X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Chill Backpackers Reviews

328 Upper Roma Street, Brisbane, 4000, Brisbane, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
881 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 82%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

The hostel was okay, but not more. The location is not bad, close to the Transit Centre and a short walk to the city centre. The room was very simple, nothing special. The bathroom was okay. From the rough you have a nice view. There was no WIFI in the room, only in the lounge and only for one hour free. 24 hour reception was good. You couldn't open any window, so it was kinda sticky in the morning, there was 24h air conditioning...


91%

Awesome spot, great people. Highly recommend this joint.

  • 18th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Stayed in a private twin and triple room but no lockers to keep valuables in, it appeared the room was not cleaned whilst we stayed there apart from bins emptied, the floor was grubby after 4 days, staff were friendly and place was generally quite clean. No freezer was another problem for us as we bought ice, overall a nice place to stay and would stay again but it's quite pricey


86%

Gets an average cleanliness for whatever it was that took 15 bites out of me the first night. Used my bedbug sheet after that and escaped further attention. Other than that a great hostel. Good aircon that could not be turned off. Otherwise theres always some git that wants it off so as not to get a cold.


97%

Amazing hostel! Very clean and modern. At check in, the really friendly man at reception offered us a private double room at the same price as the dorm room we had booked. We were also able to add a second night in the private room at the same cost as the dorm. Good location by the river. Excellent!


69%

Outdoor terraces were great with coty views, pool table and tv areas. However rooms were very small, no lockers and the hostel was very warm. Wifi was an annoying login and logout service though not expensive. A bit of a walk to main city areas.


60%

A bit out of the way. A 15 minute walk to get to anywhere really. Room was pretty basic with a noisy bed but was blessedly cool. TV room and kitchen areas were both pretty nice. Staff were generally nice and helpful but it sometimes took a while to actually speak to someone.


80%

The hostel is quite nearby the Transit centre, so perfect for travelers. The space in the room is enough, so you have beds in it and a little space for your luggage, so when you have a bigger luggage it could be a little problem to place it in the room.If possible they upgrade you in a smaller room. And you have to bring your own plate and so on or you can hire it at the reception. WIFI is the first 30 min for free, after that against purchase. But it's a nice hostel, I can recommend it.


94%

Stayed originally for a week extended my stay to 9 days. Over all a fab hostel rooms can't get a bit nippy at night with aircon constantly on. Movie room was a godsend as there has been loads of rain! Pool table is free although it needs a new que haha!! Staff are really friendly, vending machines with drinks and snacks. Only downside is having to pay for wifi and it doesn't work in the rooms Met some lovely people I would definitely stay at Chill and would recommend it to anybody. :)

  • 2nd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Great hostel, within walking distance to city and very close to train and bus station, all facilities you need and nice rooftop terrace. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Only downside, there is no free wifi and Internet is a rip off.

  • 30th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

The staff were wonderful. From 3 games of chess, to the loan of Nick's personal laptop, they could not have made me feel more welcome. The "poor" rating for facilities is because the internet did not work and one computer had a virus warning. I also found the 4 bed female dorm very stuffy


66%

Rooms were clean and quiet. toilets were clean as well. staff was friendly and rooftop area was nice and cosy. 10 minute walk into city centre is doable. no free wifi. anyway a recommendable hostel!


74%

The room I stayed in was just too small for 5 people, almost no room to leave your stuff, additionally no lockers for secreting your stuff. Bathroom and kitchen was clean, staff super helpful!


91%

almost everything was excellent, except having to "lease" cutlery and stuff from reception was a little annoying.


74%

Good central location , didn't really have an atmosphere only annoying thing is having to hire plates etc !

  • 20th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Very relaxed atmosphere with very friendly staff. Facilities were clean and really enjoyed my stay. Would highly recommend!


89%

Pretty close to the city center, awesome staff. It's a shame the wifi is so expensive(7 dollar an hour) but the park (with wifi and musea) are close by. The rooftop is nice, the kitchen is good, rooms are very clean and well air conditioned. We loved the location and got free upgrade for the whole week.


89%

Upgraded us upon arrival to a private room


86%

Great stay at Chill! Really good hostel. Would definitely recommend :-)

  • 9th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


46%

The aircondition was out and no windows to open to get air from the outside. When we contacted the staff they said they couldn't do anything to help us and when we asked for a refund they denied. The hostel has potential but I think it was quite dirty and the staff was really not nice.

  • 3rd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Anna, It is very unfortunate that one of our airconditioning unit stopped working whilst you were staying with us, the fan was damaged by the severe hail storm we had experienced. However, we did move you to another room where the aircon was working which was also an upgrade to the room you booked. I hope you will visit us again and have a positive experience.

« first « Prev 1 2
(35 results)


View all Brisbane Hostels

Please give us your feedback