X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Chicago Getaway Hostel Reviews

616 West Arlington Place, Chicago, Chicago, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
1721 Total Reviews
  • 90%Value For Money
  • 96%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 94%Staff
  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 90%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

I chose this location to explore a neighborhood: a rich quiet intellectual quarter with restos and sites even my Chicago friends wanted to sample. Downtown is close, 15 minutes by train. This hostel is one of the best, well organized, friendly at all hours; no complaints except the 12-man dorm could use a more frequent sweeping under the bunks. Had I said something, I am sure they would have taken care of it immediately. I am tempted to return in spring for Chicago and for Getaway.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for sharing your experience at the Getaway Hostel. We are very happy that you enjoyed your time with us and in our neighborhood. Chicago has more to offer than the Loop attractions and it's great that you explored our Northside location. We look forward to your Spring visit. Take care, Jason Schultz General Manager

100%

Amazing Hostel...

  • 1st Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for staying at the Getaway! We're so happy that you had an amazing experience with us. We hope to see you again in the future! Cheers, Jason Schultz General Manager

97%

Might be nice to have water dispensers or fountains on each level.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for staying at the Getaway. We are very happy that you enjoyed your overall experience. We can't wait to have you visit us again. Take care, Jason Schultz General Manager

100%

Best hostel I stayed in USA by far.. Great location, always felt safe even alone and in the dark during the 10 minute walk to the subway. Staff are great! The nights out they plan along with free food and in general encouraging everyone to socialise was brilliant. The free breakfast also the best I have had! Stay here!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for your great review and for staying with us. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the nightly social events that focus on our beautiful neighborhood. We strive to provide our guests with the best value by providing a clean, fun and affordable place to stay. We can't wait to see you again during your next trip to Chi-town! Cheers, Jason Schultz General Manager

66%

Broken, noisy heater cycled on and off every minute of every hour all night in the dorm room. Thermostat must be faulty. For what you pay for a bed (about $40 per night), it's absurd that they deny people a decent's nice sleep and continue to run that contraption. At 4:30 a.m., I was ready to climb the walls, so I packed up and went to the desk to check out. A refund should be given in situations like this, as it's impossible to make other arrangements in the dead of night.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are sorry to hear that we did not live up to our reputation during your stay. Our ensuite dorms are equipped with heaters that are set up for guests to self adjust to ensure a comfortable temperature. We also price ourselves competitively with our competition to ensure the best value is provided. We hope to have another opportunity to improve your experience. Sincerely, Jason Schultz General Manager

94%

Really nice place with friendly staff!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings, Thank you for staying with us at the Getaway. We are stoked to hear about your great time with us. Our staff loves to hear that each guest enjoyed their time at the hostel. We hope to see you again! Cheers, Jason Schultz General Manager

94%

i really recommand this hostel!very well situated, clean and the staff is helpful.i also liked the breakfast;)

  • 25th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you very much for staying with us at the Getaway Hostel. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your hostel. It means the world to us that our guests are have a great time at our property and we appreciate any guests you refer to us. We hope to see you again! Safe travels, Jason Schultz General Manager

86%

There is no security deposit box in room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for choosing stay at the Getaway and for your feedback. We hope you enjoyed your overall experience and time in Chicago. Our private rooms do not have a deposit box but are completely secured with our electronic key card system, making the room available to only the guests checked into the room. We also have a free luggage room available for guests to use during their time with us. We hope to welcome you back in the future! Cheers, Jason Schultz General Manager

97%

Great place! It was fun and the people really nice. The only problem is the location, but you just have to walk a 3 blocks to get the bus and metra station.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, We're thrilled to hear about your positive stay at the Getaway. Our friendly staff love to organize unique social events for guests to mingle with other travelers and discover parts of Chicago that may have been missed. We look forward to your next stay with us. Safe travels, Jason Schultz General Manager

1 2 3 Next » last »
(49 results)


View all Chicago Hostels

Please give us your feedback