X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Chicago Getaway Hostel Reviews

616 West Arlington Place, Chicago, Chicago, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
1900 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 93%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 90%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Felt the men's showers were a bit small

  • 19th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Great value! The Hostel is not directly in the city although the Chicago Transit is phenominal. Both the bus system and the rail system are top notch, reasonably priced and easy to navigate. The hostel is not in the city center although it is in such a nice safe neighborhood with lovely architecture all around. The staff were kind and very helpful. Laundry on site was cheap. food was good. The only downside to the stay was that the room was pretty warm. Better to be warm than cold. Will be back.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the great review! Glad that you enjoyed your stay and the easy access to public transportation. We look forward to accommodating you again in the future. Best regards, Mat Meadows General Manager

91%

Good place, 2nd time I was there !

  • 8th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings: Thanks for staying with us a second time! Glad that you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to seeing you for a third stay! Sincerely, Mat Meadows General Manager

97%

I will definitely go here again ! It felt like home, I would never consider a hotel in Chicago. This has permanently become my go to place! It's clean, friendly, and it's easy to fit right in. The location makes it perfect.

  • 6th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the positive review! Glad to see you enjoyed your experience with us. We look forward to having you back again in the future. Best regards, Mat Meadows General Manager

80%

A bit far away from downtown even though there is public transport. Costs 5 dollars one way or 10 for a day. Otherwise a really well ru. Hostel, the breakfast is the best I have seen so far!

  • 6th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review! Glad you found our hostel to be very well run. We hope to have the opportunity to accommodate you again in the future. Best regards, Mat Meadows General Manager

100%

Excellent about 6 mins from the 'L' wide range of accommodation. You can buy attraction tickets at the desk. Excellent staff.

  • 3rd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings: Thanks for the great 5 star review! Glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to have you back for many more positive experiences in Chicago. Safe travels! Mat Meadows General Manager

83%

The hostel was good. Localized in a nice district in the North of Chicago, only 7 minutes by feet from the metro station. The staff is cheerfull and helpfull. Events are organized every night. The breakfast is amazing, a lot of choices between baggels, waffels, scramble eggs, fruits, etc... My only regrets are that I have doubts about how often they clean the dorms, because my bathroom was kind of dirty, and there's no free water or coffee.

  • 2nd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to review Chicago Getaway Hostel! We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay overall. We appreciate your feedback and hope to have you back in the future. Best regards, Mat Meadows General Manager PS: We have free coffee during breakfast hours and Keurig Coffee outside of these hours. We have free water 24/7!

89%

A great hostel! I really liked it!

  • 24th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for sharing your experience with the Hostelworld community! Glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us. We hope to see you again in the future. best regards, Mat Meadows General Manager

89%

A very nice place to stay, for a low price. I only missed a quiet place for the hours when I needed to work/study, because there were songs being played and people talking all the time.

  • 23rd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for reviewing our hostel. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again in the future. Best regards, Mat Meadows General Manager

91%

Very clean and organized. Absolutely amazing kitchen!

  • 22nd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings! Thanks for the great review! Glad you enjoyed our kitchen and your experience at Chicago Getaway Hostel! We hope to see you again in the future. Best regards, Mat Meadows General Manager

97%

The place has everything you could possibly need when at a hostel or even a hotel. The breakfast is remarkable and the staff is super friendly. Would stay there again without even thinking it through.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel! We're thrilled to hear you positive feedback regarding your stay. We recently updated our breakfast offerings - and are very pleased to find that you enjoyed it. Hope to see you again in the future. Best regards, Mat Meadows General Manager

100%

We experienced the best hostel we ever stayed with. The staff was extremly cooperative, friendly and obliging. Example: I reported an issue with one of the toilets at the front desk; the staff not only appreciated my report explicitely, furthermore: when I came back to my floor the maintenance was already fixing the problem.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for sharing your experience on Hostelworld.com! We're thrilled to be the best hostel you've stayed at to date! We look forward to having you back at our hostel again in the future. Best regards, Mat Meadows General Manager

100%

Excellent hostel! Definitely one of the best I've been to. A manageable trip to downtown, but in a great neighborhood for late night entertainment. More over, the building itself has a great vitality that makes it really easy to meet people. I'll recommend this place to anyone looking for my input! Word of advice though: be sure to bring your own lock if you want to use the lockers. They sell them if you need, but they don't rent them.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the kind words regarding your stay at Chicago Getaway Hostel! Glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us - we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. best regards, Mat Meadows General Manager

86%

Great hostel, very nice common area, really a fun location. The dorms are nice but basic at best. would defiantly come back.

  • 10th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for staying at Chicago Getaway Hostel! Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again in the future! Best regards, Mat Meadows General Manager

97%

It was an amazing hostel!

  • 6th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to review Chicago Getaway Hostel! We're glad to hear you had an amazing stay - and we look forward to seeing you again in the future! Best regards, Mat Meadows General Manager

94%

우선 직원분들이 친절했고, 침실도 깔끔했어요. 화장실도 방마다 있어서 사용하기도 편했고, wifi도 잘터져요. 대박인건 아침식사가 와플, 과일, 시리얼, 베이글, 식빵등 먹을게 많아서 참 좋아요.

  • 6th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
위대한 검토 주셔서 감사합니다! 당신이 시카고 탈출에서 숙박을 즐길 다행!

86%

The hostel is nice, clean, in a quiet neighbourhood, a few distance from the subway. You will have to use it because the hostel is not central. People at the front desk are very helpfull. They offer good deals for activities in town. Breakfast is great. The hostel is big, so not very cosy. There are only two bathroom by floor (one for men, one for women), so the girls bathroom can be pretty far from your room (but very clean and not crowded). Good place !

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the wonderful review of Chicago Getaway Hostel! We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Best regards, Mat Meadows General Manager

100%

As Always Chicago Getaway Hostel is the #1 choice for stays in Chicago. Clean facilitates, great lobby area for meeting travelers. Nightly activities to local areas. Our Pub Crawl host Erica took on us on a really good night out trip to many Bars. Mat & Vinne as always looked after me during the my stay. Trip to The Burwood Tap & Kingstown Mines is not to be missed. 15 mins walk to Fullerton Red line, Clark and Halstead for shopping / eating and Chicago History Museum & the Lincoln Park Zoo.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings- Thanks for sharing your feedback of Chicago Getaway Hostel! We're happy to have you back as a regular repeat guest. Hope to see you again soon! Mat Meadows General Manager

89%

as well as garage parking staff should also be aware of cheaper parking opportunities in the street , I would have appreciated a duvet

  • 27th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings: Thanks for writing a review of Chicago Getaway Hostel! Glad to have received your 89% rating. We hope to see you back at our hostel again in the future. Best regards, Mat Meadows General Manager

74%

Nice place, clean and organized but compared to other hostels very BORING. Excellent if you just come to sleep

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi William: Thanks for reviewing Chicago Getaway! I'm sorry to hear that you didn't have the opportunity to join any of our events that we host 7 days per week. They are very well attended and meant to let our guests experience Chicago like a local. Hope that you'll come join in the future! Our goal is for you to have as much fun as possible. Hope to see you back at Chicago Getaway in the future! Best regards, Mat Meadows General Manager

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(78 results)


View all Chicago Hostels

Please give us your feedback