Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Chinese Box Courtyard Hostel

  • NO.52 Xi Si Bei 2 Tiao Hutong, Xicheng District, Beijing, China

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.4
Superb 1,238 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.5
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.2
BOOK NOW
9.4
Superb 1,238 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.5
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.2
Chinese Box Courtyard Hostel Located at NO.52 Xi Si Bei 2 Tiao Hutong, Xicheng District, Beijing.
Chinese Box Courtyard Hostel
China
Beijing 100034 NO.52 Xi Si Bei 2 Tiao Hutong, Xicheng District
94% 1238
39.9262099 116.3684427
Chinese Box Courtyard Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Nov 2016
10.0

This hostel is perfect. The location is quiet, there are still a lot of things around and it's very close to a metro, which is very cheap and will take you anywhere. The hostel staff are some of the nicest that I've met, and the facilities... well there's nothing that this hostel doesn't have, and do well with. Always clean, and always happy =] I want to come back already.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Japan, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Nov 2016
9.7

This place has a nice common room and I met really cool people there. I even had a great night out with them. The staffs were really kind and helpful too. The hostel is about ten minutes walk from the closest subway station and there are some convenience stores and shops on the way. The bed and toilet were clean, but the shower room could be cleaner. You should just book this one and you won't regret it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Nov 2016
9.4

Excellent hostel and staff. Quiet vibe (maybe because of the off season) but very nice. Staff members were extremely helpful, organised medicine when I was sick, gave me lots of advice and the facilities were very clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
24th Oct 2016
6.3

Great place if you want quiet place. Traditional Hutong where everyday life happens. Found it lacking in atmosphere. No fun. Booked 3 person room and it had 1 bed. Bit strange but we managed. Breakfast menu very limited and not very tasty. Good laundry service. Had nice time but would not go back.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
22nd Oct 2016
9.4

Hospitality and location. Whether you are looking for directions, conversation or tea, the staff will go out of their way. I love this location which is local, social, and convenient. It's a great neighborhood with so much character. I can't wait for my next visit to Beijing and Chinese Box!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Oct 2016
10.0

I had a very happy relaxed stay in Chinese Box Courtyard Beijing China!! Leah & housekeeping staff were caring, & gave excellent service, on customer care!! Friday night was a free dumpling night, teaching how to make them, they were absolutely delicious the best I have ever eaten! love you Leah & staff & Cy who went shopping with me! love Shirley xx

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Oct 2016
8.9

Really lovely hostel with friendly and informative staff. Extremely clean and comfortable beds, it was so nice lying in the bunk listening to the rain. The whole hostel is really clean and well organised to be honest. It's really close to Xisi station. The only thing is I don't think the area is particularly exciting, but it's easy to just cab around in Beijing anyway. Had a great stay here.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Oct 2016
10.0

Super hostel in an authentic Hutong neighbourhood. Extremely nice and helpful staff! Also a great place to meet new friends. Would recommend staying here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Oct 2016
9.1

Stayed there for 3 nights. We arrived during the night and everything was fine! The rooms are quite big, the toilets and washing room could be cleaner. Otherwise the staff is really freundy and helpful. It has got a computer with vpn and the location in one of the hutong areas is really nice! The breakfast is good but maybe a bit too less. But the atmosphere in the hostel was really nice! Would definitely recommend this hostel to other travelers!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
28th Sep 2016
9.7

Outstanding hostel. Made Beijing so much fun. Really has a family vibe and is a cool experience being in a courtyard off a datong. Can't say enough good thimgs about the staff too. Great english, helped plan trips and gave great directions and free tea ceremonies. Only improvement would be better directions to find it. Walking down a dark alley to find a hostel was scary untill we realized it is a really neighborhood type feel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.