Hostelworld.com

Citadel Youth Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 1,683 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.2
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 1,683 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.2
Citadel Youth Hostel Located at Jerusalem Old city Jaffa gate, 20 st Marks road, Jerusalem.
Citadel Youth Hostel
Israel
Jerusalem 51602 Jerusalem Old city Jaffa gate, 20 st Marks road
82% 1683
31.7765485 35.2299678
Citadel Youth Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • duczmalanna9523
  • Poland, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
16th Apr 2016
8.3

We slept 1 night on the roof top, what an amazing experience! The hostel is very well located in the heart of the old town, close to Jaffa Gate so it was great. Would recommend it although due to the fact that people sleep on the roof top you can't stay long during the night having a party there ;) but definitely worth trying if you're in Jerusalem! :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Apr 2016
6.3

The location of this hostel was great and it is very inexpensive. I wasn't very happy with the staff organization (when checking in the clerk dropped my Israeli stay visa on the ground behind the desk and then insisted and then instead that I had lost it) or the cleanliness / comfort of the bathroom (smells, hair in shower drains, few mirrors with lights / places to plug in hairdryers etc.) . The ceilings here are also very low, so tall people like myself may have problems.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • elianehagmann2658
  • Switzerland, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 22 reviews
14th Apr 2016
7.1

The hostel has the perfect locaction in the old city and its roof top tops about everything. Most of the staff are very friendly and help ful, but the guy who checked us in was more interested in his smartphone than in welcoming his guests. Don't expect much of the rooms - there's only a bed there and, if you're lucky, a small window. The bathrooms are clean, but badly equipped. Also, the kitchen isn't the place where you want to cook big meals.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Eliane has reserved a double room with shared bathroom. We placed her in a triple room with high ceiling and a window that looks on the outside at the same price of the double room. Hence her complaint about the low ceiling is void. Bathrooms are always kept clean and maintained. Staff give full attention to the clients and do not use their phones unless the owner calls them. From the above it is clear that her comments are not realistic.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Apr 2016
10.0

The hostel was in an excellent location, close to Jaffa Gate and inside the Old City. A lot quieter (and cheaper) than other hostels, but still vibey and friendly. Only downside was the terrible toilets and showers and kitchen.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Mar 2016
8.0

We had a great stay! As a family of 7 with children they where very accommodating. Would recommend it for its location!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Mar 2016
10.0

Stay at the Citadel Hostel in Jerusalem was amazing! The staff were super friendly, one in particular was very good looking... so that was a bonus. ;) Haha! 1. It was my first time out of the US, and 2. It was my first time staying at a hostel! What a wonderful experience to be in Jerusalem, and the hostel was a great first! :D Thank you Citadel for making my trip even more memorable!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Romania, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Mar 2016
9.1

I liked this hostel - even if the mixed dorm it is a little bit too crowdy and there is no space to put your luggages. The female dorm is a little better. The hostel is noisy sometimes, but this is because of the people who are not aware of the fact that it is late night or early morning and other people might sleep. Is was clean, and although the kitchen is very little and has just 2 electric plates for cooking, everybody managed to sit and eat without problems. We had hot water, free wi-fi.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Mar 2016
8.6

Loved the rooftop views day and night! Also, our private and very unique room. We appreciated the hostel allowing us to store our backpacks on our last day as it was raining, much more convenient for us not to carry them until our departure. Showers were hot. Inexpensive, centrally located accommodations.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Mar 2016
10.0

Excellent Panoramic view within Old Jerusalem at an affordable price. It is also near Jaffa gate so you can leave the old city and go to the new Jerusalem quickly. Rooms are big and comfortable.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Mar 2016
6.9

This hostel is good if you are looking for quiet. There isn't any "hostel" atmosphere and it's better for people who want to keep to themselves. It's a little damp and wet, but other than that it's ok. However, the view from the rooftop can't be beat! It must be one of the best views in Jerusalem. Might be worth it just for the view!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.