X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Chill On The Beach Hostel Reviews

Rua Dias da Rocha 31C, Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
44 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 96%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 95%Staff
  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Was a really nice hostel, one of the best i ever been. Really clean and nice staff. Especially the bartender Pedro is really good. Nice guy and really good caipirinhas, sets a good sphere to have a crazy night in Rio.

  • 19th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

This was my favorite of 3 hostels I stayed at during my trip! The staff was very friendly, nice, and helpful! The atmosphere was awesome; very social and allowed me to make some great friends and hangout with many different people doing different things. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone who asked. The only down side is they jacked up the price around the finals of the World Cup, but most other places did as well.


83%

Breakfasts and check in/outs are very friendly. Barman is a lovely guy. Near to beach and buses. But way too expensive at world cup time, some of the reception staff were either asleep/too busy partying. But mostly the bedrooms let the place down. Too many people in small rooms, no curtains so streetlights streaming in, and the mattresses are all plastic so you feel like you're in a mental hospital! Every time someone moves in bed it makes a noise. So don't book if a nights sleep is a priority.


89%

World Cup stay....prices were much higher than they should have been. That said, everything was outstanding save two items, the pungent aroma emmanating from the dormitory (which was downright offensive) and one of the staff's constant singing of 90's american pop hits. Other than that, place was great!!

  • 11th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Had a great long stay here! Only complain is that they only gave sheets to use as blankets. Other than that it was fabulous. PRIME location.

  • 6th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Individual wall sockets for each bed are great. Staff are fantastic, wifi for every floor. Our favourite hostel in rio during the World Cup


86%

I stayed 5 nights for the World Cup. It was extremely overpriced, but I guess all places were during this time. Good things: Breakfast is complete, staff is very friendly and helpful, they provided daily trips and parties in Rio, only 2 blocks away from the beach. Bad things: beds are super noisy, every time someone moved at night it sounded like the beds were going to fall.

  • 29th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

This place is pure Happy Hour, during your whole stay! Not only cuz of Pedros tasty Caipirinhas! The staff makes it to a very welcoming place and stay.


83%

The hostel has a brilliant location and the staff was exceptional. I give low marks because the showers did not heat (I stayed 8 days and had one slightly warm shower), and when an electric showerhead failed in glowing colors and exploding steam, it was not replaced or closed after I warned a staff member. The safety hazard was never addressed by the staff. The other low mark is because you do not get fresh sheets if you're on the top bunk as the cleaning lady was old and short. Lots of bedbugs

  • 26th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

I had a very nice experience!

  • 23rd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Great location and brilliant staff who go out of their way to help you. I had lost a lot of my clothes in Porto Alegre and they were fantastic in helping me retrieve them. Really social atmosphere, and the bar makes it easy to hang out and meet people. The beds make a racket when anyone moves but you're in Rio so you probably won't be sleeping (sober, at least) too much anyway. Bathrooms are kept clean. A very good place to stay.

  • 23rd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

Could be worst...


86%

Lovely hostel with excellent and friendly staff. Close enough to walk to Copacabana, so location is sound. Breakfast was also one of the nicest I've had in Rio. Cheers


94%

Great hostel with a great location. The bathrooms are spotless which is great compared to other places. The staff is super friendly and helpful. They really make this place. There is a Nice atmosphere and everyone is super friendly. The location is perfect and its easy to get around from there. I would recommend this to anyone.


97%

Great hostel! The girls who work at the hostel are fantastic and go out of their way to ensure you have a great stay in rio! This hostel compared to others in my whole 9 months of travel would be up with the best for kitchen facilities / cleanliness by far! Had such a good experience here, I had to come back for a second visit before we left for home! Highly recommend

  • 9th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

I suggest a promotion to encourage everyone to convene at the same time at the bar, to facilitate introductions (e.g. happy hour specials).

  • 7th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Really liked the cleanliness at the hostel. The staff was very friendly and made us feel "at home". The only negative I can remember was that the taxi they booked for us arrived 40 minutes late. But it was cheaper than getting a taxi on the street, so all in all ok.

  • 25th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

feels like home, the staff makes it a very special place


83%

Staff very friendly - greeted with a smile every morning, even when they were hung-over!


91%

Very good!!

  • 13th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(25 results)


View all Rio de Janeiro Hostels

Please give us your feedback