Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Chicago Getaway Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 2675 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 2675 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th Aug 2017
5.4

I am really disappointing of this hostel. I was been there two times before and was my favorite. but in this occasion all the staff was mad and not kind. Also in the past you have hours to stay in the common area but on Saturday night all the people have a little party until 2 am... I understand that is a hostel but maybe you could put more rules of coexistence.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
22nd Jul 2017
9.4

I love the hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • luizareiscruz9061
  • Brazil, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
15th Jul 2017
9.4

Location was pretty good, easy walk to Lincoln Park and North Avenue Beach, taxi/lyfts were around ten dollars to downtown. Huge hostel, clean and safe. Staff was not the happiest one but helpful. Breakfast was honest (not a huge fan of waffles, but oh well, it was good enough).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • rdmcivor8053
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Jul 2017
9.4

Excellent location and very nice facility. I would definitely stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Jul 2017
7.7

Pros: good location, very helpful staff, really nice waffle breakfast and a back patio. Cons: for sure the biggest problem here is atmosphere. Extra large hostels need to make an effort to foster an atmosphere and this place makes none. There are no opportunities for common experiences like walking tours, pub crawls, trivia nights etc, and the main common area is set up like a restaurant with small tables and peoples' backs to each other. Also the larger basement dorms were humid and dank.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
30th Jun 2017
7.1

Hostel was great and centrally located, the facilities were modern and the staff was very nice! However, not the most social place and the cleanliness could have been better -- cockroach in the bathroom :/

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
21st Jun 2017
8.3

The location is great. The staff for the most part was helpful. The rooms are good. The website promotes events within the hostel but not much is happening. The breakfast sucks. I'm a big free breakfast gal.. all they offer is cereal and waffles. Where's the toast?! Come here with a group. Traveling here on your own might not be ideal if you aren't a super outgoing person

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Saudi Arabia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jun 2017
2.0

Absolutely discusting!! Bad location, bad service. I stayed for one night and it was a nightmare!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jun 2017
9.4

very good location and friendly neighborhood,convenient transportation and entertainment place!highly recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
8th Jun 2017
10.0

Great place, super cool vibes and awesome communal areas - home cinema space, dining room, kitchen, etc. In a super lovely area of Chicago!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.