X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Citadel Youth Hostel Reviews

Jerusalem Old city Jaffa gate, 20 st Marks road, Jerusalem, Israel

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
1520 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 65%Cleanliness
  • 65%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Absolutely fell in love with this place.

  • 18th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

It is a good place in the middle of the old city, and very friendly staff, but we had a room next to the kitchen, that was not a good option. It was very noisy till late in the night. One girl was making a meal at 2 o'clock in the night and were smoking, so the alarm went off. The kitchen should close at 11, but no one pays attention to that. The showers are terrible, at some showers the door is broken., and lots of hair in the sink. The rooms were good and clean


51%

Positive: good location Negative: no space of luggage in the rooms, tall skandinavians like us have to crawl around since it is literally a cave, people are sleeping every in the hall, no common area, there were no toiletpaper any of the three days we were there, generally dirty bathroom/shower That being said, it seems to be the standard in Jerusalem; overpriced and not the best standard.


100%

I do not recommend staying in the dorm immediately adjacent to the kitchen, if you want to sleep. Lots of very energetic speakers echo by your bedside. Otherwise, a really great place to stay.


69%

all in all a good hostel. But: Forgot a jacket when leaving. My email in this regard was ignored.


77%

excellent location

  • 15th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

I had a very nice stay. The kitchen was a bit dingy; only one side of the hotplate worked, and the side that worked was very slow. However, for the price I paid, it was great.


91%

Great place to stay, even if there are problems with hot water sometimes......

  • 12th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

The head room is very limited as I am tall. However it is worth staying there for few days as the views from rooof top are the secret to tourism. I was pleased with staff. They do need to upgrade Kitchen as it is not fully functioning yet. Thanks Staff of Citadel but you must please fix Kitchen ASAP


80%

There are two wings in the hostel building. The bathrooms belonging to the left, where the kitchen is, were is quite uncertain condition: hot water was a rare "gift", and some showers did not work properly. Though the last two days the owner came, and most of the mistakes were repaired, during our 7 days stay it was the shorter part. So a more sudden response to the problems is desirable. The other: the matrace on the bed was covered with plastic. It is not healthy at all.

  • 5th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

An very nice place to stay. It's all simple but the inside building is great. When you go inside it's like a cave or sometimes a castel. Fantastic view over the Old city om the 4 roofs. A good place to read a book or small talk. Next time we stay in Citadel.


83%

+ standard rooms safe for valuables equipped kitchen Wi-Fi nice view from the roof location in the Old City - card payment not possible cold rooms, no heating

  • 2nd Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

It is difficult to find any hooks to hang clothes when I need to take a shower. Also it would help to have a second heating range for the cooking of food. There is no kettle for quick hot water.


74%

Our double room was very cold and difficult to heat which is not that comfortable in the winter. Stove in the kitchen does not work, so you cant really prepare warm food. Outside of our room there was a horrible sound coming from the neighbours watersystem honking and disturbing all night and day. At the reception the did not take this very seriously. In the two days we stayed there was never really any hot water. The hostel itsself is beautifully set and the staff is friendly.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are really happy you decided to choose our hostel for your stay in the holy land and we do apologize for any problems that occurred while staying here ,as you may know its over 500 year old building but we will do our best to fix those problems for the future .

69%

The rooms are quite cold (beginning of March).

  • 27th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Thus is my FAVORITE place to stay in Jerusalem. Ive been coming here for five years and I have always had a great experience. The staff is incresibly helpful, the view from the roof is stunning, the location is maximally convenient, but the real draw is building itself. You are staying in a castle. Get the triple deluxe if you can swing it. Best room in Jerusalem.


77%

Good location like 2 blocks from Jaffa gate, in old city. Israel is expensive in general, so for the price of the dorm they don't give you breakfast (doesn't has any food, just water) or towel. I went in winter and the room was quite cold. They have tour information, computer free, wifi just in common areas.


86%

even if we just booked for the dorm they upgraded us for free into a three persons room really nice! The atmosphere and the people where really nice as well

  • 10th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Really good and quiet hostel. The tarrace on the rooftop is amazing

  • 26th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

The old guy was awesome! The room was very cold! No WiFi upstairs. Good location if u want to be in the cold city! Not a party hostel


« first « Prev 1 2
(33 results)


View all Jerusalem Hostels

Please give us your feedback