Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Citadel Youth Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 1930 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 6.5
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 1930 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 6.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Jun 2017
7.7

It's a nice hostel in a great location but the room had paint chipping and yellow marks on the wall and the kitchen is very small. But the hostel has a nice shower and atmosphere (staff and guests were very friendly!!).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jun 2017
5.4

In the old church (adjacent building) everything was dirty. Floor, sheets, towels. Fan not working. Most things broken (fan, light , electrician sockets) I will never stay there again, nor recommend to anybody. You need to do an inspection there.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

This person has reserved a double bed with shared bathroom. Due to unavailability we have upgraded him to a triple room with shared bathroom at no extra cost. We have a team for daily cleaning in rooms, toilets, stairs and corridors in the morning and evvening. Maintenance guy comes every week to check and repair anything required. This customer has not complained about anything during his stay. Hence his complaint has no grounds. Please delete his feedback.

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
28th May 2017
8.6

Great location by the Jaffa gate. We had a twin private room ensuite. The room was good size with fan, wardrobe, window.The ensuite wasn't useful for showering so we had to use the public showers which were fine - hot water all day and good pressure. The rooftop is amazing! Gorgeous view of the dome. I highly recommend visiting Palestine. We used a great driver named Saed who introduced us to locals in Beth, Jericho etc and shared memorable stories +972 (0) 52-3455103 or said-k2010@hotmail.com

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th May 2017
5.7

The location was excellent. The reception area was quaint. However, the bedrooms were very small and just had a bed. Needed shelves and hooks at the very least. Deco needs updating. Bathroom was the worst feature- no locks on doors, all showers broken and difficult to use. The kitchen was basic and lacked seating. We tried to avoid as anyone in there got involved in a heated religious debate!!the roof terrace was beautiful but filled with dirty mattresses and not enough places to sit.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • amann7227
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd May 2017
5.1

The location & view from the roof are amazing. But the private room was run down & not kept to basic standards. The tiny bathroom smelled like sewage & I had to slam the door closed. There were no blinds on one window & the walls are paper-thin, so a good night's sleep was impossible. There were no towels; I asked for some & was assured there were, so I had to go back to ask again. They were doing laundry & only had small ones, so we had to ask a 3rd time. The wifi didn't work past the 1st floor

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
21st May 2017
7.1

So we booked last minute because we got stuck in Jerusalem for the night. Once we got there, we realized the room we booked was not in a tent. If it says "tent", it is actually just mattresses on the roof. We had to pick through all these mattresses, old blankets, and pillows (which i never found) to create ourselves a spot to sleep and none of the staff told us how it even worked. Overall we would have booked an actual room for $2 extra because $15 is expensive to legit just sleep on a roof.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

I'm sorry you had to go through this , but in our defense it was your responsibility to read the description of the roof top , you obviously booked for price only with out reading a word about the accommodation ,hostel world does not give us the roof top option so we added tent but under description it clearly says open roof top with a full description.

19th May 2017
9.4

There is no better place to stay in Jerusalem. The staff is incredible and kind, and the hostel has a wonderful old feel to it. You will also meet very nice other travelers. I highly recommend this hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th May 2017
8.6

Fantastic over all. Great views of the old city and the dome, mount of olives etc from the roof. Highly recommended for the budget back packer. I would give it an 8 out of ten.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th May 2017
6.9

I like this place. Staff was nice & friendly. Fantastic location, smack in the middle of old city Jerusalem. I stay in hostels because you get a more authentic feel for the city you are visiting & this hostel does that. But keep in mind, it is not peticularly clean or nice; it's a middle eastern hostel. Has small kitchen but no other amenities. Still, good atmosphere and location.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • juhasz495071
  • Hungary, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
21st Apr 2017
8.6

Sitting on the roof eating our meal and seeing the view of Jerusalem and listening the sound of bells and singing of muezzin is amasing. The kitchen is very small for so many guests. The atmosphere of the old arabic hause and the rooms is super, but there were neither cupbords nor shelves in our room, and there were few toilets and bathroom (meanwhile here was always warm water in the shower)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.