X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Chicago Getaway Hostel Reviews

616 West Arlington Place, Chicago, Chicago, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
1718 Total Reviews
  • 90%Value For Money
  • 96%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 91%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

The hostel was great, except for one thing. The dorms on the lower level had only one bathroom between 8 people, making it very difficult in the mornings to shower and use the toilets. It would be much better if there were communal bathrooms outside of the dorms that anyone could access, such as those on the upper levels.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings Robert, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are thrilled that you had a positive experience during your trip to Chicago. For your future stay, we do offer premium male dorm rooms with only 4 guests that are situated close to the common floor bathrooms. We look forward to having you stay with us again! Cheers, Jason Schultz General Manager

91%

The staff make the place great. The hostel is like being in a college dorm with a bunch of cool, mature, hip and responsible people of all types.

  • 18th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Chad, Thank you for taking the time to review the Getaway! It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our staff. We all take pride in providing down-to-Earth accurate service and recommend hidden gems around the city for our guests to enjoy. We look forward to having you stay with us again. Take care, Jason Schultz General Manager

71%

Soooo expensive tey are price gauging

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings, Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback. I am sorry that you felt that we were too expenisve during your stay. We price ourselves competitively with the other properties in Chicago to ensure the best rates for our guests. I hope we will have another opportunity to inrease your experience. Safe travels, Jason Schultz General Manager

94%

An amazing place to stay if you want to relax and meet other people. It is 20 minutes away from the loop by train and 10 from the lake by walk where i advise people to go to do their jogging. the hostel is rather expensive during weekends but it offers a good breakfast so you can save money on other foods. I will come back for sure if I visit Chicago again

  • 17th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings Yoan, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We love to hear that you enjoyed the Lincoln Park neighborhood and all of ther great activities it has to offer. We hope to see you again during your next journey to Chicago. Take care, Jason Schultz General Manager

91%

Super friendly staff, nice and clean facilitets. The location seems far away from downtown but it isn't bad at all with the public transport. The location is cosy and with many bars around. Would stay there again if i came back to Chicago.

  • 17th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings Frederik, Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and for your feedback. Our staff loves providing our guest with an authentic Chicago experience with providing local spots for our guests to sample. We can't wait to see you again! Cheers, Jason Schultz General Manager

94%

My boyfriend and I stayed at the hostel for two nights in a private double room. The room was very clean, as was all the the shared shower rooms, etc. The only slight minus is that the shower was quite far away from the room (it is a big hostel). The location of the hostel is excellent: it is situated in a very nice neighborhood with restaurants and bars close to it. Also the metro station is close and it felt safe to walk to the hostel at nighttime.

  • 17th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings Maria, Thank you very much for your staying with us. We love to hear that our guests enjoyed their time at the Getaway. Our men/women bathrooms rotate on the 3rd floor bringing the facilities much closer to each side of the building. We can't wait to see you again for another great experience! Cheers, Jason Schultz General Manager

74%

We barely slept for two nights because the quiet hours were not enforced. It was very unpleasant, and my friend is now very sick due to exhaustion. Please make sure your guests are respectful toward those who need to sleep at night.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings Erin, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience. I am sorry to hear about your unpleasant stay with us. Our outdoor policy is something that we take very serious to ensure that our guests and neighbors can get a pleasant nights rest. Our 24 hour staff is available to address any overnight noise complaints. I would love the opportunity to have you stay with us again to improve on your experience. Take care, Jason Schultz General Manager

89%

The hostel was awesome, everything was amazing, just how the hostels should be, friendly staff and easily connect to the guests. If you are in chicago for two or three days, and you would like to be in middle of everything, dont come here, it is quite far from the downtown otherwise it is one of the best hostels I've been to


77%

Great spot, awesome staff, good location, cool people, but the 2nd floor men's bathroom was arguably the smelliest room I've set foot in in my 25 years on this planet. Would still definitely stay there again!

  • 15th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Lars, Thank you for choosing the Getaway and for your review. We're stoked that you enjoyed your overall experience with us. I am sorry to hear about the unpleasant odor you experienced in our washroom. We have discovered the issue and have begun the proper repairs. We look forward to seeing you again. Thanks, Jason Schultz General Manager

77%

The two annoying thing are that showers can be far from the room and that there are no lockable shower stalls.

  • 14th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for your feedback. We have recently completed our guest bathroom renovations including relocating the men's and women's bathroom on the 3rd floor bringing them closer to guests no matter the location of the room. We look forward to having you stay with us again to enjoy our new improvements. Cheers, Jason Schultz General Manager

94%

This is a great hostel to stay at when in Chicago. The staff is very friendly and will help with whatever you need (directions, restaurant advice, list of attractions, extra linen, etc.). The Getaway hostel is conveniently located only a few blocks from local bars, restaurants, and the Chicago transit which can take you south to the city, or north to places like Wrigley field. Free breakfast every morning was a plus, and the rooms were perfect to crash in after a long day in the city.

  • 12th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi David, Thank you for your review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Getaway. We take pride in providing our guests with the best advice to travel around Chicago and experience everything the city has to offer. It's great that you made it through our historic neighborhood and fell in love with the night life. We can't wait to see you again. Cheers, Jason Schultz General Manager

80%

Had thought this hostel would have been a lot better than what it was, but was let down by a couple of occasions where the toilets and showers were pretty disgusting. Rooms were comfy though and there is a decent common area, although its probably a little big to easily meet people.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that our hostel cleanliness did not meet expectations. We pride ourselves in providing clean rooms and facilites with specific checklists in place. We would love another opportunity for you to stay with us again. Take care, Jason Schultz General Manager

83%

Great facilities, nice place to stay. But after Europe expected lower prices. Anyway, liked it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Boris, Thank you for reviewing the Getaway Hostel. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our property. We price ourselves competitively with other hostels in the city to ensure the best value for our guests. We can't wait to see you again! Take care, Jason Schultz General Manager

71%

Very poor attention

  • 11th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Bolivia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings Carlos, Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. Our entire staff take pride in providing our guests with friendly and accurate service. We hope to have another opportunity to change your Getaway experience. Take care, Jason Schultz General Manager

97%

Very nice

  • 10th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Lisa, Thank you very much for your review. We are stoked to hear about your stay and we look forward to seeing you again. Cheers, Jason Schultz General Manager

74%

I enjoyed staying here. There seemed to be an interesting mix of travelers, most of whom seemed chill, relaxed, and friendly. The staff, aside from one grumpy morning desk worker (we all have bad days), were also very helpful and professional. Breakfast was very basic, but fine, what do you expect from a hostel?--you can get filled up and go on your way. Some people seemed not to talk to others--and that is fine--though not in the hostel spirt--staff can work on encouraging even more interaction

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed your overall experience at our hostel. We strive on becoming America's #1 hostel and we can't wait to see you again. Take care, Jason Schultz General Manager

77%

A nice place with good staff, good breakfast, and many people to talk with.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you very much for your review. We love that you enjoyed your Getaway experience. Stop by again to meet more travelers on one of our many social events. Cheers, Jason Schultz General Manager

80%

First night I had very inconsiderate, loud (at 3-5 in morning, drunk, turning lights on, talking), messy roommates but things got better after they left. +250 guests in the weekend. This overwhelming amount of people makes it a bit difficult to connect to other travelers as a single traveler. But able to meet people over breakfast or many arranged things like free bbq or pubcrawl etc. Very nice neighborhood. Close to train and bus lines. Nice park. Restaurants and pubs walking distance

  • 5th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Liza, Thank you very much for choosing to stay with the Getaway and for your review. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay. I am sorry that you did not have a pleasant experience with your dormmates during your first night. We have a variety of private rooms that provide guests a more private stay while still enjoying the hostel experience and social events we provide. We look forward to seeing you again in the future! Cheers, Jason Schultz General Manager

94%

They have a good breakfast here, dorms are spacious, beds pretty comfortable. There are regular planned activities too. Overall a very good hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings, Thank you very much for reviewing your recent stay with the Getaway! We are very happy that you enjoyed our continental breakfast and facilities. It's great that you were able to participate in our social events and experience our great neighborhood. We hope to see you again! Cheers, Jason Schultz General Manager

94%

Breakfast ended a little early. The staff was very friendly. The bathrooms and rooms were very clean.

  • 3rd Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings, Thank you for writing a review of your recent stay. Our staff is always happy to know that they make a positive impact on our guests stay. We look forward to seeing you again. Take care, Jason Schultz General Manager

(1109 results)


View all Chicago Hostels

Please give us your feedback