Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Chilli's Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.7
Good 292 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.5
  • Security 7.0
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 6.6
  • Atmosphere 6.1
  • Cleanliness 5.9
  • Facilities 6.2
BOOK NOW
6.7
Good 292 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.5
  • Security 7.0
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 6.6
  • Atmosphere 6.1
  • Cleanliness 5.9
  • Facilities 6.2
Chilli's Backpackers Located at 69a Mitchell St, , Darwin.
Chilli's Backpackers
Australia
Darwin Northern Territory 0800 69a Mitchell St
67% 292
-12.4630680 130.8396497
Chilli's Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
2nd Dec 2016
7.1

Can't really go wrong with location since Darwin CBD is so small. There is a pub right next door that can be noisy. Half of the staff needs to work on greetings. I would often feel super awkward going up to them to request something. And I had to do that a lot since you need to pick up all cooking ware at the reception before you can cook (dishes sometimes still dirty). And they have limited and broken selection. Makes cooking a hassle. Other than that, the facilities are decent.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • fancysteph
  • Taiwan, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
19th Nov 2016
8.0

It's over all a budget and convenient place for short stay. I arrive and check-in early in the morning, staff are nice and helpful. The room is clean with washing sink. The only thing is the power socket on located on one side of the wall and only easy access to one bed. free wifi, free breakfast (I didn't eat it but it looks basic and ok), liner included. really good location, beside transit center and downtown, easy access to everything. little bit noisy at night but worth the money

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
19th Oct 2016
6.0

Poor kitchen facilities and dirty. Only two plugs in a room for 4 people. Dark rooms. Comfortable bed, though. Friendly staff except at 6am in the morning when i checked in and the receptionist seemed to be disturbed by my early presence there. Check out with amazing staff

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Oct 2016
8.0

Great little hostel on the centre of Darwin. Good value for money. Great Jacuzzi on the roof and laundry in hostel. They need to look at the cutlery and kitchen utensils as there were never enough and weren't helpful in sorting it out when we asked so very hard to actually make a meal. Cleaners walk into room very early and don't knock and are quite rude. Good facilities overall and nice stay

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Oct 2016
6.3

Overall an okay place to stay. Relatively clean although the top floor varied from smelling like fish and gone off cheese. Great location, with easy access to most places. Major drawbacks are; you cannot drink at all on the premises which isn't stated until you get there and all seating areas are closed by 11pm so you cannot sit and talk with other people in the hostel, so you have to go to bed or go out! Also,have to buy cutlery from them but they had no knifes or forks for the week we stayed!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Aug 2016
7.7

Staff are friendly and helpful. I arrived early in the morning from an overnight flight and was allowed to check into a room straight away which was much appreciated. Bathrooms were good and always clean. Lockers, Wifi and air con are all excellent. Good location but you can hear loud music from the bars at night. Four bed rooms are small with only one charging point. Seems like alot of backpackers here are working so it is very cliquey.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
20th Aug 2016
9.4

Great hostel (much better than the one across the road), staff are lovely and super helpful, and the rooms are okay. Beds aren't the best but it's a hostel :) the spa deck is super nice! Security is great here and the location couldn't be any better! Would recommend! Oh and the wifi, AC and breakfast are great too! Only tiny criticism is that it needs cleaning a bit more often the toilets were a bit gross but once again it's a hostel...

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • rbailey86
  • Scotland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th Aug 2016
2.9

I was thoroughly unimpressed with this hostel! It was dirty, the staff were unhelpful and I was frightened to go to sleep at night! I would never stay here again!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Aug 2016
7.1

Friendly helpful staff. Keep fairly clean. Good location and helpful with airport transfers. Mostly working backpackers so can feel a bit cliquey on arrival. Could benefit from a bar and more sockets in rooms

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Aug 2016
4.9

Super loud. No sleep to be found here. If you plan on been on a bender the whole time u won't notice but if u would like a nights sleep seek elsewhere.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.