Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Chill On The Beach Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 378 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 378 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 7.9
Chill On The Beach Hostel Located at Rua Dias da Rocha 31C, Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro.
Chill On The Beach Hostel
Brazil
Rio de Janeiro Rio de Janeiro 22051-020 Rua Dias da Rocha 31C, Copacabana
89% 378
-22.9728030 -43.1893470
Chill On The Beach Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Aug 2016
10.0

Great location, awesome people, very clean, free caipirinha. What more do you need? Definitely going back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Aug 2016
10.0

Amazing! Great location and even more wonderful staff. They are all very friendly and helpful, from the cleaning lady to the barkeep to the service employees. Everyone is determined to make sure you have a good time and know almost everything about the city. The atmosphere is relaxed and homely. At night you can enjoy yourselves even without going to a bar, by staying in the hostel for some drinks and chatting with the staff or other residents. I'm sure to visit again! Thank you guys :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
7th Aug 2016
9.1

Great location, really nice staff, plug socket each and good set-up to meet lots of people! Only thing missing is filtered water machine!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
25th Jul 2016
8.6

Stayed for 7 nights nice hostel in a great location, 5 min walk to the beach, 2 supermarkets either side of the hostel, restaurants within walking distance. Staff are amazing, very friendly especially Ecuado, very knowledgeable with great recommendations. Brekkie was good rolls, cake, watermelon, juice & coffee. Beds comfy, showers hot, wifi excellent, general maintenance is needed to spruce the place up a bit. Atmosphere was pretty good, not a party hostel which was fine by us. Free Caprihina:]

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jun 2016
9.7

When I arrived in Rio it was Cloudy, when i arrived at chill on the beech my worries disappeared, ive never felt so welcome in a hostel before, whatever you need wether it's to organise a trip, shopping in the city, travel to and from the airport, all you have to do is ask and the staff deliver, The location is fantastic, you have two supermarkets either side, and its a few minutes walk from copaobana beech, so if your looking for the perfect place to stay in Rio look no further, you've found it

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Jun 2016
8.9

I can not say enough about how nice, pleasant, and helpful the staff was at Chill on the Beach. They made you feel like friends which was so inviting. They have a small bar that is open at night with a super friendly bartender that will make you whatever you want. Very safe & it seemed to be right in the middle of Copacabana Beach and Ipanema. They arranged us a taxi from the airport when we arrived (Uber was cheaper though) and had a storage room for our bags while we waited for checkin time.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
4th Jun 2016
7.4

Downstairs lobby was clean and welcoming. Good security and front desk was very helpful with tours around Rio. Dorms were extremely tight and had triple bunks. The beds were squeaky and the a/c was not good in the one room. Very difficult to even change comfortably in the dorms, would not recommend 15 person dorm unless you are adaptable to tight spaces.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jun 2016
9.7

I had 3 nights booked with Chill On the Beach, but ended up staying for over 2 weeks. I cannot say enough good things about the staff at this hostel, they were always super helpful and they loved getting to know everyone staying there. It's definitely a smaller hostel, but it was by far one of my favorite hostels in South America as a single traveler. The common areas are nice and make it really easy to connect with others. It's a very welcoming hostel, so glad I stayed there!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Jun 2016
8.0

Well, this place.. it is what it is. Next to copacabana beach, no fuss and truly "chill", but don't expect much else. I've given a high-ish rating because of the staff. All of them seemed like genuinely nice people. Keep up the good work!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
2nd Jun 2016
10.0

i was debating staying here or Leblon. This hostel was as close to perfect as i could ask. Super friendly staff, amazing location 2 blocks from copacabana, and next to supermarket, bank and in the middle of everything. The activities they recommended were all excellent, and good value for the money. Will come back!! I met several people staying at other hostels while on tours or just out and about and i could tell this was the best option by their feedback. Met some cool travelers too!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.