X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Chicago Getaway Hostel Reviews

616 West Arlington Place, Chicago, Chicago, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
2250 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 93%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Thank you for a great stay! Could not beat the location and the hostel was well-kept; it was good having the staff at the desk 24 hours.

  • 12th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the great review! Glad to see that you enjoyed your time with us! Take care, Mat Meadows General Manager

97%

Great attendance, excellent service, clear bedrooms and bathrooms, excellent breakfast and atmosphere! Super recommend!

  • 10th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for taking the time to review us! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed our amenities and hardworking staff. Please come stay with us again! Best, Mat Meadows General Manager

100%

Beautiful building in a fantastic location, staff are helpful and the shared kitchen and living area are huge

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the stellar review, Jocelyn! We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again in the future! Sincerely, Mat Meadows General Manager

94%

I had a time there.

  • 27th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Sergio, Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We appreciative your positive feedback and hope to greet you again in the future. Warm Regards, Mat Meadows General Manager

100%

Amazing stay and staff!

  • 27th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Evie, Thanks for your feedback- we are happy you enjoyed your experience. Come stay with us again! Mat Meadows General Manager

100%

Even though my stay was short,but it was amazing,the staffs are very warm and friendly and the location is perfect.

  • 25th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Imo, we appreciate your feedback and your kind words. We would be thrilled to accommodate you again in the future. Warm regards, Mathew Meadows General Manager

83%

For the most part, I really enjoyed my stay at Chicago Getaway. I liked the kitchen area and the TVs (always running weather channel and CNN). The rooms were good and a fresh towel every day was appreciated. A few downsides are that the beds aren't very comfortable and that breakfast is put away about 5 minutes before the stated end time. (That was disappointing for me on a couple of occasions.) On balance, this is a nice option if you want to experience a nice Chicago neighborhood.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Morgan, Thank you for reaching out with your feedback. Our team is pleased you enjoyed your stay. We hope to make your Chicago trip an even better experience in the future. Warm regards, Mathew Meadows General Manager

100%

Great hostel! Very friendly staff and clean rooms/bathrooms/kitchen. The location was just perfect to explore Chicago and there were also cool bars and nice places to eat in walking distance.

  • 17th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Christina. thank you for your wonderful feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your experience. Please come and visit us again in the future! Mathew Meadows General Manager

100%

One of the best.. I recommended always and forever

Owner Comment (Hide)
Ahmed, thank you for taking the time to review our property, our team is thrilled you enjoyed your stay. We sincerely hope to accommodate you again in the near future! Mat Meadows General Manager

94%

Great Hostel, great people. Staff were super friendly, and hostel had activities set up every night. Free Breakfast was great, especially if you wake up earlier. Will definitely come back to this hostel if I end up in Chicago again!

  • 15th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feed back Daruis. We're happy to know that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you soon! -Mat Meadows

100%

A wonderful stay at this hostel. It's in such a great part of town, the rooms are cozy, everything's clean, there's a pool table, cool events to participate in, great wifi (unless you're using it at night when everyone else is, then it gets a little spotty), a great breakfast buffet and a friendly staff. One of the better hostels I've stayed in. I'd stay there again if given the opportunity!

  • 31st Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

I only stayed here for a night, so please take my review with a grain of salt. The hostel is located in an amazingly beautiful and historic part of Chicago. The people at the reception are courteous and helpful. The breakfast was healthy and filling. The bathrooms were clean. The only thing I didn't like was the bed. It was extremely squeaky. It made this sound every time I changed I moved in the bed. The mattered itself was fine. They should really fix this.


54%

Overall this wasn't a horrible hostel, def not the best. Very much a place to go to just to lay your head and then move on with the rest of your day. Staff wasn't particularly helpful when I asked for things to do, on the night I was there their evening event was canceled and they hadn't bothered to announce it. The atmosphere & breakfast were blah at best. The location was decent but that's about it. I wouldn't come here again and would only recommend for cheap stay if other options are out.


83%

Pleasant hostel, nothing too major to complain about. Great variety of guests.

  • 14th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Amazing part of town and the hostel had a very relaxed atmosphere.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the great review! Glad to see you enjoyed all aspects of your stay here at Chicago Getaway Hostel! Best, Mat Meadows General Manager

94%

Really good team at this hostel! Particularly appreciative of the help I got from the two girls on the desk on the evening of 15th of October. One was called Tiara I think and the other was practicing English. Cheers guys!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings: Thanks for the review! It's always awesome to hear from satisfied guests - and hear the impact that our staff has on travel. Hope to see you again in the future! Best, Mat Meadows General Manager

94%

Great hostel! Staff are friendly and helpful, very clean facilities, and it's just a 10 minute walk to the red line train. They organize different outings each night and even provided a spaghetti dinner on Sunday. Would definitely recommend!

  • 11th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel! It's awesome to hear you enjoyed our friendly staff and spaghetti dinner on Sunday evening! We hope to see you again in the future! Best regards, Mat Meadows General Manager

94%

I had a wonderful time at the hostel. The great things were security, cleanliness, activities, breakfast, kitchen, restrooms and showers. They were helpful when i needed to prolongue my stay. Location is not 'so near' to the loop, but in exchange you get cooler neighborhoods! Make sure to meet Tiara! She's the loveliest most fun in the staff!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thanks for the great review of our hostel - and the awesome mention for Tiara (she's awesome!!). We hope to see you again soon! Best, Mat Meadows General Manager

100%

I only stayed for 1 night, the price is fair and the room is clean. Bathroom is a bit small but it is not a big deal for me. As for breakfast they offer every morning, is pretty optional, which is really great!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Yuan, Thank you for the great review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay, and sincerely hope to host you again in the future! Mat Meadows General Manager

89%

Very friendly staff, good standard of quality and cleanliness in the bedrooms and bathrooms. Close to Fullerton subway stop so very easy to get to central Chicago. Would recommend.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Matthew, thanks for taking the time to evaluate your stay- we would thrilled to provide another enjoyable stay for you in the future. Mat Meadows General Manager

(60 results)


View all Chicago Hostels

Please give us your feedback