Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

City Backpackers HQ (formerly Brisbane City Backpa

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 1732 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 1732 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 7.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
19th Mar 2017
8.3

Got upgraded on 2 occassions which was nice. Large kitchen, spacious rooms, close to centre but not drinking area fortitude vally.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
18th Mar 2017
8.6

Lots to do! I was only here for one night so i didn't get to experience the hostel a lot. Theres a bunch of outdoor seating, a pool, and several little hang out places. The kitchen felt dirty because it is such a large hostel with so many people. The bathrooms were decently clean. You could hear music all the time so if you want a quiet hostel this isn't your place.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
16th Mar 2017
8.9

Really cheap, and got an upgrade to a private room for the 4 of us which was very good value for money. Pool and outside area had a great view. Not in a great location, quite far from main clubs and bars but could walk/cycle to the south bank and lagoons. Room was clean but top bunks had no ladders or barriers? Cheap drinks and food at the bar. Would probably stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Mar 2017
8.9

Nice hostel with a beautiful view over the city! Would definitely recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
3rd Mar 2017
5.7

Start with the positives - staff were really great and helpful. Kitchen was cleaned twice a day & so were the bathrooms. Great view from the roof! No one cleaned our room in our 5 day stay. There was absolutely no atmosphere in this place sadly. Couldn't have your own alcohol & the attached bar was expensive. No lockers - but you could leave valuables at reception. Quite a walk to southbank and the city. Hostel surrounded in busy roads which take a while to cross. Laundry overpriced. Pool dirty

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

HI guys. Thanks for the heads up and thanks for the positive feedback. With regards to some of the negative feedback, I will ensure to look into why your room wasn't serviced during your stay. I can ensure you that our standards are much higher than that and like the kitchen and bathrooms, our rooms are also cleaned daily. Having a bar does indeed prevent us to allow people to consume their own alcohol. That's why we have chosen to have our prices as low as they can be. I mean, $3.70 for a Vodka in our bar could easily cost around $10 anywhere else in the City. Or a our $9 Jug of beer would cost around $15 Enjoy the rest of your travels Many Thanks Sander

3rd Mar 2017
8.9

Great facilities and atmosphere, great night view of the city at the viewing tower. Love the stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Thanks for the awesome feedback. Many Thanks Sander

23rd Feb 2017
9.1

The pool is great for hot days! You need to give a $10 deposit to get plates and cutlery.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
22nd Feb 2017
8.6

Got upgraded to an 8 bed dorm which was good. Pool and seating area is really nice. Great party atmosphere as well.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
19th Feb 2017
6.6

You get a pretty cool view over the city. WiFi is average. It's located where all the other hostels are. There is a lot of insects living in the furniture

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
14th Feb 2017
8.0

Decent place and they were doing a lot of improvements to the outside area which was starting to look really good. Cheap bar but was closed on Sunday - don't know if that's every week. You don't have to be a guest at the bar to use it. There are lots of other hostels on this street so you can still make use of the cheap bar if you prefer somewhere else for other reasons. The burgers also looked good.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.