X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Chicago Getaway Hostel Reviews

616 West Arlington Place, Chicago, Chicago, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
2249 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

We loved our stay at Chicago getaway hostel! The staff were incredibly helpful, the facilities were great, and it was incredible value for money. The location was perfect, within walking distance to shops, in a super safe area and right near public transport. Would definitely recommend this hostel!


83%

Good hostel, I did not find the atmosphere great but maybe it was because the time of the year. It's a big, well prepared hostel, has all services you need. Did not love to have to pass by main door to got to bathroom but I think only 2 rooms are in such location. Overall it is a solid choice for a hostel.


86%

I really enjoy this hostel. It was my 2nd time staying here and it gets better each time.


97%

Tiara was the best!!! The hostel has really good breakfast too. But this staff , Steve was super rude!!! I could not believe how he would not allow me to sit on a chair in front of the computer, yet there was one other guy who was sitting on the chair and using the computer. So discriminatory. Hannah was kind of weird too, just little negative.. The manager Vincent is super nice.. I will come back just because of the nice people who works there and makes you feel like you are welcome here. :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Dipendra, I'm glad Tiara made your stay at our Hostel a great one! She is awesome! I'm sorry about the conflict you had with Steve and Hannah about having chairs at the computers. In no way do we want anyone feeling like they were discriminated against. Please contact me if there is anything I can do. You are always welcomed to stay here with us and we would love to have you stay with us again. Mat Meadows - mmeadows@getawayhostel.com

74%

The hostel was very modern and the staff friendly. The rooms are nice (4 bed room) but one major issue. If you stay in the first dorm room (I think the 10 or 12 bed dorm) it gets unbearably hot. The staff pretend not to know but they must. They say it's subjective but literally everyone in the room is seating and has no sheets on. When you read this you may think that I'm overreacting but trust me when I say if is unbearable. I had to change rooms. It's from the laundry below so it's un-fixable


80%

Pretty huge hostel in a great neighborhood. Had a good time there, and the staff (and pub crawl) were great! Generally pretty clean.


80%

Great location- easy to get right into the center of Chicago by train, nice neighborhood for nightlife/restaurants.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Kelly, thanks for the good review. We hope to see you soon!

83%

Location is convenient: very close (10 min walk) to Fullerton station, and an even shorter walk to Clark Street which is served by some fairly reliable buses. The entrance is well marked and easy to find, and open from 7am to 10pm (after which you need a key card or to be buzzed in). Spacious, welcoming center, staff are very friendly and helpful. Beds are comfy, rooms VERY WARM if you want, food is adequate. They have a FULL janitorial staff who keep things very clean. Security is up to you.

  • 12th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Met a lot of fun people there. Literaly the most clean and well run hostel I have ever seen. I have no idea how are they able to offer such a value for 17$ in Chicago. Tiara is awsome, took us on a wonderfull pubcrawl. The rooms are realy nice to a point where you dont want to be in comon areas and start to camp in the room. On the flip side, I appreciated being in all male room, we had some awesome bro time with Willson, Bruno, Xavier, Steven and Criss.

  • 11th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
HI Darius! Thanks for the awesome review. I'm glad that Tiara made your stay even more enjoyable! We hope to see you soon.

100%

This place is awesome!! definitely staying here when we come back to Chicago!

  • 11th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Silvia,thanks for the awesome review. We hope to see you soon!

60%

The room was basic, and the staff were unhelpful. Great location through and facilities were good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Zachary, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We do hope that you enjoyed your stay here in Chicago. I am sorry to see that you didn't find the staff to be very helpful during your stay. Please contact me directly to enlighten us as to what issues with our staff you experienced. Vincent Sassana, Assistant Manager Vincent@getawayhostel.com

94%

The room is spacious and neat. Everything is good. I really enjoyed my stay there!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi E-Ching, Thank you for taking the time to review our property- we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We hope to accommodate you again! Vincent Sassana|Assistant Manager

100%

I had an amazing time, the staff were amazing, and the events that the hostel organized were affordable and a ton of fun. Shout out to Tiara, she's the best!!

  • 30th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you Stephan for your awesome review! I'm glad you got to experience what it's like to stay at out Hostel. Tiara is awesome! I'm glad she was able to make your stay even more enjoyable!

89%

Everything very good. From staff to facilities..just two points..breakfast not a lot of choice and I had to pay for coffe and hot chocolate. You need to put somenthing also for European people...we don't eat eggs or bread or butter in the morning:some croissants or cookies could be a good options. No soap in batrhoom to wash hands. THE WORST THING WAS NOISE EVERY DAYS EVERY NIGHTS!!!!People walking up and down, doors clossing, music until 4AM! children sceramings in the night...HARD TO SLEEP

  • 29th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


31%

Location was awful. Staff is not kind. Facility not good. Horrible experience.

  • 26th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings- I'm sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We pride ourselves on being a top hostel - so I wish we could have helped to make your stay a better one. Please let us know when you return to the area, we'd love to have the opportunity to fix any issues you may have had. Best regards, Mat Meadows General Manager

97%

I love your hostel. Especially the Staff. They were really friendly!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Johannes, thank you for your tremendous feedback, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope you come back again! Vincent Sassana | Assistant Manager

89%

The hostel is very clean and tidy. There is individual electric socket and lamp on each bed which is very convenient. There are also lockers for use and a wardrobe place for hanging towels and clothes. The staff are nice and friendly, willing to offer help. The breakfast is quite yummy, but we need to pay for the hot drink. Affordable price and nice accomodation. Quiet neighbourhood, but should be quite safe. Transportation is easy to arrange.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the great review! We're happy to hear that you enjoyed the use of the electrical outlet and light at the bed (this is new!). Hope to see you again in the future! Thanks! Mat Meadows General Manager

94%

I loved my stay here, comfortable beds, good wifi and a good location quite close to a train station at an excellent price! They also have fantastic kitchen facilities and incredibly friendly staff! I would stay here again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings! Thanks for staying with us - it's great to hear that you loved your stay - that's our #1 goal! Hope to see you back with us again in the future! Thanks! Mat Meadows General Manager

89%

Beautiful area with a close walk to Lincoln park and also the train with easy access into the loop. Facilities are decent and with large kitchen area. Staff are very helpful. Good place to base yourself while checking out Chicago.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review! Glad to see you enjoyed your stay in Chicago. Safe Travels! -Mat

91%

Very nice, big kitchen, elevator, big bathrooms, me and my friend just love this hostel, great people working there.

  • 15th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Palloma, thanks again for joining us! We're so glad to hear your appreciated our hostel and we look forward to seeing you again! Best Regards, Mat Meadows General Manager.

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(60 results)


View all Chicago Hostels

Please give us your feedback