X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Chicago Getaway Hostel Reviews

616 West Arlington Place, Chicago, Chicago, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
1991 Total Reviews
  • 92%Value For Money
  • 94%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 95%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 91%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Fantastic location. Close to the metro and there is tons to do in the area and around. The hostel itself is also very good. The breakfast was great.


89%

Awesome kitchen and spaces to eat and socialize I or outdoors, behind doors in the TV room or by the piano, I had the best time with so many new friends.

  • 12th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

Sucha nice place! Location is ok, but theplace itself is a great place to stay in. Enough activities prganized by the hostel to try somthing new at night!

  • 11th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

AMAZING! This hostel is one of the best places I have stayed. It is super clean, well set out, and very functional. Plus it is in a amazing location. The building and surrounding buildings have beautiful external architecture and it is very safe for walking around alone. Will definitely be back here again.


89%

There was a mix of young people and older folks which made for an interesting environment. It wasn't party central, and the turnout for the nights out sponsored by the hostel wasn't great. However, the staff was super friendly and there was always plenty to do at night and ever during the day.

  • 8th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Loved this place - staff were super helpful and it was in a great neighbourhood. Very easy to get into the middle of Chicago to see the sights. Nice big rooms and comfy beds. Would come again.


86%

Very big hostel, excellent staff with good knowledge and enthusiasm! Short walk from the metro station, easy to get lost though. Would recommend the pizza place downtown that the hostel recommends. The free pizza cookie was great!


91%

Top notch all across the board. Wish more hostels were like this.


91%

It has all the information needed to have a great time. The staff was helpful and breakfast was good. Definitely coming back.

  • 27th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Everything was excellent but the temperature in our room. The insulation of the window was very bad and there was a freezing air coming through. During the night the room got very cold and we had just one thin blanket. The following day we asked for more blankets but this freezing air was still annoying.


97%

the best hostel for me. will definately go again.


94%

Incredible amenities


100%

If you're looking for first class this isn't it! If you're looking for a place to sleep amongst the attractions you've found it! Just a short walk from DePaul and the Lincoln Park Zoo is this wonderful place. Don't expect any fancy thrills or spectacles, but they have a continental breakfast. We didn't utilize it but one day because the bourgeoisie pig and chicagos dog house are within walking distance. Definitely recommend the 7 day CTA pass to get around by bus and subway.

  • 16th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Outstanding hostel. I have been to 5 or 6 hostels, and this is very likely the best one. Good value for money, good facilities. The location may initially seems not great because it is not downtow, but the neigborhood of the hostel is amazing (safe, bike friendly, good for running in the morning at the Lincoln park, awesome night life, blues at Kingston Mines). Amazing breakfest. Strongly recommended!


89%

This is located in a great area of Chicago; about 15 min walk to nearest train station on one direction, and Lincoln Park zoo and other attractions in the other direction down Fullerton. This makes going around Chicago easy for people new ;the people at the front desk are very helpful and kind. The breakfast is good and offers a good variety. After staying at international hostels, this was my first hostel experience in US, and it was good in comparison


94%

Awesome location in Lincoln Park, super clean facilities, fairly quiet, great common areas, very helpful staff. This would be a great place for longer term stays, since they have a full kitchen and places for guests to store food. My only complaint is that the whole place felt kind of stuffy and got the whole time I was there, but it was that weird spring weather so I understand.


86%

Some construction works going on very frequently.

  • 6th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

PROS : Great location, staff is extremely helpful and friendly, the free breakfast is good. CONS : It is noisy (sounds from other rooms, sounds from the pipes in the wall, etc.), there is only one bathroom on the floor, beds are not very comfortable. It is the best place for the money, but it is not perfect.

  • 2nd Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Stayed the first weekend of March for 3 nights. They have a parking lot right out back which was like $25 ish a night. Parking is super expensive everywhere in chicago so it was nice to not worry about it and have a very safe place that I could visibly see my car at all times. Room security was great. Forgot a lock and left my camera and laptop in room when I went out at night and nothing was taken. Breakfast was oatmeal, eggs, Breads. really nice little restaurants nearby. 4 train stops to DT

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi ! Thanks for staying with us at the Chicago Getaway Hostel. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and I hope we see you again the next time you are back in Chicago!

100%

Loved my stay here! Hope to come back soon. Staff was also very helpful :)

  • 20th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us! We hope to see you again!

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(64 results)


View all Chicago Hostels

Please give us your feedback