Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

City Centre Hostel - Kingsview

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.2
Very Good 83 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.9
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 6.4
  • Facilities 6.5
BOOK NOW
7.2
Very Good 83 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.9
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 6.4
  • Facilities 6.5
City Centre Hostel - Kingsview Located at 28 Gilmore Place, Edinburgh, Edinburgh.
City Centre Hostel - Kingsview
Scotland
Edinburgh 28 Gilmore Place, Edinburgh
72% 83
55.9419542 -3.2041668
City Centre Hostel - Kingsview
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
26th Nov 2016
8.3

Friendly staff, could leaves bags there before checkin. Beds really uncomfortable and shower took ages to get hot. Nice large room

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Nov 2016
8.3

I enjoyed my time at this hostel! The staff and 'regular' backpackers were really cool and welcoming! The bathroom did need to be cleaned more often. We were there for 4 nights and the shower wasn't cleaned once. It was also outrageously cold! But the atmosphere made up for all that! It is a bit of a walk from the city center but its a nice walk and it lets you see the city! There's a grocery store around the corner and a nice cafe to stop in at when walking to the city center.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
12th Nov 2016
4.0

We pay for a Deluxe Room and what we get was awful. bathroom was not clean at all with some residue of previous user in the toilet!!! Mattresses awful, I could feel every single spring of the mattress stuck in my back. 1 socket working for a room for 4 people is not acceptable. Very disappointing. Location great but the environment and cleanliness very very bad I do not recommend at all

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Oct 2016
5.4

Some of the staff are just hardly smiled,the kitchen was dirty and unmaintained (with weird odours as well),location is a bit far from city centre not as expected.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
24th Oct 2016
7.4

Good hostel like for this price. Good quality of wi-fi connection ( in better place is truly worse conection!) Small lounge area but it's going to survive it. Could be little more clean in there and have better mattresses in beds. Bad location like for me but in general it's nice,cosy place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
22nd Oct 2016
4.6

There was no lock on the bathroom of a 6 bed mixed dorm??? The kitchen was gross and messy, the "common room" is tiny. The lock on my door hardly worked so had to wake up and get up when anyone wanted into the room. But the people working there obviously try hard and are very nice!!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
21st Oct 2016
5.7

I've stayed in dozens of hostels, and never have I experienced such rude and unprofessional staff, excluding one person. The kitchen was never cleaned, and besides ourselves, the only people we saw use it were the staff! The neighborhood is quiet, but it's a ways from the train station and also a bit of a walk to any of the airport bus stops. Not recommended.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
19th Oct 2016
6.6

Friendly staff, however small kitchen and living room. The room is not that clean.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Oct 2016
10.0

Fabulous in every way

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
7th Oct 2016
8.6

Decent hostel. Nothing special in my opinion. Small and cosy, has a kitchen. Only stayed one night so can't really say much haha.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.