X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Chicago Getaway Hostel Reviews

616 West Arlington Place, Chicago, Chicago, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
1903 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 93%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 90%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

The location was great. I like Lincoln Park's bars and the nearby Fullerton subway made it quick and easy to get downtown and to Wrigley Field. The staff was friendly and helpful. It had organized activities if you wanted to meet people and free breakfasts in the morning. My room was basic, but that's what I expected. I wasn't charged to print my boarding pass for my departing flight. I would return again.

  • 28th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Steve: Thanks for reviewing Chicago Getaway Hostel - and sharing your feedback with the Hostelworld community! We're glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you on upcoming trips. Best regards, Mat Meadows General Manager

86%

good area, friendly service, clean rooms.


91%

Kitchen was kept spotless, and generally very clean and nice throughout. My dorm room had a few smelly piles of clothes and assorted things that I understand are not the responsibility of the staff, but a firmer policy in place could help prevent such unsavory conditions in the dorms themselves. Overall, one of the best hostels I've ever stayed in.

  • 26th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Andy- Thanks for reviewing Chicago Getaway Hostel. Glad that you enjoyed your stay, even if there were a few smelly piles of clothes left by your roommates!! Hope to see you around our hostel again in the future. Best regards, Mat Meadows General Manager

100%

Great location in Lincoln park. Good staff, breakfast was nice and the facilities were clean.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Stephanie: Thanks for sharing your experience. We love "100%" reviews! Enjoy your travels. Best regards, Mat Meadows General Manager

97%

I've travelled and stayed in hostels quite a bit, and this was definitely in my top 2 hostels stayed in. Fun activities, great facilities (warm and clean showers, and couldnt.expect more on overall cleanliness) and fun atmosphere in a location near lots of restaurantd and a pleasant half hour walk to the city centre along the beach.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Emily- Thanks for sharing your experience with other Hostelworld guests! Glad that we rank in your top 2 hostels stayed in! Hope to see you around our hostel again in the future. Best regards, Mat Meadows General Manager

94%

I loved this location! It wasn't in downtown but I think this added to the charm of CGH. Great restaurants and neigborhoods near the hostel away from the hustle & bustle. The staff was really nice and helpful. I thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast. The facility was kept SUPER clean!! Great vicinity from the Red Line.

  • 23rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Alicia: Thanks for writing about our hostel! We love hearing back from our guests - glad that you enjoyed the neighborhoods shopping and restaurants around us. Lincoln Park is certainly one of the best neighborhoods in Chicago! See you next time! Mat Meadows General Manager

94%

This hostel was a very nice surprise! It was conveniently located, right in the middle of one of the prettiest areas of Chicago and so well organized! I would stay here again, for sure! Thanks to the helpful and friendly staff as well!

  • 20th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Flora- Thanks for writing about Chicago Getaway Hostel! It's great when travelers can share their experiences with future guests. We really appreciate the feedback and are happy to hear that you enjoyed our great neighborhood! Best regards, Mat Meadows General Manager

94%

What an amazing place to stay! I will be back then next time I'm through town and would for sure suggest this hostel to anyone planning on a trip to Chicago. The location was pretty convenient to public transport with lots of things to do and see around as well as lots of great places to grab a bite and a drink. Great events organized by the staff who were really very friendly and helpful. Great kitchen, patio & common area and a GREAT atmosphere to interact with other travelers.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Jessica- Thanks for taking the time to review Chicago Getaway Hostel! Glad that you enjoyed our great atmosphere and activities. See you on the next pub crawl! Thanks, Mat Meadows General Manager

89%

One of the nicer hostels I've been to. Would visit again.

  • 19th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for sharing your experience with us. Hope to see you at our hostel again in the future! Best regards, Mat Meadows General Manager

80%

Fairly big hostel in a nice area, community room with pool table, clean, good free breakfast and saturday night bbq! Negatives might be: not a lot of organized activities, the hostel is situated in a neighborhood (which made staying in or around the hostel for a good time regularly causing complaints about to much noise by staff), nights during a special festival weekend in Chicago were about double the price!. Nonetheless I had a great time at the Getaway hostel and I would highly recommend it!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dingena- Thanks for writing about your experience at Chicago Getaway Hostel! Glad that you enjoyed your stay while staying with us. Hope you can take advantage of our daily events in the future - which are sure to enhance your experience here. Best regards, Mat Meadows General Manager

94%

Such a great hostel with a really nice BBQ where you can meet other travelers easily. The location of the hostel is really nice as well: close to lot of pubs and the L-train is pretty close as well! I totally can recommend to stay there!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for sharing your experience with other Hostelworld.com customers! We're happy you enjoyed our property and the proximity of pubs and trains. Hope to see you again! Best regards, Mat Meadows General Manager

97%

Very impressed with the friendly staff and the activities that were offered each night. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for sharing your experience with other travelers! We're glad you enjoyed our activities and our property. Hope to see you again! Best regards, Mat Meadows General Manager

100%

overall experience superb. the getaway is truly to be highly recommended. great location. great value

  • 8th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for writing a stunning review of Chicago Getaway Hostel! We're glad you got a lot of value out of our property and enjoyed the location. Look forward to having you as our guest again in the future. Best regards, Mat Meadows General Manager

100%

Absolutely loved the stay. It was one of the few hostels that knew how to look after their guests.

  • 6th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Daniel- Thanks very much for such a positive review! Glad to see our efforts are being recognized! Hope to see you at Chicago Getaway Hostel again in the future! Best regards, Mat Meadows General Manager

89%

Enjoyed my stay and met a lot of cool people - both the guests and staff were awesome. They had activities you could join each day or night of the week, which was great for meeting other friendly travelers. Very big and nice kitchen for cooking and storing food. Plenty of common space to hang out, and laptops. The only peeves were that the train was a significant walk away; however there was a bus stop very close by. So not a big issue. My only big complaint was that the wifi did not work well.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi: Thanks for taking the time to write us such a well thought out review. We really appreciate the feedback. I am going to contact you regarding the WiFi as our system will allow up to 500 people on at any given time and should still give you great strength. We look forward to seeing you around our friendly confines again in the future! best regards, Mat Meadows General Manager

91%

Great hostel in an awesome location. There are a lot of bars, restaurants, and clubs around this area and it's only a short bus or train ride from downtown. Our room was pretty small but very clean and it had A/C, sheets, towels, etc. Highly recommend!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey Thanks for writing us such a stellar review! We really appreciate it. Hope that you'll choose Chicago Getaway Hostel the next time you're in Chicago! Best regards, Mat Meadows General Manager

89%

Had a great time here. The bed and towels were clean and the staff was awesome. The hostel facilities are great and the free activities and pretty cool for meeting people. Only thing that I'd change would be the guy who would masturbate out in open in our dorm room. Seriously dude!

  • 27th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the great, and funny review. I'm glad that you were left with a positive outlook on our hostel - even with some of your bunk mates being a tad bit "special." That's what makes hostelling interesting I suppose. In any case, thanks for staying with us - we hope to see you again in the future! Best regards, Mat Meadows General Manager

80%

I quite enjoyed my stay at the Getaway hostel. The staff for the most part were great, friendly, and accommodating. It would be nice to have a bus map available for people coming in from out of town/ country, who may not have access to data on their phones. I don't know if the staff clean the bathrooms, but they were pretty dirty.

  • 24th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for sharing your feedback of Chicago Getaway Hostel! We really enjoy hearing back from our guests. We have had a number of complaints regarding our bathrooms and have instituted a new program with our team to ensure we're keeping the bathrooms clean during our most busy times. I know that you'll find a major improvement on your next stay. Kind regards, Mat Meadows General Manager

94%

A subway ride from the centre of Chicago but it's an easy journey to make. The area around the hostel is actually really cool too with lots of good bars and clubs which the hostel staff were knowledgeable about. The evening events at the hostel are very well organised and great fun. Langston and Audrey were great people to show us around. The staff in general were extremely polite and helpful which was much appreciated. Great hostel for a salo traveller, would recommend.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey: Thanks for sending a shout out to Audrey and Langston - they're great members of our team. Really glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us - we look forward to seeing you again in the future. Best regards, Mat Meadows General Manager

91%

absolutely beautiful location that is super close to everything. staff are lovely and atmosphere is great. just a little tip: request a bottom bunk otherwise you won't have an outlet to charge your phone.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the great review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us - and hope to see you at Chicago Getaway Hostel again in the future! Best, Mat Meadows General Manager

1 2 3 4 Next » last »
(80 results)


View all Chicago Hostels

Please give us your feedback