Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

City Backpacker - Hostel Biber

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 2895 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 2895 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
18th Jun 2017
6.3

Overall will not go back to Zurich unless I win the lottery. Was much more expensive than I was planning on. Hostel was fine but cramped and the reception hours were strange. 8-11 then closed until 3-10.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jun 2017
5.7

Only real asset is the location. No good common space, rooftop is not very nice. Bunk beds feel cheap and small; mine shook whenever the other person moved. Room was noisy from the street. Beds are very close together. Must bring own lock for storage. Kitchen smelled and seemed dirty. Bathroom was small. Perhaps this is an affordable price for Zurich - but in any other city (and I have been to some expensive ones!), it would seem like a rip-off. I woke up exhausted the next morning.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
11th Jun 2017
6.3

My roommate smokes in the room There is no 24hr reception. No service between 11am-3pm. What a lunch. There is no lift. The reception is on the 4th floor.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Jun 2017
8.3

Staff were friendly and the place is fantastically well situated. It was expensive but Zurich is more expensive than Manhattan or London so maybe that's to be expected. You do have to pay a small amount extra for bed linen which I think is a bit silly but no big deal. It has an incredible roof terrace. Note: Switzerland uses a different plug adapter from most of Europe (Swiss is three pins nearly in a row).

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Jun 2017
7.4

Cheap place to stay in Zurich. Not the nicest hostel, but it is in a good location. Wifi works great in rooms, but there were only two power outlets in our room of six people.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
9th Jun 2017
8.9

The location is perfect. It's only about 10 minutes walking from the main station. The only negative thing I can think of is that it's too loud. This is because the windows have to be open if not it gets too hot. It's basically attached to a restaurant, but it is no problem at all. The kitchen was small, but did the job. Price was reasonable, specially on how Zuerich is pretty expensive.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
8th Jun 2017
9.7

Easy access from the train station from the 4 bus, two stops...or you could walk. Kitchen facilities were a lifesaver because Switzerland is Expensive. Close to food stores. Rooms, floors, bathrooms were very clean. Beds were solid and comfortable. Staff was outstanding. Location in the old town was great, safe and secure.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Jun 2017
8.3

You can't beat the location of the hostel! It is annoying how they charge you extra for sheets though. I mean who brings sheets with them? That said Switzerland is expensive and tries to nickel and dine you anyways. Fine hostel for a couple of days.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Jun 2017
9.1

This hostel was great for a one night stop in Zurich. The staff were incredibly friendly and it is in an ideal location, just a 10 minute walk from the station.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
5th Jun 2017
7.1

Nice location!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.