Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Citadel Youth Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 1,833 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 6.8
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 1,833 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 6.8
Citadel Youth Hostel Located at Jerusalem Old city Jaffa gate, 20 st Marks road, Jerusalem.
Citadel Youth Hostel
Israel
Jerusalem 51602 Jerusalem Old city Jaffa gate, 20 st Marks road
80% 1833
31.7765485 35.2299678
Citadel Youth Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jan 2017
10.0

Nice hostel with the best view over Jerusalem old city, I can really recommend citadel hostel

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jan 2017
9.7

a great hostel in the city providing cheap accommodation for all and every kind of travelers, a kitchen and a beautiful terrace the location is close to all attractions in walking distance to the east and west of jerusalem. highly recommended

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Dec 2016
9.4

The best and cheapest hostel in the direct center of Jerusalem. They are friendly for everything. We stay there 2 nights with group of 15 friends. They respect night silence and sleeping was well. Only the kitchen and bathroom need small modernization.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 24 reviews
23rd Dec 2016
5.7

Well As they don't have heating in the room, and one of the window is no window glass, is was freezing for me, when I woke up in the morning, many guys sleeping in the common area...bath room is small and water is not 24/7 although the staff said so, kitchen is tiny so when other traveler was cooking you don't even have space to cook. They just try to out as many as bed in a room so you don't have space to put your backpack. It is definitely very good for you if you want to explore CITADET life.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Dec 2016
8.6

Character and atmosphere are unbeatable, the building is hundreds of years old and such cool ambience. Downsides: we booked a room with a private "bathroom", however, it was really just a tiny stall with a toilet and sink and a showerhead above both, so the bathroom floor and toilet seat were always wet from when we had showered and NO hot water. Yet we'd still stay again for the charm of the place and also because we LOVED being in the heart of the Old City.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Dec 2016
10.0

an excellent hostel with lots of character and cozy atmosphere, great city view from terrace and lots of small zones to relax and read a book, a small kitchen need more tools but clean dorms are comfortable good large beds better than many hostels we visited and cheapest in city if not the whole country. an informative staff always available and helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Dec 2016
10.0

Great location,comfort and value for money

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Dec 2016
6.3

This is a very basic hostel. The building is unheated and was quite cold; the bathrooms are outside and are also quite cold. I had booked 2 nights but only stayed one. WiFi only worked downstairs and there was not a cozy place to gather in the evenings. The volunteers running the front desk provided a space heater that shorted out and then provided abother one, but both trips required navigating a labyrinth of stairs and halls and low door frames.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
4th Dec 2016
7.7

The strong point of the Citadel. within the walled city, is that you can step back in history, surrounded by holy sites. seen from the rooftop where one may sleep for less in a tent or on mattresses. Or choose between dorms and private rooms. The building is hundreds of years old, with low arched rocky ceilings and narrow, winding stairs to tiny floors above. Kitchen and bathrooms repeat this medieval scale, as does the natural outdoor/indoor temperature. You can recreate life in Biblical times!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
22nd Nov 2016
8.6

I was incredibly impressed by this hostel -- everything was clean, the view from the rooftop was spectacular, and the staff was lovely. My partner and I had a little trouble finding it the first time, but after that, we had no issues.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.