Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Chill On The Beach Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 429 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 429 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
15th Feb 2017
8.0

Pros: an affordable hostel, great location with helpful and friendly staff, air con (10pm-10am). Cons: 3 tiered bunk beds, cramped dorms. Bathrooms not cleaned enough, floors would be bogging by evening and the bins would be overflowing with used tissues. Not enough showers/loos (no hot water in one of the showers), communal kitchen is far too small! Pay extra for breakfast. Booked a day tour to Ilha Grande 7am-8pm. They didn't arrive until 8am and we got back at 11pm!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
2nd Feb 2017
8.6

This was a decent stay, the hostel's easy to find and in a good location around shops, atm's and then give good advice on where to go partying. Staff were awesome, spoke perfect English and would happily call companies in Portuguese to get information for you. Wifi went down once but they rectified it asap rather than just leaving it to fix itself like some other hostels do. Showers were a bit colder than I'd like but bathroom was clean, and the kitchen could do with a few more pans.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
28th Dec 2016
8.9

Great hostel!!! I spent New Year's Eve there and met a lot of people from all around the world. Free Caipis for New Years! The staff was very nice and always very helpful. They had great activities to do such as a city tour, a favela tour, a samba tour, match at Maracana. The room is very small for 10-12 beds and was very busy with everyone's luggages. Could have been cleaner. But it was a great stay and would definitely come back !

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Dec 2016
9.7

Awesome reception and staff! Awesome people staying there! Good deals at the bar! Good deals to stay there!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Dec 2016
7.1

Perfect location, Very friendly and helpfull staff. The room was very small and the bathrooms were dirty.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
22nd Nov 2016
7.7

Staff was friendly (except bartender)Showers and toilets need to be better cleaned especially the walls of the showers upstairs

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
29th Oct 2016
9.1

Really nice stuff and amazing location But the rooms are a little bit too small with a lot of beds Per room

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Oct 2016
9.7

To stay there is like to stay on a family place! The hostel staff is veeery harmful and helpful, they helped us a lot! Breakfast is amazing and location 5 min walking to the beach and 10 min to the metro. Good place and good price!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
10th Oct 2016
7.4

I felt very safe during my stay. I also felt that my belongings were secure. The staff was so friendly and helpful and were happy to help with any queries:) However the 3 tier bunks are very difficult to sleep on and also really inconvenient for arranging your belongings as getting up and down feels quite dangerous (particularly while drunk). The plastic mattresses are very uncomfortable to sleep on. The private toilet ceiling needs a revamp as does the communal toilet flush!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • anna_christensen1878
  • Denmark, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
7th Oct 2016
9.4

Very lovely hostel. I moved here because my other hostel was booked out. The staff are super friendly and the breakfast is pretty decent. Really good location too. I would recommend this hostel

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.