Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Chicago Getaway Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 2,568 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 2,568 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.7
Chicago Getaway Hostel Located at 616 West Arlington Place, Chicago, Chicago.
Chicago Getaway Hostel
USA
Chicago IL IL/60614 616 West Arlington Place, Chicago
87% 2568
41.9267170 -87.6444780
Chicago Getaway Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
7th Jan 2017
10.0

Great place to stay and get the chance to visit the city. Our college age kids loved the atmosphere, so many restaurants, theatre, and shops. Parking very reasonable and local transportation all within walking distance. Very safe area. Highly recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jan 2017
10.0

The best hostel I've ever been to.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jan 2017
6.0

my drinks and noodles have been stolen !!!! someone also switch my food box from fridge to fridge two of the staff pretend to be helpful, but theyre terribly not when you asked them things other than checking in/out one of the staff have a horrible attitude towards my friend when she asked if he has seen a lost iphone wire his tone, his gesture and face language were all expressing a being annoyed emotion , but my friend is very nice and calm when she asked and approached him

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Dec 2016
9.7

Staff was very welcoming and accommodating for our stay. Bathrooms and other shared spaces were kept very clean and tidy by the staff. Additionally, the Getaway hostel was in a very accessible location to the nearby metro and nightlife in the Lincoln Park area. One thing to note is that sounds from other rooms and the hallway can be heard quite easily even if you're in a private accommodation. Other than that the It is a very pleasant to stay if you're in the age range of 18-25.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Dec 2016
9.4

I absolutely enjoyed my stay. It's location was very close to the train station which helped a lot. I was also happy with the 3-day passes that they had for the trains which was very affordable. The staff was very helpful and nice as well.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th Dec 2016
9.7

Great staff and great breakfast. Would recommend this hostel to every guest.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Dec 2016
8.0

Very good for the price, the location is great, classic hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Puerto Rico, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Nov 2016
8.6

I liked this hostel but i wouldn't stay again, my room was sooo smelly, like we literally had to go out in front to complain about it and they just sprayed some fragrance and nothing more. The room smelled like Foot and Pee ( the lady next to our bunk bed peed herself in the night and the mattress still smells disgusting). Also i was looking forward for some hostel activities but there were none. There is people all ages and no party scene which is kinda the reason why i wanted to visit chicago.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
3rd Nov 2016
5.4

Bad location, tourist sights were miles away, wifi sucked too! No atmosphere just all night noisy people. I actually cut my stay short here and moved to a hostel near the loop for the exact same price because of these problems. Nice neighbourhood and bars if this is what you're looking for.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
1st Nov 2016
5.4

This is NOT the best location for tourist stuff. Chicago is huge and all the tourist spots are a 20min train ride away. The wifi is absolutely awful! This is important for international travellers who, like me, rely on wifi to avoid huge data fees. Not great bathroom facilities, no privacy or anywhere to hang towels expect across from the shower so you have to jump out in the nude! The door would rattle any time ANY other door on that floor was opened and closed. Bedrooms were nice though.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.