Hostelworld.com

Chinese Box Courtyard Hostel

  • NO.52 Xi Si Bei 2 Tiao Hutong, Xicheng District, Beijing, China
Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 1264 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 1264 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
26th Jan 2017
10.0

Really enjoyed my stay here and highly recommend it! Great location (same subway line as Summer Palace and quick ride from Tianmen Square/Foribidden City). Atmosphere was good and they served food breakfast/lunch and dinner which was super convenient. Thanks again :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Jan 2017
8.0

Nice place to stay. not far (chinese proportion) of 2 subway stations. Helpful staff. Hot showers and clean showers and dorm. Heater is provided in the dormitories.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Japan, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
27th Dec 2016
6.6

Not good for cold winter. As the name of the place shows, all rooms are facing to a courtyard. In order to go to a toilet, shower, communal area, you need to go through the courtyard = outside. It was very cold to do everything. The hot shower barely existed. They said if too much hot water was used, it took 30 mins to get hot water back. After over night, the hot water temperature was still 26 degree. The dorm was bare basic. The staff was friendly and helpful though.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • jacih095299
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Dec 2016
10.0

Staff was friendly and helpful. Situated very close to subway station. Facilities were very clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
25th Dec 2016
9.4

As the hostel is located within the Hutong with no specific landmark to identify, most taxi drivers can't locate the place, so be on the look out for road signages. The staff were helpful and kind in meeting our needs. Overall, the hostel was clean and comfortable, except for the hot showers, doesn't seem to be sufficiently hot for winter.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Greece, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Dec 2016
9.1

Overall, we had a very pleasant stay in the hostel. The staff and owner were very friendly and always ready to help us with anything. Definately do the dumplings thing and the tea ceremony! The only problem was that we didn't have enough hot water for the first three days but it was fixed in the end. The common areas were very cozy and clean, but the dorms that we were staying at were never cleaned during our 2 weeks stay. Tip: food in the hostel is super expensive, go eat at the local markets!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
24th Dec 2016
7.1

A really nice place with helpful staff. Great breakfast included for double rooms. Let down by shockingly slow wifi and very unreliable hot water. In 4 days we only had hot water for a shower twice, which isn't ideal in winter.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
22nd Dec 2016
9.1

Loved this little cute hostel. The staff were incredibly helpful!! We arrived in the very early morning of 4am, they still woke up, let us in, allowed us to shower and then let us sleep on their couches in the common area until we could check in. We also left a scarf there, we emailed them and they replied straight away saying they have it and their happy to post it to our next destination for us! It's not a huge party hostel, pretty quite but we still met others to have a card and beer night !

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Dec 2016
10.0

Stayed here everytime I stay in Beijing. Quiet location in a good part of town, staf'll help with anything, etc. I highly recommend the Jinshan Ling trip.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Dec 2016
9.7

I strongly recommend this hostel for the amazing service and atmosphere! About a month before the check-in, the staff sends an email with detailed directions and types of services available. The staff booked the Great Wall tour and train tickets for me. I bonded with people who went on the Great Wall tour with me. Good English of the staff is a huge plus. As for the location, there is a subway station 15 minute walking distance. Very clean rooms. You will love your stay here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.