Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

City Centre Hostel - Kingsview

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.3
Very Good 65 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 7.2
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 6.9
BOOK NOW
7.3
Very Good 65 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 7.2
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 6.9
City Centre Hostel - Kingsview Located at 28 Gilmore Place, Edinburgh, Edinburgh.
City Centre Hostel - Kingsview
Scotland
Edinburgh 28 Gilmore Place, Edinburgh
73% 65
55.9419542 -3.2041668
City Centre Hostel - Kingsview
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
26th Aug 2016
5.4

1 Call at the door to check in: fortunately someone was around to check me in but some travellers can't actually use their phones when roaming to call to be let in. 2 Cramped rooms 3 Terrible wifi: add a few more signal boosters about the place, pay for a better connection 4 No bathrooms outside rooms: so if a roommate is having a shower, there's no backup? 5 Lack of common area: the one spot is also kind of the office. Sacrifice a room to give people one Staff were very helpful though

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
15th Aug 2016
5.7

Okay, so....it's not a terrible hostel - the staff are friendly, the beds are comfortable, it's in a fantastic location - but it's just a bit shabby. A few issues I had: - No lock on the ensuite bathroom door in a room I was sharing with five male and female strangers. - Busted lock on room door made it very difficult to open. If you want a warm and comfy place to sleep, in a great location walking distance from all the sites, stay here. If you don't like peeling wallpaper...don't sta

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Aug 2016
5.4

It was secure, with keys for each room. The beds although fairly comfortable are really squeaky. The WiFi did not work in the rooms, and there was no games room. The staff seemed friendly but there wasn't any sort of atmosphere, no hostel activities I was made aware of. Fairly central and cheap, with a lounge and kitchen but the whole hostel was very dirty, especially the bathrooms. Taking advantage of the rush for rooms during the Festival. Filling the rooms without extra effort, like cleaning.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Aug 2016
8.6

The hostel is in good location with lots of shops, restaurants, cafes and it is in walkable distance to the city centre or you can take bus 2 mins from the hostel. It is very clean cosy place however no hot water second night not even in the morning on top of other minor issues.... it was a cheap stay but dont think i would stay there again as in the same street are at least 4 more hostels next to each other and maybe better

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
31st Jul 2016
8.0

Nice little hotel, rooms were nice and cosy, really friendly staff. Only down side was the WiFi was extremely temperamental.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
29th Jul 2016
7.1

Nice place, but the wifi was awful and the staff were often hard to find

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
20th Jul 2016
8.9

For 8 pounds per night the conditions were really good, I booked the cheapest option and as the hostel was quiet at that moment I got a room for only three people of capacity and only for me. I bad with keys, but I had strong problems in opening the main door,just one reminder, if you book through this remember that you pay 15% of the total price as deposit to hostelworld and 85% to the hostel, I paid sume a 115% of the total price but I didn't want to say anything because i got a room for me :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, All Female Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Jul 2016
8.3

We had a great stay with a very friendly staff. Our booking was not found when we arrived but we got another (bigger) room without any problem.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jun 2016
9.4

Amazing service upon arrival, really accommodating, a little bit further out but means a quieter part of town and still really convenient when you work out where you are (which really sing that difficult)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th May 2016
8.6

When it comes to any hostel it rarely matters for me in the end whether it was clean or well located (though those things help) but really the people involved make the most difference. This site was well run, the staff were more than helpful (locked myself out after hours, they helped no problem), and the room was well stocked and beautiful. I would highly recommend them to anyone especially if you're on a budget :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.