X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Chicago Getaway Hostel Reviews

616 West Arlington Place, Chicago, Chicago, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
1792 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 95%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 94%Staff
  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 91%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

I've stayed at a number of hostels in Chicago and this one is by far the best. Slightly outside of the main city, but very close to trains, busses, the zoo, bars and the lake. Public transport in Chicago is amazing so location is more-or-less fine, particularly given that it's in a super expensive beautiful neighbourhood. The hostel is one of the nicest I've stayed at worldwide with very friendly staff and activities most nights of the week. Highly recommend.


100%

Thought it was very well kept, and neatly organized.

  • 11th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

The room (private room, 2 beds) - was very low quality. Much better value for money (basic comfort, size, temperature) could be found anywhere else. The rest of the hostel (lobby, kitchen, showers) were perfectly nice.

  • 9th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

It's my first hostel I love Getaway so much I will be back someday!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Chieh: Thanks for writing a stunning review of our hostel. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back around our hostel in the future. Best regards, Mat Meadows General Manager

89%

The refrigerator and shared room bathrooms need to be cleaned often.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Gabrielle: Thanks for writing us a review! We enjoy hearing back from our guests and getting their feedback for future enhancements. We clean our shared bathrooms every 2 hours during the day - and our refrigerator is cleaned daily. Hope to see you back at Getaway in the future! Best regards, Mat Meadows General Manager

100%

Great hostel. would highly recommend :)


97%

An excellent hostel. Staff are so welcoming and friendly and really go out of their way to help you with minimal fuss. The rooms are clean and the beds comfortable. The free breakfast and wifi is a bonus. Will definitely stay here again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Stephen: Thanks for writing the Getaway Hostel in Chicago such a great review. Glad you enjoyed your stay - see you again soon! Best regards, Mat Meadows General Manager

94%

Hostel was great to stay in. Staff were friendly and helpful. My dorm had an en suite which was handy, but I used the upstairs communal showers as they were more modern and available. Breakfast was brilliant. Delicious oatmeal made freshly, croissants and bagels too. Toaster worked well. I don't like Liptons tea but I liked the set up for getting hot drinks. Wifi was good and plenty of places to relax and read or use internet. Thanks for a great chicago experience.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Caz- Thanks for sharing your experience in Chicago at Chicago Getaway Hostel! Glad to see that you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you around our friendly confines again in the future! Best regards, Mat Meadows General Manager

89%

The location was great. I like Lincoln Park's bars and the nearby Fullerton subway made it quick and easy to get downtown and to Wrigley Field. The staff was friendly and helpful. It had organized activities if you wanted to meet people and free breakfasts in the morning. My room was basic, but that's what I expected. I wasn't charged to print my boarding pass for my departing flight. I would return again.

  • 28th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Steve: Thanks for reviewing Chicago Getaway Hostel - and sharing your feedback with the Hostelworld community! We're glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you on upcoming trips. Best regards, Mat Meadows General Manager

91%

Kitchen was kept spotless, and generally very clean and nice throughout. My dorm room had a few smelly piles of clothes and assorted things that I understand are not the responsibility of the staff, but a firmer policy in place could help prevent such unsavory conditions in the dorms themselves. Overall, one of the best hostels I've ever stayed in.

  • 26th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Andy- Thanks for reviewing Chicago Getaway Hostel. Glad that you enjoyed your stay, even if there were a few smelly piles of clothes left by your roommates!! Hope to see you around our hostel again in the future. Best regards, Mat Meadows General Manager

100%

Great location in Lincoln park. Good staff, breakfast was nice and the facilities were clean.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Stephanie: Thanks for sharing your experience. We love "100%" reviews! Enjoy your travels. Best regards, Mat Meadows General Manager

97%

I've travelled and stayed in hostels quite a bit, and this was definitely in my top 2 hostels stayed in. Fun activities, great facilities (warm and clean showers, and couldnt.expect more on overall cleanliness) and fun atmosphere in a location near lots of restaurantd and a pleasant half hour walk to the city centre along the beach.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Emily- Thanks for sharing your experience with other Hostelworld guests! Glad that we rank in your top 2 hostels stayed in! Hope to see you around our hostel again in the future. Best regards, Mat Meadows General Manager

94%

I loved this location! It wasn't in downtown but I think this added to the charm of CGH. Great restaurants and neigborhoods near the hostel away from the hustle & bustle. The staff was really nice and helpful. I thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast. The facility was kept SUPER clean!! Great vicinity from the Red Line.

  • 23rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Alicia: Thanks for writing about our hostel! We love hearing back from our guests - glad that you enjoyed the neighborhoods shopping and restaurants around us. Lincoln Park is certainly one of the best neighborhoods in Chicago! See you next time! Mat Meadows General Manager

94%

This hostel was a very nice surprise! It was conveniently located, right in the middle of one of the prettiest areas of Chicago and so well organized! I would stay here again, for sure! Thanks to the helpful and friendly staff as well!

  • 20th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Flora- Thanks for writing about Chicago Getaway Hostel! It's great when travelers can share their experiences with future guests. We really appreciate the feedback and are happy to hear that you enjoyed our great neighborhood! Best regards, Mat Meadows General Manager

94%

What an amazing place to stay! I will be back then next time I'm through town and would for sure suggest this hostel to anyone planning on a trip to Chicago. The location was pretty convenient to public transport with lots of things to do and see around as well as lots of great places to grab a bite and a drink. Great events organized by the staff who were really very friendly and helpful. Great kitchen, patio & common area and a GREAT atmosphere to interact with other travelers.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Jessica- Thanks for taking the time to review Chicago Getaway Hostel! Glad that you enjoyed our great atmosphere and activities. See you on the next pub crawl! Thanks, Mat Meadows General Manager

89%

One of the nicer hostels I've been to. Would visit again.

  • 19th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for sharing your experience with us. Hope to see you at our hostel again in the future! Best regards, Mat Meadows General Manager

80%

Fairly big hostel in a nice area, community room with pool table, clean, good free breakfast and saturday night bbq! Negatives might be: not a lot of organized activities, the hostel is situated in a neighborhood (which made staying in or around the hostel for a good time regularly causing complaints about to much noise by staff), nights during a special festival weekend in Chicago were about double the price!. Nonetheless I had a great time at the Getaway hostel and I would highly recommend it!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dingena- Thanks for writing about your experience at Chicago Getaway Hostel! Glad that you enjoyed your stay while staying with us. Hope you can take advantage of our daily events in the future - which are sure to enhance your experience here. Best regards, Mat Meadows General Manager

94%

Such a great hostel with a really nice BBQ where you can meet other travelers easily. The location of the hostel is really nice as well: close to lot of pubs and the L-train is pretty close as well! I totally can recommend to stay there!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for sharing your experience with other Hostelworld.com customers! We're happy you enjoyed our property and the proximity of pubs and trains. Hope to see you again! Best regards, Mat Meadows General Manager

97%

Very impressed with the friendly staff and the activities that were offered each night. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for sharing your experience with other travelers! We're glad you enjoyed our activities and our property. Hope to see you again! Best regards, Mat Meadows General Manager

100%

overall experience superb. the getaway is truly to be highly recommended. great location. great value

  • 8th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for writing a stunning review of Chicago Getaway Hostel! We're glad you got a lot of value out of our property and enjoyed the location. Look forward to having you as our guest again in the future. Best regards, Mat Meadows General Manager

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(52 results)


View all Chicago Hostels

Please give us your feedback