X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Chinatown Travelers Home Reviews

31 Grange Avenue, Toronto, Canada

Reviews & Ratings Explained

51%

Rating
304 Total Reviews
  • 45%Value For Money
  • 55%Security
  • 74%Location
  • 47%Staff
  • 40%Atmosphere
  • 50%Cleanliness
  • 43%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

34%

Dirty small room with no window.


43%

This place is extremely over priced for what it offers. The single rooms are extremely small (about 8ft X 8ft), and the kitchen facilities are NIL! The refrigerator froze all my food, and there are NO utensils or anything to cook food… apparently a lot of the people who stay there tend to steal the utensils so the owner no longer provides it for people who are actually there to use it as a guesthouse/hostel. Rooms in the basement are really cold, and the internet is terrible down there.

  • 5th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


51%

Die Zimmer sind ansich echt gut ausgesattet, allerdings die Küche nicht. Wenn man wirklich Kochen will muss man sehr viel Improviesieren. Die Atmosphäre ist sehr schlecht da is keinen Gemeinschaftsraum oder so etwas gibt also ist es eher schwer leute zu treffen udn kennen zu lernen. Ansonsten Recht teuer aber aucht direkt im Zentrum.


51%

They moved us to another building in a strange street which was not in the contract. The original one was full.

  • 23rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


37%

service wasn't friendly, quality of the hostel was poor and you couldn't use your shoes in the building


20%

El alojamiento fue un desastre, de hecho, no quisimos quedar a dormir allí, preferimos dormir en la calle. El olor era horrible, no se podia respirar. Sólo pagamos para dejar el equipaje e irlo a buscar el dia siguiente porque allí con ese olor a pies no se podia dormir. Paredes manchadas, cosas podridas en la nevera...Sucio, desagradable, personal inexistente... un desastre!

  • 9th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


51%

It's the dirtiest hostel I have ever been to. I had a single room. The room was not cleaned. Old food was inside when I arrived, everywhere hairs and the shower... Uff! Also they have rooms without windows downstairs. Please don't go there.

  • 3rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


54%

Nous avions réservé 2 chambres privatives avec salle de bain, nous avons eu un dortoir de 6 avec salle de bain partagée. La chambre n'était pas faite à notre arrivée. Au moment du paiement, tout n'était pas clair, ils nous ont fait payer plus mais ils nous ont remboursé la différence 2 jours après. La personne qui nous a accueillit n'était pas la responsable, donc ne pouvait prendre de décision.

  • 2nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • All Female Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


40%

um spätestens 14.00 Uhr sollten wir im Hostel sein - waren wir auch. Das Zimmer war dann gegen 16.00 Uhr endlich frei zum Bezug. Im Zimmer ein kleines Doppelbett und eine Mülltüte, das war´s. Keine Klimaanlage, ein kleines Fenster unter der Decke! Direkt vor der Tür zum Balkon, der uns als gefährlich genannt wurde, stand das Bett! Das Badezimmer war alles andere als sauber. Die Toilette verstopft. Toilettenpapier war auch nicht in Reichweite. Personal war keines vor Ort.

  • 29th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


20%

My friend and I booked this place several days in advanced and when we arrived at 10pm we had no room for us, no compensation, no nothing. We dont recommand this place at all.

  • 27th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

Really nice hostel: super clean, well located, helpful staff... everything super cool! We had one bad experience: the Niagara falls tour. It took us to places completely completely pointless -wine tasting, a fake souvenir town, etc -we took almost 5hours to reach the falls and once we were there we only had 1.5h to have a look, run from place to place to do the different activities offered -boat trip, walk behind the falls- and go back to the bus. A whole day for just 1,5h at the falls.

  • 26th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


23%

Service d'accueil honteux, alors que nous avions réservé une chambre avec salle de bain privé, nous nous sommes retrouvé dans une chambre minuscule ou se trouver une porte d'issue de secours et sans salle de bain. L'état de celles ci (les communes) sont catastrophique, aucune hygiène, et je ne parle pas de l'état de la "cuisine" et des frigos... Pire expérience en auberge de jeunesse, et pourtant j'en ai fait beaucoup!


69%

The washrooms were dirty.

  • 25th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


37%

Kitchen had a thick layer of grease on everything. Tried to give us a lower quality room than we booked (twice). Made us wait extra because the room we booked wasn't ready but didn't even bother to clean the bathroom. Why book a private bathroom if it's going to be filthy anyway? We still had to pay for two beds even though it was one double bed but they couldn't be bothered to give a room key to the secod person. Mould in fridge. Smelled strongly of moth balls.




View all Toronto Hostels

Please give us your feedback