X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Chicago Getaway Hostel Reviews

616 West Arlington Place, Chicago, Chicago, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
1770 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 95%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 94%Staff
  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 90%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

First time in Chicago and my friends and I couldnt have picked a better place to stay. Awesome area of town, tons of night life and quick commute to the downtown core. The Hostel was perfect, staff was excellent and helpful,we especially enjoyed the hostel pub crawl night. It was a great way to meet others staying in the hostel. When I go back to Chicago I will be staying at the Getaway Hostel for sure

  • 1st Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Lee, Thank you for visiting us during your trip to Chicago. It's great to hear that you enjoyed our location and took advantage of the close by CTA station to take your group downtown. We hope to see you and your friends again on one of our crawls. Take care, Jason Schultz General Manager

100%

This place was great! Located in a very historic section of Chicago, the Getaway appears to attract a diversified international following. In the common room I heard as many as five languages at any given time. Combined with the price of a bunk, it was a breath of fresh air compared to sleeping in my car which is what the majority of my American tour has been for me. Did not expect much, received more than I could handle. Tally-ho!

  • 1st Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We're glad that we were able to provide you a comfortable place to stay during your American road trip. The Getaway is a great property for meeting all sorts of travelers. We hope to see you again, good luck on your trip! Cheers, Jason Schultz General Manager

97%

Awesome place to stay !! clean, comfortable, close to a metro station and nice staff !

Owner Comment (Hide)
Mario- Thanks for your great review! I'm always happy to see guests come and see why Chicago Getaway is one of the most top-rated hostels around. We look forward to re-welcoming you again in the future! Take care, Mat Meadows Hospitality Development Director

91%

very good

  • 29th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Antonio: Thanks for taking the time out of your travels to review Chicago Getaway! We're glad you enjoyed your experience with us and look forward to seeing you again in the future! Sincerely, Mat Meadows Hospitality Development Director

83%

The common rooms are very nicely furnished and it's a great atmosphere there. The staff was really nice and helpful. The easy internet access was great and they have a lovely breakfast.

  • 29th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Jacqueline, Thank you for taking the time to review the Getaway Hostel! Our staff loves to provide our guests with some local insight to enjoy Chicago. We would love to see you again during your next trip to the Windy City. Cheers, Jason Schultz General Manager

91%

A very clean and pleasant hostel in a lovely part of town. Good breakfast too!

  • 28th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello James, Thank you for reviewing the Getaway! We're glad you started your day off right with our complimentary continental breakfast. We aim to please all of our guests with our clean, fun and affordable hostel. We can't wait for your next stay. Safe travels, Jason Schultz General Manager

97%

By far the best hostel we've stayed in! Highly recommended.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Owen: We're delighted to be considered on of the best hostels you've stayed in! We look forward to hosting you and all of your friends in the future! Take care and safe travels, Mat Meadows Hospitality Development Director

91%

Good friendly atmosphere in a nice quiet neighbourhood. Great location to some blues clubs.

  • 24th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Diana, Thank you for your review. We love to hear that you enjoyed your time at the Getaway. We can't wait to see you again during your next trip to Chicago! Thanks, Jason Schultz General Manager

91%

Excelent hostel very well localized, close to Lincoln Park, bus and train stations. Also many pubs and matkets nearby. Staff was also very friendly.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Rafael, Thanks for your review. We're glad you enjoyed the many bars and shops that Lincoln Park has to offer. Our staff takes pride in providing our guests with local fare that is off the beaten path. We look forward to your next stay! Cheers, Jason Schultz General Manager

97%

This was the most pleasant stay at a youth hostel thus far! And I have been traveling for years. The atmosphere is nice, staff pleasant, and decor swanky.

  • 21st Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bess- Thanks for taking the time to review us - and thanks for ranking us high up on your list of hostels over the years. We take a lot of pride in our hostel and hope to see you again in future travels! Take care, Mat Meadows Hospitality Development Director

100%

The hostel was great, except for one thing. The dorms on the lower level had only one bathroom between 8 people, making it very difficult in the mornings to shower and use the toilets. It would be much better if there were communal bathrooms outside of the dorms that anyone could access, such as those on the upper levels.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings Robert, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are thrilled that you had a positive experience during your trip to Chicago. For your future stay, we do offer premium male dorm rooms with only 4 guests that are situated close to the common floor bathrooms. We look forward to having you stay with us again! Cheers, Jason Schultz General Manager

91%

The staff make the place great. The hostel is like being in a college dorm with a bunch of cool, mature, hip and responsible people of all types.

  • 18th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Chad, Thank you for taking the time to review the Getaway! It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our staff. We all take pride in providing down-to-Earth accurate service and recommend hidden gems around the city for our guests to enjoy. We look forward to having you stay with us again. Take care, Jason Schultz General Manager

71%

Soooo expensive tey are price gauging

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings, Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback. I am sorry that you felt that we were too expenisve during your stay. We price ourselves competitively with the other properties in Chicago to ensure the best rates for our guests. I hope we will have another opportunity to inrease your experience. Safe travels, Jason Schultz General Manager

94%

An amazing place to stay if you want to relax and meet other people. It is 20 minutes away from the loop by train and 10 from the lake by walk where i advise people to go to do their jogging. the hostel is rather expensive during weekends but it offers a good breakfast so you can save money on other foods. I will come back for sure if I visit Chicago again

  • 17th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings Yoan, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We love to hear that you enjoyed the Lincoln Park neighborhood and all of ther great activities it has to offer. We hope to see you again during your next journey to Chicago. Take care, Jason Schultz General Manager

91%

Super friendly staff, nice and clean facilitets. The location seems far away from downtown but it isn't bad at all with the public transport. The location is cosy and with many bars around. Would stay there again if i came back to Chicago.

  • 17th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings Frederik, Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and for your feedback. Our staff loves providing our guest with an authentic Chicago experience with providing local spots for our guests to sample. We can't wait to see you again! Cheers, Jason Schultz General Manager

94%

My boyfriend and I stayed at the hostel for two nights in a private double room. The room was very clean, as was all the the shared shower rooms, etc. The only slight minus is that the shower was quite far away from the room (it is a big hostel). The location of the hostel is excellent: it is situated in a very nice neighborhood with restaurants and bars close to it. Also the metro station is close and it felt safe to walk to the hostel at nighttime.

  • 17th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings Maria, Thank you very much for your staying with us. We love to hear that our guests enjoyed their time at the Getaway. Our men/women bathrooms rotate on the 3rd floor bringing the facilities much closer to each side of the building. We can't wait to see you again for another great experience! Cheers, Jason Schultz General Manager

74%

We barely slept for two nights because the quiet hours were not enforced. It was very unpleasant, and my friend is now very sick due to exhaustion. Please make sure your guests are respectful toward those who need to sleep at night.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings Erin, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience. I am sorry to hear about your unpleasant stay with us. Our outdoor policy is something that we take very serious to ensure that our guests and neighbors can get a pleasant nights rest. Our 24 hour staff is available to address any overnight noise complaints. I would love the opportunity to have you stay with us again to improve on your experience. Take care, Jason Schultz General Manager

89%

The hostel was awesome, everything was amazing, just how the hostels should be, friendly staff and easily connect to the guests. If you are in chicago for two or three days, and you would like to be in middle of everything, dont come here, it is quite far from the downtown otherwise it is one of the best hostels I've been to


77%

Great spot, awesome staff, good location, cool people, but the 2nd floor men's bathroom was arguably the smelliest room I've set foot in in my 25 years on this planet. Would still definitely stay there again!

  • 15th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Lars, Thank you for choosing the Getaway and for your review. We're stoked that you enjoyed your overall experience with us. I am sorry to hear about the unpleasant odor you experienced in our washroom. We have discovered the issue and have begun the proper repairs. We look forward to seeing you again. Thanks, Jason Schultz General Manager

77%

The two annoying thing are that showers can be far from the room and that there are no lockable shower stalls.

  • 14th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for your feedback. We have recently completed our guest bathroom renovations including relocating the men's and women's bathroom on the 3rd floor bringing them closer to guests no matter the location of the room. We look forward to having you stay with us again to enjoy our new improvements. Cheers, Jason Schultz General Manager

(1139 results)


View all Chicago Hostels

Please give us your feedback