Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

City Backpacker - Hostel Biber

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 2766 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.8
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 6.9
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 2766 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.8
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 6.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
21st Mar 2017
8.0

Stayed for one night. Didn't like the fact that you have to rent bed sheets for 3F considering it's already expensive! Hostel is up a few flights of stairs but a good location. There is a kitchen and chill area too. Bed was comfy and space for bag storage. Only met one member of staff who was helpful. Went in low season so wasn't expecting to meet many people.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
7th Mar 2017
6.6

Nothing really special about it, you have to be aware that reception doesn't work 24hrs, room was very basic but clean. Nothing to do in the hostel unless you know someone.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
27th Feb 2017
10.0

Definitely the BEST hostel I have stayed at on my backpacking trip! It's close to the centre & train station. I had no problem walking around. The staff are amazing too (lady at reception). The rooms are clean and the bathrooms where always clean and stock up with tissue. Everywhere smelt lovely all the time. I miss switzerland already but I will be coming back and will be booking City backpacker again😍 xxxx

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks! Hope to see you very soon.

  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Feb 2017
9.1

The location was perfect! easy access to national museum,old town, Zurich lake, Bahnhofstrasse. All walking distance, the lake nearby the hostel was incredible beautiful,the view of both day and night worth to see. The cleanliness was just okay, the room was pretty clean, the washroom need to improve. the facilities was a bit old. there's no plug near by each bed. I only had backpack with me, so the stairs was fine for me.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Feb 2017
10.0

amazing location, kitchen had everything we needed, and we met many people through cooking together in the kitchen and playing board games in the common room. we had a great stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Feb 2017
8.3

The hostel is so expensive like Zurich (so I think it is not a problem), but the big problem is the opening hours of reception, it is very strange a hostel works 08h-11h and 15h-22h, I see the people waiting long time in the common room because it is not possible keep the luggage in the luggage room because there is not a staff to do this.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • GokhanBozkurt
  • Turkey, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
16th Feb 2017
5.7

I accept the fact that Zurich is an expensive city. maybe for the money they charge (I paid 38 euro per night) I should have not expect anything more than basic service. But still hostel literally does not have anything attractive or extraordinary. Everything is very basic, in the simplest form you can imagine. There is no social room or any lobby (I mean there is one very small badly decorated room with a few chairs, thats all) Atmosphere zero! Dorms and kitchen are small. location is good.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
16th Feb 2017
6.0

Could be alot better. For the price its bad - you have to pay for sheets on top. Comparing to other hostels- this one would be the worst and most expensive( it is Switzerland thou) hostel ive stayed in in Europe. Its ok for two three days max thou. Could be cleaner too. Be prepared to spend alot on everything!! Switzerland is super expensive.. however in saying that its a beautiful and pretty amazing country. :)

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
12th Feb 2017
8.3

Perfect location, friendly vibe without being big and crazy. Everything was quite clean. Not a lot of comfortable common area, especially in winter when the rooftop terrace is less of a draw (this would be lovely in summer!). Just a couple minutes' walk away from cafes, restaurants, shopping, the river... So lovely and charming!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th Feb 2017
8.9

Everyrhing was so cool with our stay in terms of room or showers, but the kitchen utensils were almost non existant. One pot for a whole floor! Not to mention about a towel or a freaking napkin. Very poor

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.