Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Cielo Rojo Hostel Oaxaca

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 510 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 510 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
23rd Apr 2017
8.3

Great staff and good location. Breakfast was okay. Bathrooms weren't very clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
3rd Apr 2017
8.0

Pretty laid back hostel in a laid back city. Staff were friendly and breakfast did the job well in the morning. Not too far from anything. Good atmosphere but can get quiet. Lack of power points in rooms though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
2nd Mar 2017
9.1

Helpful staff, good location and strong wifi. Good spot to explore the neighborhood from.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Feb 2017
10.0

lovely,beatiful,clean,staff was perfect..

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Feb 2017
7.1

I think the location is good - close to town centre and only 50 pesos in a cab from the bus station. The staff were friendly and helpful. The interior is ready for an update and I could not get hot water.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
18th Feb 2017
10.0

This hostel was absolutely perfect. The atmosphere was super chill, the beds comfy, everything was very clean. I loved the fact that it's a small hostel and basically after one night everybody knows each other and hang out together. The staff is super helpful and will give you good tips to go around the city. I had a great time here thanks to the staff (Rodrigo and everybody else) and all the people I met there :) I definitely recommend it if you're looking for a chill place!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
15th Feb 2017
8.6

Great reasonably priced hostel close to the markets! Really liked staying in the 10 bed dorm- I was worried because lots of people reviewed that it was unclean and that there was music playing all night. However, a cleaner came to the dorm and bathroom everyday and the staff turned off the music at a reasonable hour. Only issue we had was that one staff member who was sleeping in the dorm was quite messy. Definitely recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
10th Feb 2017
8.0

Small breakfast and no coffee if you come after the others.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
27th Jan 2017
5.4

So far the worst hostel I have stayed in Mexico.Possitives location, free filtered water and an ok free breakfast (cornflakes, toast,coffee if lucky) Negatives. Lazy backpacker staff who would rather socialize than work and not helpful. So dirty, room or bathroom not cleaned entire stay.Open common area so very noisy at night with travelers making noise past midnight or staff playing music early morning or late.lockers outside room so everyone walks past.Could not wait to leave.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
2nd Jan 2017
7.4

Stayed there for a few days during Christmas. Lots of travellers. A little lack of coordination... Hard to keep the place clean with so many people but was acceptable. Breakfast not my thing but other people appreciated it: coffee, some days tea, cornflakes, yoghurt, milk, "bread" and marmalade, no fruits at all... self service. Some of the staff not that nice, others were wonderful though. Walking distance from most interesting places, the city center is not that big anyway.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.