X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Chora Guesthouse Reviews

Akbiyik Cad., Terbiyik Sokak No. 22 Sultanahmet, Istanbul, Turkey

Reviews & Ratings Explained

94%

Rating
30 Total Reviews
  • 100%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 100%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 100%Atmosphere
  • 100%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Chora Hostel was very nice hostel. Especially,breakfast and staff, Seaview from the window. But location was a bit far from tram station.


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
74%

The rooms are overfilled. Some are too for the number of beds installed others have too many "cushions" which whilst typically Turkish reduce space for opening rucksacks and cases


89%

We spent two weeks at Chora Guest House during our stay in Turkey. The location is perfect, as it is a few minutes away from all the major sights in the old Istanbul. The street above us has lots of restaurants, little craft shops and markets. Metin Miran himself has a market downstairs which is very useful. The rooms are excellent. They're bright, spacious and cozy. Metin Miran was a very good host for us, very helpful indeed.

  • 6th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

The single room with ensuite barely fits a bed and has no ensuite. Bathroom is across the corridor. Staff speak poor English


97%

Great sleep, great breakfast, great view!


100%

This is undoubtedly the best place we could find to stay in Sultanahme for such a good price too. The place has a great vibe, is secure, and the guy that runs it is more than accommodating. We had an amazing week in Istanbul and staying here was a definit highlight of the couple of days we spent in Sultanahmet. Thank you.

  • 21st Mar 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


43%

Forfærdeligt sted med uforskammet personale.Afhentning i lufthavn efter at ventet i 45 min. og efter at have rykket 3 gange. Singleroom som var 1.10 x 2.50 m. Uden vindue, og med råddent lugtende wc på gangen. Airkondition der dryppede vand ned i ens hoved ved søvn, og efter at have vendt mig om i sengen, dryppede der vand ned på sengegærdet og der lå store pytter på gulvet om morgenen. Der er ingen tagtaresse!Der er en gang med vinduer der kan åbnes.Rengøring foregik kl.17-18.Hæsligt sted.

  • 24th Aug 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


34%

Un vero disastro! La struttura sul sito presentava dei prezzi che poi (dopo l'acquisto) mi hanno aumentato! Non è stato tenuto conto dell'acconto lasciato al momento della prenotazione. La descrizione non corrispondeva per niente alla realtà!Bagno non riscaldato e acqua calda solo nelle docce (e bisogna aspettare!)

  • 31st Dec 2011
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

Nice guesthouse. Location is really excellent. Beautiful view from the kitchen. We had a standart double room, very clean (cleaning is everyday) and hot the wintertime becouse of air condition, but inside the bathroom and kitchen was a littlebit cold. The owner is very friendly and helpful.


93%

Really nice hostel. Very clean, good and rich breakfast with a beautiful view on bosphoro. the owner is very friendly and helpful. the owner has a market just below the hostel so you can buy every thing you need.the location is good, in the main turistic and storic centre, just near the blue mosque and aya sophia. we booked a double room with private bathroom. the room was nice and the staff cleaned it every day. only the bathroom was a bit small, but i would definitely recommend this hostel.

  • 2nd Oct 2011
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Very nice Guesthouse!! You dont´t think so when you stay in front of the hostel, but if you go in you´ll see it´s kind of a hidden treasure^^

  • 18th Aug 2011
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


53%

Very dissappointing guesthouse! Location is good, well-situated, but the owner is not helpful at all! No advice about the city, the good places and so on! NOTHING!! He told us that it was possible to pay in euros! That's what we did but we realised that he used an absolutely wrong rate (Lira/euro)! We told him that it wasn't fair: he got completely mad and didn't give us the money back! Poor guy! That was the only one moment of the w-e that he decided to open his mouth!!


87%

very nice staff with great rooms and a great breakfast. Everything youcolug exepect and more for the cost of a night. The location is great and it is a calm residence.

  • 3rd Jul 2011
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


93%

We had a very enjoyable stay. The guesthouse was good value +perfect for our needs. The rooms were lovely and clean, breakfast was fantastic with views to the asian shores and princes islands. We also sat on the terrace playing backgammon and drinking turkish tea when in need of a rest and relax. Location was great - quiet at night but round the corners from main street with restaurants and the blue mosque and aya sofia. Owner very friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend and stay again!

  • 3rd Jun 2011
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

I travel a lot and usually don't comment my stay. But, this GUESThouse has something different. You feel that they are there to make you happy. Lovely practical and stylishly rooms are REALLY clean and cosy; Sea view is nice from the terrace. We absolutely feel like Home! Friendly and Smiling manager is open eyed and he really care about Us :-) Plus, it's a Very good value for money. It's great to walk in the surrounding area. I recommend this GH to anyone looking for a great experience! JFA


83%

It was a nice and cozy Guesthouse and very well located. The owner was very friendly! The only thing which wasn't that nice was the smell in the house. (Cat urine)


97%

Miran the caretaker is very friendly and available for assistance. The location is close to the main attraction in Sultanahmet area. A convenience store is just at the doorstep for most everything you need in your stay including souvenirs etc.


83%

We had a very good three nights in Chora Guesthouse. Breakfast with dolphin view (!). Whithin walking distance of nearly everything. Quit place. Good price-quality.


100%

Chora Guesthouse is a nice calm place to stay in Istanbul. It is only some 2-3 minutes of walking from StSophia and Topkapi. The guesthouse is situated in a very quiet sokak behind a busy street filled with hostels and restaurants. On the ground floor there is a shop with common food, drinks and souvenirs. Both the guesthouse and the shop are run by a very nice and friendly Miran. The breakfast is included and is served at the upper floor which has a nice view. A place to stay.


87%

My friend and I stayed here over Easter and even though Istanbul was packed with people this place was very quiet and only 5 mins walk to the main attractions.




View all Istanbul Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback