Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Chinese Box Courtyard Hostel

  • NO.52 Xi Si Bei 2 Tiao Hutong, Xicheng District, Beijing, China

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 1284 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 1284 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
10th Apr 2017
10.0

Chinese Box hostel is conveniently located minutes away from subway and bus stops, nestled in the alleys/hutongs. The staff is very helpful, and genuinely good people. The beds are comfortable, and the entire hostel is clean. Come here to relax, meet people, and enjoy beijing!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
7th Apr 2017
9.1

The road to the hostel is understated but as soon as the doors are opened it is like a little haven. Staff are really lovely and helpful, having a dumpling party really contributed to a brilliant social atmosphere. Shower facilities are top notch and the hostel is around the corner from an extremely easy subway. Would definitely stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
6th Apr 2017
9.1

Chilled out hostel in bustling Beijing, near enough to make a long walk to the Forbidden City or within about 700 meters to a subway station. Local neighborhood isn't very interesting for a tourist but good to see the real life side of Beijing. Since I was on limited time, I might go for a hostel right in the heart of the hutongs next time but if you've been travelling for awhile this is would be a welcome change of pace.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
31st Mar 2017
9.7

Really nice hostel - comfy beds, helpful and friendly staff, nice chilled vibe (not a party hostel) and great location to see the sights - with their free bikes coming in very handy. Would recommend and stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
26th Mar 2017
10.0

We loved staying here, we wouldve stayed longer if we didnt have a flight home booked. This place is so adorable, very clean, and has amazing people working there! There is delicous hot pot close by, steamed buns, and an amazing french bakery! Just ask the staff, they will show you. The beds are very comfy, lots of blankets when its cold out, and Im sure it would be even lovlier in the summer. Thank you so much for having us! We hope to come back one day :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Mar 2017
10.0

Max is amazing !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Mar 2017
10.0

Really great place. Good vibe, not too intense but easy to meet people. Staff were lovely.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Mar 2017
8.6

Great place to stay in Beijing. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, the atmosphere was more relaxed and calm. The hostel is located in a Hutong - which was cool, and about 10 mins from the nearest subway station and as the subway system is fantastic in Beijing, it was quite easy to get around to the tourist bits. The hostel offered everything I needed, but the food maybe was a tiny but expensive, which I considered was a good persuasion to go out for food.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Mar 2017
8.3

Nice place, staff very friendly and helpful. The hike to Jinshanling part of the Great Wall was amazing! A must-do! Close to subway station which is conveniant. Beds are kind of hard but does the job, bathrooms outside the rooms, not cool when it is cold outside! Showers are good. Also, located in a neighborhood where they don't speak english, at all. Fun experience when going to restaurant. Ask the reception to write you a note in chinese if you have specific demands!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Mar 2017
9.4

气氛非常好,所有的工作人员都好可爱!下次开北京只住这家了!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.