X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Chicago Getaway Hostel Reviews

616 West Arlington Place, Chicago, Chicago, Illinois, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
1717 Total Reviews
  • 90%Value For Money
  • 95%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 91%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Good free breakfast,safe,clean. Best hostel in chicago. I would definitely cone back to stay there

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Mahmoud, Thank you very much for your review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed you stay and are honored to hear that we are the best hostel in Chicago. We look forward to seeing you again. Thanks, Jason Schultz General Manger

100%

Highly Reccomend!

  • 26th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Justin, Thank you for taking the time to review the Getaway! We are honored to receive your perfect score and can't wait to see you again. Take care, Jason Schultz General Manager

71%

Food stolen. Otherwise, a good hostel and a good building.


80%

No Wifi in the rooms. Restrooms could be better.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to review your recent stay. We are currently looking to extend our WIFI connection throughout the building to enhance our guest experience. We hope to welcome you again. Safe travels, Jason Schultz General Manager

86%

Breakfast sucked, get a room with restroom attract or you will be walking inn midnight, good place right off the bown line

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear William, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay. I am sorry that you did not enjoy our complimentary breakfast. We offer a variety of items such as oatmeal, 3 cereals, 2 flavors of bagels, toast and fruit in hopes of our guest enjoying some items if not all. We are happy that you enjoyed our historic neighborhood and what it offers. I hope to see you again at the Getaway. Cheers, Jason Schultz General Manager

91%

Amazing hostel. I loved how they try to bring people together (pub crawls, blues night, free bbq, ...). The staff was really friendly and extraordinary helpful all the time. Breakfast was ok, cleanliness for such a big hostel not too bad.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings Tobias, Thank you for your review. We are stoked that enjoyed all of our events at the hostel. Our staff takes pride in providing guests with an authentic and social experience during their stay with us. We look forward to your next stay with us. Cheers, Jason Schultz General Manager

83%

The staff is really nice and helpful! They really go the extra mile :). Breakfast is great! The only thing I didn't like were the showers! Really disgusting! Other people's shower water goes over your feet and into the drain! And there isn't any space to hang you clothing nearby whilst you shower

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings, Thank you for staying with us and for your review of the Getaway. We have very happy that our staff made a positive impact on your stay. We have recently renovated our guest bathrooms including adding shower doors, shelving and hooks for a more pleasant experience. We hope you will enjoy our improvements during your next stay with us. Take care, Jason Schultz General Manager

97%

Staying in this hostel was overall an excellent experience. My only complaint is about the smell is some hallways; you can perceive a funny odor like "dirty foot” type of odor that impacts the comfort.

  • 22nd Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed your overall stay at the Getaway. We are just finishing up our renovations in our common bathrooms including increasing ventilation that will ultimately lead to fresher air in our hallways. We look forward to your next stay! Cheers, Jason Schultz General Manager

77%

Generally a pleasant stay--location was good, near the red line and in a quiet Lincoln Park neighborhood. Rooms were cozy (as hostel rooms go). My one complaint would be bathroom cleanliness--the bathroom on my floor was under repair, so I used the bathroom on the floor above me--showers had filth on floor tiles and sinks had dead bugs all over--these remained for longer than a day--it would be nice to give a thorough surface cleaning at least once a day. Beyond that, pretty good value.

  • 21st Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

This hostel is really very good, in a excellent location and a great neighbourhood. Staff are very helpful. Great breakfast

  • 21st Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Sandra, Thank you for your feedback. We are thrilled that you had a positive experience with us. We cannot wait to have you with us again! Cheers, Jason Schultz General Manager

100%

The staff was incredibly accommodating and a lot of fun when leading the various activities. The hostel itself is in a great location and it is easy to get to numerous places around the city. Passes for Skydeck or the John Hancock Building are available at the desk for a reduced price. The hostel is a very chill and relaxing place to hang out. I had a great time for my first visit to Chicago, in which I felt the hostel had a helping hand. I would definitely stay here again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Daniel, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for your review. We are flattered to receive a 100% review and are thrilled you enjoyed your experience. Our staff takes a lot of pride in providing authentic interactions with our guests, from recommending local restaurants to cracking a few jokes. We can't wait to have you stay with us again! Cheers, Jason Schultz General Manager

91%

The staff was excellent, and pub crawls were a good way to meet people. One downside - they charge extra tax on the bill so the rate posted on hostel world is lower than what they will actually charge you.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings, Thank you for your review. We are stoked that you enjoyed our neighborhood pub crawl and staff. I am sorry about the confusion with the tax. We send out an confirmation email to notify guests that the tax not listed on third party sites to reduce the element of suprise at check in. We hope to see you again in the future! Cheers, Jason Schultz General Manager

97%

Excellent in everyday, staff, facilities, decor, you name it. Best hostel I've ever been to.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to review the Getaway! We are thrilled to hear that we are the best hostel you have every stayed at. We can't wait to have you stay with us again! Cheers, Jason Schultz General Manager

89%

Beautiful hostel! Good offer in services (wifi, computers with internet, free printer), activities in group. I traveled alone, and both nights I met nice people to hang out. It is in a pretty and quiet neighborhood of familiar houses but nearby there are streets with plenty of shops and pubs. Perfect! If you go walking to downtown, it's about 40 minuts.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you very much for your review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your experience with us during your solo traveling. Our hostel is designed to have common spaces for guests to interact with each other and our events utilize the local bars, restaurants and clubs. We look forward to seeing you again! Take care, Jason Schultz General Manager

77%

Very convenient to Lincoln Park area (with a huge variety of shops and restaurants) plus free internet.Otherwise,adequate, but just barely so.They do not go the extra mile.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings, Thank you for stay with us and for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that other than our location, we did not meet your expectations. We take pride in providing all guests an authentic Chicago experience and organize events every day of the week to increase socializing. I hope you can give us another opporunity to change your view of the Getaway. Sincerely, Jason Schultz General Manager

80%

very nice lobby, friendly staff

  • 15th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Sara, Thank you for reviewing the Getaway. We are pleased that our staff made a lasting impression on your stay. We look forward to welcoming you again! Cheers, Jason Schultz General Manager

74%

The hostel was pretty dead for a weekend, The pub crawl was horrible and the staff was so so. Defenitivly not a place to party!!!!

  • 14th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that your pub crawl did not meet your expectation. We have events everyday of the week including 2 pub crawls, 2 BBQ's, bike ride & much more!We hope to have another opportunity to increase your Getaway experience. Cheers, Jason Schultz General Manager

91%

Awesome hostel, great staff and location! Will be back! thank you!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings, Thank you for taking the time to review the Getaway! We are thrilled to hear that we were able to provide you with an excellent experience. We look forward to welcoming you every time you make your way to Chicago. Cheers, Jason Schultz General Manager

91%

Great hostel at a beautiful location. Rooms and bathrooms were very clean. We would definitely stay at this hostel next time.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings, Thank you for your feedback. We are stoked that you enjoyed our location in the Lincoln Park neighborhood. We take pride in providing our guests with the cleanest rooms and facilities in the US. We can't wait to see you again! Cheers, Jason Schultz General Manager

94%

Great facility, wonderful location and FIRST CLASS CUSTOMER SERVICE. You'll not only see me and friends again but I've made a public FB post recommending your Hostel. Best Wishes, Curtis

  • 5th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • American Samoa
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Curtis, Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We are stoked that our staff gave you a "Wow" experience. We love our guests and want to ensure that everyone receives an authentic experience. We can't wait to see you and your friends whenever you travel to Chicago. Take care, Jason Schultz General Manager

(1108 results)


View all Chicago Hostels

Please give us your feedback