X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Ciarus Reviews

7 Rue Finkmatt, Strasbourg, France

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
1516 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 84%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

I didn't spend much time in the hostel during the 2 days I stayed there and was on a week-end but as far I saw it was very calm. I found staff helpful and quick (I also had e-mail contact some days before my arrival). I find it very honest for the price paid and there were real breakfasts included.

  • 29th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

very clean and staffs are kind. very good hostels ever.

  • 29th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Just that staff change my room and when I return everything is in another appartament and the bicicles is very nice is free but need to fix But I love to stay in Ciarus Strassbourg thanks


69%

Hostel popular with large school groups, though it wasn't too noisy- just full of children.


91%

Had a really nice stay here. Rooms are hotel rooms, extremely clean, with cleaning service every day and bath towel provided. Location was good, a ten minute walk to the tram and I'd say about a 15-20 minute walk to La Petite France.


60%

Not sure if every bathroom was like ours, but we had black mold in there.

  • 18th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We thank you for taking the time to share your opinion with us concerning your stay in our youth Hostel. We are really confused about the inconvenience you had to deal with in your room. My team and I are really concerned about your appreciations and notice, we maintain our efforts so that our performance answers in best your desires. We hope to see you again. Best regards, Dominique FLOUX Reception manager

74%

Ok for the money, quite shabby though and a little bit creepy. Wifi didn't work in our room too.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We thank you for taking the time to share your opinion with us concerning your stay in our youth Hostel. We are really confused about the inconvenience you had to deal with in your room. My team and I are really concerned about your appreciations and notice, we maintain our efforts so that our performance answers in best your desires. We hope to see you again. Best regards, Dominique FLOUX Reception manager

80%

Good hostel, big spacious and well located.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We thank you for having taken time to give us your opinion concerning your stay in our Hostel. My team and I are really concerned about your appreciations and notice; we maintain our efforts so that the performance which we bring you answers in best your desires. We hope to see you again. Best regards, Dominique FLOUX Reception manager

94%

very good at very reasonable price

  • 24th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We thank you for having taken time to give us your opinion concerning your stay in our Hostel. My team and I are really concerned about your appreciations and notice; we maintain our efforts so that the performance which we bring you answers in best your desires. We hope to see you again. Best regards, Dominique FLOUX Team Manager

83%

This hostel has dorms rooms, but the feel of the whole place is more like a hotel. It's not a great place for travelers to meet. The staff was decent at check-in but didn't really give me any great advice for seeing the city. That being said, I've never seen a better organized and equipped dorm room! They've got shelves, desks, en-suite bathrooms, and the bunk beds are cleverly arranged to make it feel more private.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We thank you for having taken time to give us your opinion concerning your stay in our Hostel. My team and I are really concerned about your appreciations and notice; we maintain our efforts so that the performance which we bring you answers in best your desires. We hope to see you again. Best regards, Dominique FLOUX Reception manager

94%

It's an enjoyable and welcoming hostel, plus it offers nice places to befriend foreigners, as a game room and a bar. The small price includes also breakfast, which is outstanding when it comes to hostels. The rooms in general are good, the only bad remark is that there are no lockers, so travellers' stuff are always exposed. The staff are really helpful and friendly, one of them even lent me their umbrella. Related to its location, it's great and you can find a grocery store nearby.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We thank you for having taken time to give us your opinion concerning your stay in our Hostel. My team and I are really concerned about your appreciations and notice; we maintain our efforts so that the performance which we bring you answers in best your desires. We hope to see you again. Best regards, Dominique FLOUX Team Manager

91%

Ciarus is a good place to stay in Strasbourg, the room is organized well and the facility inside is excellent as well. All the staffs in Ciarus are willing to help you! If I will come back to here, I will stay in Ciarus again!

  • 7th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We thank you for having taken time to give us your opinion concerning your stay in our Hostel. My team and I are really concerned about your appreciations and notice; we maintain our efforts so that the performance which we bring you answers in best your desires. We hope to see you again. Best regards, Dominique FLOUX Team Manager

86%

Lockable cabinets for the dormitory would be a great addition.

  • 2nd Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We thank you for taking the time to share your opinion with us concerning your stay in our youth Hostel. We are really confused about the inconvenience you had to deal with in your room. My team and I are really concerned about your appreciations and notice, we maintain our efforts so that our performance answers in best your desires. For information, all our rooms will be renew at the middle of 2015 ! We hope to see you again. Best regards, Dominique FLOUX Team Manager

83%

Location is good enough as Strasbourg is a small city, in less than 10 min (walking) the center can be reached. Also, the main station is not that far (15 min). Quality of the place is really good, kind of hotel like. Breakfast is not provided. Because of the previous two features, not so many young people hang around in the common facilities, so not much opportunity to know some other travelers.


77%

Decent location, great price, decent facilities (rooms also need infinitely more power points) but absolutely no atmosphere. Really hard to meet other travellers though which was a massive disappointment, especially over the Xmas period.


66%

The environnment is OK, but you really need to take some time to look for the place.

  • 23rd Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Macau
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

It was very difficult to get informations from de central desk when we asked how to go to the airport. They would tell us to catch a taxi. Actually there is a navette that leaves from the cenyral station every 20 minutes or so. Breakfast is good. Lots of noise during night time.

  • 22nd Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

A well-located hostel with very reasonable prices! The room was clean, staff was friendly and helpful. Liked the ping-pong room ;) Especially during christmas time, when rooms in Strasbourg become nearly unaffordable, this is the place to stay!


100%

Had a great stay. Would highly recommend for anyone staying in Strasbourg.

  • 23rd Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

I thought it strange they did not allow outside food, but it was tolerable and very nice otherwise.

  • 22nd Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(32 results)


View all Strasbourg Hostels

Please give us your feedback