Hostelworld.com

Chill On The Beach Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 345 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 345 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.0
Chill On The Beach Hostel Located at Rua Dias da Rocha 31C, Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro.
Chill On The Beach Hostel
Brazil
Rio de Janeiro Rio de Janeiro 22051-020 Rua Dias da Rocha 31C, Copacabana
89% 345
-22.9728030 -43.1893470
Chill On The Beach Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th May 2016
9.4

Hello folkes, my name is Laurits, i'm from Denmark, i write my name and country because i hope you'll find the review a little more trustworthy. Chill on the Beach is great, specially because of the great staff. They are very friendly and will help you with anything. The Security is great, and you are close to Copacabana. A little downside by the hostel is the beds. The breakfast is over average for hostels also. We we're in Rio for 10 days and this was by far the best hostel we stayed in.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th May 2016
9.1

We stayed for 3 nights at Chill on the Beach and had a wonderful time. The staff were VERY helpful and helped us plan our vacation in Rio. The free breakfast every morning was great and there were drinks and great people at the bar at night time. The location was great, only 2 blocks from the beach, and was very nice to walk around, even at night.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th May 2016
8.9

The staff were really great; Anderson and Kamila especially went out of their way to make me feel at home, as did Juliette. I thought it was an excellent location and a nice vibe overall. The mattresses are terrible though, and the bathrooms should have bath mats. Beyond that, I would give it 2 thumbs up!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th May 2016
7.1

Great location. Very very small hostel. Rooms are tiny as is kitchen (only 2 elements on oven work so very slow cooking). Beds had plastic covers on so were very very noisy!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd May 2016
8.3

Staff were very friendly and helpful. Had really good English and made you feel very welcome. Breakfast was good and hostel very central to amenities. Only thing was the 3 bed bunks were high and noisy although we did get to swap after one night which was great!!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Antarctica, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Apr 2016
8.9

This hostel was a great place to stay in Copacabana. The positives for us were: 1)The staff, they were amazing and so helpful! 2) The location, it is 2 blocks away from the beach so it has an amazing location. 3) The breakfast, good choice of food and watermelon every morning. The only thing is that the rooms were a bit small, and have triple bunks- but this did not dent our experience of the hostel at all, the room hardly felt busy even though they were full up.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
16th Apr 2016
8.9

Anderson was so helpful and nice, and made you feel welcome from the get go. The breakfast was really good and the lady who cooked and cleaned was a hoot. Location really good and very close to copacabana beach and the bus stop.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
7th Apr 2016
7.7

Can't quite put our finger on what is missing at chill on the beach. Lacking in atmosphere slightly. Breakfast is great but served too late. We like early rising and getting out early but had to wait around for breakfast. Hated the three tier bunk beds but the staff really make up for everything here. They are amazing and help with anything. Location is perfect for the beach.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
7th Apr 2016
9.7

As a first hostel in Brazil and more broadly South America this was excellent. Great security system to get in the building and lockers in the room. Small bar in the hostel with some big night out arranged every night. Good wifi and the beds are quite comfortable. Staff are excellent and rally friendly. The manage Louise is always around and beyond friendly and helpful. The hostel also has a supermarket right next door and the copacabana beach two blocks away. Overall and excellent hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
1st Apr 2016
8.0

Nice enough place to stay. Rooms are a bit crowded and beds noisy. Breakfast doesn't start until 9 which I found a bit late. Good location and excellent staff though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.