Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Chester Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 369 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 369 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.4
Chester Backpackers Located at 67 Boughton, , Chester.
Chester Backpackers
England
Chester CH3 5AF 67 Boughton
87% 369
53.1925102 -2.8786754
Chester Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jun 2016
9.4

Nice. Cheap and cheerful. Friendly atmosphere, and a nice pub just a few doors down the road.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Jun 2016
9.1

Pros: friendly staff, convenient location to train station, small and quiet, clean, well-equipped kitchen Cons: likely because it is so small, there are limited reception hours. One can arrive at other times than what it listed, but this can be inconvenient for traveller, staff person, or both...

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
3rd Jun 2016
9.7

Very welcoming, which totally makes up for a bit of peeling paint. I thoroughly enjoyed my hosts and the other guests. The hostel is close to a supermarket and to a beautiful park and the River Dee. It's a short walk to the train station and the centre of town.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st May 2016
9.7

An old pub, this hostel is in a great location in Chester. The rooms are oddly shaped and they've used every inch to its potential. Common kitchen is large, well equipped with an upstairs terrace. The hosts, Chris, Lindsay and Phoebe are fun and accommodating. Great place to stay!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • dougoxer358
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th May 2016
7.4

Very close to all facilities and very pleasant staff. Ideal location to explore the North West and North Wales. A reasonable price for the City that it is in.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
30th Apr 2016
6.6

This is the sort of place you stay when you book accommodation late and are pressed for cash. It was a little dodgy, there are holes in the walls, a piece of boarded nailed over a hole in the bathroom door, bunk beds that are barely holding together and no lockers. All that aside the two people working there were lovely, the showers were hot, the WiFi reliable and the bedding clean.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Apr 2016
9.4

Great hostel especially for the price, my only real issue was the amount of plug in the dorm (8 bed). It was okay when there was just 2 of us but I can imagine if all 8 people were in there, there'd be a queue for plugs!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Apr 2016
8.6

Stayed at Chester Backpackers for one night while I was visiting Chester. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, giving me easy to follow directions and good suggestions. The entire hostel was spotless in terms of cleanliness. The location is good, only a 5-10 minute walk from the city centre, coach and rail stations with numerous bars and restaurants a short walk away. There is free tea and coffee which is good also. I would stay again if I was in Chester!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Mar 2016
9.7

Very good hostel and definite value for money

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • roxane_schmidt5658
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 25 reviews
27th Feb 2016
8.6

Chris and his employee Lindsay are the most amazingly awesome people! If you want to go somewhere where you'll truly be welcome, come to Chester Backpackers. It is a traditional hostel in the sense that a lot of its furniture is somewhat random, but that only makes the place more interesting in my opinion. Chris is the owner and manager, and one can see how hard he works to make every single person feel at home and he tries to get as many renovations in as possible. My ensuite was beautiful!....

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.