Hostelworld.com

Chili Blue Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
6.3
Good 891 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.3
  • Security 6.8
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 6.3
  • Atmosphere 6.0
  • Cleanliness 4.8
  • Facilities 5.8
BOOK NOW
6.3
Good 891 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.3
  • Security 6.8
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 6.3
  • Atmosphere 6.0
  • Cleanliness 4.8
  • Facilities 5.8
Chili Blue Backpackers Located at 144 Victoria Street, Kings Cross, Kings Cross, Sydney.
Chili Blue Backpackers
Australia
Sydney New South Wales NSW 2011 144 Victoria Street, Kings Cross, Kings Cross
63% 891
-33.8721771 151.2229840
Chili Blue Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th May 2016
4.3

Worst hostel I've ever stayed in. The long term residents were so unhygienic and foul smelling. We had to change rooms due to the smell and still the standard of the room was shocking, the room had no curtains and there was still building work to be completed on the ceiling. Staff were quite helpful. There was also cockroaches and I could hardly sleep at night I felt so uncomfortable.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
9th May 2016
6.6

Dorm rooms extremely small. Everything is pretty old and looks run-down. The hostel is in need of some major upgrades. Have to pay a AUD$ 20.00 deposit to get some fricking silverware and plate. Hostel provides free breakfast. If you don't rent a cup you can't drink anything.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Apr 2016
4.6

There were key cards to this hostel, but my dormitory door was purposely kept open with a bin. The room for 8 housed 9 because one was crashing with her boyfriend and not paying. It was filthy and despite food ban in dormitories, it was full of food on beds and floor. There were no fans, no functioning windows, no functioning air conditioning. Hostel was also a crazy party hostel where they played goon pong and flip cup loudly everyday. Literally, insufficient words to describe this experience.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Apr 2016
6.6

So many dude bros and party people. I was so tired of the ruthless disrespect by roommates.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • robbyweav
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
1st Apr 2016
8.0

Great hostel which mixes the party side and the rest side well. Rooms are quiet and secure with key card access with large lockable cupboards and comfortable mattresses. Was fairly clean, did come across a fair few cockroaches during my stay but not unexpected due to open windows etc. Courtyard is small but great for beer pong and some drinks. Common room has a pc connected to the tv to watch Netflix or YouTube etc. Some great nights out organised too. Would recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
28th Mar 2016
5.1

Usually don't leave negative reviews but our stay here wasn't a good first impression to Australia. Poor cleanliness and cockroaches, lack of atmosphere, expensive, unfriendly staff, rooms smelly and messy. However, good free breakfast and space to store and cook food.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Hyson
  • China, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Mar 2016
7.4

Some staff is good, some are not. My roommate underneath me suffered bedbug, but not me. There are 3 showers and they are pretty clean. You can have some free basic breakfast, and you better go to the kitchen earlier, otherwise the eggs and cheese are gone. I was in 2 different rooms during my stay, and one room doesn't have air conditioning. There are lockers in the room. The location is pretty good, 5min to Coles. 20 min to opera house. In general, it's pretty good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th Mar 2016
4.6

The room we stayed in had a leaking aircon, which from the look of it had been going on for a long time already. The wall under the ac had a thick layer of mold on it making the whole room a healty hazard. You are seriously endangering your guests! Even i didnt feel to good after staying there for two nights and my friend has allergies so her eyes were pretty swollen every morning. When we got home we had to wash everything we had with us as the smell of mold was incredibly strong.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Feb 2016
10.0

Nothing but good words about chiliblue. I have stayed in other hostels in Sydney and nothing compares to this place. It's always super clean, free wifi, great beds, free breakfast and full of great people!! What else could you wish for? I say get to chilliblue, you won't regret it!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Feb 2016
7.4

Spent 1 night there between 2 flights so can't really judge a lot. Room was ok and facilities were average. I guess it's a good value for money hostel

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.