Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Citadel Youth Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 1961 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 6.7
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 1961 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 6.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • jmill412
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
9th Aug 2017
10.0

Great central location, rooms are very stuffy but overall great vibe

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
3rd Aug 2017
7.1

Excellent location and staff, however no common area (except the reception and the roof) or water / coffee / drinks available. The hostel has a lot more potential to be realized.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • christian_henne7085
  • Germany, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Jul 2017
5.1

We stayed 3 nights in this hostel. The main reason why one would like the hostel is the location, which is really nicely placed in the beginning of the Old City. Other than that the hostel is not very attractive. The building in itself is quite charming, as it is old and gives a good impression about the Old City, but the condition is pretty bad. The paint of the ceiling was falling down each night in small pieces. The kitchen was poorly equipped and those things available did mostly not work.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jul 2017
10.0

"If the guests are happy the owner is happy" is their motto and it shows! :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • chloebellecole6112
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Jul 2017
10.0

Absolute best hostel I've ever been in, that says a lot and I'm definitely planning my next trip here and will only stay at this place, even with friends. Could have asked for a better experience of the old city and felt very happy. Great value for money and amazing central location to Jaffa gate and all popular areas to visit.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jul 2017
8.9

Staff very helpfull and nice. Very cozy place to stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • JaclynColman
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Jul 2017
8.3

Great location and very friendly staff. Had a very easy going feel to it. Definitely could have done with AC or more than one little fan in the room though.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
29th Jun 2017
8.6

Great location! Getting to our room was a little tricky because there is an annex-like section that is a bit confusing to get to. We got a room to ourselves, so that was nice. The building itself is a very interesting design and a quaint, unique set-up. There's no a/c in the rooms, but at night the weather wasn't too bad despite traveling in the summer. If you're on a budget and want to visit Jerusalem, this is definitely the place to be!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Jun 2017
7.7

It's a nice hostel in a great location but the room had paint chipping and yellow marks on the wall and the kitchen is very small. But the hostel has a nice shower and atmosphere (staff and guests were very friendly!!).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jun 2017
5.4

In the old church (adjacent building) everything was dirty. Floor, sheets, towels. Fan not working. Most things broken (fan, light , electrician sockets) I will never stay there again, nor recommend to anybody. You need to do an inspection there.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

This person has reserved a double bed with shared bathroom. Due to unavailability we have upgraded him to a triple room with shared bathroom at no extra cost. We have a team for daily cleaning in rooms, toilets, stairs and corridors in the morning and evvening. Maintenance guy comes every week to check and repair anything required. This customer has not complained about anything during his stay. Hence his complaint has no grounds. Please delete his feedback.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.