Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Cielo Rojo Hostel Oaxaca

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 487 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 487 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Feb 2017
7.1

I think the location is good - close to town centre and only 50 pesos in a cab from the bus station. The staff were friendly and helpful. The interior is ready for an update and I could not get hot water.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Feb 2017
8.6

Great reasonably priced hostel close to the markets! Really liked staying in the 10 bed dorm- I was worried because lots of people reviewed that it was unclean and that there was music playing all night. However, a cleaner came to the dorm and bathroom everyday and the staff turned off the music at a reasonable hour. Only issue we had was that one staff member who was sleeping in the dorm was quite messy. Definitely recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
10th Feb 2017
8.0

Small breakfast and no coffee if you come after the others.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
27th Jan 2017
5.4

So far the worst hostel I have stayed in Mexico.Possitives location, free filtered water and an ok free breakfast (cornflakes, toast,coffee if lucky) Negatives. Lazy backpacker staff who would rather socialize than work and not helpful. So dirty, room or bathroom not cleaned entire stay.Open common area so very noisy at night with travelers making noise past midnight or staff playing music early morning or late.lockers outside room so everyone walks past.Could not wait to leave.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
2nd Jan 2017
7.4

Stayed there for a few days during Christmas. Lots of travellers. A little lack of coordination... Hard to keep the place clean with so many people but was acceptable. Breakfast not my thing but other people appreciated it: coffee, some days tea, cornflakes, yoghurt, milk, "bread" and marmalade, no fruits at all... self service. Some of the staff not that nice, others were wonderful though. Walking distance from most interesting places, the city center is not that big anyway.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
2nd Jan 2017
8.9

Very nice place close to the zocalo with good facilities and fun staff

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Jan 2017
10.0

Perfect location for exploring! It's only a few blocks from main attractions like Santa Domingo,hot cocoa cafes, (sometimes) live music & street performers, variety of restaurants, street food vendors, and a convenient store almost next door. Hostel was great -staff were genuinely nice & helpful, everything was very clean, vibes were chill, quiet at night-perfect! And they booked my van for me to Puerto Escondido, so it's convenient if you're headed there. Great stay, thanks guy!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Dec 2016
10.0

fantastic hostel! i recommend it without hesitation. very helpful staff. i was warmly welcomed by devon. when i decided to extend my stay, devon made phone calls for availability at other hostels nearby.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
28th Dec 2016
6.6

Stayed on a recommendation, but then only stayed 1 night. Nice friendly staff. Felt more like a collection of rooms than a hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
26th Dec 2016
9.1

A nice hostel in the centre. Roof terrace is very good for sunset beers. And owner is so kind to cook us a meal during new years eve

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.