Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Chilli's Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
7.2
Very Good 261 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.8
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 6.6
  • Cleanliness 6.4
  • Facilities 6.4
BOOK NOW
7.2
Very Good 261 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.8
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 6.6
  • Cleanliness 6.4
  • Facilities 6.4
Chilli's Backpackers Located at 69a Mitchell St, , Darwin.
Chilli's Backpackers
Australia
Darwin Northern Territory 0800 69a Mitchell St
72% 261
-12.4630680 130.8396497
Chilli's Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
16th Jul 2016
6.6

The hostel itself is ok and if you like partyhostels it is the right place. It is on the main party street in Darwin and therefore it is very noisy at night. I was in a 4 dorm and the room was pretty small and we had just 2 power points. I was expecting a bit more for the money I paid. Additional I made a booking for a shuttle service to the airport with the company recommended by the hostel and the shuttle NEVER came! good things: lockers in the rooms and air-condition.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • kccfeatherston750
  • New Zealand, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
29th Jun 2016
9.1

Great hostel! Loved our stay here. Location is perfect, right in the middle of town. The hostel staff were fantastic as were the staff on the travel desk - very helpful with bookings. The only downside were the bathrooms; the showers were very poor (no pressure). Otherwise I'd highly recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
25th Jun 2016
7.7

Quite a nice hostel with an airconditioned room, a lot of residents seemed to be living there permanently to work as part of their visa so when I got to my room all their stuff was spread out everywhere (not the hostels fault), lovely to have two bubble tubs on the sun deck. They also have a handy reception downstairs where you can book tours. You do have to pay for a plate and cutlery set though which is annoying - but it is yours to keep! Overall, a lovely hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jun 2016
8.6

Very clean hostel. Best bed sheets of any hostel I've stopped in! Not "cheap" compared to other places in Australia but good value for what is the going rate in Darwin. Would definitely recommend.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Jun 2016
8.9

Big lockers, clean bathrooms, beds didn't squeak, great location, the only downside is that there was only one hook in the shower, no shelf or anything

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd Jun 2016
6.0

Probably the cleanest and quietest hostel in Darwin. Well done.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
3rd Jun 2016
8.3

They are really good about letting you extend if you need to and there is space. The kitchen area is a little messy but that's more because people don't clean up after themselves. The location is fantastic. Right next to a large grocery store.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
20th Apr 2016
6.6

Very much a workers hostel, walk along the ground floor in the evening and the smell from the workers boots is not pleasant. Wifi works well in the rooms, showers are fairly clean however heads to the showers are mostly broken. The two jacuzzis are a nice touch although a little hot.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 30 reviews
8th Apr 2016
8.6

Very nice hostel. Good location and has even a whirlpool. Only back draw is that they ask you to give them your credit card details and sign a wafer stating that they can bill "any damage or loss to the hostel which can be attributed to you". If they would write that if you " steal or willingly damage property of the hostel you have to pay" it would be acceptable but this goes in my opinion too far.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
27th Mar 2016
9.4

Only $55 for a double room, excellent value for Aus. Clean, a pool, TV, fridge and sink and lockers in room. A decent hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.