X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Cinnamon Sally Backpackers Hostel Reviews

Merkela 1, 3rd floor, Riga, Latvia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
616 Total Reviews
  • 92%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

A great place with a nice atmosphere. Superb location and the staff was super helpful and friendly.

  • 25th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Estonia
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

A really good hostel in the centre of Riga that was very clean and had friendly staff that also organised events for people staying in the hostel. The bed were comfortable and the atmosphere was also really good aswell! All in all I had an enjoyable stay at Sally Cinnamon's and would recommend it to other travellers looking for a place to stay.


91%

Well-run hostel in a building with a whole bunch of other hostels and a McDonalds. Doesn't get much more central than this - but that does mean you definitely hear the traffic! Friendly staff and good atmosphere in the common room.


97%

Great place, really felt at home!


71%

It's a cool place with nice atmosphere and helpful staff. Just 5-10 minutes walk from the bus station and to the Old Town. Could be cleaner and the WiFi was working just in the common area, but really poorly in the room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Guys! Our WiFi router was recently upgraded to a very powerful range and it works very well throughout the hostel (and even on the street) so it's very strange you had problems with it. During your stay we had a larger group of young hitch hikers staying and that was the reason we upgraded you from a 10 bed dorm to a 4 bed dorm so you don't have to share a room with a larger group. We tried keeping the common areas as clean as possible but they were very fast at messing them up :)

94%

Really nice place to stay in Riga! It's close to the train (just across the street) and bus station (5 min walking distance) and there is a supermarkt etc. close by. It's just 5 min to the old town, very central located. The beds are comfy and the wifi is working perfectly everywhere. They don't have breakfeast anymore and there could be more bathroom, though.


100%

The best hostel!!! The location is incredible! So close to everything. The staff are the best - they are all so friendly and welcoming, they actually take an interest in the guests and get involved with them like everyone is friends. They are there when you need them for info or advice and this is genuinely the best hostel I've ever stayed at. I would recommend 100%


89%

Great hostel in a good location.


71%

Staff were great but I felt a few hostel residents dominated the scene and acted like they owned the place, late night cooking etc. It was not nice waking up and the common areas smelling of food and dirty pots/ pans in the sink, its grimy.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Fee! I can assure you that the late night cooking doesn't happen often thanks to the 24h McDonalds we are above :) Very occasionally does someone break the no-cooking-after-11:30 pm rule and since our staff doesn't stay up at night to babysit the guests some inconvenience might happen. Sorry about that. But it's a bit unfair to give us the lowest mark for cleanliness and call us grimy. Agree that the hostel is otherwise very clean. Safe travels, Sallies

80%

We stayed in the hostel for three nights. It was very convenient, because the Hostel is right in the city centre. We stayed in a 6 female dorm and the beds were comfi and we were able to lock up our suitcases. The common room was nice; however we didn't spend much time in it. They had two bathrooms and four showers and a kitchen. The breakfast was very poor - little toasts and jam. The staff was helpful but not very welcoming.

  • 25th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thanks for your review! It is indeed hard to impress someone who barely spends any time in the hostel. Safe travels, Ieva

83%

Basic but comfy..perfect location at central riga


100%

The atmosphere in this hostel was awesome! The staff hanged out in the common room and talked with guests with no apparent effort. I really liked the orientation to the city that I was given on my first day. The hosts were very forth coming and it is a definite must stay when in riga.


86%

Nice and laid back hostel, just like a hostel should be. Breakfast is nothing special, rooms are noisy because of the traffic on the main street. Rooms are warm and a bit damp, so air circulation makes it more comfortable if installed. But overall a good hostel, would recommend it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Guys! You had a fan in your room (all dorms have a fan in summer season), why weren't you using it? We have never advertised or provided breakfast. You were given a FREE toast and spreads just because we liked you :) Safe travels, Sallies

80%

Evreything is really nice. Dorm for girls is a good idea and well furnished. It would be nice to have access to the breakfast earlier. And where are the cinnamon buns you advertise on the map?

  • 13th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review! The problem with the printed guides/maps/travel info is that it is often out dated. Please check online for all the latest facilities. The cinnamon bun days are gone but the free toast with spreads days have come... for now... until we get too many complaints :) Please note that we don't advertise anywhere that we serve breakfast. Safe travels, Sallies

100%

Great hostel, nothing to complain about


94%

Really nice hostel. But the price is a little bit higher than others, maybe it will be better to provide more choice for breakfast.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your excellent rating! We think a price of 9 EUR to stay in a 6 bed dorm in a nice hostel in May and with all the free stuff we offer is a very fair price. Safe travels! Sallies

91%

very comfortable, good location either go to market for meal or to city centre,locker w/ key in room,nice staff help booking bus


94%

Nice place to stay and visit Riga and places around. So, it'll be better to put last informations about museum, train, taxi.. but not old in your lucage under your window. Make something for the shower, to fix it.. But, very nice place to sleep, and friendly people.. and very clean.. thank you.. and , don't forget.. to discover Opéra.. just 5 min to walk from auberge, the price strat from 5 euros.. (and 10 % discount for tenagers.. )


86%

Located above a McDonald's with several other hostels I can really recommend this one. Staff was friendly and helpful. Further, the rooms are cleans as well as the kitchen and the bathrooms. Overall it was a good choice.


97%

Very nice hostel with with good motivated staff. The only thing to improve is the security in the staircase, mostly everyone has access in spite of the presence of a porter, the security in the hostel is excelent. Nice to have free toast, tee and coffee and there is also juice and beer for sale. The best thing is the cozy common room. If I will ever return to Riga i would stay definitely again in Sallomon Sallys!


(51 results)


View all Riga Hostels

Please give us your feedback