X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Chillout Hostel Cafe Reviews

Balyoz Sok. No:3 Istiklal Cad., Asmalimescid Mah., Balyoz Sok. No:3 Istiklal Cad., Asmalimescid Mah., Istanbul, Turkey

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
298 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 75%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

My room on the 6th floor was right next to the bathroom, I could hear it being used all through the night. Also the pillow and mattress did not smell very nice. It is priced so reasonably, is so central and such a nice atmosphere in communal areas, it feels picky to complain, but consider earplugs and a sleeping bag!

  • 17th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

I regret that I didn't stay a few days more. In 2-3 days you can visit main places in the city, but next 2-3 days/evenings should be spend in Chillout Hostel. G-R-E-A-T People, great stuff, open-minded atmosphere and this great feeling that you are with the right people in the very right place at the very right time. I am thinking about coming back to Istanbul maily to stay a bit longer in the Hostel :)

  • 16th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

The chilling room is ok but nothing was going on for the 3 days I was there. Pretty boring. And my dorm was on the 6th floors which was quite a hike. Internet was only working downstairs. Despite that, free coffee and tea if available. Free computer to use. I've seen better tho.


89%

Wonderful weekend stay, with charming staff and great guests...

  • 28th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Serbia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

This is simply how an hostel should be

  • 14th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Too shame that you need to get out your room to get internet connection.


80%

All the staff were very helpful and relaxed - a nice atmosphere. I'll certainly consider coming back to the Chillout again.

  • 12th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


63%

Heart of New City. No elevator sometimes no door. Very free-hippie-like atmosphere you might enjoy if you like. 新市街の中心部にあり便利ですが、新市街自体が坂の上なので駅からは歩きます。最上階7階ドミトリーでしたがエレベーターはありません。鍵どころかドアもありませんでした(笑)建物は汚くはありませんが、自由な空気でしたが、半端なヒッピーノリは好みが分かれるかも知れません。安いので、細かい事気にしないのであればおすすめです。

  • 12th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

Its a nice hostel, the beds are good and have very warm blankets. The breakfast is not included but is tasty. Just beware os the stairs that can be exausting for older people.


80%

The location is good, just next to the Istiklal street, vivid and safe even in night. It's also near the Taksim square so we were able to take the airport shuttle in the early morning. The staff is very helpful and there's always tea, coffee and water in the kitchen. Atmosphere nice and relaxing. Unfortunately, our room was not so good. It was on the 6th floor and there was no lift. The room was like covered by some random metal roof. Very cold in the night. Bathroom small, no hot water.

  • 2nd Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Super nice staff and atmosphere, and awesome music in the café/reception all day long! Perfect place for a backpacker (who doesn't mind walking up the stairs for some extra exercise.) Free çay is always a plus! After unfortunately only one night we just wanted to stay for more time there. Great location as well

  • 15th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

The location is excellent, the staff is great, it is not that expensive and the atmosphere in the whole hostel is awesome! You will probably meet some of the most interesting people ever and will definitely have a good time! We randomly chose this hostel and we did not regret it at all! Seriously, all the best, and I know that I will always come back to this hostel if my path takes me back to Istanbul :)

  • 10th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Serbia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Nothing really bad to say, location is fantastic for everything in the Taksim area, staff are friendly and the price is good. Book it if thats the area of Istanbul you plan to spend the most time in.


94%

great place to stay in Istanbul. fantastic location, loads of great places to eat and shop and close to beautiful old Istanbul and only 5 mins from the amazing Bosphorous! clean and boho vibe, good music and good tea and coffee facilities for free! rooms clean and comfy and nice hot showers. delicious Turkish breakfasts served in the morning at a cheap price :) staff really friendly and happy to give advice on places to go etc

  • 24th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Chill Out is a place that you not just stay, even live in. It 's a part of life in Istanbul. So, if you hadnt checked here yet, you'd have missed a part of yourself......

  • 18th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

Not really what the name suggested. Squeaking beds, a construction site next to it (not their fault but anyway) loud music in the chillout area. The staff is quite nice though and gave advice. My bed was in the 6th floor so if you have big luggage maybe not the best place. Location is near Istlikal so for everyone with earplugs no probs to stay there.


89%

As 3 young females travelling to Istanbul for the first time, the Chill Out hostel was perfect. We got made to feel very welcome and safe in the relaxed atmosphere. I will definitely aim to go back to visit the beautiful Istanbul and amazing chill out hostel. Met some great people. Positive vibes, thank you :)




View all Istanbul Hostels

Please give us your feedback