X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Chill On The Beach Hostel Reviews

Rua Dias da Rocha 31C, Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
58 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 96%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 95%Staff
  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

-Very good location just 5 minutes by feet from Copacabana -friendly, English speaking staff, good barkeeper :-) -Breakfast very good -Tijuca tour recommending! -Loud lockers and bad mattress :-( -all in all a very good hostel!!!

  • 8th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Happy with this hostel: good hot showers, cleaned every day, breakfast of fruit, cake, ham and cheese rolls, lockers in room, had to be buzzef in and out by security camera, you get a free cocktail, staff very friendly, socket and light for each bed, wifi excellent, netflix available to use also! Only negative is rooms quite small for amount of people per room, bunkbeds 3 tiers 🙀 but would recommend still!


74%

Don't. Simply just don't go there.... Got NO sleep for two nights. The beds are so uncomfortable and make the loudest noises ever. Nine of us in a room the size of a shoebox with everyone falling over bags constantly. Unreliable Wifi too. Breakfast starts too late too at 9am and is also badly organised. No towel available. Very friendly and helpful staff, however!


97%

Excellent Hostel, very nice people, Thank you Luisa, Pedro, Natalia, Rodolpho, Dominique for everything!

  • 30th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Really enjoyable place to stay. Luisa and all the other staff go out of their way to make sure everyone is having a good time. Would highly recommend staying in this hostel.


100%

Came here for a few nights and ended up staying two weeks. Truly one of the best hostels I´ve stayed in. The staff are friendly and treat you like family. Home made cakes every morning alongside the typical brazilian breakfast. Your bed gets made every day as your room gets tidied. The receptionists always have a smile on their face. And let´s not forget a mention for the bartender Pedro - truly the best Caipirinha´s in Rio. Honestly I can´t find a bad word to stay about this hostel.

  • 25th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Great little hostel, can't fault it. Very close to the beach, restuarants shops etc, very clean.... The staff are super friendly inculding the adorable cleaning lady and I think are much nicer that walk on the beach..... No need to look anywhere else!


86%

A great place to stay for someone looking to have a good time in Rio and enjoy the night life. Staff was very supportive and friendly. Not much to do at the hostel other than to party though. Rooms are quite cramped but I'm under the impression that this is common for Copacabana hostels. Great location, easy walk to the beach, restaurants, banks, taxis, shops etc.


100%

Was a really nice hostel, one of the best i ever been. Really clean and nice staff. Especially the bartender Pedro is really good. Nice guy and really good caipirinhas, sets a good sphere to have a crazy night in Rio.

  • 19th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Excellent stay all things considered. Well done everyone in this hostel.


83%

This was my favorite of 3 hostels I stayed at during my trip! The staff was very friendly, nice, and helpful! The atmosphere was awesome; very social and allowed me to make some great friends and hangout with many different people doing different things. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone who asked. The only down side is they jacked up the price around the finals of the World Cup, but most other places did as well.


83%

Breakfasts and check in/outs are very friendly. Barman is a lovely guy. Near to beach and buses. But way too expensive at world cup time, some of the reception staff were either asleep/too busy partying. But mostly the bedrooms let the place down. Too many people in small rooms, no curtains so streetlights streaming in, and the mattresses are all plastic so you feel like you're in a mental hospital! Every time someone moves in bed it makes a noise. So don't book if a nights sleep is a priority.


89%

World Cup stay....prices were much higher than they should have been. That said, everything was outstanding save two items, the pungent aroma emmanating from the dormitory (which was downright offensive) and one of the staff's constant singing of 90's american pop hits. Other than that, place was great!!

  • 11th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

a small hostel with enough common area to meet people, their triple bunk back is the most un-comfort bad I ever seen, it made noise when you move your body, hard to sleep well, strong wifi signal is the most helpful facilities


86%

Had a great long stay here! Only complain is that they only gave sheets to use as blankets. Other than that it was fabulous. PRIME location.

  • 6th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Individual wall sockets for each bed are great. Staff are fantastic, wifi for every floor. Our favourite hostel in rio during the World Cup


86%

I stayed 5 nights for the World Cup. It was extremely overpriced, but I guess all places were during this time. Good things: Breakfast is complete, staff is very friendly and helpful, they provided daily trips and parties in Rio, only 2 blocks away from the beach. Bad things: beds are super noisy, every time someone moved at night it sounded like the beds were going to fall.

  • 29th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

This place is pure Happy Hour, during your whole stay! Not only cuz of Pedros tasty Caipirinhas! The staff makes it to a very welcoming place and stay.


83%

The hostel has a brilliant location and the staff was exceptional. I give low marks because the showers did not heat (I stayed 8 days and had one slightly warm shower), and when an electric showerhead failed in glowing colors and exploding steam, it was not replaced or closed after I warned a staff member. The safety hazard was never addressed by the staff. The other low mark is because you do not get fresh sheets if you're on the top bunk as the cleaning lady was old and short. Lots of bedbugs

  • 26th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

I had a very nice experience!

  • 23rd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(34 results)


View all Rio de Janeiro Hostels

Please give us your feedback