X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

City Backpackers Hostel Reviews

Upplandsgatan 2a, 11123, Stockholm, Sweden

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
5089 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 94%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 90%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Fantastic hostel, my favourite in the whole of Europe

  • 29th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

This was a great place to stay, easy to meet people, laid back atmosphere, clean, great location, the only one thing I'd like to ad is about the towel and linen, it should be free.


91%

Good place! Would stay here again.


97%

My stay at City Backpackers was awesome! It's a tad expensive but then again, everything is in Stockholm. Very clean, they allow you to bring your own sleeping bag and not have to pay to hire linen which was refreshing. Everything was very secure with 4 number codes on all locks which were updated daily. Central location. Very satisfied with my stay.


89%

Staff were very helpful. Only improvement could be having another staff member on the front desk so we could have been processed more quickly.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Our staff aims to please so we are happy to hear that you had a great experience despite the wait. We do usually have more than one staff at the front desk but they might have had to help another guest at the time.Welcome back anytime! Cheers Charmaine CBP

100%

Aaaaaamazing place! So modern, clean, and cool! It seems like a real world house or something like that. Lounge area, outdoor patio, full chef size kitchen, key pads instead of keys, free coffee, water and pasta Perfect location! Walk to the sights, you don't need to take public transportation This place was amazing, I can't say enough good things. I will never be able to look at another hostel the same way haha!


91%

Extremely clean, large beds & friendly staff. The rooftop chill out area is nice and the wifi is strong. The TV was an awesome bonus too! Lots of bars near by and very close to the sky train.


100%

An excellent hostel in every way. Location, facilities, atmosphere, cleanliness... I don't know how they could improve anything. 100% my "go to" hostel in Stockholm.

Owner Comment (Hide)
You are an excellent guest in every way!:) Thanks so much for the fabulous comment! We really do appreciate that you notice our efforts to help guests have an enjoyable stay. Please do come and visit us again! Cheers Charmaine CBP

80%

This place in the past might have been a great hostel, but it is not kept up. The furniture is tattered in some places. The room I stayed in felt too much like a cave and I could smell smoke from smokers outside the hostel. The layout is all over the place. That being said, the beds are comfortable and bathrooms are clean for the most part. The staff is nice and the location good. It is a pretty average hostel and not remarkable.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your honest opinion. We are constantly trying to improve the hostel and we are currently renovating and have plans to refresh quite a few areas. I will make a note of which room you stayed in so that we can improve on the environment. Cheers Charmaine CBP

97%

I absolutely loved this hostel! My only critique is that breakfast is pretty pricy when the hostel isn't cheap to begin with. Overall really enjoyed this hostel though


71%

My experience here wasn't anything that stands out. It's a good, secure hostel, with decent facilities and comfortable beds. Location is mint!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Glad to hear that you felt safe, had a good night sleep and enjoyed the facilities and location. Did you try any of our tours that we offer? If you ever come back to visit us, please do try one of our tours. It might change your mind about the experience hopefully. Welcome back anytime! Kindly Charmaine CBP

91%

We loved our stay at City Backpackers! The whole place is kitted out really nicely and looks modern and young without the "party hostel" atmosphere. It was a great place to meet other travellers especially in the big sociable kitchen and common rooms, and the outdoor terrace. Like everywhere in Scandinavia you have to pay extra for breakfast but it's tasty and good value. And the staff are kind and really helpful. I couldn't recommend this place more!

  • 14th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We love you!!! :)Thanks so much for the awesome review! We are thrilled to hear that you had a fabulous experience with us. Thanks especially that you pointed out that our breakfast is good value for money. We improved the choices for breakfast not so long ago to give more variety to our guests. Our breakfast staff will be thrilled. Welcome back anytime! Cheers Charmaine CBP

83%

Two out of the three staff twere really friendly and all three were super helpful when it came to directions and places they recommend . Location is excellent, less than a 5 min walk to the main street. The decor of the hostel is awesome and its obviously that someone has an eye for the finer details. Gorgeous cushion, art on the wall and a great display of old fashion cameras. The only thing I didnt like is the fact people who have checked out can hang around until 10pm.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comment! Great to hear you enjoyed the hostels decor :) Cheers, Oliver

77%

Great hostel. Although having people leave shoes at the entrance in the middle of summer not the best idea, super stinky when you get in. Not having showers upstairs kind of inconvenient. Common areas are great for socializing and rooms are clean and comfortable.


100%

The best week ever, staff are wonderful, fun activities, great facilities.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Awe, thanks so much for your lovely comments and glad to hear that you had a fabulous time here. Please do come and visit us again! Cheers Charmaine CBP

91%

This place is excellently maintained. Clean, beautifully decorated, with a lot of extra perks like free coffee, free pasta, and sauna. However, it's almost too nice. Everyone just uses their laptops and the iMacs in the common room. There is an almost library feel. I got inquisitive looks every time I spoke. Lots of people looking to stay inside and watch Netflix. Many older guests as well. All staff were really nice and helpful. Very nice hostel, but perhaps a little big for a solo traveler.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your kind words! Luckily we have a busy tours schedule this summer, which are a great way to put the laptops down and meet fellow guests. Cheers, Oliver

83%

This hostel was really good. Perfect for what we needed. The hungering member of staff (can't remember her name) was really friendly and recommended a few places to visit. Overall, a good place to stay in Stockholm.

  • 12th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for staying with us! Cheers, Oliver

83%

Just had one bad thing: my reading light was not working since my first night, I informed them on the same day and it wasnt fixed till I left.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for staying with us! Apologies we didn't get your light fixed earlier. Regards, Oliver

83%

It was nice and clean but not very cozy. I feel very safe but the stuff was sometimes not very helpful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Glad to hear that you felt safe during your stay and you found the place clean. Our staff aims to please and usually strives to help as much as possible, so I'm surprised to hear that you did not get the help you needed at the time, sorry about that.We will look into the matter further. Hope you enjoyed your stay in Stockholm at least! Kindly Charmaine CBP

91%

A stylish hostel in a perfect location. Also had travelers in there 30's (like me) which was nice cause I met some interesting people. It's like Fort Knox safe, which electric key combination doors - everywhere!


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(181 results)


View all Stockholm Hostels

Please give us your feedback