X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Citadel Youth Hostel Reviews

Jerusalem Old city Jaffa gate, 20 st Marks road, Jerusalem, Israel

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
1547 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 66%Cleanliness
  • 66%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

Really nice staff and great location – the roof has a fantastic view. My room was over the bathroom so was roasting, and having a small window into the hallway didn't give that much ventilation but other rooms seemed much nicer. If the weather is good the rooftop sleeping area is probably the best thing to do. The bathrooms are quite dilapidated and could do with a good clean and replacement of doors, and such, which are falling apart.


94%

I adore the character of this hostel; it's basically a giant Ottoman mansion with an amazing view from the roof! A little more could be desired of the bathrooms, like soap dispensers with soap in them, some of the doors were not great, nowhere to really put your clothes during showers etc. There's a big difference between certain rooms so it's good to look into the specifics before coming. I loved the 13 bed dorm but not a fan of the girls' dorm room. But you can't beat the price!


60%

Despite ad, there is no kitchen! There is a fridge and one electric hob. No oven, microwave, or cooking equipment. However, the vibe in the hostel is great, and location perfect. Lack of a common area hurt it a little, but the whole hostel has a cool feel to it. The staff were knowledgeable, but not proactive / forthcoming. It was like pulling teeth (when they were around - its a bit understaffed). No lockers or powerpoints in the rooms.


74%

A little more attention to maintenance in toilet/shower facilities would be nice

  • 6th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

I slept on the roof. I would invest into door of men wash room upstairs and cutlery in the kitchen. Remaining excellent for me: location, price, staff, atmosphere, etc. Next time I will use this hostel again.


74%

The location is nice at the entrance of the old city after Jaffa Gate. The Staff is helpful if you need information regarding buses for example. The atmosphere is amazing with the view of old Jerusalem from the roof top !! Also, the inside is quite uncommon with all the old stones !! The comfort is basic .

  • 4th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

The hostel is located in a great location, close to all the prime places. The hostels interior looks great when you enter, but rooms and faclities are very poor. Bed was smelly and found out that sheets did'nt changed. Offcourse I don't expect a lot for this price, but a clean bed... The matras is covered in plastic, so all noise and knispering sounds at night. And sweating cause of the plastic... Also the hostel is extremely noisy, you can hear every neighbour going to the bahroom or toilet!

  • 4th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


49%

The toilets and the showers are in the same small space with mould on the walls and crumbling plaster on the ceiling. The rooms are small and Spartan and feel neither cosy not clean. Although it is not that expensive I think it was very average value for money. I think the place is an excellent opportunity for an awesome Hostel, but this wasn't it.

  • 30th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


34%

This was honestly a terrible hostel. The atmosphere was weird - almost all the guests were drunk old guys and there was nothing "youth" hostel about it. The staff is standoffish and rude. The bathrooms and showers are rank, and there is no toilet paper. This is because the hostel is too cheap to buy toilet paper, so if you want to use it you need to go to the desk, ask for the one roll of toilet paper, and then the staff collects it afterwards and brings back to the desk. Don't stay here.

  • 22nd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Absolutely fell in love with this place.

  • 18th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

We purchased a private bathroom situation, but there are only public bathrooms. Otherwise, the hostel was awesome!


71%

It is a good place in the middle of the old city, and very friendly staff, but we had a room next to the kitchen, that was not a good option. It was very noisy till late in the night. One girl was making a meal at 2 o'clock in the night and were smoking, so the alarm went off. The kitchen should close at 11, but no one pays attention to that. The showers are terrible, at some showers the door is broken., and lots of hair in the sink. The rooms were good and clean


51%

Positive: good location Negative: no space of luggage in the rooms, tall skandinavians like us have to crawl around since it is literally a cave, people are sleeping every in the hall, no common area, there were no toiletpaper any of the three days we were there, generally dirty bathroom/shower That being said, it seems to be the standard in Jerusalem; overpriced and not the best standard.


100%

I do not recommend staying in the dorm immediately adjacent to the kitchen, if you want to sleep. Lots of very energetic speakers echo by your bedside. Otherwise, a really great place to stay.


69%

all in all a good hostel. But: Forgot a jacket when leaving. My email in this regard was ignored.


77%

excellent location

  • 15th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

I had a very nice stay. The kitchen was a bit dingy; only one side of the hotplate worked, and the side that worked was very slow. However, for the price I paid, it was great.


91%

Great place to stay, even if there are problems with hot water sometimes......

  • 12th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

The head room is very limited as I am tall. However it is worth staying there for few days as the views from rooof top are the secret to tourism. I was pleased with staff. They do need to upgrade Kitchen as it is not fully functioning yet. Thanks Staff of Citadel but you must please fix Kitchen ASAP


80%

There are two wings in the hostel building. The bathrooms belonging to the left, where the kitchen is, were is quite uncertain condition: hot water was a rare "gift", and some showers did not work properly. Though the last two days the owner came, and most of the mistakes were repaired, during our 7 days stay it was the shorter part. So a more sudden response to the problems is desirable. The other: the matrace on the bed was covered with plastic. It is not healthy at all.

  • 5th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(38 results)


View all Jerusalem Hostels

Please give us your feedback