X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Chillout Lya Hostel Bar Reviews

Toprak Lule sokak No:1, Beyoglu Istanbul, Istanbul, Turkey

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
102 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 67%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

The staff was very friendly and helpful when we needed anything. They had a nice kitchen where you can cook, a bar downstairs and served a great breakfast. We stayed two nights in a private room with a hot shower. There was also a computer if you needed internet. Our only complaint was the noise from the club at night but we got used to it the second night.


80%

Very friendly Staff! The hostel is placed in the middle of colourful Nightlife, for good sleep i recommend Earplugs. Big tasty breakfast, Cay whenever you want, chillout lounge.. Only bad thing: the bedclothes smelled really bad, not washed or whatever. everything else was fine.

  • 21st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Vantages: Very centric place between Taksim and Galata. Comfortable beds and nice staff. We booked a 4 beds room, and they gave us a 8 beds room only for us. Very good relation price-quality. Have a comfortable bar in the ground floor. They serve a good typical turkish breackfast. Disadvantages: It is located in a noisy area. It's an old building so it has no elevator like the other buildings in the area. Does not have a living room, just a bar (but we had no problem to wait without ordering)

  • 9th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Good location, friendly staff and relaxed atmosphere :)

  • 20th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Romania
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

people friendly and location is the best for night life.

  • 14th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
60%

If you are in Istanbul for partying this is your place. It's at the heart of the fun near taksim. But if you wish to rest a little skip it there is so much noise around from the clubs and in the early morning from the cleanings services . I had a room for my own and the bed only had one cover and difficult to go down to the reception to get another since you must step out of the building and it was cold. The shower was on too of the toilet so not very good for showers and toilet always wet.


69%

If you look for a cheapest option in a expensive city, it could be a good option - but don't complain if your linen smells as it wasn't changed for a long time or if you find lots of hair in your private bathroom. The hostel is close to many night clubs, it means: noisy at night. They have also a poor breakfast which you can have in uncomfortable bar tables.


77%

Not a fan of dark-coloured bedding sheets, otherwise a good overall experience, appreciated the amazing buffet breakfast (which even featured potatoes) and the water dispenser outside the room door (even if the dispenser literally had to be pressured to work). Staff were all helpful.


91%

After a disappointing experience at a hostel near the blue mosque, chillout was a breath of fresh air. The bed was comfortable, the room small but cozy, the location minutes away from the main shopping and bar district and the staff friendly and accommodating. The bar was a great place to hang out. Do note that it is in the main night life area which is loud, but the windows are thick and aircon helped compensate for having to keep them shut.


83%

Very friendly staff and great location!

  • 23rd Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Very close to Taksim and Istiklal street, and very easy to get to. The hostel is quiet and the rooms are clean, but the shared restrooms are not ventilated and the air is stale. My entire room had only one power plug, so one could either charge the electric appliances or have the fan working, but not both. The shared kitchen was rather clean. Overall a pleasant if sweltering experience.


83%

It was a great spot with wonderful people running it. We were comfortable most of the time and the manager was even willing to negotiate a slightly lower price when things got a bit tight for us. We did end up with a decent amount of itchy bites, however. We saw no bugs, save for the occasional ant or fruit fly, so we could have been bitten outside of the hostel.

  • 17th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

This hostel is in a fantastic location. We read comments about a noisy club over the road, and we didn't notice this at all when we there (July 2013). We had a bit of a language barrier with staff - but at the end of the day we're in Turkey. The bar downstairs is great, with helpful tips on dinner, drinking etc, Breakfast is the traditional Turkish style, which is very nicely prepared each morning. Very easy to get to this hostel from the Bus Depot - take the 830 bus to Taksim for 3TL each.


86%

Thank you for everything and i hope to return of Istanbul. Thank you so much


97%

I enjoyed everything except the climb up four flights of steep stairs!


37%

Worst hotel I've every stayed at in my 41 years of life. Filthy. Wood walls with no paint. Corners of room uncleaned. Sheets questionable cleanliness. Drains in shower down work, water spills out into staircase. Staff "kind" but not really friendly. No open space for guests to relax in, other than the bar downstairs filled with smoke. They advertize "common room" but it's really not true. This does not have any "hostel feel" where you meet nice people and relax and party with them.


77%

Very nice staff, Room was good but we stayed 1 week and didnt get any clean towels... the aeria is not too safe for woman but its very close to istiklal! i would come back for sure!

  • 12th Oct 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

The room and bathroom were very clean but the linen was quite dirty.


100%

Thank you for all

  • 29th Aug 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

This is a great hostel for those who want a relaxing place to stay whilst still being in the pulsing heart of Istanbul. The rooms vary, particularly on the top two floors rooms have air conditioning and certain have balcony access. The hostel common area is the bar downstairs (liveliest on the weekends) with cheap drinks for those on a budget. The staff are friendly, always willing to help, and are locals who can give you great tips on Istanbul life.


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(52 results)


View all Istanbul Hostels

Please give us your feedback