Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Citadel Youth Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 1870 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 6.4
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 1870 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 6.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Mar 2017
5.1

try a total refurb.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • dyfaldoncs9123
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 78 reviews
9th Mar 2017
7.1

The location of this hostel is fantastic. It's very atmospheric and right in the heart of the old city. Unfortunately the eight bed dorm I stayed in was so cramped that I had to change outside the room and there was hardly any space to put luggage. The room smelt a bit too as there were no windows in the dorm. Staff are friendly and the views from the hostel rooftop is great. Kitchen was fairly clean as were the toilets and showers and there is one computer for general use.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
9th Feb 2017
8.9

"You get what you pay for" has never been more accurate. Are you paying for a room, a bed, clean sheets and pillow, a bathroom, a shower with warm water, a great location, helpful staff, panoramic views from the roof, and wifi? Yes. That's what you're getting. You're not paying for a very cozy place, large restrooms, shower curtains, always working wifi, food, or great comfort, so you're not getting it. I loved my stay here, but if you haven't done a cheap hostel, you're in for a surprise. 9/10

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Feb 2017
3.4

Went to the place three years ago and this was a complete disappointment. Unfriendly, Packed, ill-ran, not hot water. Many Much better options in Jérusalem.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic, Couple, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
31st Jan 2017
8.6

Unusual hostel with a unique atmosphere located in the center of the Old City. We had a great stay, but there are some dasadvantages of living in such an old building as well: The bathrooms are somewhat cramped and sometimes there are problems with hot water or electroinstallation. I would also recommend equipping the kitchen with more utensils and crockery.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
30th Jan 2017
8.9

Great location, from the roof you can see all through the Old City by Jaffa Gate. You definitely need to ask for a heater if you go during winter, but overall nice setting. Also, I was searching the location with my iPhone maps, the app, and it couldn't find the location. When I arrived the staff member informed me that when he searches with google maps that the location shows up. So make sure to GOOGLE MAPS when searching the location.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jan 2017
9.1

Very good location and stuff. Nice view from roof. But the water in shower was cold - it was only one bad thing there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jan 2017
4.6

Facilities were outdated and not very clean. Overall not a place to feel comfortable.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
16th Jan 2017
7.1

Really cool experience staying in a 700 year old building right in the middle of Jerusalem's old city. If your priority is finding the most comfortable hostel with the best facilities, this is probably not the best choice. The rooftop is amazing though, and overall experience was fine for me but not sure how someone more choosy might feel about staying here

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jan 2017
10.0

It's cheap, it's located on,y steps from the Jaffa gate, it's safe and clean Some of the rooms lack Windows, so try to ask for one with air circulation. But, best thing, the price is right!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.