Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Cielo Rojo Hostel Oaxaca

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 541 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 541 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 7.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
10th Aug 2017
5.7

The hostel is nice with a very basic breakfast. However it felt extremely anti social. The staff seemed to laze around all day and asking them for any help seemed like hassle. There are hardly any plugs or bathrooms and the rooms are noisy. We were even placed in a dorm with lots of staff staying who talked loudly at 3am. Good location and felt secure though. There are more social hostels in the area

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Aug 2017
6.9

Breakfast was very disappointing with cornflakes and white bread without jam... The personal was high on weed

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Jul 2017
7.7

Comfy beds nice showers. Breakfast is basic. Bathrooms were gross. Not enough outlets

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
28th Jul 2017
9.7

Great staff, including on-site owner. Good atmosphere, good kitchen, great everything. :-)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Jul 2017
6.9

Didn't feel welcome as soon as I arrived. Tried chatting up while waiting for my bed to be prepared at 2pm. Nada. Breakfast was good and location is great. Beds were clean. Showers are big (and hot). It felt like the staff were just there to chat/hangout with each other. I wouldn't stay again. Far better choices in the city.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
21st Jul 2017
8.3

The best part of Cielo Rojo was the guests. I ran into people from many countries in many walks of life, including a surprising number of return guests who came back to Cielo Rojo months or years after their first visit. I wish there was more for breakfast (I saw cornflakes and yogurt), and there were two aspects of the facilities I thought needed improvement. The beds would shake at the slightest provocation, and there wasn't a reliable doorbell when I was there, which complicated my check in.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Jul 2017
6.3

Was just there to crash for a night, the mattress was very old and pillow smelled bad. There was only 2 power plugs for a 10 bed dorm. Had to stay in the lounge to recharge my phone. Breakfast is less than average... It was a Saturday night and the pub next door was very loud until late. Staff was friendly and location just a 5 min walk to downtown. Bathroom is clean.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jul 2017
9.4

This hostel is very clean and fresh feeling. At an amazing price and location I highly recommend BUT they must get rid of that guy. His energy vibe was very aggressive and suspicious. He came across as hateful and lacking in personal power. During my past two months of traveling through Mexico he is the only truly unpleasant person I have encountered. The owner and other employees were awesome! They were great with information about the city helping with travel planning. Lots of great art!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • kfreckleton
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
8th Jun 2017
9.1

The hostel was amazing. The location is great and staff is awesome, they were super helpful with places to go and the owner ordered us a bus when we were leaving.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
23rd May 2017
10.0

I was sick when i arrived at the hostel and the staff helped me a lot!!! The owner made me soup

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.