Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Cielo Rojo Hostel Oaxaca

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 413 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 413 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.8
Cielo Rojo Hostel Oaxaca Located at Xicotencatl 121, Centro, , Oaxaca.
Cielo Rojo Hostel Oaxaca
Mexico
Oaxaca Oaxaca 68000 Xicotencatl 121, Centro
83% 413
17.0604565 -96.7205643
Cielo Rojo Hostel Oaxaca
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
16th Aug 2016
10.0

The Hostal Cielo Rojo is the perfect option if you are visiting Oaxaca. The place is beautiful and has a good location, the staff is super friendly and are always there to help you out. The bathrooms offer good showers with hot water.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th Aug 2016
10.0

- awesome staff and excellent hostel -felt very welcoming and cielo rojo is like a family -the staff took us to bars and local places in town -great place to meet other travelers -clean and nice beds Would def. stay here again !!!!! besos a la familia cielo rojo !!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Victoria Thank you for your review ! Hope to see you again! Safe travels my friend ! Enjoy Guatemala =) Besos Cielo Rojo Family

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Aug 2016
10.0

Excellent hostal to stay in, staff is awesome. Laid back environment.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello Hello Thank you very much for staying at Cielo Rojo Hostal and for your review! Safe travels ! Besos- Cielo Rojo Familia

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
2nd Aug 2016
4.3

We stayed in a 4 bed mixed dorm. At night it was very noisy with people playing music and being loud until late. Also, when we were there the bathroom in another dorm was out of order meaning we had 12 people using one bathroom. I had to wait an hour to go to the loo in the morning. The staff didn't day anything about this or tell us when it would be fixed. The shower was a trickle of water, not enough to wash your hair in. We left after 1 night and moved to Hostel Angel which was amazing!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello Thank you for your review. We feel very sorry that you didn't like your stay at Cielo Rojo . As we explained you and to all other guests we had a problem with our boiler and we fixed it so fast it was possible. We can offer 5 bathrooms and a small toilet to our guests. The day after the new boiler arrived - the water issue was resolved. Cielo Rojo Familia wishes you safe travels .

29th Jul 2016
8.6

Had a great time at this hostel, the staff are really friendly and made me feel so welcome! Would definitely return. The only downside is the showers, they are not very good and also the staff can get quite noisy on a morning which made it difficult to sleep in.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your review. =) Cielo Rojo Familia wishes you safe travels. Ps. We fixed the shower problem and we are really sorry for the noise in the morning. Thanks for letting us know.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
25th Jul 2016
8.6

Booked for 2 nights and stayed for 9... Really great hostel with a friendly, sociable vibe, helpful staff and everything you could need

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your review. That's the magic of Oaxaca, everybody get sucked in! =) We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. =) La Familia del Cielo Rojo wishes you safe travels.

  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
24th Jul 2016
6.0

We booked a 4 person dorm and upon arrival at the property we were told that the room was not available and told that we would be in a 10 person dorm. We are fairly casual easy going travellers and this didn't really bother us. What did bother us was that the staff member who checked us in attempted to overcharge us for the 10 person dorm, almost the same rate as the 4 person dorm and much more than advertised. Also unfriendly and unhelpful. Other staff much nicer. We left after 1 night.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
9th Jun 2016
9.4

I'm really happy with my stay, the hostel is really nice and in a good location and the staff is really nice and welcoming. They're always up for a chat, moreover I got so many tips for not only my stay in Oaxaca but also for my next stops in Mexico. Great people, I highly recommend this hostel especially to solo travelers

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
5th Jun 2016
9.4

Very good hostel as for the atmosphere especially : Pedro was super nice and helpful and the atmosphere with the other guests was just great: chatting around a beer or a mezcal exchanging good tips and stories... It was hard to leave! Good location, 5 minutes away from the zocalo. Good deals for your around, Pedro also told me how to go there by yourself if you want to! Nice breakfast too, just not enough power outlets maybe

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • AtlantaJR
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
28th May 2016
7.4

The staff here were super friendly and the hostel is in a good location, had good security too. Could be a bit loud in the evenings but depends how much of a light sleeper you are, earplugs worked for me. Also has good wifi and breakfast was fair.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.