X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

City Backpackers Hostel Reviews

Upplandsgatan 2a, 11123, Stockholm, Sweden

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
5610 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 93%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 90%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

A fantastic hostel, the staff were very helpful and friendly. The facilities were great and ideal location. Going back again on my way through.


94%

Amazing place in an amazing city! Central, near to all the key points of the city, and the staff is so very nice! I'll come back!

Owner Comment (Hide)
We hope so! We would love to see you again! Thanks for your review. Safe travels! Charmaine CBP

86%

toilet and bathrooms are old

  • 5th Feb 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your honesty. We are currently renovating our toilet and bathrooms to freshen them up a bit. Hope you enjoyed the other facilities that we offered at the hostel. Kindly Charmaine CBP

86%

Really liked this hostel. Loved the interior, eye for detail for decorations, especially the retro TV. Staff were good however was directed to the internet with majority of questions. I didn't like having to pay extra for linen....who takes sheets on holiday with them!? We stayed in 2 different rooms, 1st room was great, close proximity to bathroom. 2nd had no bed side lights. We tried breakfast in the cafe one morning. Good value for money but lack of seats especially during check out times.


100%

This hostel was FANTASTIC! By far the best hostel I have ever stayed in. The atmosphere was excellent, staff was more than helpful and it was very clean! Although the layout was a bit confusing at first, you get used to it. The free sauna was also a big plus. The crowd that was there when I stayed was really fun! The staff would make us move over to the cafe after the quiet hours but we could stay as late as we wanted too. Perfect location! I would definitely recommend and return! :)


91%

Everything was great. Loved the facilities and that you have to get your shoes off. Beds wrere very good and clean. The only thing I didn't like was that the bathrooms were spread all over the place and they weren't very well marked so it was a bit confusing.

  • 31st Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Costa Rica
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback.Glad to hear that you had a great time here. We are currently renovating our bathrooms and we will look into making them more noticeable. Welcome back anytime! Cheers Charmaine CBP

94%

Very friendly staff

  • 31st Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks heaps for your kind comment. We appreciate it. We hope to see you again soon! You should try visit us in the Summer, it's beautiful too! Kindly Charmaine CBP

94%

City Backpackers was my first ever experience staying at a hostel and I have to say that I was incredibly pleased. My favorite part about the hostel was its social environment. It's not hard to meet people to explore the city with as well as engage in some deep, interesting conversations. And for the price, I would definitely stay there again the next time I visit Stockholm.

  • 30th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for choosing us for your very first hostel experience. We are over the moon that you had an amazing time here. We'd love to see you again and there is so much to see and do in Stockholm! Happy travels! Charmaine CBP

91%

Loved my stay!

  • 29th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We loved you! Please do come and visit again! Safe travels Charmaine CBP

94%

There was a man in our room who didn't use any linens, I think the staff should check better if anyone is breaking this rule.

  • 27th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for letting us know.It's sad to hear that a guest ignored our wishes about using linens. We request people to use bed sheets for their own sake. It's good for health and hygiene purposes. If we had known earlier about this we might of been able to do something about this problem at the time. You are very welcome to come and visit us again. If you do visit and you see this problem arises again, please come to reception and let us know. We would very much appreciate this. Kindly Charmaine CBP

97%

Amazing hostel! So clean with great facilities and comfortable beds, staff were a bit slow when serving and getting things sorted but still very polite and helpful! Would 100% recommend to stay here if travelling alone or with friends to Stockholm

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback. We will work on being faster in reception. Glad you had a great time and we hope to see you again very soon. Happy travels Charmaine CBP

69%

Wifi was not working for my last 24h at this hostel. Made things quite difficult for travellers who depend of it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry to hear that the wifi connections went down. This is very rare. We will try our best to make sure that this never happens again. Hope you still had a fun time with the facilities in the hostel and meeting people. Kindly Charmaine CBP

91%

Really nice hostel! Good atmosphere, love the common areas like the kitchen, the common room, and the cafe! Guests were also given free sandwiches midnight and free coffee after midday. The private showers were a nice touch, as were the private fridges for each room. We really enjoyed the Swedish film they put on one of the nights. Great perks, especially if you're traveling on a budget, or are looking to spend some time inside.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your kind words. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience here. We'd love to see you again someday! All the best! Charmaine CBP

80%

Staff were friendly, although one member was more than a little overwhelmed. A few more staff during peak check in would have helped her. Not a huge fan of the doors all being on codes. You should throw less things at people when they get here. Having to deal with your luggage, door codes, linens (which you have to buy...grr!), cold weather, taking off your shoes at the entrance. It's just a little much and makes a poor first impression. I love the individual lights and power sources.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your honest opinions. We will note your tips and look into how we can improve the whole experience for the guests. Welcome to visit us again! Kindly Charmaine CBP

91%

Cool lobby and common spaces. Nice central location. Stayed here twice now.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for coming back to visit us. Hope you had a beautiful time here and hope to see you again. Safe travels! Charmaine CBP

89%

Great hostel. Really good facilities. It would be nice if the hostel organized more group activities.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. We are working on organizing more activities. Watch this space. Come and visit again! Charmaine CBP

97%

I really enjoy my stay at this hostel! I will totaly recommended to anyone and if i come back to Stockholm I know where I ll stay again! The best thing of this hostel is their stuff! Everyone were really helpful! Especialy a guy with the name Aurelio! I had lost my flight which was at 6 am and he was there and he help me find a solution and hrlp me find the schedules of the trains and the location of the train station. I think this kind of stuff needs every hostel! Thanks Aurelio you re cool!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Cool to hear that you had a really enjoyable time here at the hostel. I will definitely pass on your kind comments to Aurelio. Glad to hear our staff could help you out. Welcome back anytime. Happy travels! Charmaine CBP

80%

Hostel was comfortable and clean enough. Our room was right off the common room which could get quite noisy but once our door was closed it wasn't too bad. Security was pretty tight with the use of codes rather than keys but it was a bit of a pain remembering them because they changed daily. Unfortunately we were staying at the beginning of the week so there were no activities being organised by the hostel. Location was within walking distance of really everything so that was great.

  • 16th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry to hear that you had problems getting to grips with the codes. We usually recommend guests to take a picture with their mobile phones so that they have it to hand and do not need to worry about forgetting a code. You should come back another time and try out our tours! Kindly Charmaine CBP

83%

Great place in great location. Can buy god breakfast for reasonable money (can get refund if you find a better place to eat). Friendly stuff, can get a lot of free stuff (ice skates, sledges etc) to do activities in the city. Free pasta, tea/coffee( after lunch time). The beds are a bit noisy and room are not very big.

  • 16th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Latvia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
NIce to hear that you think our breakfast offer in the cafe is good value for money if you compare to other places outside. Tea and coffee is free in reception from 11AM. We have larger rooms for 6, 8 and 12 people in dormitories. You are welcome to come and visit again and try out the larger rooms! Cheers Charmaine CBP

80%

Really friendly hostel that was toasty and warm despite the very cold weather outside. Free use of computers was good. Kitchen was well equipped and vibrant. Despite being twice as old as most of the other residents I had good chats with lots of other visitors and really enjoyed my stay.

  • 15th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We really enjoyed having you here. I'm sure the other travellers appreciated chatting with you too! You are welcome to visit us again. Kindly Charmaine CBP

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(203 results)


View all Stockholm Hostels

Please give us your feedback