Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Choice Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.2
Very Good 182 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.8
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 6.2
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 6.2
BOOK NOW
7.2
Very Good 182 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.8
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 6.2
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 6.2
Choice Backpackers Located at 10 Wellesley St East, , Auckland.
Choice Backpackers
New Zealand
Auckland 1010 10 Wellesley St East
72% 182
-36.8509514 174.7650521
Choice Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd May 2016
9.1

Close to the city, simple, clean, and has everything you need. Perfect for our short stay in Auckland and was close to all the destination we wanted to see. Comfy bed was a plus.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Apr 2016
8.3

Great location, good vibe :) typical backpacker environment. Great valie

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Mar 2016
9.4

Nice place. Receptionists were helpful. Nice atmosphere, good facilities. The internet doesn't work quite well though. You have to pay for it, and even there it's not good quality connection. All the rest was ok.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • claudia_wollmann1821
  • Germany, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 31 reviews
11th Mar 2016
8.3

Very central hostel, close to everything, nice helpful staff. Kitchen is way too small for a place this big. There is aircon but its mostly too cold, so make sure you bring an extra sweater. Mattresses in the entire place gotten exchanged recently which was great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Mar 2016
8.0

The hostel is nice. We had a private room and it was prettier than what we were expecting. Quite spacious with a very big window with a nice view over the city, and a desk. Toilet were clean and kept that way regularly. The only bad point is the kitchen.Small, without windows, always crowded, old and dirty. The staff does some efforts to keep it clean but on the other side people don't.Shame. Although there is plenty of kitchen items.Internet is not free.$1h,$5 day,$19week Overall a good stay.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • sheamyb9981
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Mar 2016
4.6

Industrial, overcrowded and kitcken lacked facilities... Not even cups.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
5th Mar 2016
10.0

I like it I stayed 3 nights , the place is in a good central location , the staff is very friendly I stayed on a 8 th floor everyone was very friendly and helpful if I had any questions , I have been in 50 country around a world , when I come back here I will stay again here , Aloha

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
4th Mar 2016
4.6

I saw the bad reviews for this place and thought. It can't be that bad. But it was. The problem is the place is really run down, the roofs in the rooms are covered in horrible black mould, the kitchen is not great either. The place is full of people who love there so there's no social backpacker aspect to it. I left early because i was so bored and couldn't get to sleep in the noisy smelly damp room. Apparently I had one of the best rooms too...

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
2nd Mar 2016
2.9

This hostel was the most disgusting place I have ever stayed in. The walls were cracked and paper thin so that we could here the neighbors perfectly clear. There was mold spores on the air vent and there was mold all over our bathroom. After talking to the manager and getting half of our money back we are still not satisfied. He kept making up excuses for why the mold hasn't been dealt with. Worst experience in New Zealand.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.