X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Chicago Getaway Hostel Reviews

616 West Arlington Place, Chicago, Chicago, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
1770 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 95%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 94%Staff
  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 90%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

This hostel was a very nice surprise! It was conveniently located, right in the middle of one of the prettiest areas of Chicago and so well organized! I would stay here again, for sure! Thanks to the helpful and friendly staff as well!

  • 20th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

What an amazing place to stay! I will be back then next time I'm through town and would for sure suggest this hostel to anyone planning on a trip to Chicago. The location was pretty convenient to public transport with lots of things to do and see around as well as lots of great places to grab a bite and a drink. Great events organized by the staff who were really very friendly and helpful. Great kitchen, patio & common area and a GREAT atmosphere to interact with other travelers.


89%

One of the nicer hostels I've been to. Would visit again.

  • 19th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for sharing your experience with us. Hope to see you at our hostel again in the future! Best regards, Mat Meadows General Manager

94%

Such a great hostel with a really nice BBQ where you can meet other travelers easily. The location of the hostel is really nice as well: close to lot of pubs and the L-train is pretty close as well! I totally can recommend to stay there!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for sharing your experience with other Hostelworld.com customers! We're happy you enjoyed our property and the proximity of pubs and trains. Hope to see you again! Best regards, Mat Meadows General Manager

97%

Very impressed with the friendly staff and the activities that were offered each night. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for sharing your experience with other travelers! We're glad you enjoyed our activities and our property. Hope to see you again! Best regards, Mat Meadows General Manager

100%

overall experience superb. the getaway is truly to be highly recommended. great location. great value

  • 8th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for writing a stunning review of Chicago Getaway Hostel! We're glad you got a lot of value out of our property and enjoyed the location. Look forward to having you as our guest again in the future. Best regards, Mat Meadows General Manager

100%

Absolutely loved the stay. It was one of the few hostels that knew how to look after their guests.

  • 6th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Daniel- Thanks very much for such a positive review! Glad to see our efforts are being recognized! Hope to see you at Chicago Getaway Hostel again in the future! Best regards, Mat Meadows General Manager

89%

Enjoyed my stay and met a lot of cool people - both the guests and staff were awesome. They had activities you could join each day or night of the week, which was great for meeting other friendly travelers. Very big and nice kitchen for cooking and storing food. Plenty of common space to hang out, and laptops. The only peeves were that the train was a significant walk away; however there was a bus stop very close by. So not a big issue. My only big complaint was that the wifi did not work well.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi: Thanks for taking the time to write us such a well thought out review. We really appreciate the feedback. I am going to contact you regarding the WiFi as our system will allow up to 500 people on at any given time and should still give you great strength. We look forward to seeing you around our friendly confines again in the future! best regards, Mat Meadows General Manager

91%

Great hostel in an awesome location. There are a lot of bars, restaurants, and clubs around this area and it's only a short bus or train ride from downtown. Our room was pretty small but very clean and it had A/C, sheets, towels, etc. Highly recommend!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey Thanks for writing us such a stellar review! We really appreciate it. Hope that you'll choose Chicago Getaway Hostel the next time you're in Chicago! Best regards, Mat Meadows General Manager

89%

Had a great time here. The bed and towels were clean and the staff was awesome. The hostel facilities are great and the free activities and pretty cool for meeting people. Only thing that I'd change would be the guy who would masturbate out in open in our dorm room. Seriously dude!

  • 27th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the great, and funny review. I'm glad that you were left with a positive outlook on our hostel - even with some of your bunk mates being a tad bit "special." That's what makes hostelling interesting I suppose. In any case, thanks for staying with us - we hope to see you again in the future! Best regards, Mat Meadows General Manager

80%

I quite enjoyed my stay at the Getaway hostel. The staff for the most part were great, friendly, and accommodating. It would be nice to have a bus map available for people coming in from out of town/ country, who may not have access to data on their phones. I don't know if the staff clean the bathrooms, but they were pretty dirty.

  • 24th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for sharing your feedback of Chicago Getaway Hostel! We really enjoy hearing back from our guests. We have had a number of complaints regarding our bathrooms and have instituted a new program with our team to ensure we're keeping the bathrooms clean during our most busy times. I know that you'll find a major improvement on your next stay. Kind regards, Mat Meadows General Manager

94%

A subway ride from the centre of Chicago but it's an easy journey to make. The area around the hostel is actually really cool too with lots of good bars and clubs which the hostel staff were knowledgeable about. The evening events at the hostel are very well organised and great fun. Langston and Audrey were great people to show us around. The staff in general were extremely polite and helpful which was much appreciated. Great hostel for a salo traveller, would recommend.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey: Thanks for sending a shout out to Audrey and Langston - they're great members of our team. Really glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us - we look forward to seeing you again in the future. Best regards, Mat Meadows General Manager

91%

absolutely beautiful location that is super close to everything. staff are lovely and atmosphere is great. just a little tip: request a bottom bunk otherwise you won't have an outlet to charge your phone.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the great review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us - and hope to see you at Chicago Getaway Hostel again in the future! Best, Mat Meadows General Manager

94%

It was my first time staying at a hostel, so i had no idea what to expect. Getaway Hostel offered a great experience. The staff was very helpful and friendly. I felt safe and comfortable and was quite impressed by how organized and clean the building is kept. The kitchen area was pristine and the system they have to store guests' food is absolutely marvelous. will come back again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to share your experience of Chicago Getaway Hostel! We're glad you found our staff to be very helpful and friendly as well as our facility to be clean and organized. Our team works very hard to give a great stay in Chicago - we're glad you found this to be the case! See you soon! -Mat Meadows General Manager

94%

I felt very safe and comfortable at this location. Only a short (5-10 minute) walk to the El trains was great to travel to and from.

  • 17th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for taking the time to review Chicago Getaway Hostel. We're glad you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to seeing you again soon! Best regards, Mat Meadows General Manager

69%

The rooms have no plugs at all. I was in a 10 bed room, and I only found 2 plugs next to another girl's bed and one more in the bathroom. Travellers are supposed to need plugs to charge their cameras and phones, and that way it is very hard. I won't recommend this place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review! I'm sorry to hear that you had issues finding plugs in your room. We try and make it as easy as possible to locate; so we have painted plug signs around all of our dorms. There are enough plugs in each room for each person to have at least one. Next time you stay with us, let us know (hoping you'll give us another chance) so we can help you find the one closest and most convenient to your bed. Thanks! Mat Meadows General Manager

94%

It's a bit out of town but the train is nearby and the hostel itself is great.

  • 11th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review! Glad you enjoyed the hostel - and hope you enjoyed our great neighborhood of Lincoln Park too! Thanks, Mat Meadows General Manager

97%

I thought the location was excellent. It was in a very fun area of Chicago.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! I'm glad you got to experience Lincoln Park! It's one of the nicest neighborhoods in Chicago - and just a stones throw to downtown. We hope that we'll see you around our hostel again in the future! Best regards, Mat Meadows General Manager

89%

Very good hostel, facilities and staffs. I recommend this place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for reviewing Chicago Getaway Hostel! We're glad to see you enjoyed our hostel, thanks for recommending us! Best regards, Mat Meadows General Manager

80%

Great location with easy instructions to be able to find. A good hostel vibe about it. Good location to pubs and Lake Michigan beach areas. Stay in this area rather then anything in the CBD. Staff were good there and always willing to help out with any questions. Facilities were fine and clean. Good area to cook dinner if you want to save some coin, otherwise there is plenty of options cheap or restaurants nearby.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for sharing your experience with other customers. Glad our staff took care of you during your stay and that you enjoyed being in Lincoln Park. Hope to have you back again in the future! Best regards, Mat Meadows General Manager

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(44 results)


View all Chicago Hostels

Please give us your feedback