Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Chilli's Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.7
Good 280 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.3
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 6.9
  • Atmosphere 5.9
  • Cleanliness 5.8
  • Facilities 6.1
BOOK NOW
6.7
Good 280 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.3
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 6.9
  • Atmosphere 5.9
  • Cleanliness 5.8
  • Facilities 6.1
Chilli's Backpackers Located at 69a Mitchell St, , Darwin.
Chilli's Backpackers
Australia
Darwin Northern Territory 0800 69a Mitchell St
67% 280
-12.4630680 130.8396497
Chilli's Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Aug 2016
7.7

Staff are friendly and helpful. I arrived early in the morning from an overnight flight and was allowed to check into a room straight away which was much appreciated. Bathrooms were good and always clean. Lockers, Wifi and air con are all excellent. Good location but you can hear loud music from the bars at night. Four bed rooms are small with only one charging point. Seems like alot of backpackers here are working so it is very cliquey.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Aug 2016
7.1

Friendly helpful staff. Keep fairly clean. Good location and helpful with airport transfers. Mostly working backpackers so can feel a bit cliquey on arrival. Could benefit from a bar and more sockets in rooms

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Aug 2016
4.9

Super loud. No sleep to be found here. If you plan on been on a bender the whole time u won't notice but if u would like a nights sleep seek elsewhere.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Aug 2016
6.6

We stayed at Chilis for 4 nights. When we arrived the staff was not very helpful and was confused. Even though my friend and I booked together and checked in together, they put us in two different rooms because the hostel was full. The rooms were dirty. There was not enough cutlery/knife/pots for everyone to cook/eat with. We liked the deck kitchen, the spa deck and the location of the hostel which is directly on the Main Street and not far from the waterfront and mall.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Aug 2016
5.1

I arrived at 1am and the night manager was very rude and unhelpful. There was a lot of people checking in and she seemed like it was an inconvenience for her to be there! Rooms are very small and beds pretty uncomfortable. However, air con in rooms is fantastic and people I met were lovely. Be aware you must give credit card details when checking in - was not keen on this and will be asking for the information back when I leave as do not feel it is safe

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
7th Aug 2016
6.9

Big Big hostel, a lot of People living there... Location is in the middle of tow which is good.. The room was small, hard to find space to the backpack.. And you had to buy a plate if you wanted something to eat on!!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • martin_kiernan6586
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th Jul 2016
6.0

Wasn't impressed. Rooms are small and noisey. Only two power points in my room with four people..very noisey at night..aircon is terrible, room are too hot at night and then cold in the morning..

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
24th Jul 2016
6.9

The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful and are the best thing about the hostel! The hostel is centrally located and a party hostel, but you can easily get a good nights sleep. A lot of people staying at the hostel are long term guests so some of the rooms are cluttered up, dirty and not welcoming at all. However if you get a room with backpackers not working holiday people, then it's a lot better! I did have to move rooms 3 times before I got an acceptable one!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
16th Jul 2016
6.6

The hostel itself is ok and if you like partyhostels it is the right place. It is on the main party street in Darwin and therefore it is very noisy at night. I was in a 4 dorm and the room was pretty small and we had just 2 power points. I was expecting a bit more for the money I paid. Additional I made a booking for a shuttle service to the airport with the company recommended by the hostel and the shuttle NEVER came! good things: lockers in the rooms and air-condition.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jul 2016
5.4

Missing all the things that make a hostel better than all the others. None of the staff interactions we had were good none of them seemed to enjoy their job. The kitchen facilities were good but really not clean - was a bad smell coming from the fridges. There is only one power point for four people and it sits right where persons head is when they are asleep. The bathrooms were always dirty with no toilet paper. You can only have a hot shower in the morning and not enough hooks in the showers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.