Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Citadel Youth Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 1,811 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 6.6
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 1,811 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 6.6
Citadel Youth Hostel Located at Jerusalem Old city Jaffa gate, 20 st Marks road, Jerusalem.
Citadel Youth Hostel
Israel
Jerusalem 51602 Jerusalem Old city Jaffa gate, 20 st Marks road
79% 1811
31.7765485 35.2299678
Citadel Youth Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
22nd Nov 2016
8.6

I was incredibly impressed by this hostel -- everything was clean, the view from the rooftop was spectacular, and the staff was lovely. My partner and I had a little trouble finding it the first time, but after that, we had no issues.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
15th Nov 2016
6.0

A fantastic location and excellent view, by ultimately the facilities in the hostel are rather poor. The interior is shabby with broken tiles in the bathrooms and rotting wooden doors. The twin room I booked was extremely cramped and uncomfortable. While the location in the old city makes this worthwhile for an overnight stay, I have paid significantly less for much higher quality accommodation both in Israel and elsewhere in the world.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Recently we have undergone extensive maintenance in the whole hostel to make it more comfortable whether in the rooms or bathrooms.

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
12th Nov 2016
9.1

Good location in the old city with main points of interest on your doorstep. Nice view and chilling area at the rooftop. Nightlife and the main bus station is more in the new city about 25 mins walk/short tram which is fine and easy.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd Oct 2016
6.9

Great location but really noisy. Sheets were not clean and common spaces pretty crammed. The staff was really helpful though.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
13th Oct 2016
9.7

Nice hostel with the best view over Jerusalem Old City. I can really recommend the hostel especially because of its location :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
20th Sep 2016
7.7

Amazing sleep on the rooftop. Strongly recommend doing this at least once!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th Sep 2016
9.4

Rooftop bed! Simple comfort, the noise of the city (of course), but still a one million star hotel, with an incredible wieuw, perfect location and good atmosphere

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 25 reviews
14th Sep 2016
7.7

I'd recommend this hostel because value for money is really good and the location itself is an experience. A few suggestions for the staff: when everyone says WiFi isn't working upstairs, listen to your clients and don't repeat over and over again that there's another network where we have to connect (there wasn't or it wasn't online). Also, more blankets needed and preferably ones that stay dry. It's awesome sleeping on the roof, though prepare to be awake at 4am due to chants of the Mosque.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
10th Sep 2016
10.0

Great prices/location! Best place ever! You can see the Dome of the Rock, and the Church of the Holy Sepulcher from the rooftop! This Hostel is over 700 years old, on ground that is considered sacred and holy by most of the world! I have stayed in this place a number a times and it remains the one true Hostel I will never forget. Perfect location at the 4 corners of the old city and easy to get to! If you are in Rome this is a must see hostel that is great in value and is in the perfect locati

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
5th Sep 2016
8.9

Coolest hostel I've ever been in

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.