Hostelworld.com

Citadel Youth Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 1,705 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 6.9
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 1,705 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 6.9
Citadel Youth Hostel Located at Jerusalem Old city Jaffa gate, 20 st Marks road, Jerusalem.
Citadel Youth Hostel
Israel
Jerusalem 51602 Jerusalem Old city Jaffa gate, 20 st Marks road
80% 1705
31.7765485 35.2299678
Citadel Youth Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • lewisrandell1107
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
12th May 2016
8.0

First of all,would definitely stay again. Adam is awesome but the rest of the staff have a "you and them" mentality and were rude at times when we had misunderstandings. If you sleep on the roof, keep everything in your bag. I had stuff underneath my pillow and the staff packed up my mattress, even though i was staying more nights, and lost one of my belongings. Excellent view.No real common room. Adam is awesome - can and will answer ALL questions you have, with great patience for us tourists.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
9th May 2016
5.4

Interesting experience for the building itself and the amazing view from the rooftop. Central location for exploring the old city. Unfortunately, the kichten is disgusting, the bathrooms are dirty, our double room was not so clean (not fresh sheets), and as the kitchen has no door, it is very noisy for the whole floor. Useless staff (volunteers hanging out there but not doing much...). It was nice to spend one night there for the view and the experience, but don't expect more

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your honest review . not really sure what is so dirty about a brand new kitchen that got installed 2 weeks ago , the bed sheets get changed every single day upon check out ,you never came to us requesting new sheets ,not really sure what you expect from a youth hostel in one of the most expensive cities in the world , i have one of the friendliest volunteers so im not sure what more they can do for you , apologies from the citadel management but from your complains i think you will have a better experience in a hotel for $200 a night and not a youth hostel in a 700 year old building for $22 per person . Thank you

7th May 2016
8.6

I slept on the roof top with a beautiful view over the old city. You take a matraze, find a place on the roof top. As soon it gets dark is becomes silent on the roof top because there are no lights. So no braindead drinking party people who keep tired people from sleeping. The kitchen is a it small and there are always travellers who haven´t learned that you wash your dishes after using, that you don´t leave your garbage on the table. People working there do their best and clean it once a day.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
25th Apr 2016
10.0

Really great location in the old city. This leads to a mixed group of guests (not all college backpackers, some religious pilgrimagers), but that is not a bad thing.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • duczmalanna9523
  • Poland, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
16th Apr 2016
8.3

We slept 1 night on the roof top, what an amazing experience! The hostel is very well located in the heart of the old town, close to Jaffa Gate so it was great. Would recommend it although due to the fact that people sleep on the roof top you can't stay long during the night having a party there ;) but definitely worth trying if you're in Jerusalem! :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Apr 2016
6.3

The location of this hostel was great and it is very inexpensive. I wasn't very happy with the staff organization (when checking in the clerk dropped my Israeli stay visa on the ground behind the desk and then insisted and then instead that I had lost it) or the cleanliness / comfort of the bathroom (smells, hair in shower drains, few mirrors with lights / places to plug in hairdryers etc.) . The ceilings here are also very low, so tall people like myself may have problems.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • elianehagmann2658
  • Switzerland, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 22 reviews
14th Apr 2016
7.1

The hostel has the perfect locaction in the old city and its roof top tops about everything. Most of the staff are very friendly and help ful, but the guy who checked us in was more interested in his smartphone than in welcoming his guests. Don't expect much of the rooms - there's only a bed there and, if you're lucky, a small window. The bathrooms are clean, but badly equipped. Also, the kitchen isn't the place where you want to cook big meals.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Eliane has reserved a double room with shared bathroom. We placed her in a triple room with high ceiling and a window that looks on the outside at the same price of the double room. Hence her complaint about the low ceiling is void. Bathrooms are always kept clean and maintained. Staff give full attention to the clients and do not use their phones unless the owner calls them. From the above it is clear that her comments are not realistic.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Apr 2016
10.0

The hostel was in an excellent location, close to Jaffa Gate and inside the Old City. A lot quieter (and cheaper) than other hostels, but still vibey and friendly. Only downside was the terrible toilets and showers and kitchen.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • anya19957892
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
28th Mar 2016
8.0

Short but sweet stay. No problems.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Mar 2016
8.0

We had a great stay! As a family of 7 with children they where very accommodating. Would recommend it for its location!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.