X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Chill On The Beach Hostel Reviews

Rua Dias da Rocha 31C, Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

92%

Rating
115 Total Reviews
  • 90%Value For Money
  • 95%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 97%Staff
  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Perfect place to stay in Rio. Very helpful and nice staff. Great atmosphere and location.


91%

Brilliant hostel with the most wonderful, friendly staff!! Perfectly located just a very short walk from the beach. It has a great atmosphere and made a brilliant start to our stay in South America. Wished we could have stayed here longer! The staff were ever so helpful and there was a great variety of activities to do. Muito obrigada por uma semana ótima! As três gringas inglesas, Taeya, Amelia e Emma :)

  • 9th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Better to stay in Ipanema or Leblon if you can, but as a second choice this is a great hostel in Copacabana.


100%

Had an absolutely amazing time here over Christmas and the new year. Great friendly helpful staff, felt very comfortable and welcomed. Only downside: the beds are very loud when people wriggle around !

  • 27th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Great location, right in the heart of Copacabana! Plus the staff is great, always willing to help. Good environment for making new friends from all over the world. I'd definitely stay there again. :)

  • 16th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

By far the best hostel I`ve stayed in Rio (I`ve stayed at 5 different ones in copacabana). Great location, staff and rooms don`t feel as overcrowded as those in others. Bathrooms were kept clean at all times too.

  • 13th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

Way too many people in the hostel, there isn't a place where you can be alone. The beds are awefull, they are from plastic!, which makes it noisy and sweaty


100%

Great hostel! The staff are really friendly and helpful which sets a really warm and fun atmosphere.

  • 10th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Beds make a lot of noise. Staff try making money of everything and likes more to talk in the phone with friends then helping you. The woman who clean makes a hard work all day long, hope they pay her good...


100%

Amazing hostel, ever more amazing stuff and Copacabana. Nuff said!

  • 9th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Chill on the Beach is one of the best hostels I've stayed in-I'm now back for my third stay! What sets it apart is the great staff who are friendly, helpful and always willing to give you great advice about what to do in Rio! The hostel is also secure, clean, is in a great location and they offer a great free breakfast! Highly recommend.


83%

The location is perfect and the staff was great. Breakfast was amazing if you consider that it's just a hostel.The beds were uncomfortable and noisy and the bedroom where I stayed was smelly since the day I arrived till the day I left. Still a great deal as it's a very good price in one of the best areas in Rio. They also offer cheap and tasty caipirinhas!


97%

The breakfast was great, the room was clean and the staff was wonderfull! I would definitely stay here again!


91%

This hostel was amazing because of the staff, the location, the price, and the nice kitchen

  • 29th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Very good atmosphere. Paula, Natalia and Maria are awesome, they make your stay really comfortable. Breakfast is good, and facilities are clean. I really enjoyed my trip to Rio.

  • 29th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • El Salvador
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

I have to say this is the best hostel I have stayed in... staff was great, facilities were great and also the hostel was un a great location where everything is situated


97%

Can't rate the staff here enough. Very friendly, welcoming and always happy to help with anything from how to get to Cristos Redentor to where to find an power-point adapter. They even invite you to the parties they go to. Above and beyond! Only improvement would be if they had cereal at breakfast.


94%

Great hostel close to the copacabana beach! It's safe, clean and has a great atmosphere! Because it's not that big you meet the whole hostel at the bar and later you go out together. Usually all the people go out at 23, so you can decide to party or to sleep. The only thing to complain are the beds and lockers, they are a bit noisy. The big difference in this hostel is the staff, they are very helpful, friendly, party with you...They love their job! The best staff I met on my whole trip! Thanks!


94%

Nice staff, nice building, well cleaned, close to beach and shops, good value for the price!


86%

More or less the same as it's brother walk on the beach, check comments. Bed was more uncomfortable, no stuffing in it and when someone in the 3bed bunkbed moves you move. Interior seemed a bit newer and like other hostel very friendly staff.


« first « Prev 1 2
(36 results)


View all Rio de Janeiro Hostels

Please give us your feedback