X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Cinnamon Sally Backpackers Hostel Reviews

Merkela 1, 3rd floor, Riga, Latvia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
592 Total Reviews
  • 93%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

"Dacte" was a very nice person who helped a lot and we played games with her. :) A lot of social activities, which were nice and cheap. We went to the pub crawl and got a lot of discounts at bars - recommended! But also the free cinnamon rolls one evening and free morning waffles. We've been here twice and if we ever come to Riga, we will stay here again!


100%

I've been there for two nights with my best friend (we are both 24) and it was amazing, great common room and kitchen, great stuff, very friendly and helpful, clean showers, good location, etc. to sum it up: definately an A*


94%

Very clean and nice facilities. Very cosy common room ans chill staff. Very comfortable!


89%

I stayed at Cinnamon Sally Backpackers Hostel for 3 nights in July (a bed in 6-bed female dorm). I liked everything about this hostel! The only thing - rugs in showers. They were wet most of the time. But this is a small disadvantage in comparison with all advantages. So thank you for this lovely hostel! I hope i'll stay here again (some day)!*)


100%

One of the best hostels in Europe. A cozy atmosphere where it's easy to meet fellow travellers. The staff are very friendly, they will help you with any queries and take your personal well being seriously. Don't stay anywhere else!


100%

Truely an excellent hostel - helpful staff who can answer even the most complicated questions, beautiful and cozy common area, well equipped kitchens and clean bathrooms and toilets. Dorms are spacious and lockers can easily fit a big backpack. Location is perfect, just 5 min from the bus station. Also as an extra plus was the surprise breakfast waffels they served!


86%

Great place to stay. Clean, separate showers and toilets, friendly stuff, cosy beds, laptop that can be shared by everyone and HUGE lockers in the rooms. Also a nice common area. The only worry: When leaving the hostel (after check-out / or check-in and the room is not yet ready) the backpack is not locked in, but only put behind a curtain so that everyone can take it. I would definitely recommend this hostel.


100%

IT was amazing! best place to stay in Riga


97%

A great place with a nice atmosphere. Superb location and the staff was super helpful and friendly.

  • 25th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Estonia
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

A really good hostel in the centre of Riga that was very clean and had friendly staff that also organised events for people staying in the hostel. The bed were comfortable and the atmosphere was also really good aswell! All in all I had an enjoyable stay at Sally Cinnamon's and would recommend it to other travellers looking for a place to stay.


91%

Well-run hostel in a building with a whole bunch of other hostels and a McDonalds. Doesn't get much more central than this - but that does mean you definitely hear the traffic! Friendly staff and good atmosphere in the common room.


97%

Great place, really felt at home!


71%

It's a cool place with nice atmosphere and helpful staff. Just 5-10 minutes walk from the bus station and to the Old Town. Could be cleaner and the WiFi was working just in the common area, but really poorly in the room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Guys! Our WiFi router was recently upgraded to a very powerful range and it works very well throughout the hostel (and even on the street) so it's very strange you had problems with it. During your stay we had a larger group of young hitch hikers staying and that was the reason we upgraded you from a 10 bed dorm to a 4 bed dorm so you don't have to share a room with a larger group. We tried keeping the common areas as clean as possible but they were very fast at messing them up :)

94%

Really nice place to stay in Riga! It's close to the train (just across the street) and bus station (5 min walking distance) and there is a supermarkt etc. close by. It's just 5 min to the old town, very central located. The beds are comfy and the wifi is working perfectly everywhere. They don't have breakfeast anymore and there could be more bathroom, though.


100%

The best hostel!!! The location is incredible! So close to everything. The staff are the best - they are all so friendly and welcoming, they actually take an interest in the guests and get involved with them like everyone is friends. They are there when you need them for info or advice and this is genuinely the best hostel I've ever stayed at. I would recommend 100%


89%

Great hostel in a good location.


71%

Staff were great but I felt a few hostel residents dominated the scene and acted like they owned the place, late night cooking etc. It was not nice waking up and the common areas smelling of food and dirty pots/ pans in the sink, its grimy.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Fee! I can assure you that the late night cooking doesn't happen often thanks to the 24h McDonalds we are above :) Very occasionally does someone break the no-cooking-after-11:30 pm rule and since our staff doesn't stay up at night to babysit the guests some inconvenience might happen. Sorry about that. But it's a bit unfair to give us the lowest mark for cleanliness and call us grimy. Agree that the hostel is otherwise very clean. Safe travels, Sallies

80%

We stayed in the hostel for three nights. It was very convenient, because the Hostel is right in the city centre. We stayed in a 6 female dorm and the beds were comfi and we were able to lock up our suitcases. The common room was nice; however we didn't spend much time in it. They had two bathrooms and four showers and a kitchen. The breakfast was very poor - little toasts and jam. The staff was helpful but not very welcoming.

  • 25th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thanks for your review! It is indeed hard to impress someone who barely spends any time in the hostel. Safe travels, Ieva

83%

Basic but comfy..perfect location at central riga


100%

The atmosphere in this hostel was awesome! The staff hanged out in the common room and talked with guests with no apparent effort. I really liked the orientation to the city that I was given on my first day. The hosts were very forth coming and it is a definite must stay when in riga.


« first « Prev 1 2
(40 results)


View all Riga Hostels

Please give us your feedback