Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Chili Blue Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.4
Good 955 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.2
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 7.0
  • Atmosphere 6.3
  • Cleanliness 4.5
  • Facilities 5.2
BOOK NOW
6.4
Good 955 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.2
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 7.0
  • Atmosphere 6.3
  • Cleanliness 4.5
  • Facilities 5.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
18th Feb 2017
6.0

For the price it wasn't so bad as its one of the cheaper hostels in Sydney but overall not great.. Hostels pretty dirty, rooms are really hot and stuffy and my room had no curtains

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Feb 2017
8.6

Good locations, basic hostel but good value for money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Feb 2017
4.0

Really disgusting hostel. Only one working fridge so no space and it makes a horrible smell in the kitchen. Didn't get what was advertised: no air-con in our room (keeping the window open meant a lot of street noise throughout the night), limited wifi (500mb per week and didn't reach our room), no cable TV only access to Netflix. Cockroaches in our room because of holes in the walls. Only reason we stayed was because we couldn't get our money back. Short walk to CBD was the only good thing.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
29th Jan 2017
7.7

The good sides. 15/20 mins walk from the cbd, right near kings cross station. plenty of bars near by. Coles supermarket 2 mins walk down the road. wifi seems to work in most rooms, sometimes a little slow, but good overall. 3 free computers to use with fast internet in the reception area. Free breakfast everyday. free food on a Wednesday night. sturdy bunkbeds. The down sides. some rooms are small with no windows, so hot! fridges don't work. only 4 showers between the whole hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
27th Jan 2017
5.7

Too les sinks for the amount of beds. Too noisy in the rooms, the bunkbeds shake a lot. And no curtains in windows, so you ll wake up early because of the sun.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
20th Jan 2017
4.3

If you can pay a bit more, go somewhere else! Too small, not even a proper common room. Not really clean. All the building seems creepy, dirty... One of the 2 big fridge was hot in it. Only one good thing: 20 min from the CBD...

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th Jan 2017
7.4

You get what you pay for. One of the cheaper hostels but it was a good location with a train station up the road and easy to walk into the city/circular quay. Stayed in a private 3 bed & was tiny with 3 people's big backpacks in. the room did have air con, fridge & a tv! The whole place needs a good lick of paint and new bed sheets. The kitchen also needs to be kept on top of with the cleanliness! Nice atomosphere in the hostel though will everyone being quite friendly. Free breakfast too :)

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
11th Jan 2017
8.9

Staff was supernice Rooms were bit small but didn't bother me. Beds and kitchen were clean which is great. Kitchen was cleaned up by the staff every day. Location was great. Right next to the king's cross station but also walking distance from the city. I've been to a more expencive places that hasn't been that good!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
6th Jan 2017
6.6

One of the cheapest hostels in Kings Cross when I was there. Kitchen could be bigger and have more crockery but is acceptable. Staff and cleanliness just ok. Good location

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
12th Dec 2016
7.7

Kitchen could be a little better, nobody cleans up after themselves and the 10pm courtyard lockout rule is a bit annoying but overall my stay here was good. Staff where very friendly and helpful. Guests where quite social which made the athmosphere enjoyable. The location is great so that makes the price for chili blue very reasonable. I would stay here again

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.