X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Chili Blue Backpackers Reviews

144 Victoria Street, Kings Cross, Kings Cross, Sydney, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

73%

Rating
795 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 76%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 72%Staff
  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 60%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Free breakfast and dinner most nights, event guys gets everyone involved, easy to make friends and socialise.


94%

I really liked my stay there. Free food on a few days and everyday entertainment. Not too far from the station.


80%

Really good hostel value for money was great as you get breakfast and dinner for free. I found there were a lot of people staying in the hostel long term as they had jobs in Sydney so it wasn't that social really.


49%

Upon entering our first room we were faced with a horrible stench, food, rubbish and clothing all over the floor, and multiple cockroaches. Although the smell and mess were not necessarily the fault of the hostel, they claim that they will ask anyone who leaves a mess or a bad smell to deal with it or leave and this clearly had not happened. The room we were moved to after complaining was much better but still had cockroaches. Entertainment and location are great if you're into partying.


100%

I enjoyed this hostel even as a non-partier. The wifi was not working, but the staff made up for it by offering free dinner every night. The hostel got a regular clean and even the dorms felt reasonably clean. There were a couple cockroaches, but they are everywhere in Sydney so I cannot fault them for that. They enforce a 10:00 curfew for the outside space, so it wasn't even that bad when sleeping in the balcony room over the inner courtyard. I would definitely stay here again.


46%

The standard was what you could expect for $18 a night. However, there was an immediate stench of damp when we walked into the room and we later discovered cockroaches everywhere! I spoke to other guest who said they have cockroaches in their room too, so it was clear that it was a problem throughout the building. The bedding was disgusting and could really do with being replaced. Also a warning about the water being turned off would have been appreciated!!

  • 4th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

I spent 4 nights at chili blue backpackers and I really think is awesome! All the staff is very kind and friendly! The hostel is in Kings Cross, an amazing area full of shops, nightclubs and also very close to the city.


57%

There were Cockroaches everywhere. This place had great free things for backpackers to do for free, and the event manager was awesome. The location was a bit dodgy and on the weekends it was boring and expensiveexpensive. I would not recommend.

  • 16th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Great location, only minute or two away from the train station and bars. Great atmosphere in the hostel, everyone is always up for a night out and there's plenty of free food offered throughout the week! The television in the kitchen has a full sports subscription so you can always catch the football playing back home too. Room was a good size so great value for money

  • 11th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

I had a great time at chili blue. everyone was very friendly and helpful. its in a great location for going out and for the CBD. Defiantly recommend it

  • 10th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

This hostel is awesome! With 3 times a week FREE food, dinner deals going on, deals with clubs (free entrance and drinks), awesome atmosphere and BYO. They even offer free breakfast and WiFi! Nowhere in Australia I got better value for money. They say Sydney is expensive, well try this hostel and you'll experience otherwise! Definitely would go back there.


51%

The staff is very unfriendly, exept the guy who is cleaning the Wohle Hostel! There is Party everybody Night! It is very loud and the people do Not care if you want to sleep. I changed my arriving Date and got a confirmation. As i arrivied the booking was not change in the System! I had to stay in amorpher Hostel which was Dirty and the Whiskey room was füll of small Insekts !!!! The Price might be good, but i Would Pay More and go to a Vetter Place!


20%

The service was very bad, they acomodated more people then they could so there were not enought beds on the hostel. The bethroom were durty and the rooms smelled funny. I don't recomend this place.

  • 30th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

Cons: -Cockroaches everywhere. One crawling over my bag in the bedroom, crawling up the wall right beside my bed, an uncountable amount in the kitchen, cooked in there once then went out for food the rest of the time. -There were 4 lockers in the 4 man bedroom, 2 of which were broken so couldnt be locked. -Just generally a dirty place to stay. Pros: -Friendly staff -Not a bad location, right by the train station and shops. A 15 mins walk from the city center. -Cheap -Clean bathroom

  • 19th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


54%

How awful! This is probably the worst hostel I've stayed in so far. We were in a totally creepy room with 3 beds, extremely dark (the only view was a wall and our neighbours room). Several electrical outlets were connected to each other, which was not reassuring. No receptionist during the night, and nobody to call if necessary! Breakfast was OK, too bad it is not served after 9am. The WC and shower were changed recently but unfortunately this is not enough to raise the standard of this hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
I am sorry to hear that you have not enjoyed your stay with us. A little travel tip for your next reservation: You will never get a room with the best view in town by making a cheap filter search on any booking websites, in the same spirit most hotels with 24 hour reception are usually more expensive. No HOSTELS serve breakfast at 11 am, that is called Lunch. As you mentioned our bathrooms are new and cleaned twice per day so your overall note for our cleanliness is quite unfair.

51%

Cleaning.


100%

Great place. People here party almost every night. Close to a lot of pubs and resturants. You can take the bus\tramp to everywhere in the city.


63%

Not the friendliest receptionist.


74%

Old building, prvte rm-smelt damp, be fit/flexible if ovr 40-steep stairs r a challenge. Cleaner Jeff wrks hrd all day keeping common areas clean, it's the guests that need house training. Blonde reception guy is yr go-to fr info, v.helpful. Value fr $: comp WiFi, brkfast supplied btwn 7:30-9am gt thr early b4 th boiled eggs go! bedding supplied, gd AC, flat scrn wth random TV, ace bar fridge. $20 rfndbl hire kitchn kit (croc/cutlery) or BYO. Males generally won't mind ths bkpkr. Big ups ovrall.

  • 9th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


60%

French guy on reception was overheard swearing quite a lot and although mostly pleasant was overheard being quite rude to some other guests. Hostel needs a good coat of paint and general touch up. Also you should ban smoking in the court, the kitchen stinks of smoke from outside which also sometimes went into the bathrooms.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(535 results)


View all Sydney Hostels

Please give us your feedback