Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

City Backpacker - Hostel Biber

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 2,663 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.0
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 2,663 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.0
City Backpacker - Hostel Biber Located at Niederdorfstrasse 5, , Zurich.
City Backpacker - Hostel Biber
Switzerland
Zurich 8001 Niederdorfstrasse 5
79% 2663
47.3727142 8.5436189
City Backpacker - Hostel Biber
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • irinastanescu3281
  • Romania, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 33 reviews
3rd Dec 2016
8.3

Position is everything with this hostel. Overall, more cleaning would be fine. Also on the steps from the street to the reception. Don't be amazed if you'll pass by the kitchen of Spaghetti Factory on your way up. Very nice and smiling people at the reception. You have to pay 3 CHF for sheets, another 3 CHF for the towel and another 1 CHF if you pay by credit card. the 6 bed dorm is crowded but it's ok for one or two nights. I'd go back because it's the cheapest accommodation in the area.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
27th Nov 2016
9.4

Although we had to travel down a level for the stove top, the facilities were very good. There's a stove, microwave, fridge, toaster and kettle. We were supposed to stay in a 6 bed for 2 nights but extended our trip. We were told we would have to move rooms but the staff informed us they had rearranged rooms and we could stay which was very helpful. Good wifi, showers with hot water, shared bathrooms, small lockers, everything's clean and great location

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
26th Nov 2016
9.7

Nice hostel on the center of beautiful Zurich.Friendly personel and clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Nov 2016
7.7

A bit squishy but a great location. Lockers are tiny with no locks provided. Power outlets were also scarce with only two or three in a six person dorm.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
23rd Nov 2016
4.9

Surprised by how dingy this place was after how much it cost. Have to pay extra for a towel too. The location was convenient, as it's so close to the bus and train. staff weren't rude but not friendly either. Dirty with bad lighting.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Nov 2016
4.6

The facilities were not very clean and the rooms smelt musty. The stove in the kitchen was not working and the reception did not bother to inform about that.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
14th Nov 2016
7.1

Good location, friendly staff but the rooms are too small

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th Nov 2016
7.1

Clean place with a good breakfast room. Showers were okay but the heater isnt working that well. I wouldn't recommend to light sleepers as the music downstairs get really loud to the extent that you can feel the room vibrating. Also, bring your own lock for the lockers.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Nov 2016
8.0

This hostel was a very good bargain for Zurich! Although, you do have to pay extra if you would like bed sheets. The hostel was very clean but the rooms were a bit small and the beds close together. Great location in the old town! About a 10-15 minute walk to the main train station and Lake Zurich. This hostel will store your bags after check out free of charge but reception is closed between 1pm-3pm which can make bags trickey to access. Over all a good stay! :)

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • LaurenAndBree
  • Australia, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
31st Oct 2016
7.7

Great location near the station and attractions. Supermarkets nice and close which is helpful since you are in Switzerland and it's expensive! The receptions is about 4 flights of stairs up so it's quite the climb with bags. We were a further 2 levels up as well so it can be quite tiring. The rooftop is pretty awesome especially if the sun is out!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.