X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Chicago Getaway Hostel Reviews

616 West Arlington Place, Chicago, Chicago, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
2021 Total Reviews
  • 92%Value For Money
  • 93%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 95%Staff
  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 91%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Very nice and clean hoste, with friendly and helpful staffs. There is a big kitchen with nice breakfast, plenty of choices. Definitely will stay at this hostel again

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there- Thanks for sharing your review with the Hostelworld community! We're glad you enjoyed your stay at our hostel. Hope to have you back at Chicago Getaway Hostel in the future! Best regards, Mat Meadows General Manager

74%

Our stay was just 1 night, but i'm glad. The room was HOT. The staff said they had just removed the AC units b/c people complained it was too cold the past couple weeks. Well, the weather was beautiful & the old building holds A LOT of residual heat on the 3rd floor. The window wasn't operable so we couldn't get fresh air moving in the 8'X10' room, & the "Automatic" radiator turned on (a rude awakening!) b/c the OUTSIDE air temperature at night had dropped. Feeling like rotisserie meat sucked.

  • 25th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings- I appreciate you taking the time to give us feedback on the temperature of your room. Chicago has quirky weather and when the evening lows started getting into the 40's we took the AC units out, due to this and guest complaints. Once the AC units are taken out, the windows are free to be opened for fresh air. We will look into your room and ensure all is in working order. Hope to have you back as our guest in the future! Best regards, Mat Meadows General Manager

100%

The hostel is very centric, you can easily go mostly everywhere from there. There are some bars, pubs and restaurants in the neighborhood you can go walking. The staff is very friendly and helpful. When i did the check in I was charged a bit more than I expected, once I talked to the staff the problem was solved. Free breakfast, free printer, events during the weekend, nice atmosphere!! Excellent hostel, I really recommend it!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings! Thank you for reviewing Chicago Getaway Hostel. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you back in our hostel again in the future. Best regards, Mat Meadows General Manager

94%

Generally felt safe....we came about supper time. They had issues with the electricity, they used a flashlight to show us our room. We went to dinner and the problem was corrected. The breakfast was nice and fellow clients were friendly .I would come back ........no question. Outstanding crew...thanx :)

  • 19th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings- Thanks for reviewing Chicago Getaway Hostel and bearing with us during a neighborhood power outage. We look forward to seeing you at Getaway Hostel again in the future. Best regards, Mat Meadows General Manager

94%

The cleanliness inside the rooms could be better, also, I don't agree with the charge per packet delivered to the guests. Besides that, I had great times.

  • 18th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings- Thanks for reviewing Chicago Getaway Hostel! Glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. Cleanliness is our top-priority always - thank you for your feedback in that arena. We hope to see you again soon. Best regards, Mat Meadows General manager

86%

Great location, 5 min from the subway and close to Lincoln park..the staff is very friendly and helpful. If one day I'll gonna visit chicago again I wanna stay in this hostel!

  • 15th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings- Thanks for staying with us. Happy to hear that you'll be back again when visiting Chicago. We hope to see you then! Best regards, Mat Meadows General Manager

63%

The hostels' overall conditions are good.. I did not like the location which is way too far from any public transport (train or bus) so you have to walk around 20 min. to get to the hostel from the nearest train station. Also didnt like all the noise during the night until 6AM... i could not sleep at all... The breakfast is average.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi , I'm sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us at Chicago Getaway Hostel. We strive to offer the best hostel accommodations in Chicago. We are nearby to the red/brown and purple trains amongst a plethora of busses; our 24/7 staff are always available to answer questions regarding transportation and address any noise concerns. I hope that you'll come and try us again! Thanks for reviewing Chicago Getaway Hostel. Best regards, Mat Meadows General Manager

89%

Overall a really good hostel! It's really secure and the staff are friendly and helpful. Breakfast is nice if you wake up in time. The area is pretty cool too, lots of local bars and shops. The only flaw is that the lower level, including the rooms, smells like mould pretty badly.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for taking the time to review Chicago Getaway Hostel! It's great to see you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to have you as our guest again in the future! Best regards, Mat Meadows General Manager

97%

The free breakfast is awesome. Also loved the neighbourhood - super safe.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings- Thanks for writing a great review for Chicago Getaway Hostel! Glad that you enjoyed our great neighborhood and free breakfast. We appreciate your business - hope to see you again in the future! Best regards, Mat Meadows General Manager

89%

I stayed at Chicago Getaway for 4 nights and was happy with my stay - staff was extremely friendly, the hostel was safe, the breakfast was a nice surprise, too. However, the bathrooms are located far from some rooms, which was pretty disappointing for me. The hostel itself is located some 800 m from the nearest subway station and it takes a while to reach the city center.


86%

I'm glad I decided to stay at Chicago Getaway hostel . The room was clean, huge kitchen with all equipments. Staffs were friendly. I love the atmostphere in the morning in the dinning room. Breakfast is included.

  • 1st Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Vietnam
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for reviewing Chicago Getaway Hostel! We're always happy to hear from our satisfied guests!! Hope to see you back at our award-winning hostel again in the future! Best regards, Mat Meadows General Manager

89%

Nice and friendly place. I can recommend it.

  • 28th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi- Great to hear from you! Happy to hear that you enjoyed your hostel - we look forward to being recommended to all of your friends and family. Best regards, Mat Meadows General Manager

91%

Really clean and secure hostel, would be recommended to others. Close to both trains and buses into the city centre and the train station. Staff knowledgeable and helpful about the city, and very friendly.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for taking the time to review Chicago Getaway Hostel! We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you around our hostel again in the future! Best regards, Mat Meadows General Manager

100%

Superb place, very funky. I'll definitely be back

  • 27th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi- Great to hear from you! Glad you enjoyed yourself - look forward to having you back soon! Best regards, Mat Meadows General Manager

100%

Congratulations for organizing,breakfast is very good,the compliments if I'II bee returning to Chicago this hostel

  • 26th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for reviewing our hostel from the great country of Brazil!! So happy that you enjoyed your stay - and we hope to have you back as our guest again in the future! Best regards, Mat Meadows General Manager

71%

It was difficult to meet other travelers

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for reviewing Chicago Getaway Hostel! We are a "extra-large" hostel by categorization - however, we do have a nightly event, 7 days per week that enable our guests to meet new people. I hope that you'll consider staying with us again and joining some of our events!! Best regards, Mat Meadows General Manager

97%

great hostel, very modern

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi- Thanks for reviewing our hostel! We're happy you enjoyed your stay - we hope to see you back on our property again in the future! Best regards, Mat Meadows General Manager

86%

The hostel is quite close to the nearest tube station. Facilities are top notch, the kitchen resembles that of a restaurant. Bathroom facilities are clean. The beds are clean and comfortable although they creak a bit. The hostel isn't the most social hostel I've been at, although that could be down to the range of ages of guests when I was there. I would definitely recommend this hostel to those in Chicago.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi - Thanks for reviewing our hostel! Glad you enjoyed your stay - and of course, we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Best regards, Mat Meadows General Manager

97%

Great place , very comfortable. Very helpful staff. Breakfast was extensive. The only problem was the cost of parking. I know Chicago is expensive and it was great that they even had any parking available but $28 a night was a bit rough.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for reviewing our hostel! Glad to hear your positive comments about your stay. We very much understand the cost of parking, and strive to keep it competitive with other lots in our neighborhood. You'll be happy to know that in our downtown center parking is in excess of $60 per night (that's very rough!!) Hope to see you back with us again in the future! Best regards, Mat Meadows General Manager

86%

Good clean hostel good facilities

  • 19th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for reviewing Chicago Getaway Hostel! Hope to see you back at our property again in the future. Best regards, Mat Meadows General Manager

(1257 results)


View all Chicago Hostels

Please give us your feedback