X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Chicago Getaway Hostel Reviews

616 West Arlington Place, Chicago, Chicago, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
1877 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 93%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 90%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

The place has everything you could possibly need when at a hostel or even a hotel. The breakfast is remarkable and the staff is super friendly. Would stay there again without even thinking it through.


100%

Excellent hostel! Definitely one of the best I've been to. A manageable trip to downtown, but in a great neighborhood for late night entertainment. More over, the building itself has a great vitality that makes it really easy to meet people. I'll recommend this place to anyone looking for my input! Word of advice though: be sure to bring your own lock if you want to use the lockers. They sell them if you need, but they don't rent them.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the kind words regarding your stay at Chicago Getaway Hostel! Glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us - we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. best regards, Mat Meadows General Manager

86%

Great hostel, very nice common area, really a fun location. The dorms are nice but basic at best. would defiantly come back.

  • 10th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for staying at Chicago Getaway Hostel! Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again in the future! Best regards, Mat Meadows General Manager

97%

It was an amazing hostel!

  • 6th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to review Chicago Getaway Hostel! We're glad to hear you had an amazing stay - and we look forward to seeing you again in the future! Best regards, Mat Meadows General Manager

94%

우선 직원분들이 친절했고, 침실도 깔끔했어요. 화장실도 방마다 있어서 사용하기도 편했고, wifi도 잘터져요. 대박인건 아침식사가 와플, 과일, 시리얼, 베이글, 식빵등 먹을게 많아서 참 좋아요.

  • 6th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
위대한 검토 주셔서 감사합니다! 당신이 시카고 탈출에서 숙박을 즐길 다행!

86%

The hostel is nice, clean, in a quiet neighbourhood, a few distance from the subway. You will have to use it because the hostel is not central. People at the front desk are very helpfull. They offer good deals for activities in town. Breakfast is great. The hostel is big, so not very cosy. There are only two bathroom by floor (one for men, one for women), so the girls bathroom can be pretty far from your room (but very clean and not crowded). Good place !

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the wonderful review of Chicago Getaway Hostel! We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Best regards, Mat Meadows General Manager

100%

As Always Chicago Getaway Hostel is the #1 choice for stays in Chicago. Clean facilitates, great lobby area for meeting travelers. Nightly activities to local areas. Our Pub Crawl host Erica took on us on a really good night out trip to many Bars. Mat & Vinne as always looked after me during the my stay. Trip to The Burwood Tap & Kingstown Mines is not to be missed. 15 mins walk to Fullerton Red line, Clark and Halstead for shopping / eating and Chicago History Museum & the Lincoln Park Zoo.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings- Thanks for sharing your feedback of Chicago Getaway Hostel! We're happy to have you back as a regular repeat guest. Hope to see you again soon! Mat Meadows General Manager

89%

as well as garage parking staff should also be aware of cheaper parking opportunities in the street , I would have appreciated a duvet

  • 27th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings: Thanks for writing a review of Chicago Getaway Hostel! Glad to have received your 89% rating. We hope to see you back at our hostel again in the future. Best regards, Mat Meadows General Manager

74%

Nice place, clean and organized but compared to other hostels very BORING. Excellent if you just come to sleep

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi William: Thanks for reviewing Chicago Getaway! I'm sorry to hear that you didn't have the opportunity to join any of our events that we host 7 days per week. They are very well attended and meant to let our guests experience Chicago like a local. Hope that you'll come join in the future! Our goal is for you to have as much fun as possible. Hope to see you back at Chicago Getaway in the future! Best regards, Mat Meadows General Manager

94%

Good value of money. Although it is a little bit far from the main tourist sites in Chicago, the neighbourhood environment is pretty good!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to review Chicago Getaway hostel! Glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future! Best regards, Mat Meadows General Manager

94%

The Getaway Hostel was a great place to stay on my first trip to Chicago. The linens and towels were clean, the lockers were secure, the bathroom facilities were tidy and equipped with hair-dryers. I wanted to write a review because I really felt the whole environment was great- the staff were lovely and really cared about the quality of my stay and had great tips and info for what to do and where to go. Also, on top of cheap accommodation I loved the free breakfast everyday! Helped me save $$

  • 21st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to review Chicago Getaway Hostel! Glad that you enjoyed your first trip to Chicago and your visit to Chicago Getaway Hostel! Very happy that our tips, and free breakfast allowed you to save a lot of money and provide value to your experience. We hope to see you again soon! Safe travels! Mat Meadows General Manager

97%

Only complaint was the toilet never worked right in the room

  • 11th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings- Thanks for the great review. We have our maintenance team on the toilet problem - sorry for any inconvenience. Hope to see you back at Getaway in the future! Mat Meadows General Manager

71%

The hostel was good, but I had booked 2 beds, 2 months in advance and when me and my friend got there, there were no beds available in the same room. They didn't seem to be helpful on solving the situation, they simply ignored the fact!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings: Thanks for writing a review of our hostel. We always make attempts to get guests together, that have booked together. Unfortunately, due to the extremely busy weekend (Chicago Marathon) we only had two beds open in different rooms on that day. We did honor your reservation as booked - and regret that you couldn't stay together. We hope that you'll choose to stay with us again in the future! Best regards, Mat Meadows General Manager

77%

Two comments that I forgot to mention to the staff. First of all, I did not get my prior-to-stay email reminder. I had requested the one-day notice. Don't know why this was. Secondly, our room did not have the heat turned on and the temperature was cold outside especially in the early morning hours. We had only one blanket each and were chilled sleeping. Wondered if the rooms could have been heated. This was during the first of October.

  • 3rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings! Thanks for reviewing Chicago Getaway Hostel. We hope to welcome you back to our hostel again in the future. We send out our welcome e-mails, weekly. If you made your booking last minute, this may be why you didn't receive this e-mail - as it is not automatic, and we send it manually. Hope to see you back in the Windy City in the future. Best Regards, Mat Meadows General Manager

91%

Great atmosphere and good place to stay. Lots of activities and information in the hostel about what is on in the city. Really enjoyed staying here, staff were great. Breakfast was great too.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings- Thanks for writing a review of our hostel! Glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and certainly hope to see you again in the future. Safe travels! -Mat Meadows General Manager

94%

This is one of the best hostels that I've ever stayed, nice location and very nice atmosphere inside the place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings: Thanks for taking the time to review Getaway Hostel! Glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you'll come back and stay with us again in the future. Best regards, Mat Meadows General Manager

74%

The location was great, the hostel was very nicely done and the breakfast was better then the ones I had had in hostels in Ireland. However the beds were the typical metal bunk beds that were so creaky that you here afraid you would work up your roommates everything you rolled over and the pillows were so thin that you had to folded them in half. Pretty typical for a hostel but I'd have been happier they'd spend a little less on cool decor and a little more on the pillows.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings! Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel. We're always happy to hear the great things, and the areas for improvement. We will certainly be looking into your bunk bed - and the pillow quality in the room you stayed in. We certainly want to have our guests leave feeling refreshed after a good nights sleep. We look forward to hosting you again in the future. Best regards, Mat Meadows General Manager

97%

Very nice and clean hoste, with friendly and helpful staffs. There is a big kitchen with nice breakfast, plenty of choices. Definitely will stay at this hostel again

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there- Thanks for sharing your review with the Hostelworld community! We're glad you enjoyed your stay at our hostel. Hope to have you back at Chicago Getaway Hostel in the future! Best regards, Mat Meadows General Manager

74%

Our stay was just 1 night, but i'm glad. The room was HOT. The staff said they had just removed the AC units b/c people complained it was too cold the past couple weeks. Well, the weather was beautiful & the old building holds A LOT of residual heat on the 3rd floor. The window wasn't operable so we couldn't get fresh air moving in the 8'X10' room, & the "Automatic" radiator turned on (a rude awakening!) b/c the OUTSIDE air temperature at night had dropped. Feeling like rotisserie meat sucked.

  • 25th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings- I appreciate you taking the time to give us feedback on the temperature of your room. Chicago has quirky weather and when the evening lows started getting into the 40's we took the AC units out, due to this and guest complaints. Once the AC units are taken out, the windows are free to be opened for fresh air. We will look into your room and ensure all is in working order. Hope to have you back as our guest in the future! Best regards, Mat Meadows General Manager

100%

The hostel is very centric, you can easily go mostly everywhere from there. There are some bars, pubs and restaurants in the neighborhood you can go walking. The staff is very friendly and helpful. When i did the check in I was charged a bit more than I expected, once I talked to the staff the problem was solved. Free breakfast, free printer, events during the weekend, nice atmosphere!! Excellent hostel, I really recommend it!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings! Thank you for reviewing Chicago Getaway Hostel. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you back in our hostel again in the future. Best regards, Mat Meadows General Manager

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(74 results)


View all Chicago Hostels

Please give us your feedback