Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Ciao Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 1112 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 1112 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Sep 2017
7.4

Lovely hostel for backpackers. Has a kitchen to cook things, saving you money in the expensive city restaurants! 2 showers which is ok and nice 'balcony'! Would come back again!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • bradleymackenzie1998
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 24 reviews
13th Sep 2017
6.0

More of a hotel than a hostel. This place has the atmosphere of a hospital waiting room, definitely not the place if you're looking for fun. Rooms and bathrooms were really clean and the beds were really comfortable. 2 of the 4 powerpoints of the beds didnt work. Good kitchen perfect for expensive florence. Staff were awful, rude and got super angry because i was in the wrong bed. Checkout was at 11 but the cleaner came into our room and started vacuuming at 9, and made me leave the hostel at 10

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Sep 2017
10.0

Great atmosphere. Super helping staff. The two ladies that work the front desk were so sweet and helpful. They truly make you feel at home. The location in prefect and very close to all the major attractions of Florence. The only minor problem I had was with the wifi network. It was very weak.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Sep 2017
8.6

Sort of inbetween a hostel and a hotel. We stayed in a four bed dorm that was clean and pleasant, and clean towels were provided. There are no lockers in the room however in such a small room and with locks on the doors to each floor as well as each room this was not such a big deal. The kitchen and bathrooms are nice enough though only two bathrooms on each floor meant that people were often waiting around for a bathroom to become free. The location is excellent, very near train station.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
7th Sep 2017
7.7

While this is an excellent hostel for one night, it's terrible for the solo traveller as there is no atmosphere whatsoever. Security could be improved with the addition of lockers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
28th Aug 2017
6.3

I stayed in a different b&b first and then needed to add extra nights. Ciao was fine for this purpose but I wouldn't go back. The bathrooms got muddy easily. There was no security in the room, no lockers. My roommates left the door open multiple times. There was no atmosphere. It has a very clinical feeling. If it is your first time in Florence I would pick somewhere near Santo Spirito or Santa Croce if you can.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
24th Aug 2017
7.7

Good place, no security locker but locks on both the main door, the door leading to the hall & the bedroom. Somehow has a mosquito issue tho. Also, a non-resident was able to sneak in to charge his phone & shower. The A/C in the rooms worked well but the wifi was down for around 24 hours.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Aug 2017
8.3

Was very hope like, worth every cent

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Aug 2017
6.6

Ciao hostel was about a 15-20 minute walk from many of the main attractions in Florence. The reception was only open from 9am-9pm and the people at reception weren't always the friendliest. There weren't any lockers in the rooms which made me a little uneasy leaving my stuff out all day, though each floor could only be opened with a key. Each floor has a kitchen and small common area which made for some socializing but not a lot. AC was a plus in the summer heat.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
21st Aug 2017
9.1

Pretty decent hostel with almost all the facilities like kitchen, common room etc. It is pretty clean too. Only disadvantage is the absence of a 24 hour reception.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×