Hostelworld.com

City Backpacker - Hostel Biber

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 2,479 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.9
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.1
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 2,479 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.9
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.1
City Backpacker - Hostel Biber Located at Niederdorfstrasse 5, , Zurich.
City Backpacker - Hostel Biber
Switzerland
Zurich 8001 Niederdorfstrasse 5
78% 2479
47.3727142 8.5436189
City Backpacker - Hostel Biber
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
20th Jun 2016
8.3

Nothing special, though the rooftop terrace and the location are great.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jun 2016
9.1

Loved staying in this hostel, it is in the perfect location in old town and the staff was extremely helpful. If you're a young person looking to meet people definitely do the pub crawl on Fri or Sat that they have advertised! It's not through the hostel but the staff was great on describing where we should meet the group.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jun 2016
8.0

For being in a city as expensive as Zurich, I think this hostel was a good deal. I enjoyed my stay at this hostel, but some things could have been better. The main office was closed from 12-3, so I could not grab my bag to leave until 3. Also, it was a nice environment, but not a very social hostel if you're a single traveler trying to meet people. I lucked out and met people on my walking tour, which the staff at this hostel so kindly recommended. Good for what I paid.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
15th Jun 2016
9.1

Good Things: - Location is Perfect. On the old city part, 1 block from the river, near all the bars and restaurants. 10 Minutes walk from Main Station. Where the Swiss say they spend their money. - Very secure hostel and really nice staff and good Bad Things: - They charge you extra for sheet? make no sense for me, first time I ever see this on a hostel? - Only 1 switch socket for a 6 person bedroom, makes no life easy! - Price for a hostel, but everything is expensive on the city.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
8th Jun 2016
9.7

perfect location, nice staff, rooms are rather small but OK. perfect rooftop terrace.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Jun 2016
9.7

Tiny room but very clean. Many flights of stairs to get to reception/room. Expensive, but that's what you expect going into Zurich.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Jun 2016
6.9

If you're only looking for a bed close to the city centre, this is a good bet. If you need other amenities you may be better off looking elsewhere.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jun 2016
2.6

Unless you are literally traveling with ONLY a backpack, staying here will be a disaster. Many, many, many narrow stairs that are difficult to climb, close quarters, only one outlet in room, hot...I do not recommend

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
31st May 2016
7.4

Superb location right in the centre where you want to be! Expensive(but it's Switzerland and so everything is!). Nice, clean hostel, wasn't any atmosphere when I stayed(It's Switzerland, so not too many backpackers could afford to be in this country anyway). Small communal area and charging for sheets should be a big no no!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 43 reviews
31st May 2016
6.6

Great location, but otherwise a pretty basic hostel. Fine place to stay on a budget in Zurich, but no particular style/atmosphere like some hostels.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.