X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Chicago Getaway Hostel Reviews

616 West Arlington Place, Chicago, Chicago, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
2006 Total Reviews
  • 92%Value For Money
  • 94%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 96%Staff
  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 92%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Some construction works going on very frequently.

  • 6th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to provide some feedback. I'm sorry if the construction work was bothersome. Was it near your room? I hope you come back and see us again! Best, Mat Meadows General Manager

91%

PROS : Great location, staff is extremely helpful and friendly, the free breakfast is good. CONS : It is noisy (sounds from other rooms, sounds from the pipes in the wall, etc.), there is only one bathroom on the floor, beds are not very comfortable. It is the best place for the money, but it is not perfect.

  • 2nd Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to provide some feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay -- our location, staff and breakfast! We are working to improve our noise levels. We hope you come back and visit us! Thanks, Mat Meadows General Manager

94%

Stayed the first weekend of March for 3 nights. They have a parking lot right out back which was like $25 ish a night. Parking is super expensive everywhere in chicago so it was nice to not worry about it and have a very safe place that I could visibly see my car at all times. Room security was great. Forgot a lock and left my camera and laptop in room when I went out at night and nothing was taken. Breakfast was oatmeal, eggs, Breads. really nice little restaurants nearby. 4 train stops to DT

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi ! Thanks for staying with us at the Chicago Getaway Hostel. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and I hope we see you again the next time you are back in Chicago!

100%

Loved my stay here! Hope to come back soon. Staff was also very helpful :)

  • 20th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us! We hope to see you again!

91%

If I go again I will choose this hostel again. Maybe it is not in strong centat but is really easy come to centar. And Stuff is always there for help. Warm Clean and Great athmospher ☺...

  • 13th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your response! We appreciate it. We are located in one of the greatest and oldest neighborhoods in Chicago and are trying to highlight our neighborhood by having events in our area -- great bars, restaurants, entertainment and outside activity. We hope to see you again! Mary

94%

I stayed here for two nights in February and really enjoyed this hostel. It's large, open, bright, and had lots of amenities (multiple computers, free wifi, tv room, pool table, large dining area and kitchen, etc). The staff were friendly and helpful and I appreciated being able to get a parking spot at an extra $28/night. The free breakfast can get a bit hectic in the morning, but they had a good spread of offerings. I would definitely recommend staying here.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your response. We hope you come back to visit us! We are refreshing our building with new decor to our rooms, hallways and lobby area. Breakfast can be a little overwhelming and we are hoping to open up some space in the dining room with our refresh. Best, Mary

86%

Surprised by the amenities great value But rooms need more decor. Feel more homey

  • 5th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your response. We would love for you to stay again! We are refreshing our rooms with new decor, hallways and lobby. We hope you come back to see the changes! Best, Mary

91%

Great Hostel, great location, has discounted metro and museum tickets. Would stay again.

  • 3rd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your response! Please come back to see us in the future. We are working hard to refresh our building -- new room decor, hallways and lobby. Best, Mary

83%

It was just a little bit hard to find, and although i'm not saying that it's dirty, it needs a slight makeover concerning cleanliness in the bathrooms. Other than these, it was real cool. Recommended.

  • 2nd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your response! Our hostel is located on a smaller street and can be difficult to find. I hope this didn't cause a pain. We deep clean our bathrooms daily. I will speak with our housemen -- day, night and overnight -- to ensure our bathrooms meet our guest's expectations. We are refreshing our rooms, hallways and lobby in the next few months. I hope you can stay with us again to see the changes! Best, Mary

91%

It was an awesome hostel with a great kitchen! My only complaint is that if you want to go to some of the more tourist type destinations its a good 25-45 minutes on a bus.


100%

Everything was just perfect!!! I liked very much the social activities, good to do some friends


91%

nice location, good atmosphere and vibe. thank you for all the extra options, like bus passes, and comedy night.

  • 23rd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

I am really satisfied with this hostel in Chicago. Breakfast, cleanliess, kitchen, room... Everything is perfect to stay.


100%

Excellent. 100% recommended.

  • 16th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

This my second stay. I have stayed in private rooms not the dorm room setting. As a parent of a student at DePaul this is very convenient. Very happy and I will return.

  • 3rd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for your comments! I hope that we can continue to provide the service that you have enjoyed in the past. -Mat Meadows, General Manager

97%

this is the best Hostel I have ever been in the past two months , pretty quiet if you want to find a place to stop by. Very popular because it's a huge building separate by two sections. Downstairs is occupied by dormitory area. overall, I will like to go back and stop by.


100%

Best hostel I've stayed at. Really really clean, great facilities, pool table, TV room, foosball table, great breakfast, friendly staff, easy to meet and mingle with people. Pub crawls. had a really good time.


100%

Always a great place to stay in Chicago. A warm place to be out of the cold. The staff were good at getting me things I needed. See you next time.


97%

Best hostel I have ever been! I'm really satisfied that I can live in this hostel for this price.


83%

Quite a nice pro experience. Amazing breakfast and atmosphere.


(64 results)


View all Chicago Hostels

Please give us your feedback