Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Chinese Box Courtyard Hostel

  • NO.52 Xi Si Bei 2 Tiao Hutong, Xicheng District, Beijing, China

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 1266 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 1266 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • France, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
26th Feb 2017
9.7

We had a great stay at Chinese box Hostel! The atmosphere was so nice after a long day around the city of Beijing, very cosy and peaceful, with a lovely common room with instruments you can play. The staff was very helpful, and pleasant :) The rooms and bed were very clean, and the showers were perfectly hot ( they must have fixed something since the last guests posted comments about cold showers ). Thanks for the stay!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
26th Jan 2017
10.0

Really enjoyed my stay here and highly recommend it! Great location (same subway line as Summer Palace and quick ride from Tianmen Square/Foribidden City). Atmosphere was good and they served food breakfast/lunch and dinner which was super convenient. Thanks again :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Jan 2017
8.0

Nice place to stay. not far (chinese proportion) of 2 subway stations. Helpful staff. Hot showers and clean showers and dorm. Heater is provided in the dormitories.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
31st Dec 2016
8.0

Conveniently located near the metro. Helpful staff. Quiet neighborhood. Close to a few restaurants and stores.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Japan, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
27th Dec 2016
6.6

Not good for cold winter. As the name of the place shows, all rooms are facing to a courtyard. In order to go to a toilet, shower, communal area, you need to go through the courtyard = outside. It was very cold to do everything. The hot shower barely existed. They said if too much hot water was used, it took 30 mins to get hot water back. After over night, the hot water temperature was still 26 degree. The dorm was bare basic. The staff was friendly and helpful though.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • jacih095299
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Dec 2016
10.0

Staff was friendly and helpful. Situated very close to subway station. Facilities were very clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
25th Dec 2016
9.4

As the hostel is located within the Hutong with no specific landmark to identify, most taxi drivers can't locate the place, so be on the look out for road signages. The staff were helpful and kind in meeting our needs. Overall, the hostel was clean and comfortable, except for the hot showers, doesn't seem to be sufficiently hot for winter.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Greece, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Dec 2016
9.1

Overall, we had a very pleasant stay in the hostel. The staff and owner were very friendly and always ready to help us with anything. Definately do the dumplings thing and the tea ceremony! The only problem was that we didn't have enough hot water for the first three days but it was fixed in the end. The common areas were very cozy and clean, but the dorms that we were staying at were never cleaned during our 2 weeks stay. Tip: food in the hostel is super expensive, go eat at the local markets!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
24th Dec 2016
7.1

A really nice place with helpful staff. Great breakfast included for double rooms. Let down by shockingly slow wifi and very unreliable hot water. In 4 days we only had hot water for a shower twice, which isn't ideal in winter.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
22nd Dec 2016
9.1

Loved this little cute hostel. The staff were incredibly helpful!! We arrived in the very early morning of 4am, they still woke up, let us in, allowed us to shower and then let us sleep on their couches in the common area until we could check in. We also left a scarf there, we emailed them and they replied straight away saying they have it and their happy to post it to our next destination for us! It's not a huge party hostel, pretty quite but we still met others to have a card and beer night !

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.