Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

City Backpackers Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 7188 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.2
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 7188 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
20th Aug 2017
9.1

I liked this place so much I came back! Great, clean hostel with a big kitchen, nice beds, and common areas. The location is awesome, if you dont mind getting some exercise. On this visit, the social atmosphere was definitely lacking though - what happened to movie night? Also the staff seemed to have changed and weren't as friendly/sociable as the first visit.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
16th Aug 2017
9.4

Very nice hostel, internet works well and kitchen facilities are good. Location is very convenient. Would stay again definitely.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
15th Aug 2017
8.9

Had a very nice stay here. Also not far from the railway station.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
15th Aug 2017
6.0

Its a clean and secure-ish facility, but it seems like a place that thinks too highly of itself. Youll walk 30 minutes to most attractions, there are insufficient power outlets, gang showers, lockers too small for a carry on sized suitcase and they dont provide free coffee in the AM. They also have a policy against shoes inside, which in theory sounds like a nice idea but becomes a time suck especially when you are sitting there pondering taking your contrband flip flops to the too-small bath.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
14th Aug 2017
10.0

This place is great, I really enjoyed my time here. Straight off the staff were very friendly, there was lots of common area (kitchen, lounge, computer room) to meet people and which were kept super clean which was nice. I found the beds pretty comfy too which is a bonus. I would highly recommend this place to others, just make sure you book ahead as it's highly sought after!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Aug 2017
10.0

Great hostel. Can't recommend enough.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Aug 2017
10.0

I loved everything about this hostel except the wifi was a bit dodgy down in my room (which was a basement floor - still had windows and was loft style). Great vibe, great location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
9th Aug 2017
8.9

Pretty good overall but needs exhaust fans in the shower as you sweat as soon as you get out of it which defeats the purpose

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Aug 2017
9.7

Amazing hostel! Truly has a great atmosphere and "hostel feel". Every staff member was incredibly friendly which made the experience great! Has everything you need: kitchen with free pasta, wifi everywhere, lots of private bathrooms, PERFECT location, easy to meet people, free mac computers to use, TV, cheap breakfast (highly recommend!) free coffee all day after 11am. The only negative was that the beds were very squeaky, every time someone moved in bed it was loud and could wake up someone.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Aug 2017
7.1

The check in feels like when you're booking a ticket with a budget airline. You have to pay extra fees for everything, which is not very usual these days. The girl who did the check in tries to get rid of you as quick as possible, not even mentioning the activities of the hostel, which seem to exist only on the notice board. Showers have no privacy. Atmosphere is non existent, unless being on your own and not meeting people is your thing.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, and thanks for your feedback. Your comparison is correct. Just as a full cost airline would be more expensive than a budget airline. A hostel is a more affordable version of a hotel as less is included in the initial price. Regards, Oliver CBP

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.