X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Citadel Youth Hostel Reviews

Jerusalem Old city Jaffa gate, 20 st Marks road, Jerusalem, Israel

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
1490 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 64%Cleanliness
  • 65%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Thus is my FAVORITE place to stay in Jerusalem. Ive been coming here for five years and I have always had a great experience. The staff is incresibly helpful, the view from the roof is stunning, the location is maximally convenient, but the real draw is building itself. You are staying in a castle. Get the triple deluxe if you can swing it. Best room in Jerusalem.


77%

Good location like 2 blocks from Jaffa gate, in old city. Israel is expensive in general, so for the price of the dorm they don't give you breakfast (doesn't has any food, just water) or towel. I went in winter and the room was quite cold. They have tour information, computer free, wifi just in common areas.


86%

even if we just booked for the dorm they upgraded us for free into a three persons room really nice! The atmosphere and the people where really nice as well

  • 10th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Really good and quiet hostel. The tarrace on the rooftop is amazing

  • 26th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

The old guy was awesome! The room was very cold! No WiFi upstairs. Good location if u want to be in the cold city! Not a party hostel


71%

Good hostel with a good panoramic view of the city on the roof. The showers are not good but they have hot water. No heater on the room, had the coldest night I've ever had. I felt bad for Ester, one of the staff members, she seemed like a nice lady but looked always sad, I think the boss demands too much of her and is always criticizing her, the time I was there she was working all day cleaning the hostel and other things and at night she got the night shift on the reception, was up all night:(


89%

Great location, nice and quiet, very easy place to stay.

  • 7th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

While overall a nice hostel, I cannot recommend the 13 bed room, little space, you need to go over the rooftop (so outside!) to enter, after it rained they were kind enough to show us a different (a little more convenient route) which annoyed me a little bit, since I explicitly asked if there was a different way and was told there was not. It was also pretty cold during the night Also they seem to have troubles with the sewage system, therefore it smells quite a bit, quite often.


89%

Great value for Jerusalem, plus great atmosphere and roof terrace. Only one negative: It really smells bad all the time on the second floor from the shared bathrooms.

  • 23rd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

Nowhere to put your stuff, just under the bed (and I don't know how often it's swept under there). Would be nice to have some hooks or shelves on the walls near our beds. And quite often, no toilet paper in the bathrooms. Hot water issue needs to be fixed (runs cold a lot during your shower). Fantastic views over Jerusalem from the roof, decent kitchen to use.


60%

Everything about the hostel is just a little bit awkward. If you plan to stay in the dorms, do NOT choose the 8 bed; it's basically a tiny cave with beds and bunk beds crammed together, room for nothing. There is no hot water in most bathrooms, except the ones by the kitchen, and even then, just barely. Everything smells old and dirty like a port-o-potty. You have to duck everywhere you go or you'll crack your cranium. It's difficult to find plugs. The views from the roof are pretty great.

Owner Comment (Hide)
You stayed in a large 13 bed dorm with several bathrooms. All bathrooms are equipped with toilet papers and 3 rounds are made daily on the bathrooms to make them clean and provide toilet paper. Hot showers are available 24 hours and are heated by solar power then at night by electricity. Electrical inlets are abundant in the hostel and in all rooms and lobbies.

80%

I liked the cold showers very much. It is good for your health and energizes the body. Thank you for everything. Very friendly stuff. Axel

  • 10th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


49%

Bring your own toilet paper, there is none at the end of the day. Too noisy, if you are staying on the first floor, expect to have to listen to people (and staff) speaking by the reception desk until midnight. The water is always cold for showers in the mornings and DO NOT take a single room because you will have to go up two floor and won 3 floors to get there (and if you complain, they will give you a room closer for much higher prices). The staff are not polite, they just tolerate guests

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for the review ,but i do not understand how you got a room for much higher price ,you had a single room that you complained about and our staff was kind enough to switch you to a quad room and only charge you 20NIS($5) extra per night on top of your original reservation,hows that over charging you ,i remember vividly how our staff treated you with respect and politeness but i guess our staff gets the 82% because they are rude ,we appreciate your business and (Honesty) . Adam

91%

Great place. I love the central location and the old architecture. The staff were pretty great as well. Adam was really helpful and informative in many areas. The terrace is amazing as well, giving a wonderful view of the Dome and some of the other surrounding sites. Definitely recommended.

  • 23rd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

The kitchen is so dirty..... I travel around the world an this is one of the worst kitchen i see! the sink is discussing.... the fridge is full of old food and the smell is awful....

  • 15th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank You for your comments ,it was really nice having you in citadel youth hostel , the only thing i would like to mention for future reference is that its always good to mention the good also in a place ,since we switched you 3 times to different rooms and provided you with so many services and went out of our way to make your stay comfortable,so it would have been nice to mention those as well ,but your review is much appreciated and hope to see you back again soon. Adam

94%

Very Nice Hostel. Perfect location and beautiful view from the roof.

  • 7th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

nice citadel concept but showers/toilets are very old, not so clean, some doors don't lock. Bedroom was ridiculously tiny, the queen size bed would take 90% of the space with zero storage, frustrating as a couple, wifi available only from lobby area. But perfect location and good price versus the usual 4 and 5 star hotels outside the old city

  • 30th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

I stay at the Citadel every year and wouldn't think of staying anywhere else!

  • 27th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


63%

A typical hostel in the Old City. Interesting decorations on the inside. Friendly helpful staff. Nice balcony with great views. But the toilets on every level mean it has a certain smell about it, ie damp showers and unflushed toilets. Also our bed mattress was covered in plastic, a bit weird. Others it did the job for a night.

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for your support we do cover the dorms mattresses for hygiene and clean keep as we care the most about cleanliness we cant do much for a 700 years building where the toilets was out of the building at that time so to try to keep it inside the building for more comfort means less ventilation but now we fix it with power suction vents it solved the problem when there is lots of people.

66%

Kitchen equipment in quite limited e.g. could not find a can opener or corkscrew


« first « Prev 1 2
(30 results)


View all Jerusalem Hostels

Please give us your feedback