X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Chicago Getaway Hostel Reviews

616 West Arlington Place, Chicago, Chicago, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
1719 Total Reviews
  • 90%Value For Money
  • 96%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 91%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Great hostel, not far from a budget hotel. Staff are very nice and helpful, would certainly reccomend staying here.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Adam- Thanks for reviewing Chicago Getaway. We're glad to see that you enjoyed your stay here and would recommend staying here in the future. Safe travels - see you soon! Mat Meadows Hospitality Development Director

86%

It is a very nice place to stay at Chicago. It has excellent location and it's very clean and safe. I enjoyed my time there and I would go back if going to the "wind city" again.

  • 6th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dean Luis: Thank you for staying with us and for your kind words. We're thrilled to hear about your positive experience at our hostel and in Chi-town. We can't wait to welcome you again. Take care, Jason Schultz General Manager

94%

Fantastic hostel with amazing kitchen and other facilities. Beds very comfortable. Great activities and drinking organised every day.


80%

This is a big hostel with great facilities and it is kept very clean and functional. Due to its size the atmosphere does suffer as I found the service whilst informative, quite impersonal. The organised activities could be better organised with a few introductory games before heading out. The free breakfast was great!


94%

Good experience in Chicago. Everything is great and the price is appealing.

  • 5th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Ruochen: Thanks for the review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay at our property, and look forward to seeing you again soon! Safe travels to you! Mat Meadows Hospitality Development Director

97%

This is one of the best hostel I've ever stayed: nice staff, extremely clean, great atmosphere, super breakfast and a lot of activities. Even if is not located in downtown, it's in a great location with many bars/restaurants and easy to reach (buses and metro station around). if you go to Chicago, you have to stay in this hostel to enjoy this fantastic city!


100%

Wonderful events lead by the nicest staff. Any question I had about Chicago was answered in a patient and thorough way. Next time I'm in Chicago, I'll certain be back at the Chicago Getaway Hostel.

  • 4th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Nathaniel: Thanks for coming and staying with us at Chicago Getaway Hostel! We're glad to add you to our long list of happy customers. We look forward to hosting you again in the future... enjoy your travels! Mat Meadows Hospitality Development Director

100%

It was an absolutely perfect stay. We loved the staff and all the activities that were organized! Will definitely go again!

  • 4th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Riccardo: Thanks for the stunning review! We're very happy to reciveve a 100% rating. Please tell all of your friends to come for a visit - and bring yourself back too! Take care, Mat Meadows Hospitality Development Director

100%

best hostel i have ever stayed, and the best location

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Marta, Wow! Thank you very much for your review. We are flattered to hear that we are your favorite hostel. We love hosting events for our guests to enjoy our vibrant neighborhood which provides a unique experience in Chicago. We look forward to seeing you again! Take care, Jason Schultz General Manager

74%

It was ok but a little expensive if we think it is a hostel!

  • 2nd Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Very nice hostel. People are very friendly and eager to help. The hostel is also very clean in all areas (bedroom, baithroom, ktichen, eatingroom, ...) Best hostel ever visited so far!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Kevin, Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us at the Getaway! It's great to hear that our staff made a lasting impression on your stay. We enjoy sharing our knowledge and tips to our guests to see Chicago through local eyes. We can't wait to see you again. Cheers, Jason Schultz General Manager

94%

I had no problems with this hostel, and the location in Lincoln park was really nice! It's a cute residential area, although it's not too close to downtown. It's not hard to get downtown though, as the hostel is near bus stops and stops for the brown and red line trains. Security and cleanliness were good. Lockers in rooms were secure although you needed to bring your own lock.


100%

First time in Chicago and my friends and I couldnt have picked a better place to stay. Awesome area of town, tons of night life and quick commute to the downtown core. The Hostel was perfect, staff was excellent and helpful,we especially enjoyed the hostel pub crawl night. It was a great way to meet others staying in the hostel. When I go back to Chicago I will be staying at the Getaway Hostel for sure

  • 1st Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Lee, Thank you for visiting us during your trip to Chicago. It's great to hear that you enjoyed our location and took advantage of the close by CTA station to take your group downtown. We hope to see you and your friends again on one of our crawls. Take care, Jason Schultz General Manager

100%

This place was great! Located in a very historic section of Chicago, the Getaway appears to attract a diversified international following. In the common room I heard as many as five languages at any given time. Combined with the price of a bunk, it was a breath of fresh air compared to sleeping in my car which is what the majority of my American tour has been for me. Did not expect much, received more than I could handle. Tally-ho!

  • 1st Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We're glad that we were able to provide you a comfortable place to stay during your American road trip. The Getaway is a great property for meeting all sorts of travelers. We hope to see you again, good luck on your trip! Cheers, Jason Schultz General Manager

97%

Awesome place to stay !! clean, comfortable, close to a metro station and nice staff !

Owner Comment (Hide)
Mario- Thanks for your great review! I'm always happy to see guests come and see why Chicago Getaway is one of the most top-rated hostels around. We look forward to re-welcoming you again in the future! Take care, Mat Meadows Hospitality Development Director

91%

very good

  • 29th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Antonio: Thanks for taking the time out of your travels to review Chicago Getaway! We're glad you enjoyed your experience with us and look forward to seeing you again in the future! Sincerely, Mat Meadows Hospitality Development Director

83%

The common rooms are very nicely furnished and it's a great atmosphere there. The staff was really nice and helpful. The easy internet access was great and they have a lovely breakfast.

  • 29th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Jacqueline, Thank you for taking the time to review the Getaway Hostel! Our staff loves to provide our guests with some local insight to enjoy Chicago. We would love to see you again during your next trip to the Windy City. Cheers, Jason Schultz General Manager

91%

A very clean and pleasant hostel in a lovely part of town. Good breakfast too!

  • 28th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello James, Thank you for reviewing the Getaway! We're glad you started your day off right with our complimentary continental breakfast. We aim to please all of our guests with our clean, fun and affordable hostel. We can't wait for your next stay. Safe travels, Jason Schultz General Manager

97%

By far the best hostel we've stayed in! Highly recommended.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Owen: We're delighted to be considered on of the best hostels you've stayed in! We look forward to hosting you and all of your friends in the future! Take care and safe travels, Mat Meadows Hospitality Development Director

91%

Good friendly atmosphere in a nice quiet neighbourhood. Great location to some blues clubs.

  • 24th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Diana, Thank you for your review. We love to hear that you enjoyed your time at the Getaway. We can't wait to see you again during your next trip to Chicago! Thanks, Jason Schultz General Manager

(1111 results)


View all Chicago Hostels

Please give us your feedback