welcome, come to Chester Backpackers. It is a traditional hostel in the sense that a lot of its furniture is somewhat random, but that only makes the place more interesting in my opinion. Chris is the owner and manager, and one can see how hard he works to make every single person feel at home and he tries to get as many renovations in as possible. My ensuite was beautiful!....

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Feb 2016
9.1

Had a very enjoyable stay. Convenient location near the centre of Chester, cooking and laundry facilities, and much appreciated complementary coffee and tea available 24/7. Some of the friendliest staff I've ever met, especially Chris who really made our stay worthwhile. I have no complaints about this hostel and would certainly recommend it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Dec 2015
9.4

I will defo stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Dec 2015
7.4

essentially arrived 2 a bit of a dinghy big room. Inhabited by a guy who was unstable...& was removed c/o police ...during my stay...thankfully...I was not around. the Hostel was being used as a last post for this guy...who waz being very confrontational & generally an unpredictable temperament. thankfully he did not get unduly aggressive with me. but he should have been dealt with far ...sooner & police/social services brought in. mirrors in washrooms & a shelf 4 wash gear pliz

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
29th Nov 2015
9.4

Very clean hostel, staff were very welcoming and friendly, made you feel as if you were family and staying in their home. Loved how close the hostel was to everything!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Nov 2015
4.0

No breakfast, dorms really stinky, no facilities in the dorm, and bathroom really disgusting...

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.