X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

City Backpackers Hostel Reviews

Upplandsgatan 2a, 11123, Stockholm, Sweden

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
5100 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 94%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 90%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

The best week ever, staff are wonderful, fun activities, great facilities.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Awe, thanks so much for your lovely comments and glad to hear that you had a fabulous time here. Please do come and visit us again! Cheers Charmaine CBP

91%

This place is excellently maintained. Clean, beautifully decorated, with a lot of extra perks like free coffee, free pasta, and sauna. However, it's almost too nice. Everyone just uses their laptops and the iMacs in the common room. There is an almost library feel. I got inquisitive looks every time I spoke. Lots of people looking to stay inside and watch Netflix. Many older guests as well. All staff were really nice and helpful. Very nice hostel, but perhaps a little big for a solo traveler.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your kind words! Luckily we have a busy tours schedule this summer, which are a great way to put the laptops down and meet fellow guests. Cheers, Oliver

83%

This hostel was really good. Perfect for what we needed. The hungering member of staff (can't remember her name) was really friendly and recommended a few places to visit. Overall, a good place to stay in Stockholm.

  • 12th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for staying with us! Cheers, Oliver

83%

Just had one bad thing: my reading light was not working since my first night, I informed them on the same day and it wasnt fixed till I left.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for staying with us! Apologies we didn't get your light fixed earlier. Regards, Oliver

83%

It was nice and clean but not very cozy. I feel very safe but the stuff was sometimes not very helpful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Glad to hear that you felt safe during your stay and you found the place clean. Our staff aims to please and usually strives to help as much as possible, so I'm surprised to hear that you did not get the help you needed at the time, sorry about that.We will look into the matter further. Hope you enjoyed your stay in Stockholm at least! Kindly Charmaine CBP

91%

A stylish hostel in a perfect location. Also had travelers in there 30's (like me) which was nice cause I met some interesting people. It's like Fort Knox safe, which electric key combination doors - everywhere!


66%

It is a good hostel overall. However, there are other hostels in stockholm that are good as this one and that are cheaper. The bedrooms are large but the bathrooms are small. There are plenty of living rooms but some of the chairs are torned and broken .They require that the guests walk without shoes but the floor isn't perfectly clean. From 11 pm the guests are required to make silence so it is more confortable to sleep.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay overall. Some hostels might be a bit cheaper but they lack the quailty and friendly atmosphere that we create plus we have extras for example many tours. Sorry to hear that you found broken chairs. Did you report this to reception? We will look into this because we do not like our furniture damaged.Thanks for letting us know. We ask all guests to please remove shoes to keep floors clean but there is the odd guest that ignores our wishes.:'(Kindly Charmaine

97%

Great hostel in a super convenient location. Stay here!


89%

One of the best hostels I've stayed at in Europe. Über clean. Great room. Fantastic location.


89%

The no shoes thing keeps the hostel clean, but it gets old quickly. The staff is super nice and the place is well kept.

  • 5th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments! Having entered/exited the hostel n number of times I can relate but our beloved Swedish weather means our shoe policy is a must. Cheers, Oliver

100%

Excellent hostel! Excellent facilities, helpful staff and free pasta!


100%

great hodtel, great atmosphere. one if the kost fun histels ive been too. the best xhoice for stockholm i suspect


77%

Beds are very squeaky.

  • 29th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

The best hostel I have stayed at in a long time. They had free pasta, which everyone in the hostel cooked and we had a sit down dinner like a huge family. The outdoor area is great we all gather to play drinking games then head out on the town, with the odd 20 people. Beds are perfect so comfortable. Toilets clean and showers are strong. I did the bike tour that the hostel offered which I highly recommend. Over all an amazing hostel and would always go back there.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Great to hear you enjoyed your time with us! Thanks for staying and you're welcome back any time :) Cheers, Oliver

94%

This is a fantastic hostel. The staff wonderful, they are some of the friendliest and most helpful staff I have ever come across at a hostel. The bedrooms and bathrooms are basic compared to other hostels around Europe and could do with an upgrade however the kitchen is fantastic. The outdoor area and common rooms are great. The sauna is a wonderful bonus!

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you so much for your kind words! We hear you regarding some of our facilities and have been upgrading a number of rooms and bathrooms this year. Cheers, Oliver

100%

This was the best hostel I have ever stayed at. The staff was so helpful when I arrived and they showed you exactly where to go and everything about the hostel. The rooms were big and spacious and had individuals lockers which was really nice! They had a full kitchen and fridges for each room to use so you could cook your own food. The wifi was great, and worked really quick in basically every part of the hostel. If you are visiting Stockholm I would highly recommend that you stay at this hostel


94%

Very helpful staff, super clean and the beds were very comfortable.

  • 27th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Not many showers / the room I was in the showers were closed. I paid for an ensuite 8 bed but didn't get it and still paid the same price so that wasn't nice for me.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. We are constantly trying to improve the hostel and are currently renovating the ensuite room you stayed in. I'm sorry that you were not informed about this at check in. Also, during this renovation period the price for the room has been reduced to a standard 8 bed dormitory, so guests are not being charged extra. We do have several private bathrooms with showers 10 metres down the hall from this room to reduce the impact of our upgrades on guests. Cheers, Oliver CBP

97%

Great hostel: awesome people, clean, well equipped.


91%

Cool place, friendly staff, felt pretty secure, met the best people here.


(182 results)


View all Stockholm Hostels

Please give us your feedback