X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Chicago Getaway Hostel Reviews

616 West Arlington Place, Chicago, Chicago, Illinois, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
1716 Total Reviews
  • 89%Value For Money
  • 95%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 90%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Always a great place stay in Chicago. Everything was ideal.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for staying with us again! We love to welcome back familiar faces and introduce new things taking place at the Getaway. We look forward to seeing you again. Take care, Jason Schultz General Manager

100%

Really nice hostel! Staff is friendly and helpful. I recommend you staying this hostel when you come to Chicago!!

  • 22nd Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for your review. We are so happy that you had a great stay at the Getaway Hostel. We can’t wait to welcome you again and anyone you recommend. Enjoy your New Year! Take care, Jason Schultz General Manager

83%

Great location, but maybe a bit too many rules?

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings, Thank you for staying at the Getaway Hostel. We're glad that you enjoyed our neighborhood and your overall experience. We look forward to seeing you again. Cheers, Jason Schultz General Manager

91%

Located in a neighborhood with great charm and within walking distance of the zoo and plenty of great restaurants. Staff were very helpful with advising on events and locations in the area.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings, We are thrilled that you had a positive experience at the Getaway. It’s great that you were able to explore our vibrant neighborhood and take in all it offers travelers. Our staff loves to share Chicago’s hidden gems for guests to try out. We look forward to seeing you again. Cheers, Jason Schultz General Manager

94%

Had a fantastic stay here. Although the weather outside was freezing, the hostel was toasty warm inside. Though I have to say - the antique radiators can make a bit of noise, it's definitely worth it for the awesome heat they generate. Hostel was clean throughout, staff were very helpful with directions and local recommendations, and the organised activities are well worth taking part in, particularly the trip to the Blues clubs.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you very much for stay with us and for sharing your experience. We're glad that our hostel warmed you up during the frigid Chicago days. Our staff loves to interact with guests with a down-to-earth approach to create a more authentic experience. We can't wait to see you again! Cheers, Jason Schultz General Manager

86%

Everything was well arranged. Staff were really friendly as well, truly made for a pleasant stay in Chicago.


100%

This was definitely the cleanest hostel I've EVER been in. The staff is motivated and interested in keeping everything in constant tip-top shape and also made me feel very welcome and comfortable. I came into town for an audition, so I was kind of concerned about whether the noise level was going to be too high for me to get a good night's sleep but things were very quiet. People still partied hard, but they went to the bars after 10:00.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you very much for sharing your experience and for your high praise. We strive to be the best hostel in the US by providing a clean, fun and affordable place to stay. We hope you “broke a leg” at your audition and we look forward to your next stay. Enjoy the Holiday Season! Thanks, Jason Schultz General Manager

100%

Such a good hostel, really nice and clean. Staff friendly and helpful. In a great location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. We are thrilled to hear about your positive experience. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Cheers, Jason Schultz General Manager

71%

No chargers available in the dorm room, neither is there any bed lamps! This couldn't be worse. But this may be a reason for the awesome atmosphere in the public space. I'd say five-five :1

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Getaway. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your overall experience. We have our hostel designed to create a social environment having USB ports and many outlets in our communal areas. We hope we can have another opportunity to improve your experience with us. Take care, Jason Schultz General Manager

100%

My four mates and I had a great time, for the price we were not expecting a hostel like that! The room was modern, with private bathroom and very clean. The breakfast was good and free. They organize a lot of events (every nights) and the location is perfect. There are bus and subway next to the hostel. The area is very safe and pretty. I highly recommend!

  • 27th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

This is hostel with a wonderful atmosphere (great music playing tastefully throughout lobby), helpful friendly staff, great room, breakfast good, and special nights of complimentry dinners. I really loved my stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you very much for your review. We are very happy to hear that you had a great stay with us and scarfed down our complimentary dinner. We can't wait to welcome you again during your next stay with us! Cheers, Jason Schultz General Manager

100%

This hostel was really perfect. Very clean, rooms are very good secured and equipped with lockers, towels changed every day. Staff organises cultural actions every evening (blues night, games nigt, free cooking for guests). Breakfast was really rich and overall atmosphere is very friendly, common roomis equipped with guitars, piano.. Whole hostel concept is very professional and well organized. Thanks a lot.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you very much for staying at the Getaway and for sharing your experience. We thrilled that you took advantage of our nightly activities. We focus our events on neighborhood businesses to give our guests a more authentic view of the city. We can't to welcome you again in the future. Safe travels, Jason Schultz General Manager

80%

I and my two friends were there in Chicago as tourist we are basically from India. We stayed in Chicago Getaway Hostel for one night. It was wonderful experience we like hotel location and the hospitality. We like breakfast also it was good one. Staff members are friendly and helping nature , Free Wi-fi was also availabled………………….

  • 15th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings, Thank you for choosing the Getaway Hostel and for your recent review. We are very happy that we made the most of your 1 night in Chicago. Our staff loves to provide friendly, down-to-earth service which helps our guests experience the most of the Windy City. We look forward to your next visit. Cheers, Jason Schultz General Manager

97%

It was very good!

  • 11th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for staying with us and for your review. It's great to hear that you had a great time at the Getaway. We can't wait to see you again. Take care, Jason Schultz General Manager

97%

Good price. Free computer with Internet. OK breakfast(Not too many choices but keep refill). Nearby by zoo(free admission)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for very much for staying at the Getaway. We love to hear about your positive experience with us. We look to provide the best value to guests with our competitive prices, free social events and many other free amenities. We can't wait to see you again. Cheers, Jason Schultz General Manager

97%

I chose this location to explore a neighborhood: a rich quiet intellectual quarter with restos and sites even my Chicago friends wanted to sample. Downtown is close, 15 minutes by train. This hostel is one of the best, well organized, friendly at all hours; no complaints except the 12-man dorm could use a more frequent sweeping under the bunks. Had I said something, I am sure they would have taken care of it immediately. I am tempted to return in spring for Chicago and for Getaway.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for sharing your experience at the Getaway Hostel. We are very happy that you enjoyed your time with us and in our neighborhood. Chicago has more to offer than the Loop attractions and it's great that you explored our Northside location. We look forward to your Spring visit. Take care, Jason Schultz General Manager

100%

Amazing Hostel...

  • 1st Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for staying at the Getaway! We're so happy that you had an amazing experience with us. We hope to see you again in the future! Cheers, Jason Schultz General Manager

97%

Might be nice to have water dispensers or fountains on each level.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for staying at the Getaway. We are very happy that you enjoyed your overall experience. We can't wait to have you visit us again. Take care, Jason Schultz General Manager

100%

Best hostel I stayed in USA by far.. Great location, always felt safe even alone and in the dark during the 10 minute walk to the subway. Staff are great! The nights out they plan along with free food and in general encouraging everyone to socialise was brilliant. The free breakfast also the best I have had! Stay here!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for your great review and for staying with us. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the nightly social events that focus on our beautiful neighborhood. We strive to provide our guests with the best value by providing a clean, fun and affordable place to stay. We can't wait to see you again during your next trip to Chi-town! Cheers, Jason Schultz General Manager

66%

Broken, noisy heater cycled on and off every minute of every hour all night in the dorm room. Thermostat must be faulty. For what you pay for a bed (about $40 per night), it's absurd that they deny people a decent's nice sleep and continue to run that contraption. At 4:30 a.m., I was ready to climb the walls, so I packed up and went to the desk to check out. A refund should be given in situations like this, as it's impossible to make other arrangements in the dead of night.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are sorry to hear that we did not live up to our reputation during your stay. Our ensuite dorms are equipped with heaters that are set up for guests to self adjust to ensure a comfortable temperature. We also price ourselves competitively with our competition to ensure the best value is provided. We hope to have another opportunity to improve your experience. Sincerely, Jason Schultz General Manager

(51 results)


View all Chicago Hostels

Please give us your feedback