Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Ciarus

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 2,377 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 2,377 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 8.5
Ciarus Located at 7 Rue Finkmatt, , Strasbourg.
Ciarus
France
Strasbourg 7 Rue Finkmatt
86% 2377
48.5892560 7.7477250
Ciarus
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
17th Jul 2016
5.1

This is a hotel

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
16th Jul 2016
7.7

The place is great, good value for money. Relatively close to old town/church. The wifi is horrible and only works in the lobby - if you can connect. Loved not having to make my own bed and they give you a towel. Great hostel other than the wifi.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Jul 2016
8.3

Very clean room and close to city center. Didn't found a locker in the room though...

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jul 2016
7.4

Definitely closer to a typical hotel atmosphere; lots of kids around. The WiFi was awful; constantly dropping out, and useless if there were more than 3 people in the lobby using it. Also only able to be used on the ground floor and not in rooms. Aside from that the place was clean and the staff friendly.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jul 2016
9.1

Ciarus was one of the best hostels I've stayed in (out of more than 10). The staff was accommodating when my friend and I were accidentally put in different rooms, the facilities were great, the rooms were spotless, the beds were quite comfortable. A great trip!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Jul 2016
7.7

Everything was great about this hostel, EXCEPT the wifi connection! It is very finicky and it doesn't work with iphones! This was a real bummer because I wanted to use wifi to look up things to do/sites/museums/etc. Luckily, there is free wifi in the city center and at many of the cafes, but it's not as convenient. So if you need wifi, I don't recommend this hostel, but if you can get by without, then it's great!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jul 2016
8.0

everything is great except the dorm room is a box with absolutely no ventilation.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Jul 2016
8.6

Mixed feelings about this place. Although it is very nice and clean, it is not the kind of environment you'd expect for a hostel. For example, they only offer wifi in the lobby in order to "build a community." However, this ends up being. A community full of screaming 12-15 year olds on school trips, who then take up all the bandwidth so that you can not even use the wifi. Also, there are no facilities you'd be used to finding in a hostel (no kitchen or laundry room) and the 4 person room is 6

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
9th Jul 2016
8.9

Only stayed one night here but very positive experience - staff were absolutely lovely and gave me recommendations of places to go and things to do. I was in a 4 bed female dorm - rooms were very clean and felt more like hotel than hostel. Nice atmosphere. Very close to city centre.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jul 2016
5.7

What happened to hostels being geared towards the budget traveler. This place should be called the Ciarus Hotel, plain and simple. There is no typical hostel kitchen, so forget preparing your own food. And, if you do buy your own food, you best be ready to eat it outside. You are NOT ALLOWED to sit anywhere inside and eat or drink anything that you did not BUY within their walls. Absolutely ridiculous! This is NOT A HOSTEL!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.