Hostelworld.com

Chill On The Beach Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 356 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 356 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.0
Chill On The Beach Hostel Located at Rua Dias da Rocha 31C, Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro.
Chill On The Beach Hostel
Brazil
Rio de Janeiro Rio de Janeiro 22051-020 Rua Dias da Rocha 31C, Copacabana
89% 356
-22.9728030 -43.1893470
Chill On The Beach Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
13th Jun 2016
8.9

I can not say enough about how nice, pleasant, and helpful the staff was at Chill on the Beach. They made you feel like friends which was so inviting. They have a small bar that is open at night with a super friendly bartender that will make you whatever you want. Very safe & it seemed to be right in the middle of Copacabana Beach and Ipanema. They arranged us a taxi from the airport when we arrived (Uber was cheaper though) and had a storage room for our bags while we waited for checkin time.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
4th Jun 2016
7.4

Downstairs lobby was clean and welcoming. Good security and front desk was very helpful with tours around Rio. Dorms were extremely tight and had triple bunks. The beds were squeaky and the a/c was not good in the one room. Very difficult to even change comfortably in the dorms, would not recommend 15 person dorm unless you are adaptable to tight spaces.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jun 2016
9.7

I had 3 nights booked with Chill On the Beach, but ended up staying for over 2 weeks. I cannot say enough good things about the staff at this hostel, they were always super helpful and they loved getting to know everyone staying there. It's definitely a smaller hostel, but it was by far one of my favorite hostels in South America as a single traveler. The common areas are nice and make it really easy to connect with others. It's a very welcoming hostel, so glad I stayed there!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Jun 2016
8.0

Well, this place.. it is what it is. Next to copacabana beach, no fuss and truly "chill", but don't expect much else. I've given a high-ish rating because of the staff. All of them seemed like genuinely nice people. Keep up the good work!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
2nd Jun 2016
10.0

i was debating staying here or Leblon. This hostel was as close to perfect as i could ask. Super friendly staff, amazing location 2 blocks from copacabana, and next to supermarket, bank and in the middle of everything. The activities they recommended were all excellent, and good value for the money. Will come back!! I met several people staying at other hostels while on tours or just out and about and i could tell this was the best option by their feedback. Met some cool travelers too!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
31st May 2016
9.1

Decent hostel. Maybe the most cramped room I've ever stayed in, but other than that it was fine. Really great breakfast too considering what you pay

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
31st May 2016
8.9

In general an amazing place to stay! The staff is super cool, chilled out and helpful (specially Anderson!) -all the time talking with the guests and socializing. The location is far from the downtown (Lapa) but two blocks away from Copabana beach and in a walkable distance to Ipanema. The neighborhood is really safe and nice. The kitchen needs a microwave and a fully working cooktop, however, it is manageble. The breakfast is really good, for the price (fresh cake every morning). And it's clean

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th May 2016
10.0

Great hostel, great location, brilliant friendly, helpful staff. Lots going on, clean, good cocktail bar and I felt very safe as a solo traveller, so much so I stayed longer than planned. Will definitely return when back in Rio

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th May 2016
9.4

Hello folkes, my name is Laurits, i'm from Denmark, i write my name and country because i hope you'll find the review a little more trustworthy. Chill on the Beach is great, specially because of the great staff. They are very friendly and will help you with anything. The Security is great, and you are close to Copacabana. A little downside by the hostel is the beds. The breakfast is over average for hostels also. We we're in Rio for 10 days and this was by far the best hostel we stayed in.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th May 2016
9.1

We stayed for 3 nights at Chill on the Beach and had a wonderful time. The staff were VERY helpful and helped us plan our vacation in Rio. The free breakfast every morning was great and there were drinks and great people at the bar at night time. The location was great, only 2 blocks from the beach, and was very nice to walk around, even at night.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.