X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Citadel Youth Hostel Reviews

Jerusalem Old city Jaffa gate, 20 st Marks road, Jerusalem, Israel

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
1458 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 74%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 64%Cleanliness
  • 66%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

54%

The kitchen is so dirty..... I travel around the world an this is one of the worst kitchen i see! the sink is discussing.... the fridge is full of old food and the smell is awful....

  • 15th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Very Nice Hostel. Perfect location and beautiful view from the roof.

  • 7th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

nice citadel concept but showers/toilets are very old, not so clean, some doors don't lock. Bedroom was ridiculously tiny, the queen size bed would take 90% of the space with zero storage, frustrating as a couple, wifi available only from lobby area. But perfect location and good price versus the usual 4 and 5 star hotels outside the old city

  • 30th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

I stay at the Citadel every year and wouldn't think of staying anywhere else!

  • 27th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


63%

A typical hostel in the Old City. Interesting decorations on the inside. Friendly helpful staff. Nice balcony with great views. But the toilets on every level mean it has a certain smell about it, ie damp showers and unflushed toilets. Also our bed mattress was covered in plastic, a bit weird. Others it did the job for a night.


66%

Kitchen equipment in quite limited e.g. could not find a can opener or corkscrew


100%

help full, friendly and amazing place to c the old city and easy access to anywhere there


66%

Unfortunately the toilets and the cleanliness was not enough, even if the price is really one of the lowest one. Even, they don't accept credit card... Instead, the location and the staff is awesome!

  • 13th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
You stayed in the female dorm with access to several showers on the floor she was in or the floor under. Our employee as well as resident employees keep the toilets as well as other facilities clean all over the day through removing the trash, cleaning the toilet seats and the floors.

74%

The manager was very, friendly.We actually made a reservation for the rooftop&when we came we asked if it would be possible to upgrade have a room for 5 days. The manager was very friendly& tried to find rooms for us. We needed to change the rooms a few times, but we were happy that it worked out for us. The cleaning personal was also very friendly& tried everything to keep everything clean. I just think it is a little bit too much work for just 1 guy. The bathroom was defently too small.

  • 10th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


49%

the mattresses are old...how many people, You're just another one, the place is only chosen because the location is good, only this.

Owner Comment (Hide)
You stayed in a spacious dormitory with access to several toilets and showers. All mattresses have been replaced one month ago. The place is kept clean every day through the staff employed or residing in the hotel.

51%

The hostel is full of people,but there ain't enough space for all of them. too less showers


89%

Like the place but it was no aircondining in the room. And could hear the other guests all the time. So couldent sleep so good.


86%

The hostel was a fantastic place to meet people from all walks of life. The location is amazing and the view from the roof is stunning.

  • 3rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Good place great location. I stayed on the rooftop amazing view but beware the morning church bells no need for an alarm clock, nice fiendly staff.


69%

Besides not 100%, I don't regret staying in this hostel. The best place to experience old city. Besides, not very friendly staff and the toilettes always dirty. Make sure you have your own toilet paper, because it missed for me a few times. I'd recommend!


97%

The locks in some restrooms are broken.

  • 16th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

We had a great stay at this hostel. 4 of us slept on the rooftop for 1 night. The view at night but especially at dawn over the old city is breathtaking. People pay the cost of staying the night at this hostel just to go up and see views like this. Pros: Great view, unique experience, friendly staff, great value, amazing location for exploring the old city. Cons: It does get pretty cold and windy in the winter. Bring an additional blanket. I wouldn't stay more than 2 nights on the roof.


94%

An amazing hostel/hotel right in the old city of Jerusalem, with rooms built into the ancient bones of the city walls and outside the windows, the Holy Sepulcher and the dome of the rock...what more could one want. The staff were knowledgeable, helpful and warm. I cannot more highly recommend for a stay in the Old City!

  • 30th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

It was just the bathrooms that I feel were awful.


63%

The hostel is very well situated -- the view from the roof is magic. Staff is helpful, they advise on tickets booking, places to eat and generally are friendly. The negative points: the blankets, pillows, and bedding were very unfresh. The air in the room was stale, which made it impossible to sleep in, so we had to move to the roof. The biggest deception: we did not get back the deposit money for locker use -- the receptionist said she couldn't log into the system to check if really paid.


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(54 results)


View all Jerusalem Hostels

Please give us your feedback